DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1, 12, 3 and 14 refer to “the image” with prior antecedent basis for both “the distance image” and the image signal”, which provides an unclear antecedent basis.
Claims 3, 5, 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1 and 2 (dependent on 1) both use the language “a system” referring to different systems. Claims 5, 6, 8 and 9 then refer to “the system” which provides ambiguous antecedent support.
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 12 refers to “a two dimensional estimation” and then refers to “estimation” without the use of “the”. This provides ambiguous antecedent support.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/065,881 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other:
Regarding claim 1, Application 18/065,881 discloses a system for image-based identification of the position of a cargo container comprising edges and corners, the system comprising: (claim 1)
an electro-optical unit, which is or can be directed on the cargo container and is configured to provide an image signal which contains distance information, and (stereo camera at claim 6.)
an electronic evaluation unit, which is connected in a signal-transmitting manner to the electro-optical unit and is configured to generate, on the basis of the image signal, a distance image with respect to the spatial location of the edges of the cargo container and a two-dimensional estimation of the position of the corners of the cargo container within the image and to provide a position signal with respect to the spatial position of the corners of the cargo container on the basis of the distance image and the estimation. (claims 1 and 6)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Liu (“Trailer hopper automatic detection method for silage harvesting based improved U-Net”) in view of Bonefas (US PGPub 2017/0206645).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a system for image-based identification of the position of a cargo container comprising edges and corners, the system comprising: (Liu teaches a system for automatic detection of a trailer hopper driving alongside a harvester from a stereo camera system on a harvester, See Abstract. A U-net neural network algorithm is proposed to detect the spatial position of the edges and corners of the trailer hopper during harvesting.)
an electro-optical unit, which is or can be directed on the cargo container and is configured to provide an image signal which contains distance information, and (Pg. 2, right column, ¶ 3, “the imaging acquisition system is shown in Fig. 1. ZED 2 camera [stereo camera] was installed on the throwing arm of Wuzheng 4QZ-450 self-propelled silage harvester.” Pg. 7, Section “2.2.3. Trailer hopper spatial positioning algorithm” teaches that the ZED 2 camera provides distance information in the form of 3D point cloud information from camera’s ZED API library to generate the point cloud.)
an electronic evaluation unit, which is connected in a signal-transmitting manner to the electro-optical unit and is configured to generate, on the basis of the image signal, a distance image with respect to the spatial location of the edges of the cargo container and a two-dimensional estimation of the position of the corners of the cargo container within the image and to provide a position signal with respect to the spatial position of the corners of the cargo container on the basis of the distance image and the estimation. (Pg. 7, Section “2.2.3. Trailer hopper spatial positioning algorithm”, “trailer hopper spatial positioning algorithm for obtaining the spatial coordinates of the trailer hopper corner point. Firstly, pixel coordinates of four hopper corner points are extracted based on the trailer hopper fitting algorithm results. Secondly, call the point cloud extraction function in the ZED API library to generate the point cloud containing trailer hopper. Finally, taking the corner pixel coordinates as input, the designated point coordinate acquisition function is called to extract the corner point spatial coordinates and realize the spatial positioning of the trailer hopper.” Also see Algorithm 1 and Figs. 11, 13 and 15. See hardware in Fig. 4. See hopper positioning signal at pg. 11, right column, last paragraph.)
In the field of image-based identification of the position of a cargo container Bonefas teaches an electronic evaluation unit, which is connected in a signal-transmitting manner to the electro-optical unit. (Bonefas teaches a system for automatic detection of the trailer hopper from a stereo camera system on a harvester, See Abstract. Figs. 1 and 2 and ¶ 0024-0028 show connection in a signal transmission manner between image processing module/electronic evaluation unit and the stereo camera/electro-optical unit.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Liu’s cargo container image detection with Bonefas’ cargo container image detection. Liu teaches a stereo camera system and computer hardware for processing the camera output. Bonefas expressly teaches a signal transmission connection between the camera and the computer hardware. This cannot be considered a non-obvious improvement in view of the relevant prior art here. Using known engineering design, no “fundamental” operating principle of the teachings are changed; they continue to perform the same functions as originally taught prior to being combined.
Regarding claim 2, the above combination discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electronic evaluation unit comprises a system configured for generating the distance image and/or the estimation, which is trained on the basis of training images and associated information with respect to the location of the cargo container and is configured in particular to learn solutions to multiple problems simultaneously. (Liu Pg. 2 right column, ¶ 3 shows training image-based learning, including learning the recognition solutions to many different trailer types simultaneously.)
Regarding claim 3, the above combination discloses the system as claimed in claim 2, wherein the system is configured to carry out a semantic segmentation to identify the cargo container and to identify the corners of the cargo container in the part of the image identified as the cargo container. (Liu’s segmentation U-net to detect the cargo container corners is a semantic segmentation network, see Abstract and pg. 2, left column, last paragraph.)
Regarding claim 4, the above combination discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electro-optical unit is a stereo camera and the distance image is a disparity image. (See rejection of claim 1 regarding Liu’s ZED 2 stereo camera, which determines depth via the stereo disparity image. Also see Bonefas ¶ 0034.)
Claims 5 and 6 are the system claims corresponding to claim 4 but dependent on claims 2 and 3 respectively. Remaining limitations are rejected similarly. See detailed analysis above.
Regarding claim 7, the above combination discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the evaluation unit is configured to supply the position signal to a control unit, which is configured to use the position signal to generate a control signal for an actuator for the automatic supervision of a transfer process of material into the cargo container. (See Liu’s hopper positioning signal at pg. 11, right column, last paragraph as well as Bonefas’ automated control based on the container position in the image at ¶ 0023 and 0040.)
Claims 8, 9 and 10 are the system claims corresponding to claim 7 but dependent on claims 2, 3 and 4 respectively. Remaining limitations are rejected similarly. See detailed analysis above.
Regarding claim 11, the above combination discloses a vehicle, in particular a harvesting machine, having means for picking up and/or storing and for transferring material into the cargo container, comprising a system as claimed in claim 1. (See Liu Abstract and Fig 2 and Bonefas’ Fig. 5.)
Claims 12-17 are the method claims corresponding to the system claims 1-6. The system necessitates method steps. Remaining limitations are rejected similarly. See detailed analysis above.
Conclusion
/RAPHAEL SCHWARTZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2671