DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 04/29/2026. Claims 1-4, 14-17 and 21-24 are pending in this application and have been considered below. Claims 5-13 and 18-20 are cancelled by the applicant.
3. The objection of claims 5-13 and 18-20 is corrected by the amendment. Therefore, the objection is withdrawn.
4. The rejection under 35 USC 112(b) of claim 2-13 and 15-17 is corrected by the amendment. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, 14 and 21 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection because of the amendments.
Claim Construction
6. Contingent Limitations:
The contingent/conditional limitations are not positively recited in the claim(s) and are thus only executed [or performed or implemented], when the condition is true/met.
[See, (MPEP 2111.04) II.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.
(1) Claim 1 recites the following contingent limitations: “sending a non-access stratum (NAS) based connection release request to a network in a case that a first condition is met, the first condition comprising: the terminal needs to send paging restriction information to the network; and sending an access stratum (AS) based connection release request to the network in a case that a second condition is met, the second condition comprising: the terminal prefers to be released to an inactive state.” Claim 1 is drafted as a method (process), "in a case that a first condition is met... and in a case that a second condition is met" clause acts as a strict condition precedent. The above limitations are contingent because they recite steps that are only required to be performed if their condition precedent is met. If the condition never occurs, the steps do not need to be performed for the method to infringe or be anticipated. Therefore, the BRI of claim 1 requires the steps to be performed only if the condition is met. However, if the condition never occurs, the steps do not need to be performed for the method to infringe or be anticipated.
(2) Claims 2-4 recite contingent limitations. Claims 2-4 are drafted as a method (process), "in a case that a first condition is met... and in a case that a second condition is met"... (claim 1)" clause acts as a strict condition precedent. These limitations are contingent because they recite steps that are only required to be performed if their condition precedent is met (see condition in claim 1). If the condition never occurs, the steps do not need to be performed for the method to infringe or be anticipated. Therefore, the BRI of claims 2-4 require the steps to be performed only if the condition is met. However, if the condition never occurs, the steps do not need to be performed for the method to infringe or be anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 1-4, 14-17 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
(1) Claim 1 recites the limitation "sending a non-access stratum (NAS) based connection release request to a network in a case that a first condition is met, the first condition comprising: the terminal needs to send paging restriction information to the network; and sending an access stratum (AS) based connection release request to the network in a case that a second condition is met, the second condition comprising: the terminal prefers to be released to an inactive state". It is unclear in the claimed invention, how the above both conditions are performed simultaneously. Also, the specification of instant application discloses “performing a first operation or a second operation, where the first operation includes at least one of the following: sending a NAS leave request to a network, and sending a NAS paging rejection to the network; and the second operation includes at least one of the following: sending an AS leave request to the network, and sending an AS paging rejection to the network” (see abstract). Thus, for the purpose of examination, the examiner interprets that at least one of the conditions is being performed in the claimed invention.
Same issue as above exist in claim 14 and 21. Thus, the examiner’s interpretation remains the same as above.
(2) Claim 1 recites the word “prefer” in line 12. The word “prefer” is an indefinite term that leads to uncertainty regarding the scope of the claim. Because it does not clearly define whether the “terminal” is “released to an inactive state” or not. Therefore, the examiner suggests, removing the word “prefer” from the claim or replacing it with a definite term.
Same issue as above exist in claim 14 and 21. Thus, the examiner’s suggestion remains the same as above.
Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well.
Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states:
A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1-4, 14-17 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Velev et al. (US 20220053448) (hereinafter Velev).
Regarding claims 1, 14 and 21:
As shown in figures 1-9, Velev discloses a terminal (see mobile terminal in figures 1-2 and 4-6), comprising a processor (605 in figures 6), a memory (610 in figures 6), and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory (610 in figures 6) and that can be run on the processor (605 in figures 6), wherein the program or the instruction is executed by the processor (605 in figures 6) to implement the following steps (par 0135-0140):
sending a non-access stratum (NAS) based connection release request to a network in a case that a first condition is met (see step 3B in figure 4B), the first condition comprising: the terminal needs to send paging restriction information to the network (par 0113); and
sending an access stratum (AS) based connection release request to the network in a case that a second condition is met (see step 5 in figure 4B), the second condition comprising: the terminal prefers to be released to an inactive state (par 0099, 0119, 0145, 0147).
Regarding claims 2, 15 and 22:
Velev further discloses wherein the first condition further comprises: the terminal needs to send the connection release request to the network (par 0079, 0089, 0113, 0115).
Regarding claims 3, 16 and 23:
Velev further discloses wherein the second condition further comprises the terminal needs to send the connection release request to the network (par 0115, 0119, 0147).
Regarding claims 4, 17 and 24:
Velev further discloses receiving first indication information sent by the network, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: allowing the terminal to concurrently send the paging restriction information when sending the NAS based connection release request; or not allowing the terminal to concurrently send the paging restriction information when sending the AS based connection release request (see 425-430 in figure 4A, par 0079, 0105-108).
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 12245310) disclose a method and apparatus for fast small data transmission in a wireless communication system is provided. A last serving RAN node receives, from the wireless device and via a new RAN node, an AS-RAI related to early data transmission. A last serving RAN node decides whether a UE context relocation to the new RAN node for the wireless device is required or not based on the received AS-RAI. A last serving RAN node transmits, to the new RAN node, an RRC message based on the decision.
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KABIR A TIMORY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631