DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination (RCE) Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 07/27/2026. Claims 1-4, 14-17 and 21-24 are pending in this application and have been considered below. Claims 5-13 and 18-20 are cancelled by the applicant.
4. Claim construction (contingent limitation) under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) for claims 1 and 2-4 is not resolved/clarified by the amendments. Therefore, the examiner’s BRI of claims 1 and 2-4 remains the same. See below for details.
5. The rejection under 35 USC 112(b) of claim 1-4, 14-17 and 21-24 is not corrected by the amendment. Therefore, the rejection is not withdrawn. See below for details.
6. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, 14 and 21 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection because of the amendments. However, the examiner response to the following applicant’s argument:
Applicant’s argument: Velev fails to disclose Feature A "selecting the NAS based connection release request in response to determining that the terminal needs to send paging restriction information to the network". Furthermore, Velev fails to disclose the capability of sending the NAS based connection release request when the terminal needs to send paging restriction information to the network, Velev cannot teach or suggest Feature A…… Velev fails to disclose Feature B "selecting the AS based connection release request in response to determining that the terminal wants to be released to an inactive state".
Examiner’s response: The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument above. In figure 4B, Velev shows UE 205 sending a NAS request to RAN 410. In paragraph 0113, Velev teaches “Continuing at FIG. 4B, at step 3b, if the UE 205 determined to apply long suspended connection (e.g. based on the service type in the Paging message or MO service trigger), the UE 205 performs a NAS MM procedure (e.g. Service Request procedure) to inform the serving node (e.g. AMF-1 415) about the need to suspend the connection (see signaling 441).” In par 0115, Velev teaches “At step 5, for the case of control plane transmission, the UE 205 may send Release Assistance Information (“RAI”) for USIM-2, such as AS-RAI (e.g. to RAN-2) or NAS-RAI included in the NAS message (see signaling 445).” Also see par 0116-0126, 0147-0150.
Thus, Velev does teach selecting a connection release request from a non-access stratum (NAS) based connection release request and an access stratum (AS) based connection release request; and sending the connection release request selected to a network; wherein selecting the connection release request from the NAS based connection release request and the AS based connection release request comprises: selecting the NAS based connection release request in response to determining that the terminal needs to send paging restriction information to the network; and selecting the AS based connection release request in response to determining that the terminal wants to be released to an inactive state.
Claim Construction
7. Contingent Limitations:
The contingent/conditional limitations are not positively recited in the claim(s) and are thus only executed [or performed or implemented], when the condition is true/met.
[See, (MPEP 2111.04) II.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.
(1) Claim 1 recites the following contingent limitations: “selecting the NAS based connection release request in response to determining that the terminal needs to send paging restriction information to the network; and selecting the AS based connection release request in response to determining that the terminal Claim 1 is drafted as a method (process), "…...in response to determining that the terminal needs to send paging restriction information to the network; and …..in response to determining that the terminal. The above limitations are contingent because they recite steps that are only required to be performed if their condition precedent is met. If the condition never occurs, the steps do not need to be performed for the method to infringe or be anticipated. Therefore, the BRI of claim 1 requires the steps to be performed only if the condition is met. However, if the condition never occurs, the steps do not need to be performed for the method to infringe or be anticipated.
(2) Claims 2-3 recite contingent limitations. Claims 2-3 are drafted as a method (process), “selecting the NAS based connection release request in response to determining that the terminal needs to send paging restriction information to the network; and selecting the AS based connection release request in response to determining that the terminal... (claim 1)" clause acts as a strict condition precedent. These limitations are contingent because they recite steps that are only required to be performed if their condition precedent is met (see condition in claim 1). If the condition never occurs, the steps do not need to be performed for the method to infringe or be anticipated. Therefore, the BRI of claims 2-3 require the steps to be performed only if the condition is met. However, if the condition never occurs, the steps do not need to be performed for the method to infringe or be anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claims 1-4, 14-17 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The new limitation added by the amendment filed on 05/28/2009 in theindependent claims 1, 14 and 21 (1) “selecting a connection release request from a non-access stratum (NAS) based connection release request and an access stratum (AS) based connection release request”; (2) “selecting the NAS based connection release request t in response to determining that the terminal needs to send paging restriction information to the network”; and (3) “selecting the AS based connection release request in response to determining that the terminal wants to be released to an inactive state” (hereinafter newly added limitation) is not supported by the applicant's original disclosure. The examiner has reviewed the entire original disclosure of instant application and is unable to find support for the above newly added limitation in the applicant's original disclosure. Moreover, none of the originally filed drawings show the above newly added limitation.
On pages 9-10, of the applicant’s arguments/remarks, filed on 07/27/2026, the applicant argues:
““selecting the NAS based connection release request in response to determining that the terminal needs to send paging restriction information to the network" are supported by at least paragraphs [0207], [0082]-[0083], and [0097] which are reproduced below.
[0207] In Embodiment 1, as shown in FIG. 8A, when UE expects to send paging restriction information to a network or to delete paging restriction information, the UE can only initiate a NAS release request/paging rejection without initiating an RRC release request/paging rejection.
[0082] Step 21: Perform a first operation or a second operation.
[0083] Optionally, the first operation may include at least one of the following: sending a NAS leave request to a network; and sending a NAS paging rejection to the network.
[0089] Optionally, the second operation may include at least one of the following: sending an AS leave request to the network
sending an AS paging rejection to the network.
[0097] Optionally, the performing a first operation may include: performing the first operation in a case that a first condition is met. The first condition may include at least one of the following: the terminal needs to send paging restriction information (including updated paging restriction information) to the network;
Feature B "selecting the AS based connection release request in response to determining that the terminal wants to be released to an inactive state" is supported at least by paragraphs [0089] and [0100] which are reproduced below.
[0089] Optionally, the second operation may include at least one of the following: sending an AS leave request to the network
sending an AS paging rejection to the network.
[0100] Optionally, the performing a second operation may include: performing the second operation in a case that a second condition is met. The second condition may include at least one of the following:
the terminal tends to be released to an inactive state; and
the terminal tends to be released immediately.”
However, nowhere in the above sections of the specification, or all other sections of the applicant's original disclosure, is there any teaching to support the above newly added limitation in the amended claims 1, 14 and 21.
Therefore, the newly added limitation in claims 1, 14 and 21 raises an issue of "new matter" as the limitation is not supported by the applicant's original disclosure.
11. Claims 1-4, 14-17 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
(1) Claim 1 recites the limitation "selecting the NAS based connection release request in response to determining that the terminal needs to send paging restriction information to the network; and selecting the AS based connection release request in response to determining that the terminal wants to be released to an inactive state". It is unclear in the claimed invention, how the above both conditions are performed simultaneously. Also, the specification of instant application discloses [0207] In Embodiment 1, as shown in FIG. 8A, when UE expects to send paging restriction information to a network or to delete paging restriction information, the UE can only initiate a NAS release request/paging rejection without initiating an RRC release request/paging rejection. [0082] Step 21: Perform a first operation or a second operation. [0083] Optionally, the first operation may include at least one of the following: sending a NAS leave request to a network; and sending a NAS paging rejection to the network. [0089] Optionally, the second operation may include at least one of the following: sending an AS leave request to the network sending an AS paging rejection to the network. [0097] Optionally, the performing a first operation may include: performing the first operation in a case that a first condition is met. The first condition may include at least one of the following: the terminal needs to send paging restriction information (including updated paging restriction information) to the network; [0089] Optionally, the second operation may include at least one of the following: sending an AS leave request to the network sending an AS paging rejection to the network. [0100] Optionally, the performing a second operation may include: performing the second operation in a case that a second condition is met. The second condition may include at least one of the following: the terminal tends to be released to an inactive state; and the terminal tends to be released immediately.” In abstract, the applicant teaches “performing a first operation or a second operation, where the first operation includes at least one of the following: sending a NAS leave request to a network, and sending a NAS paging rejection to the network; and the second operation includes at least one of the following: sending an AS leave request to the network, and sending an AS paging rejection to the network”. Thus, for the purpose of examination, the examiner interprets that at least one of the conditions is being performed in the claimed invention.
Same issue as above exists in claim 14 and 21. Thus, the examiner’s interpretation remains the same as above.
(2) Claim 1 recites the word “wants” in line 14. The word “wants” is an indefinite term that leads to uncertainty regarding the scope of the claim. Because it does not clearly define whether the “terminal” is “released to an inactive state” or not. Therefore, the examiner suggests, removing the word “wants” from the claim or replacing it with a definite term. Same issue as above exist in claim 14 and 21. Thus, the examiner’s suggestion remains the same as above.
Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states:
A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
14. Claims 1-4, 14-17 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Velev et al. (US 20220053448) (hereinafter Velev).
Regarding claims 1, 14 and 21:
As shown in figures 1-9, Velev discloses a terminal (see mobile terminal in figures 1-2 and 4-6), comprising a processor (605 in figures 6), a memory (610 in figures 6), and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory (610 in figures 6) and that can be run on the processor (605 in figures 6), wherein the program or the instruction is executed by the processor (605 in figures 6) to implement the following steps (par 0135-0140):
selecting (see steps 3b-5 in figure 4B) a connection release request from a non-access stratum (NAS) based connection release request (par 0113, 0115-0126, 0147-0150) and an access stratum (AS) based connection release request (par 0113, 0115-0126, 0147-0150); and sending the connection release request selected to a network (see steps 3b-5 in figure 4B);
wherein selecting the connection release request from the NAS based connection release request and the AS based connection release request (par 0113, 0115-0126, 0147-0150) comprises:
selecting the NAS based connection release request in response to determining that the terminal needs to send paging restriction information to the network (see steps 3b-5 in figure 4B, par 0113, 0115-0126, 0147-0150); and
selecting the AS based connection release request in response to determining that the terminal wants to be released to an inactive state (see steps 3b-5 in figure 4B, par 0099, 0110-0111, 0113, 0115-0126, 0147-0150).
Regarding claims 2, 15 and 22:
Velev further discloses selecting the NAS based connection release request in response to determining that the terminal needs to send paging restriction information to the network and that the terminal needs to send the connection release request to the network (see steps 3b-5 in figure 4B, par 0113, 0115-0126, 0147-0150).
Regarding claims 3, 16 and 23:
Velev further discloses selecting the AS based connection release request in response to determining that the terminal wants to be released to an inactive state and that the terminal needs to send the connection release request to the network (see steps 3b-5 in figure 4B, par 0099, 0110-0111, 0113, 0115-0126, 0147-0150).
Regarding claims 4, 17 and 24:
Velev further discloses receiving first indication information sent by the network, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: allowing the terminal to concurrently send the paging restriction information when sending the NAS based connection release request; or not allowing the terminal to concurrently send the paging restriction information when sending the AS based connection release request (see 425-430 in figure 4A, par 0079, 0105-108).
Conclusion
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rönneke et al. (US 20220174775) disclose a method for wireless device triggered connection resume with early data transmission including a method performed by a wireless device for triggering a connection resume with early data transmission comprises sending, to a radio access node, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for resuming an RRC connection of the wireless device. The first RRC message comprises uplink data for early data transmission and Access Stratum (AS) Release Assistance Information (RAI). The AS RAI comprises information that indicates that no subsequent downlink and uplink data are expected, information that indicates that a single subsequent downlink data packet is expected, or information that indicates that multiple subsequent data packets are expected in downlink and/or uplink. The method further comprises receiving a second RRC message from the radio access node.
/KABIR A TIMORY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631