Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the counterbore cavity internal diameter converging (claim 11 and 20) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In the preamble of claims 1 and 20, the “unclaimed rivet nut installation tool” and “unclaimed threaded fastener” is indefinite because anything unclaimed simply should not be included in the claims. But in this case even the “unclaimed” features are required in the claims in order to determine the inner diameter size of the sleeve required to guide the mating member (paragraph (b)) and installation tool (claims 17 and 29). Also, the limitation within the parentheses is indefinite because it us unclear the meets and bounds of the “mating member”. In claims 1 and 20 paragraph (a), “a rivet nut” is a double inclusion since the rivet nut was previously introduced in the preamble. In claims 1 and 20 paragraph (a), what is inclusive of “essentially cylindrical” and “essentially circular” is unclear particularly since what is introduced as “essentially cylindrical” is further limited to have a converging diameter which would contradict the cylindrical. The claims were examined a best understood.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-30 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,885,365. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mayr (US 5,664,901). Mayr discloses an apparatus (1) comprising: a rivet nut (2) with an external diameter for close insertion into a hole (8), a trailing portion (6) defining a counterbore (3) with an essentially cylindrical chamber and opening, a mating chamber (4) with a smaller diameter having an internal thread (5), and a ledge between the counterbore and mating chamber with a slope shown to be about 30 degrees; a bushing sleeve (8) with a maximum outer diameter (e) greater than an internal diameter of the counterbore (d) for a snug fit within the counterbore and a seating first end shown with a bevel leading to an annular band section which is adjacent the ledge in the installed position (Fig. 1); and a mating member to be threaded into the mating chamber and guided within the sleeve (column 3, paragraph beginning line 42). The sleeve is exposed at a trailing end to provide a visual indicator and the rivet is provided with an annular head flange (9).
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-12, 20, 22-23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wieser (US 6,450,745). Wieser discloses an apparatus comprising: a rivet nut (7) with an external diameter for close insertion into a hole, a trailing portion (4) defining a counterbore (2) with an essentially cylindrical chamber and opening having an inner wall converging from the opening, a mating chamber (3) with a smaller diameter having an internal thread (8), and a ledge (at 11) between the counterbore and mating chamber; a bushing sleeve (7) with a maximum outer diameter greater than an internal diameter of the counterbore for a snug fit within the counterbore (column 3, paragraph beginning line 4) and a seating first end shown as a bevel (read as the sleeve’s taper) and a mating member (10) to be threaded into the mating chamber and guided within the sleeve. The sleeve is exposed at a trailing end to provide a visual indicator.
Claims 1, 8, 10, 13-15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mortensen (US 3,942,407). In the first embodiment Mortensen discloses an apparatus (10) comprising: a rivet nut (13) with an external diameter capable of a close insertion into a hole, a trailing portion defining a counterbore (at 16) with an essentially cylindrical chamber and opening, a mating chamber with a smaller diameter having an internal thread (14), a ledge (29) between the counterbore and the mating chamber, and a trailing end with a annular head flange (17) and knurls/radiating serrations between the head and outer surface of the trailing portion; a bushing sleeve (21) sized for a snug fit within the counterbore and a seating first end adjacent the ledge in the installed position (see Fig. 14); and a installation tool (11) to be threaded into the mating chamber and guided within the sleeve to apply a reverse pull and collapsing the trailing portion resulting in the formation of an annular bulb (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayr, Wieser or Mortensen as applied to claims 1 of 20 above, and further in view of DeReamer (US 1,827,565). Neither Mayr, Wieser nor Mortensen disclose a terminal opening comprising a means of closing. Muller discloses and apparatus with an opening comprising a closing means (16) consisting of a substance durably blocking an insertion portion. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Mayr, Wieser or Mortensen with a closing means as disclosed in DeReamer for sealing the opening and protecting the interior cavity and threads from contamination.
Claims 19 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayr or Wieser as applied to claims 1 of 20 above, and further in view of Makino (US 2005/0095078). Neither Mayr nor Wieser disclose the rivet nut trailing end provided with a knurling parallel to the axis nor serrations under the head. Makino discloses to provide a rivet nut trailing end with a knurling (19) parallel to the axis and serrations (22) under a head. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the rivet nut of Mayr or Wieser with knurls and serrations as disclosed in Makino because Makino teaches the knurls and serrations as improvement for preventing the rivet from slipping relative to the substrate (p.[0025],[0027]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6-7, 21, 24-25 and 28-29 appear would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gaertner (US 10,648,500) is cited to teach a rivet with a converging diameter. Grojean (US 9,051,958), Richter (US 4,752,168), Hathorn (US 2,195,029) and Takeda (US 10,495,131) are cited to teach other examples of bushing sleeves in combination with rivet nuts. The other references cited are of general interest.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675