DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 9, 15, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is unclear in that the CO2 reacts with the products of the hydrolysis. Is ‘added to the hydrolysis product’ meant?
Claim 17 is disjointed from claim 1 in that there is no apparent antecedent.
Claim 18 is unclear. If HX is removed, then the HX concentration has been reduced. It appears that the last 16 words should be deleted.
Claim 15 is a tautology. It appears that atmospheric pressure is meant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. 20140093441.
Jones teaches, especially in fig. 1 and paras 35-38, hydrolyzing Ca/Mg Cl2 to make HCl and the corresponding metal hydroxide and adding CO2 to make the carbonate and water. This differs in not teaching ‘brine’ per se, however it is obvious to use it to provide the source of the metal chlorides.
For claim 2, how the brine was made is of no moment, noting that it is an embedded product-by-process limitation.
For claim 4, Mg and Ca are taught.
Claim 5, HCl is made.
For claims 6 and 7, hydroxides are formed.
For claims 8 and 9 as understood, CO2 is injected to form carbonates.
For claims 10 and 12, para 37 suggests 35% MgCl2-65% water mix as appropriate.
For claims 13 and 14, the temperature is 450-500 degrees is suggested. See para 40.
For claim 15, fig. 14 teaches atmospheric pressure (roughly 15 psi absolute). See table 21b.
For claim 18, see para 29, which implies the removal of HCl.
Claims 11, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bhave et al. 20190275473.
Bhave teaches, especially in fig. 2, contacting LiCl brine with water and recovering Li. See also paras. 11, 40 and 48. Using it as the source in the process of Jones is obvious to recover a valuable material from a similar system.
For claim 11, the Li/Na is slightly less than 0.1, by inspection of fig. 5.
For claim 16, fig. 8B teaches 2.5 and 5 hours.
For claim 19, Li is recovered from a brine.
For claim 20, there are other ions in the brine and the initial contact of LiCl and water causes the claimed reaction, even though it is not discussed. Note the figures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 13, 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Bhave.
Bhave, above, teaches in fig. 16 A and para 88 teach a brine containing Li and other cations. While not teaching explicitly other metal chlorides, since the ions are all together, the other metals make halides just as Li does. As noted above, contact with water makes the same reaction.
For claim 2, how the brine was made is of no moment, noting that it is an embedded product-by-process limitation.
For claim 4, Li is taught.
Claim 5-7, HCl and hydroxides are made since the reaction is the same.
For claim 13, 80 degrees is taught in para 112.
For claim 15 the pressure is what the pressure is. See the ‘112 rejection above.
For claim 19, Li is recovered from a brine.
Claim 3, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhave as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bortya 6143260.
Bhave does not teach brine concentration, however Bortya teaches 6% in col. 3. Doing so in the process of Bhave is obvious to efficiently recover it. Note that claim 3 includes an embedded product-by-process limitation which does not limit the claim.
For claim 12, using a dilute solution is obvious to achieve effective fluid flow and contact with the sorbent.
Claims 1, 2, 4-9 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by ‘Hydrolytic Softening of Ocean Water for CO2 Removal’ article.
The article predates the filing by less than 1 year. It appears to have a different authorship; pg. 20 indicates that Mark Musich contributed to the article. Clarification is requested.
The article teaches on pg. 4 hydrolysis of CaCl2 brine to make HCl and Ca(OH)2.
For claim 2, how the brine was made is of no moment, noting that it is an embedded product-by-process limitation.
For claim 4, Ca is taught.
Claim 5, HCl is made.
For claims 6 and 7, hydroxides are formed.
For claims 8 and 9, CO2 is injected to form carbonates.
For claim 12, the elemental analysis indicates it is mostly water.
For claims 13 and 14, 400 degrees is taught on pg. 4.
For claim 15, the pressure is what the pressure is.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11717802. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common-nearly identical- subject matter.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11554357. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common- nearly identical- subject matter.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11918970. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common-nearly identical- subject matter.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/944466 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common-nearly identical- subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/944485 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common- nearly identical- subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Tiihonen et al. 20150044124 is noted.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STUART L HENDRICKSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1351. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Anthony Zimmer, can be reached on 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736