DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Cho (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2015/0245263).
Consider claim 1; Cho discloses a method of a terminal, the method comprising:
receiving cell selection and reselection criteria information (e.g. load) broadcast from a base station (par. 47, lines 1-13);
determining candidate base stations among all base stations capable of communicating with the terminal based on the cell selection and reselection criteria information [e.g. load (par. 47, lines 1-13)];
selecting one connection scheme from a lightening backhaul load (LBL) scheme or a maximum reference signal received power (RSRP) scheme based on a tolerable gap [e.g. power (par. 61, line 1 – par. 62, line 12)], which is a parameter (e.g. load) for determining the candidate base station (par. 47, lines 1-13);
selecting one candidate base station from among the candidate base stations as a target base station (par. 47, lines 1-13) based on the one connection scheme [e.g. power (par. 61, line 1 – par. 62, line 12)]; and
connecting to the target base station (par. 47, lines 13-15).
Consider claim 12; Cho discloses a terminal comprising:
at least one processor (par. 69, lines 3-6),
wherein the at least one processor causes the terminal to (par. 69, lines 3-6)
receive cell selection and reselection criteria information (e.g. load) broadcast from a base station (par. 47, lines 1-13);
determine candidate base stations among all base stations capable of communicating with the terminal based on the cell selection and reselection criteria information [e.g. load (par. 47, lines 1-13)];
select one connection scheme from a lightening backhaul load (LBL) scheme or a maximum reference signal received power (RSRP) scheme based on a tolerable gap [e.g. power (par. 61, line 1 – par. 62, line 12)], which is a parameter (e.g. load) for determining the candidate base station (par. 47, lines 1-13);
select one candidate base station from among the candidate base stations as a target base station (par. 47, lines 1-13) based on the one connection scheme [e.g. power (par. 61, line 1 – par. 62, line 12)]; and
connect to the target base station (par. 47, lines 13-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2015/0245263) in view of Wang (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2019/0208449).
Consider claim 2, as applied in claim 1; Cho discloses selecting a base station whose RSRP, which is a measurement result of a reference signal (RS) received from the base station, is greater than or equal to a first threshold (par. 119, lines 1-7). Cho discloses the claimed invention except: selecting a candidate base station whose reference signal received quality (RSRQ), which is the measurement result of the RS received from the base station, is greater than or equal to a second threshold from the base station whose RSRP is greater than or equal to the first threshold.
In an analogous art ang discloses selecting a candidate base station whose reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (par. 44, lines 1-25), which is the measurement result of the RS received from the base station (par. 44, lines 1-25), is greater than or equal to a second threshold from the base station whose RSRP is greater than or equal to the first threshold (par. 44, lines 1-25).
It is an object of Cho’s invention to provide a method of handing over from a serving base station to another base station. It is an object of Wang’s invention to provide a method of transferring data between a first and second base station. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Cho by including a second threshold, as taught by Wang, for the purpose of efficiently managing communication in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 3, as applied in claim 1; Wang discloses selecting one or more candidate base stations from among the candidate base stations based on a quality threshold that is the received signal for all base stations (par. 44, lines 1-25), when selecting the LBL scheme (par. 3, lines 4-15); and selecting the target base station from among the one or more candidate base stations [e.g. eNB2 (par. 44, lines 1-25)].
Consider claim 4, as applied in claim 3; Wang discloses connecting the base station with the largest selection criterion value for selecting the target base station among the one or more candidate base stations as the target base station (par. 44, lines 1-25).
Consider claim 5, as applied in claim 4; Wang discloses calculating the selection criterion value based on at least one of a cell selection parameter, backhaul information, or the quality threshold [e.g. quality threshold (par. 44, lines 1-25)].
Consider claim 6, as applied in claim 1; Wang discloses the tolerable gap is a ratio of the quality threshold, which is the received signal for all base stations (par. 41), and the RSRP received from the base station [based on the specification, pg. 16, lines 5-7, the concept of a ratio serves as a threshold (par. 44, lines 1-25)].
Consider claim 7, as applied in claim 1; Wang discloses the tolerable gap is the number of upper base stations in a ranking of the base stations based on the quality threshold that is the received signal for all base stations (par. 41; par. 44, lines 1-25).
Consider claim 13, as applied in claim 12; Cho discloses selecting a base station whose RSRP, which is a measurement result of a reference signal (RS) received from the base station, is greater than or equal to a first threshold (par. 119, lines 1-7). Cho discloses the claimed invention except: selecting a candidate base station whose reference signal received quality (RSRQ), which is the measurement result of the RS received from the base station, is greater than or equal to a second threshold from the base station whose RSRP is greater than or equal to the first threshold.
In an analogous art ang discloses selecting a candidate base station whose reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (par. 44, lines 1-25), which is the measurement result of the RS received from the base station (par. 44, lines 1-25), is greater than or equal to a second threshold from the base station whose RSRP is greater than or equal to the first threshold (par. 44, lines 1-25).
It is an object of Cho’s invention to provide a method of handing over from a serving base station to another base station. It is an object of Wang’s invention to provide a method of transferring data between a first and second base station. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Cho by including a second threshold, as taught by Wang, for the purpose of efficiently managing communication in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 14, as applied in claim 12; Wang discloses selecting one or more candidate base stations from among the candidate base stations based on a quality threshold that is the received signal for all base stations (par. 44, lines 1-25), when selecting the LBL scheme (par. 3, lines 4-15); and selecting the target base station from among the one or more candidate base stations [e.g. eNB2 (par. 44, lines 1-25)].
Consider claim 15, as applied in claim 14; Wang discloses connecting the base station with the largest selection criterion value for selecting the target base station among the one or more candidate base stations as the target base station (par. 44, lines 1-25).
Consider claim 16, as applied in claim 15; Wang discloses calculating the selection criterion value based on at least one of a cell selection parameter, backhaul information, or the quality threshold [e.g. quality threshold (par. 44, lines 1-25)].
Consider claim 17, as applied in claim 12; Wang discloses the tolerable gap is a ratio of the quality threshold, which is the received signal for all base stations (par. 41), and the RSRP received from the base station [based on the specification, pg. 16, lines 5-7, the concept of a ratio serves as a threshold (par. 44, lines 1-25)].
Consider claim 18, as applied in claim 12; Wang discloses the tolerable gap is the number of upper base stations in a ranking of the base stations based on the quality threshold that is the received signal for all base stations (par. 41; par. 44, lines 1-25).
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2019/0208449) in view of Cho (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2015/0245263).
Consider claim 8; Wang discloses a method of a base station, the method comprising:
transmitting a network environment parameter to a central server (par. 23, lines 1-14; par. 39, lines 29-33);
receiving a tolerable gap (par. 44, lines 1-25), which is a parameter for determining a candidate base station (par. 44, lines 1-25), from the central server (par. 23, lines 1-14) to maximize the performance of a network metric set based on the network environment parameter (par. 44, lines 1-25). Wang discloses the claimed invention except: generating cell selection and reselection information based on the network environment parameter and the tolerable gap; and transmitting the cell selection and reselection information to a terminal.
In an analogous art Cho discloses generating cell selection and reselection information based on the network environment parameter (e.g. load information) and the tolerable gap (e.g. optimum load) (par. 60); and
transmitting the cell selection and reselection information to a terminal (par. 47, lines 1-13).
It is an object of Wang’s invention to provide a method of transferring data between a first and second base station. It is an object of Cho’s invention to provide a method of handing over from a serving base station to another base station. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Wang by including cell reselection, as taught by Cho, for the purpose of efficiently managing communication in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 9, as applied in claim 8; Cho discloses the network metric is generated based on a probability of communication success (par. 48), which is a probability that the capacity of the terminal is greater than the capacity of the target service (par. 48).
Consider claim 10, as applied in claim 8; Wang discloses the tolerable gap is a ratio of a quality threshold, which is a received signal for all base stations capable of communicating with the terminal (par. 41), and an RSRP received from the base station [based on the specification, pg. 16, lines 5-7, the concept of a ratio serves as a threshold (par. 44, lines 1-25)].
Consider claim 11, as applied in claim 8; Wang discloses the tolerable gap is the number of upper base stations in a ranking of base stations based on the quality threshold (par. 44, lines 1-25), which is a received signal for all base stations capable of communicating with the terminal (par. 41).
Ji is an exemplary reference that also discloses the inventive concept.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Lester Kincaid can be reached on (571) 272-7922. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646