DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the ratio of Wd to X" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalal et al. (US 2018/0042785).
With reference to claim 1, Dalal et al. (hereinafter “Dalal”) discloses an absorbent article (abstract) comprising:
a chassis comprising a topsheet, a backsheet, and an absorbent core disposed between the topsheet and backsheet [0007]; and
an ear joined to the chassis [0047] and comprising:
a laminate comprising a first nonwoven, a second nonwoven, and an elastomeric material sandwiched between the first nonwoven and the second nonwoven [0050], wherein the laminate further comprises a plurality of ultrasonic bonds [0010]; and wherein:
the elastomeric material comprises a maximum dimension, Y, in a stretch direction [0054];
the elastomeric material defines a primary region comprising an elastic region (Y) and one or more unstretched zones(37,39);
the elastic region comprises a maximum dimension, X, in the stretch direction [0054] and the one or more unstretched zones (37,39) that comprise an aggregate lateral width as shown in figure 2.
The difference between Dalal and claim 1 is the explicit recitation that a ratio of the unstretched zones to the maximum dimension of the elastomeric material is 0.3 or less.
Initially, it is noted that the ratio may be equal to zero and is therefore not necessarily required to be present.
Alternatively, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the ratio between the unstretched zones to the maximum dimension of the elastomeric material as desired because Dalal discloses that the width of the unstretched regions may vary as set forth in [0058].
As to claim 2, Dalal discloses an absorbent article wherein the stretch direction comprises a lateral direction of the absorbent article as set forth in [0054].
As to claims 3-4, see the rejection of claim 1.
It is noted that the ratio may be equal to zero and is therefore not necessarily required to be present.
As to claim 5, Dalal discloses an absorbent article wherein the one or more unstretched zones comprise:
a first unstretched zone (37) disposed laterally inboard of the elastic region and comprising a width Wd1 (figure 2), and
a second unstretched zone (39) disposed laterally outboard of the elastic region comprising a lateral width Wd2 (figure 2), wherein the Wd1 is different than Wd2 as set forth in [0058].
With respect to claim 6, Dalal teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 5.
The difference between Dalal and claim 6 is the explicit recitation that Wd2 is greater than Wd1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Wd2 and Wd1 as desired because Dalal teaches that the length and/or width of the unstretched regions may vary as set forth in [0058].
Regarding claims 7-10 and 17-20, Dalal discloses an absorbent article wherein the laminate further comprises a discrete (cl. 8,18) reinforcement feature (48) disposed between the elastomeric material and the first or second nonwovens [0060] wherein the
discrete material is a fastening tape (50) joined to a portion of one of the one or more unstretched zones (cl. 10, 20) as set forth in [0061].
With reference claim 11, Dalal teaches a reinforcement feature as set forth in the rejection of claims 7-10 and 17-20.
The manner by which the reinforcement feature is formed is considered as a product by process limitation that does not patentably distinguish the recited element from the cited prior art.
With reference to claims 12-13, see the rejection of claims 7-10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to place the reinforcement feature between the first nonwoven and the elastomeric material of the ear (cl. 12) and/or between the second nonwoven and the elastomeric material of the ear (cl. 13) because Dalal discloses that the system may be joined between the various layers as set forth in [0060].
As to claim 14, Dalal discloses an absorbent article (abstract) comprising:
a chassis comprising a topsheet, a backsheet, and an absorbent core disposed between the topsheet and backsheet [0007]; and
an ear joined to the chassis [0047] and comprising:
a laminate comprising a first nonwoven, a second nonwoven, and an elastomeric material sandwiched between the first nonwoven and the second nonwoven [0050], wherein the laminate further comprises a plurality of ultrasonic bonds [0010]; and wherein:
the elastomeric material comprises a maximum dimension, Y, in a stretch direction [0054];
the elastomeric material defines a primary region comprising an elastic region (Y) and first and second unstretched zones(37,39).
The difference between Dalal and claim 14 is the explicit recitation that a ratio the first unstretched zone to the second unstretched zone is at least 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the ratio between the unstretched zones as desired because Dalal discloses that the length and/or width of the unstretched regions may vary as set forth in [0058].
As to claim 15, see the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, see the rejection of claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lenser et al. (US 2019/0046363) discloses a method of assembling elastic laminates.
/MICHELE KIDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781