DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. For example, claim 1 recites “first attachment means provided on the charger housing….” This uses the “means” plus step language. Accordingly, this claim is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) in the manner discussed above. Claim 4 recites “attachment means”, so it is also invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and is interpreted in this manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller, et al. (US 2020/0259368, herein Miller).1 Regarding claims 1 and 4, Miller teaches a portable power charger for powering and/or recharging at least one of: a small 12V appliance, and an electronic device having a rechargeable internal battery (paragraph 0056: rechargeable battery unit 14), said portable power charger unit comprising: a charger housing internally storing a rechargeable battery, said charger housing having a generally planar first surface having a first area, and first and second sidewalls orthogonally positioned to the first surface (paragraph 0056: charger housing 12); a wireless transmitter operatively connected to the rechargeable battery capable of wireless transmitting a power to an electronic device attached thereto, said wireless transmitter defining a wireless transmission area (paragraph 0060: wireless transmitter 26); and first attachment means2 provided on the charger housing for attaching the charger housing (paragraph 0062) to the one of: the small 12V appliance, and the electronic device (paragraph 0056: rechargeable battery unit 14), wherein said first attachment means comprise at least one of: grooves and outwardly-directed projections formed in one or more of: the planar first surface, and each of the first and second sidewalls (paragraph 0068). Regarding claim 2, Miller teaches at least one power connection interface operatively connected to the rechargeable battery capable of operating as at least one of a power input and a power output, wherein when said at least one power connection interface operates as a power input, an electrical charge current is provided from an external power source to the portable power charger for recharging the rechargeable battery when the portable power charger is connected to said external power source via said at least one power connection interface (paragraph 0086), and wherein when the said at least one power connection interface operates as a power output, a charge is provided from the rechargeable battery of the portable power charger to the small 12V appliance or the electronic device to recharge the rechargeable battery of said small 12V appliance or electronic device when said small 12V appliance or electronic device is connected to the portable power charger via said at least one power connection interface (paragraph 0086). Regarding claims 3 and 7, Miller teaches said at least one power connection interface comprises at least one of a power connection port and a power connection cable operatively connected to the rechargeable battery (paragraph 0057). Regarding claim 5, Miller teaches t least one magnet positioned on or near the first surface of the charger housing at a predetermined location relative to the wireless transmission area and adapted for interaction with at least one of: a reciprocal magnet and a metallic piece, so positioned on the independent device such that when said independent device is attached to the portable charger via 1) the magnet in the portable charger, and 2) the reciprocal magnet or metallic piece in the independent device, a wireless receiver in said independent device is aligned with the wireless transmitter in the portable charger (paragraph 0068). Regarding claim 6, Miller teaches the attachment means comprise at least one of: grooves and outwardly-directed projections (paragraph 0068). Regarding claim 8, Miller teaches a display configured to indicate a charge level of the rechargeable battery (paragraph 0099). Regarding claim 9, Miller teaches the display is at least one LED light (paragraph 0099). Regarding claim 10, Miller teaches the charger housing defines a storage space configured to contain at least one connection cable (paragraph 0091). Regarding claim 11, Miller teaches a portable power charger configured to power an independent device, the portable power charger comprising: a rechargeable battery (paragraph 0056: rechargeable battery unit 14); a housing internally storing the rechargeable battery, the housing having a generally planar first surface and linking structures (paragraph 0056: charger housing 12), wherein the linking structures are configured to removably attach the housing to the independent device, and the linking structures are adapted to engage complementary features of the independent device when attached (paragraph 0068); and a wireless transmitter operatively connected to the rechargeable battery, the wireless transmitter configured to wirelessly transmit power to a wireless receiver of the independent device when the independent device is attached to the housing (paragraph 0060: wireless transmitter 26). Regarding claim 12, Miller teaches the wireless transmitter defines a wireless transmission area proximate the first surface of the housing (paragraph 0060). Regarding claim 13, Miller teaches the wireless transmitter is further configured to wirelessly transmit power to a wireless receiver of an unattached device when the unattached device is placed on the wireless transmission area (paragraph 0060).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW MIKELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
1 In addition to the cited paragraphs, please see also the associated figures.
2 See Claim Interpretation section above.
3 The Examiner can also be reached at matthew.mikels@uspto.gov.