DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on Chinese Application CN202223212705.9 dated 05/21/2024 and applicant has filed a certified copy of this Chinese application on 02/24/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “each positioning pin is placed into a hole in one of the magnetic blocks”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites “at least one of the magnetic blocks has … a positioning pin”. Examiner suggests amending claims as below to overcome the ambiguity regarding the positioning pins and the magnetic blocks:--1. An electromagnetic bed for a workpiece, comprising: an electromagnetic bed body that is arranged horizontally, the electromagnetic bed body having a first top surface that includes a plurality of magnetic blocks that are arranged in a rectangular array, each magnetic block of the plurality of magnetic blocks has a second top surface that has a concave sink hole and a positioning pin protruding from the second top surface, each magnetic block of the plurality of magnetic blocks being fixed in the electromagnetic bed body by a bolt; and a cover plate is arranged correspondingly with the electromagnetic bed body, the cover plate being made of a magnetic material, wherein the workpiece can be placed between the electromagnetic bed body and the cover plate.----2. The electromagnetic bed according to claim 1, wherein each magnetic block of the plurality of magnetic blocks has a rectangular structure, the electromagnetic bed body is provided with a plurality of installation slots, and a bottom of each of the plurality of installation slots is provided with a plurality of threaded holes that correspond to a respective magnetic block of the plurality of magnetic blocks located therein.--
--3. The electromagnetic bed according to claim 2, wherein each magnetic block of the plurality of magnetic blocks has a chamfered edge.----4. The electromagnetic bed according to claim 1, wherein each positioning pin is placed into a hole in one of the plurality of magnetic blocks.--In claim 6, it is not clear if only one positioning pin extends into the cover plate.In claim 7, it is not clear if only one of the positioning pins are received inside the positioning bar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 12, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 101614218 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) an electromagnetic bed for a workpiece (object to be processed 20), comprising: an electromagnetic bed body (base 311) having a top surface that includes a plurality of magnetic blocks (magnetic blocks 313 which comprises 313-1 and 313-2) each of the plurality of magnetic blocks being coupled to the electromagnetic bed body; and a cover plate (pressure plate 325 of the magnetic extending jig 320) being made of a magnetic material,
wherein the workpiece can be placed between the electromagnetic bed body and the cover plate.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the top surface of each of the plurality of magnetic blocks has a hole (327), and each positioning pin is placed into the hole in the top surface of each of the plurality of magnetic blocks.
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) an electromagnetic bed for a workpiece (object to be processed 20), comprising: an electromagnetic bed body (base 311) having a top surface that includes a plurality of magnetic blocks (magnetic blocks 313 which comprises 313-1 and 313-2), the electromagnetic bed body has a plurality of installation slots, each of the plurality of installation slots receiving at least one magnetic block, each of the plurality of magnetic blocks has its own top surface that has a positioning pin (fixed pin 327) protruding therefrom, each of the plurality of magnetic blocks being coupled to the electromagnetic bed body; and a cover plate (pressure plate 325 of the magnetic extending jig 320) that can be positioned proximate to the top surface of the electromagnetic bed body, and the cover plate being made of a magnetic material,
wherein the workpiece can be placed between the electromagnetic bed body and the cover plate, and the cover plate is drawn to the electromagnetic bed body to hold the workpiece in place.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-11 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Zheng (TW M598206 U).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) an electromagnetic bed for a workpiece (object to be processed 20), comprising: an electromagnetic bed body (base 311) that is arranged horizontally, the electromagnetic bed body having a first top surface that includes magnetic blocks (magnetic blocks 313 which comprises 313-1 and 313-2) that are arranged in a rectangular array, at least one of the magnetic blocks has a second top surface (top surface of 313-2) that has a concave sink hole (central hole 316) and a positioning pin (fixed pin 327) protruding from the second top surface, the at least one of the magnetic blocks being fixed in the electromagnetic bed body (pressure plate 325 of the magnetic extending jig 320) is arranged correspondingly with the electromagnetic bed body, the cover plate being made of a magnetic material,
wherein the workpiece can be placed between the electromagnetic bed body and the cover plate. Kim does not show how the magnetic blocks are attached to the electromagnetic bed body.
Zheng teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) an electromagnetic bed for a workpiece, comprising: an electromagnetic bed body (base main body 10) with magnetic blocks (magnetic conductive elements 20) that are arranged in a rectangular array, the at least one of the magnetic blocks being fixed in the electromagnetic bed body by a bolt (screw P for fixing purposes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings of Zheng in device of Kim and removable attach the magnetic blocks to the magnetic bed body by bolt. Doing so would make it possible to remove the magnetic blocks for repair and/or replacement.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the at least one of the magnetic blocks (magnetic blocks 313 comprises 313-1 and 313-2) has a rectangular structure, the electromagnetic bed body is provided with a plurality of installation slotsAs stated in rejection of claim 1 above, Kim does not show how the magnetic blocks are attached to the electromagnetic bed body.
Zheng teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the at least one of the magnetic blocks has a rectangular structure, the electromagnetic bed body is provided with a plurality of installation slots (plurality of slots 11), and a bottom of each of the plurality of installation slots is provided with a plurality of
It appears in device of Zheng, threads are on the blocks and not the bed body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make threads on either attaching part, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Kim does not clearly show edges of the magnetic blocks.
Zheng shows (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) each of the magnetic blocks has a chamfered edge (lower edge).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to make lower edge of the magnetic blocks chamfered. Doing so would make their assembly easier and prevents damage to the sharp edges.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches each positioning pin (fixed pin 327) is placed into a hole in one of the magnetic blocks.
Regarding claims 9-10 and 17-18, and 17-18 Kim teaches the electromagnetic bed body has a plurality of installation slots, each of the plurality of installation slots receiving at least one magnetic block, Kim does not show how the magnetic blocks are attached to the electromagnetic bed body.
Zheng teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the electromagnetic bed body has a plurality of installation slots (four section slot in each row), each of the plurality of installation slots receiving at least one magnetic block, and a bottom of each of the plurality of installation slots has at least one hole that corresponds to a magnetic block located therein and that can be used to couple a magnetic body to the electromagnetic bed body;each of the plurality of installation slots receives four magnetic blocks (as shown below four rows, each row with 4 sections).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 13-15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5-7, 13-15 and 20 are allowable for disclosing connection system of the cover plate. These limitations with other claimed limitations in a whole, make the instant invention neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the best prior art in record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Babinot (US 12034182 B2) teaches an electromagnetic bed for a workpiece, comprising an electromagnetic bed body that is arranged horizontally, the electromagnetic bed body having a first top surface that includes magnetic blocks (22), a cover plate (24a) is arranged correspondingly with the electromagnetic bed body.
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723