DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 9, the recitation “monitor sending” should be “monitor apparatus sending”. In line 10, the recitation “door” should be “or more doors”. In line 10, the recitation “door” should be “or more doors”. In line 11, both recitations of “door” should be “or more doors”. In line 14, the recitation “door” should be “or more doors”.
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 9, the recitation “door” should be “or more doors”.
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 3, the recitation “chamber” should be “of the chambers”. In line 6, the recitation “chamber” should be “of the chambers”.
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, the recitation “door” should be “or more doors”. In line 2, the recitation “door” should be “or more doors”. In line 4, both recitations of “door” should be “or more doors”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,858,783 B1 (Agrawal).
With respect to claim 1: Agrawal discloses a communications-equipped cabinet (medical kit 115 and/or container 120; medical kit 215 and/or container 220; medical kit 315 and/or rigid container 325), comprising: a plurality of chambers formed in the cabinet (compartments 122; not numbered chambers in Fig. 2) for holding one or more emergency response items (medical supplies 126; medical supplies 225, AED 227); one or more doors (covering element 130; door 222), wherein each of the one or more doors is associated with a respective one or more of the plurality of chambers and adapted to be moved away from a closed position; a controller (“computing system” @ col. 5, line 23; client device 140; device 235); a door monitor apparatus (access sensor 134; access sensor 238) in signal communication with the controller and coupled with at least one of the one or more doors, the door monitor sending a signal to the controller when the one door is moved away from the closed position communicating an identity of the one door and that the one door has been moved from the closed position; and a monitor (“a display” @ col. 5, lines 46-47; user interface 340) attached to the cabinet and in signal communication with the controller, wherein the controller activates the monitor in response to the one door moving away from the closed position.
With respect to claim 2: Agrawal discloses a camera (digital recorder 146 = “digital camera” @ col. 6, lines 17-18; digital camera(s) 237; digital camera 320) in signal communication with the controller and adapted to capture an image of an area proximate to the cabinet; a speaker (“input/output elements @ col. 5, line 43; “alarm” @ col. 9, line 14; user interface 166) in signal communication with the controller; a microphone (“digital microphone” @ col. 6, line 21) in signal communication with the controller; and a two-way communications system (client device 140; user interface 166) in signal communication with the controller, wherein the controller activates the speaker and the microphone in response to the one door moving away from the closed position.
With respect to claim 4: Agrawal discloses a presence-detection apparatus (monitored compartments 122 and/or tracking tags 128 and/or tracking system 144; digital camera 237 and/or tracking tag 230 and/or “tracking system (not shown)” @ col. 8, line 59 and/or perimeter sensor 250) connected with at least one of the chambers and in signal communication with the controller, wherein the at least one chamber removably holds a selected one of the emergency response items, and wherein the presence-detection apparatus sends an item removed signal to the controller in response to removal of the selected emergency response item from the at least one chamber.
With respect to claim 7: Agrawal discloses wherein the one door is adapted to be moved away from an open position to the closed position, wherein, when the one door is moved to the closed position, the door monitor apparatus communicates to the controller the identity of the one door and that the one door has been moved to the closed position (at least col. 10, lines 11-20).
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0328813 A1 (Montgomery).
With respect to claim 1: Montgomery discloses a communications-equipped cabinet (cabinet 1), comprising: a plurality of chambers (plurality of compartments 5) formed in the cabinet for holding one or more emergency response items (“stock items” throughout the specification); one or more doors (door or doors 3), wherein each of the one or more doors is associated with a respective one or more of the plurality of chambers and adapted to be moved away from a closed position; a controller (“processor” @ [0094]); a door monitor apparatus in signal communication with the controller and coupled with at least one of the one or more doors, the door monitor sending a signal to the controller when the one door is moved away from the closed position communicating an identity of the one door and that the one door has been moved from the closed position (“One or more of the sensors may be associated with the door 3 of the cabinet, and serve to detect when the door is opened and/or closed” @ [0097]); and a monitor (screen 23) attached to the cabinet and in signal communication with the controller, wherein the controller activates the monitor in response to the one door moving away from the closed position.
With respect to claim 2: Montgomery discloses a camera (camera 7) in signal communication with the controller and adapted to capture an image of an area proximate to the cabinet; a speaker (speaker 24) in signal communication with the controller; a microphone (microphone 9) in signal communication with the controller; and a two-way communications system (communications system 26) in signal communication with the controller, wherein the controller activates the speaker and the microphone in response to the one door moving away from the closed position.
With respect to claim 3: Montgomery [0111]-[0123] discloses wherein the two-way communication system is adapted to establish a communications link with an emergency-response entity (at remote station 27).
With respect to claim 4: Montgomery discloses a presence-detection apparatus (camera 7 and/or sensors 13) connected with at least one of the chambers and in signal communication with the controller, wherein the at least one chamber removably holds a selected one of the emergency response items, and wherein the presence-detection apparatus sends an item removed signal to the controller in response to removal of the selected emergency response item from the at least one chamber.
With respect to claim 6: Montgomery discloses an activation button (manual input device 21 and/or communications system 26) operable by a person and in signal communication with the controller, wherein, in response to operation of the activation button, the communications link is established and the monitor, camera, and speaker are activated to enable communication between the person and the emergency-response entity.
With respect to claim 7: Montgomery [0097] discloses wherein the one door is adapted to be moved away from an open position to the closed position, wherein, when the one door is moved to the closed position, the door monitor apparatus communicates to the controller the identity of the one door and that the one door has been moved to the closed position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0328813 A1 (Montgomery) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US 10,242,557 B2 (Ward).
With respect to claim 5: Montgomery does not disclose “wherein the controller determines an emergency type based on the item removed signal” as claimed.
Ward col. 4, line 59 to col. 5, line 33 show it is known in the art for an emergency cabinet device to register the removal of one or more components from the cabinet device, and determine from that information the likely injury or condition encountered by a patient.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Montgomery’s cabinet 1 to determine the likely injury or condition of a patient based on what is removed from a compartment 5, in order to provide that information to the remote location 27. This helps the person at the remote station 27 to more quickly provide the needed assistance for that particular injury or condition.
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3148492 U in view of US 2016/0328813 A1 (Montgomery).
With respect to claim 1: JP 3148492 U discloses a communications-equipped cabinet (storage box 1), comprising: a plurality of chambers (each “chamber” separated by a shelf 2 in Fig. 2) formed in the cabinet for holding one or more emergency response items (AED 7, oxygen mask 8, first aid tool 9, sterilization towel 10, and fire extinguisher 11); one or more doors (lid 3), wherein each of the one or more doors is associated with a respective one or more of the plurality of chambers and adapted to be moved away from a closed position; and a monitor (monitor 4) attached to the cabinet.
JP 3148492 U does not disclose “a controller; a door monitor apparatus in signal communication with the controller and coupled with at least one of the one or more doors, the door monitor sending a signal to the controller when the one door is moved away from the closed position communicating an identity of the one door and that the one door has been moved from the closed position” as claimed.
JP 3148492 U does not disclose the monitor 4 “in signal communication with the controller, wherein the controller activates the monitor in response to the one door moving away from the closed position” as claimed.
Montgomery [0094] discloses “a controller” as claimed, in the form of the “processor” and/or “software”. Montgomery [0096]-[0100] discloses “a door monitor apparatus” as claimed, in the form of sensors 13.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify JP 3148492 U’s storage box 1 to include Montgomery’s “processor” and “software”, in order to connect and control the various electronic and/or computerized components thereof in a known and conventional manner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify JP 3148492 U’s storage box 1 to include door sensor(s) 13 of Montgomery, in order to determine that an emergency has occurred (or is occurring) and provide the necessary response thereto.
With respect to claim 2: JP 3148492 U does not disclose the claimed “camera”, “speaker”, “microphone”, and/or “two-way communications system”.
Montgomery discloses a camera (camera 7) in signal communication with the controller and adapted to capture an image of an area proximate to the cabinet; a speaker (speaker 24) in signal communication with the controller; a microphone (microphone 9) in signal communication with the controller; and a two-way communications system (communications system 26) in signal communication with the controller, wherein the controller activates the speaker and the microphone in response to the one door moving away from the closed position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify JP 3148492 U’s storage box 1 to include Montgomery’s camera 7, speaker 24, microphone 9, and communications system 26 – in order to connect an emergency responder with help at a remote station 27 (as in Montgomery’s invention). This enables the person at the remote station 27 to assist the person giving emergency response.
With respect to claim 3: See Montgomery [0111]-[0123]. JP 3148492 U, as modified, meets wherein the two-way communication system is adapted to establish a communications link with an emergency-response entity (at remote station 27).
With respect to claim 4: JP 3148492 U does not disclose the claimed “presence-detection apparatus”.
Montgomery discloses a presence-detection apparatus (camera 7 and/or sensors 13) connected with at least one of the chambers and in signal communication with the controller, wherein the at least one chamber removably holds a selected one of the emergency response items, and wherein the presence-detection apparatus sends an item removed signal to the controller in response to removal of the selected emergency response item from the at least one chamber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify JP 3148492 U’s storage box 1 to include Montgomery’s camera 7 and/or sensors 13 – in order to enable inventory monitoring and control.
With respect to claim 6: JP 3148492 U does not disclose the claimed “activation button”.
Montgomery discloses an activation button (manual input device 21 and/or communications system 26) operable by a person and in signal communication with the controller, wherein, in response to operation of the activation button, the communications link is established and the monitor, camera, and speaker are activated to enable communication between the person and the emergency-response entity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify JP 3148492 U’s storage box 1 to include input device 21 and/or communications system 26 – in order to help an emergency responder connect to assistance from the remote station 27.
With respect to claim 7: See Montgomery [0097]. JP 3148492 U, as modified, meets wherein the one door is adapted to be moved away from an open position to the closed position, wherein, when the one door is moved to the closed position, the door monitor apparatus communicates to the controller the identity of the one door and that the one door has been moved to the closed position.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3148492 U in view of US 2016/0328813 A1 (Montgomery) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US 10,242,557 B2 (Ward).
With respect to claim 5: JP 3148492 U, as modified, does not disclose “wherein the controller determines an emergency type based on the item removed signal” as claimed.
Ward col. 4, line 59 to col. 5, line 33 show it is known in the art for an emergency cabinet device to register the removal of one or more components from the cabinet device, and determine from that information the likely injury or condition encountered by a patient.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify JP 3148492 U’s storage box 1 1 to determine the likely injury or condition of a patient based on what is removed, in order to provide that information to the remote location 27. This helps the person at the remote station 27 to more quickly provide the needed assistance for that particular injury or condition.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ANDREW ROERSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637