DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/28/2024 has being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 3, "therethough" should read "therethrough" . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 3, "therethough" should read "therethrough" . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 29 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 3, "therethough" should read "therethrough" . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Zhiwu et al., CN-219304871-U.
Regarding claim 1, Zhiwu et al. discloses a multi-functional accessory for a mobile device the multi-functional accessory comprising: an attachment portion configured for removable to the mobile device attachment (Disclosure of invention, par. 7; the magnetic finger ring buckle comprises at least one detachable magnetic finger ring buckle body fixed on the back of a mobile phone or a mobile phone shell); a support portion pivotally coupled with the attachment portion (Disclosure of Invention, Par. 7; movably connected to the body through a connecting component) and a bottle opener portion (Figs. 1-4, par. 33; magnetic finger tab with a bottle opener).
Regarding claim 2, Zhiwu et al. discloses the multi-functional accessory, wherein the bottle opener portion comprises a slot formed in the attachment portion (Figs. 1-4, par. 08; the bottle opening groove is formed by recessing the inner part of the body).
Regarding claim 3, Zhiwu et al. discloses the multi-functional accessory, wherein the attachment portion comprises at least one magnetic element configured for releasable engagement with at least one cooperating magnetic element of the mobile device (Fig. 2, par. 33; can be detachably fixed on the back of a mobile phone or a mobile phone shell through magnetic attraction)
Regarding claim 4, Zhiwu et al. discloses at least one magnetic element of the attachment portion comprises a full circular magnetic array (Zhiwu et al. Fig. 2, Par. 35; the magnet recess 41 is circular, and the magnets 42 are sequentially arranged to form a closed circular shape or non-closed circular shape with intervals)
Regarding claim 7, Zhiwu et al. discloses the multi-functional accessory, wherein the support portion comprises a generally annular body having an internal opening with a minimum crosswise dimension of at least about 20 mm to allow insertion of a user’s finger therethough (Fig. 1, par. 7; one detachable magnetic finger ring buckle body fixed on the back of a mobile phone or a mobile phone shell).
Regarding claim 10, Zhiwu et al. discloses the multi-functional accessory, wherein the support portion comprises a generally circular body having at least one flat segment Figs. 1-2, par. 35, the magnet recess 41 is circular, and the magnets 42 are sequentially arranged to form a closed circular shape)
As for claim 11, Zhiwu et al. discloses the multi-functional accessory, wherein the support portion is pivotally coupled with the attachment portion by a hinged coupling providing a range of pivotal motion spanning at least 0º through 90º between the support portion and the attachment portion from a closed configuration to an open configuration (Figs 1-4, pars. 33 and 40; ring buckle 3 movably connected to the body 1 through a connecting member 2 … the ring buckle 3 is hinged on the riveting column 2).
Regarding claim 12, Zhiwu et al. discloses the multi-functional accessory of, wherein the hinged coupling has a range of pivotal motion spanning through at least 130º in the open configuration (Fig. 4 par. 41; the rivet column 21 rotates more smoothly, thereby reducing rotational jamming feeling, and increasing the rotation times and the service life of the rivet column 21.)
Regarding claim 13, Zhiwu et al. discloses the multi-functional accessory, wherein the attachment portion comprises a recess configured to receive the support portion therein in a closed configuration (Fig. 1 par. 63; the first folding body and the second folding body comprise, but are not limited to, annular buckles or rod-shaped supporting body structures).
Regarding claim 14, Zhiwu et al. discloses the multi-functional accessory, wherein the mobile device is selected from a mobile phone, a tablet computer, and a case for a mobile phone or tablet computer (Disclosure of invention, par. 7; the magnetic finger ring buckle comprises at least one detachable magnetic finger ring buckle body fixed on the back of a mobile phone or a mobile phone shell).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 8-9, 15-25, 27-33 and 35-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zhiwu et al. (CN219304871U) in view of Fuchuang (CN217363129U).
Regarding claim 5, Zhiwu et al. discloses the multifunctional accessory of claims 1 and 3, (Fig. 2, par. 33; a magnetic finger tab with a bottle opener, comprising: the mobile phone comprises a body 1 and a ring buckle 3 movably connected to the body 1 through a connecting member 2, wherein in the implementation, the body 1 can be detachably fixed on the back of a mobile phone or a mobile phone shell through magnetic attraction).
Zhiwu et al., does not teach a C-shaped magnetic array, however, Fuchuang discloses a magnetic array that can be arrange in circular or semicircular shapes (Fuchuang, Fig. 4, Detailed Description, Par. 40; The second magnetic portion 110 is usually configured to be circular in order to correspond to the first magnetic portion 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Zhiwu et al. to incorporate the teachings of Fuchuang to implement a C-shaped magnetic array or any of its variations as design choice to improve magnetic attachment of the devices while reducing costs.
Regarding claim 8, Zhiwu et al teaches the multi-functional accessory of Claim 1 (Zhiwu et al., par. 7; the magnetic finger ring buckle comprises at least one detachable magnetic finger ring buckle body fixed on the back of a mobile phone or a mobile phone shell and a finger ring buckle movably connected to the body through a connecting component, wherein a bottle opening groove for opening a bottle cap or a bottle opening protrusion is formed in the body).
Zhiwu et al does not teach a support portion comprising a polygonal external periphery, however, Fuchuang teaches the supporting member 200 is configured as a strip-shaped plate, and the protrusions 150 are configured as a ring distributed along the periphery of the magnetic base 100 (Fuchuang, Fig. 2, Detailed description Par. 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement a predictable variation of Fuchuang and Zhiwu et al. to modify the shape of the support structure in any shape that could match the periphery of the magnetic base as a design choice.
Regarding claims 9, the combination of Zhiwu et al. and Fuchuang discloses a multifunctional accessory wherein the polygonal external periphery of the support portion is octagonal as depicted in claims 1 and 8.
The combination of Zhiwu et al., and Fuchuang does not teach an octagonal shaped support, however, Fuchuang does teach a support portion with a circular shape distributed along the periphery of the magnetic base (Fuchuang, Fig. 2, Par. 28 “the supporting member 200 is configured as a strip-shaped plate, and the protrusions 150 are configured as a ring distributed along the periphery of the magnetic base 100”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to design the support structure in an octagonal shape to maximize contact on the magnetic surface and reduce manufacturing costs.
Regarding claims 15, Zhiwu et al discloses the multifunctional accessory of claims 1 and 14, Fuchuang further teaches the multi-functional accessory supports the mobile device in both a portrait orientation (Fuchuang, fig. 7, par. 38; the terminal device 20 to be displayed in the vertical screen state) and a landscape orientation (Fuchuang, fig. 7, par. 38; when the user needs the terminal device 20 to be displayed in the landscape state, the supporting member 200 can be rotated by a small angle with respect to the magnetic base 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement a predictable variation of Fuchuang and Zhiwu et al. to modify the shape of the support structure in any shape to allow for portrait or landscape viewing when using as a standalone or when gripping the phone with the attachment.
Regarding claim 16, Zhiwu et al. in view of Fuchuang discloses a multi-functional accessory for a mobile device, the multi-functional accessory comprising: an attachment portion configured for removable magnetic attachment to the mobile device, and comprising a magnetic array extending substantially continuously 360º around a base surface of the attachment portion without any non-magnetic sections a support portion pivotally coupled with the attachment portion. (Zhiwu et al. Figs. 1-4, Detailed description, Pars. 5-8; The first embodiment provides a magnetic finger tab with a bottle opener, comprising: the mobile phone comprises a body 1 and a ring buckle 3 movably connected to the body 1 through a connecting member 2, wherein in the implementation, the body 1 can be detachably fixed on the back of a mobile phone or a mobile phone shell through magnetic attraction; as shown in fig. 2 and 3, the body 1 further includes a magnetic attraction member 4, and the magnetic attraction member 4 includes a magnet recess 41 provided on the body 1, a plurality of magnets 42 provided in the magnet recess 41, and a cover plate 43 closing the magnet recess 41. As shown in fig. 2, the magnet recess 41 is circular, and the magnets 42 are sequentially arranged to form a closed circular shape or non-closed circular shape with intervals. Wherein, for convenience, the magnet 42 is disposed in the magnet groove 41, the magnet 42 has a tile-shaped structure, or both inner and outer sides of the magnet 42 have arc-shaped sides, or the magnet 42 has a complete circular structure”);
Zhiwu et al. does not teach a nonmagnetic portion with a uniform circular shape. However, Fuchuang teaches the magnets 111 are radially distributed along the periphery of the magnetic base 100 in the first mounting groove 120. So as to provide a uniform magnetic force and to face the first magnetic attraction part 21 during the process of attracting the terminal device 20 (Fuchuang, Fig. 5, par. 43)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement a predictable variation of Fuchuang and Zhiwu et al. to modify the mobile support attachment to allow a full 360° magnet into the mounting groove for seamless alignment.
Regarding claims 17, Zhiwu et al. further teaches the bottle opener portion comprises a slot formed in the attachment portion (Figs. 1-4, par. 08; the bottle opening groove is formed by recessing the inner part of the body).
Regarding claim 18, Zhiwu et al. further teaches the multi-functional accessory, wherein the support portion comprises a generally annular body having an internal opening with a minimum crosswise dimension of at least about 20 mm to allow insertion of a user’s finger therethough (Fig. 1, par. 7; one detachable magnetic finger ring buckle body fixed on the back of a mobile phone or a mobile phone shell).
Regarding claims 19, Zhiwu et al. further teaches the support portion comprises a polygonal external periphery (Fuchuang, Fig. 2, Detailed description Par. 28; the supporting member 200 is configured as a strip-shaped plate, and the protrusions 150 are configured as a ring distributed along the periphery of the magnetic base 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement a predictable variation of Fuchuang and Zhiwu et al. to modify the shape of the support structure in any shape that could match the periphery of the magnetic base as a design choice.
Regarding 20, Fuchuang further teaches the support portion is octagonal. (Fuchuang, Fig. 2, Detailed description Par. 28 “the supporting member 200 is configured as a strip-shaped plate, and the protrusions 150 are configured as a ring distributed along the periphery of the magnetic base 100”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement a predictable variation of Fuchuang and Zhiwu et al. to modify the shape of the support structure in any shape that could match the periphery of the magnetic base as a design choice for compatibility.
As for claims 21, Zhiwu et al. further teaches the support portion is pivotally coupled with the attachment portion by a hinged coupling providing a range of pivotal motion spanning at least 0º through 90º between the support portion and the attachment portion from a closed configuration to an open configuration (Figs 1-4, pars. 33 and 40; ring buckle 3 movably connected to the body 1 through a connecting member 2 … the ring buckle 3 is hinged on the riveting column 2).
Regarding claims 22, Zhiwu et al. further teaches the hinged coupling has a range of pivotal motion spanning through at least 130º in the open configuration (Fig. 4 par. 41; the rivet column 21 rotates more smoothly, thereby reducing rotational jamming feeling, and increasing the rotation times and the service life of the rivet column 21.)
Regarding claims 23, Zhiwu et al. further teaches the attachment portion comprises a recess configured to receive the support portion therein in a closed configuration (Fig. 1 par. 63; the first folding body and the second folding body comprise, but are not limited to, annular buckles or rod-shaped supporting body structures).
Regarding claims 24, Zhiwu et al. further teaches the mobile device is selected from a mobile phone, a tablet computer, and a case for a mobile phone or tablet computer (Disclosure of invention, par. 7; the magnetic finger ring buckle comprises at least one detachable magnetic finger ring buckle body fixed on the back of a mobile phone or a mobile phone shell).
Regarding claims 25, Fuchuang further teaches the multi-functional accessory supports the mobile device in both a portrait orientation (Fuchuang, fig. 7, par. 38; the terminal device 20 to be displayed in the vertical screen state) and a landscape orientation (Fuchuang, fig. 7, par. 38; when the user needs the terminal device 20 to be displayed in the landscape state, the supporting member 200 can be rotated by a small angle with respect to the magnetic base 100).
Regarding claim 27, Zhiwu et al. teaches the multi-functional accessory comprising: an attachment portion configured for removable attachment to the mobile device; and a support portion pivotally coupled with the attachment portion (Zhiwu et al. Figs. 1-4, Detailed description, Pars. 5-8; The first embodiment provides a magnetic finger tab with a bottle opener, comprising: the mobile phone comprises a body 1 and a ring buckle 3 movably connected to the body 1 through a connecting member 2, wherein in the implementation, the body 1 can be detachably fixed on the back of a mobile phone or a mobile phone shell through magnetic attraction; as shown in fig. 2 and 3, the body 1 further includes a magnetic attraction member 4, and the magnetic attraction member 4 includes a magnet recess 41 provided on the body 1, a plurality of magnets 42 provided in the magnet recess 41, and a cover plate 43 closing the magnet recess 41. As shown in fig. 2, the magnet recess 41 is circular, and the magnets 42 are sequentially arranged to form a closed circular shape or non-closed circular shape with intervals. Wherein, for convenience, the magnet 42 is disposed in the magnet groove 41, the magnet 42 has a tile-shaped structure, or both inner and outer sides of the magnet 42 have arc-shaped sides, or the magnet 42 has a complete circular structure).
Zhiwu et al. does not teach the support portion comprising a polygonal external periphery. However, Fuchuang teaches the supporting member 200 is configured as a strip-shaped plate, and the protrusions 150 are configured as a ring distributed along the periphery of the magnetic base 100 (Fuchuang, Fig. 2, Detailed description Par. 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement a predictable variation of Fuchuang and Zhiwu et al. to modify the shape of the support structure in any shape that could match the periphery of the magnetic base as a design choice to improve magnetic attachment and reduce costs.
Regarding 28, the combination of Zhiwu et al. and Fuchuang discloses a multifunctional accessory as depicted in claim 27.
The combination of Zhiwu et al., and Fuchuang does not teach an octagonal shaped support, however, Fuchuang does teach a support portion with a circular or semicircular shape distributed along the periphery of the magnetic base (Fuchuang, Fig. 2, Par. 28 “the supporting member 200 is configured as a strip-shaped plate, and the protrusions 150 are configured as a ring distributed along the periphery of the magnetic base 100”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to design the support structure in an octagonal shape to maximize contact on the magnetic surface and reduce manufacturing costs.
Regarding claim 29, Zhiwu et al. further teaches the support portion comprises a generally annular body having an internal opening with a minimum crosswise dimension of at least about 20 mm to allow insertion of a user’s finger therethough (Fig. 1, par. 7; one detachable magnetic finger ring buckle body fixed on the back of a mobile phone or a mobile phone shell).
Regarding claim 30, Zhiwu et al. further teaches the bottle opener portion comprises a slot formed in the attachment portion (Figs. 1-4, par. 8; the bottle opening groove is formed by recessing the inner part of the body).
Regarding claim 31, Zhiwu et al. further teaches the attachment portion comprises at least one magnetic element configured for releasable engagement with at least one cooperating magnetic element of the mobile device (Fig. 2, par. 33; can be detachably fixed on the back of a mobile phone or a mobile phone shell through magnetic attraction)
Regarding claim 32, Zhiwu further teaches the at least one magnetic element of the attachment portion comprises a full circular magnetic array. (Zhiwu et al. Fig. 2, Detailed Description Par. 8; the magnet recess 41 is circular, and the magnets 42 are sequentially arranged to form a closed circular shape or non-closed circular shape with intervals).
Regarding claim 33, Fuchuang further teaches at least one magnetic element of the attachment portion comprises a C-shaped magnetic array as observed in figure 4 where the magnetic array can be arranged in a circular or semicircular shape (Fuchuang, Fig. 4, Par. 40; The second magnetic portion 110 is usually configured to be circular in order to correspond to the first magnetic portion 21).
Regarding claim 35, Zhiwu et al. further teaches the support portion is pivotally coupled with the attachment portion by a hinged coupling providing a range of pivotal motion spanning at least 0º through 90º between the support portion and the attachment portion from a closed configuration to an open configuration (Figs 1-4, pars. 33 and 40; ring buckle 3 movably connected to the body 1 through a connecting member 2 … the ring buckle 3 is hinged on the riveting column 2).
Regarding claim 36, Zhiwu et al. further teaches the hinged coupling has a range of pivotal motion spanning through at least 130º in the open configuration (Fig. 4 par. 41; the rivet column 21 rotates more smoothly, thereby reducing rotational jamming feeling, and increasing the rotation times and the service life of the rivet column 21.)
Regarding claim 37, Zhiwu et al. further teaches the attachment portion comprises a recess configured to receive the support portion therein in a closed configuration (Fig. 1 par. 63; the first folding body and the second folding body comprise, but are not limited to, annular buckles or rod-shaped supporting body structures).
Regarding claim 38, Zhiwu et al. further teaches the mobile device is selected from a mobile phone, a tablet computer, and a case for a mobile phone or tablet computer (Disclosure of invention, par. 7; the magnetic finger ring buckle comprises at least one detachable magnetic finger ring buckle body fixed on the back of a mobile phone or a mobile phone shell).
Regarding claim 39, Fuchuang further teaches the multi-functional accessory supports the mobile device in both a portrait orientation (Fuchuang, fig. 7, par. 38; the terminal device 20 to be displayed in the vertical screen state) and a landscape orientation (Fuchuang, fig. 7, par. 38; when the user needs the terminal device 20 to be displayed in the landscape state, the supporting member 200 can be rotated by a small angle with respect to the magnetic base 100).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zhiwu et al. (CN219304871U) in view of Avital (US10468894B2).
Regarding claim 6, Zhiwu et al. discloses the multi-functional accessory, wherein the at least one magnetic element of the attachment portion (Zhiwu et al. Fig. 1, par. 7; the magnetic finger ring buckle comprises at least one detachable magnetic finger ring buckle body fixed on the back of a mobile phone or a mobile phone shell and a finger ring buckle movably connected to the body through a connecting component, wherein a bottle opening groove for opening a bottle cap or a bottle opening protrusion is formed in the body).
Zhiwu does not teach a magnetic sticker. However, Avital teaches a magnetic sticker attached to the mobile phone and/or a magnet integrated on a case of the mobile phone (Avital, Description of Embodiments of the Invention, par. 52).
Therefore, for a person of ordinary skilled in the art, it would have been obvious to implement a predictable variation of Zhiwu et al. and Avital to allow for magnetic attachment to devices that lack a magnetic element by means of using a magnetic sticker to allow for compatibility across devices.
Claim(s) 26 and 34 is/are rejected, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zhiwu et al. (CN219304871U) in view of Fuchuang (CN217363129U) and further in view of Avital (US10468894B2).
Regarding claim 26, Zhiwu et al. discloses the multi-functional accessory, wherein the at least one magnetic element of the attachment portion (Zhiwu et al. Fig. 1, par. 7; the magnetic finger ring buckle comprises at least one detachable magnetic finger ring buckle body fixed on the back of a mobile phone or a mobile phone shell and a finger ring buckle movably connected to the body through a connecting component, wherein a bottle opening groove for opening a bottle cap or a bottle opening protrusion is formed in the body). Fuchuang further teaches the magnets 111 are radially distributed along the periphery of the magnetic base (Fuchuang, Fig. 5, par. 43).
Zhiwu et al. and Fuchuang does not teach a magnetic sticker. However, Avital teaches a magnetic sticker attached to the mobile phone and/or a magnet integrated on a case of the mobile phone (Avital, Description of Embodiments of the Invention, par. 52).
Therefore, for a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to implement a predictable variation of Zhiwu et al. and Avital to allow for magnetic attachment to devices that lack a magnetic element by means of using a magnetic sticker to allow for compatibility across devices in any shape that matches the periphery of the magnetic base.
Regarding claim 34, Zhiwu et al. discloses the multi-functional accessory, wherein the at least one magnetic element of the attachment portion (Zhiwu et al. Fig. 1, par. 7; the magnetic finger ring buckle comprises at least one detachable magnetic finger ring buckle body fixed on the back of a mobile phone or a mobile phone shell and a finger ring buckle movably connected to the body through a connecting component, wherein a bottle opening groove for opening a bottle cap or a bottle opening protrusion is formed in the body). Fuchuang further teaches the magnets 111 are radially distributed along the periphery of the magnetic base (Fuchuang, Fig. 5, par. 43).
Zhiwu et al. and Fuchuang do not teach a magnetic sticker. However, Avital teaches a magnetic sticker attached to the mobile phone and/or a magnet integrated on a case of the mobile phone (Avital, Description of Embodiments of the Invention, par. 52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date to implement a predictable combination of Zhiwu et al., Fuchuang and Avital to allow for magnetic attachment to devices that lack a magnetic element by means of using a magnetic sticker to allow for compatibility across devices in any shape that matches the periphery of the magnetic base.
Other Pertinent References
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Young, Kim Woo (2022). A Holder for a Portable Electric Device with a Magnetic Property (KR 2022-0104343 A) Published: 2022-07-26
Zhi-Wu, Zheng (2023). Multifunctional folding magnetic attraction bracket (CN-219499408-U) Published: 2023-08-08
Young-Bo, Li et al (2022). Portable magnetic bottle opener (CN-216038585-U) Published: 2022-03-15
Weifeng, Peng (2021). Multifunctional mobile phone shell (CN-215379006-U) Published: 2021-12-31
Jiachun, Yang et al. (2021). Ring support is inhaled to magnetism (CN-212298409-U) Published: 2021-01-05
Xiang, Xiong (2020). Multifunctional mobile phone support (CN-212211086-U) Published: 2020-12-22
Conclusion
/MRCM/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649