Claim(s) 1-5, 9-24, 28-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaines et al, U.S. Patent No. 3,058,863 in view of Cooper, U.S. Patent No. 3,660,152 and Mason et al, U.S. Patent No. 5,024,897.
Gaines discloses a composite material comprising a polyethylene or polypropylene fabric ply such as a woven fabric having a polyolefin film on one or both sides. The film is applied extrusion. The film can have a thickness of 1-20 mils. See col 1, lines 58 – col. 2, line 40. The film can be formed by extruding, drawing, applying to the fabric layer and laminating with pressure. See col. 2, line 61 – col. 3, line 59. While Gaines teaches polyethylene and polypropylene it does not explicitly teach HDPE, however, since HDPE is a well-known type of polyethylene, it would have been obvious to have selected from among well-known and conventional types of polyethylene to form the structure of Gaines.
Gaines differs from the claimed invention because it does not teach that the fabric is woven from tapes.
However, Cooper teaches that forming impermeable fabrics comprising polyolefins from tapes produces particularly strong materials. See col. 1, lines 5-14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have employed tapes to form the woven fabric of Gaines in order to provide an extremely strong structure as taught by Cooper.
Gaines differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose that the polyolefin film includes an additive as claimed.
However, Mason discloses a composition comprising 50-99.4 percent by weight of polyolefin, 0.5-50 weight percent polyamide and 0.1-10 percent by weight of ethylene vinyl alcohol copolymer. See col. 1, lines 48-55. The polyolefins can be polyethylene or polypropylene. See col. 2, lines 59-64. The composition can be used to form films and laminates. See col. 5, lines 63-65. The films can be from 0.5-5 mils. See col. 6, lines 10-17. The films are especially useful in forming materials requiring excellent barrier resistance. See col. 6, lines 21-25.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included EVOH and polyamide to the polyolefin of Gaines in order to provide an improved structure having excellent barrier resistance. Once the additive was present in the film of Gaines, it is reasonable to expect that the structure of Gaines would have the claimed barrier properties.
Claim(s) 6-8, 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaines in view of Cooper and Mason as applied to claims above, and further in view of Baines, U.S. Patent No. 10,799,07.
Gaines in view of Cooper and Mason does not disclose providing a coating on one or both sides of the fabric layer.
However, Baines discloses coating a fabric layer with an antimicrobial coating before the fabric is bonded to an impermeable film such as a polyolefin film. See abstract and col. 1, lines 28-64; col. 3, lines 30-41.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied a coating on one or both sides of the fabric of Gaines in order to provide antimicrobial properties and to have coated the side of the fabric which was not going to be bonded so that the fabric face which was exposed would have the antimicrobial properties.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Mason does not teach the fabric is formed from tapes. This arguments is persuasive and a modified rejection is set forth above.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789