DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 1-5 should be labeled as prior art. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In the specification, the description of figures 1-5 should be referred to “prior art” and not described as a comparison example. Also, in the background of the invention, in brackets there are two listings one labeled a prior art document and one labeled a patent publication. It needs to be correctly listed with the document information for both and supplied on an IDS as well. Applicant is reminded of his duty to disclose information material to patentability as set forth in 37 CFR 1.56.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the signal generating unit of claims 1, 5, 7 and 10; the frequency analysis unit of claims 4, 5 and 8; the frequency adjustment unit of claim 5, and the difference acquisition unit of claims 8 and 10.
Claim rejections under 35 USC 103
8. Claims 1, 3-4, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicants prior art figure 1 in view of Chornenky US 20210105036-A1 (hereafter Chornenky).
9. Consider claim 1. Applicants prior art fig 1 teaches a transceiving device (fig 1), comprising: a modulated signal generating unit (1), configured to generate a modulated signal (tx); a transmitting unit (21), configured to be driven by the modulated signal; a receiving unit (22), configured to receive a transmission signal transmitted from the transmitting unit; and a filter (24), configured to receive a receiving signal output from the receiving unit and, wherein the modulated signal is a sweep signal (sine signal) that changes between a predetermined first frequency higher than a frequency of the filter and a predetermined second frequency lower than the frequency (based on the bands of the bandpass filter). Applicants’ prior art fig 1 fails to teach using a crystal filter (resonant filter) in place of the bandpass filter. However, such use is notoriously well known in the art as taught by Chorneky (0084) which teaches such as a means to enhance the SNR of the signal. It would have been and obvious substitution of filters, before the effective filing date, to substitute the crystal filter taught by Chorneky with the bandpass filter taught by the prior art fig 1 to provide a cleaner signal for measurement purposes.
10. For what is called for in claim 3. The applicant’s prior art description at (0024) teaches wherein the modulated signal is a sine wave signal or a square wave signal.
11. For what is called for in claim 4. Applicants’ prior art description teaches both a frequency analysis unit (26B), configured to perform frequency analysis on a signal based on an output of the crystal filter, wherein a power spectral value (0028) of a frequency of the modulated signal obtained by the frequency analysis unit is treated as a signal strength.
12. For what is called for in claim 7. Applicants’ prior art description at (0025) teaches, wherein the modulated signal generating unit is configured to turn on and off the modulated signal.
13. Consider claim 11. Applicants’ prior art description at (0025) teaches wherein each of the transmitting unit and the receiving unit includes a resonant-tunneling diode, and in the modulated signal, a lower limit voltage is set to a voltage at which a terahertz wave is not transmitted, and a upper limit voltage is set to a voltage at which a terahertz wave is transmitted.
14. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicants prior art figure 1 in view of Chornenky US 20210105036-A1 further in view of Joen Kr 20200099362A (hereafter Joen).
15. The combination of Applicants prior art figs 1-5 and Chornenky fail to explicitly teach, wherein a central frequency between the first frequency and the second frequency is the resonant frequency. However, Joen teaches a tunable crystal (notch type) filters in the Terahertz band are adjustable based on the desired usage (see background). It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to use a tunable crystal filter as taught by Joen in the combination to attenuate the modulated signal to eliminate higher end noise.
16. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicants prior art figure 1 in view of Chornenky US 20210105036-A1 further in view of Krogstad US 20220179059 A1 (hereafter Krogstad).
17. Regarding claim 9. The use of an envelope detector at the back end of a filter is notoriously well known as taught by Krogstad (fig 7 and corresponding description (at 0042 and 0044). It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to add an envelope detector at the back end of the filter to isolate the desired signal (the signal strength) thus limiting the addition BPF components and reducing the overall cost.
18. Claims 5, 6, 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
19. Regarding claim 5. The prior art of record fails to teach: a frequency adjustment unit, based on a frequency at which the power spectral value obtained by the frequency analysis unit as a peak upon transmission and receipt of the modulated signal in a predetermined sweep range, configured to detect a deviation from the central frequency in the sweep range and adjust the central frequency according to the detected deviation, wherein the modulated signal generating unit is configured to generate the modulated signal in a range narrower than the sweep range at the central frequency after adjustment. Dependent Claim 6 is allowable since depends on claim 5.
20. Regarding claim 8. The prior art of record fails to teach: a frequency analysis unit, configured to perform frequency analysis on a signal based on an output of the crystal filter; and a difference acquisition unit, wherein a first frequency analysis result is obtained by performing frequency analysis using the frequency analysis unit for a part of the receiving signal corresponding to an ON part of the modulated signal, a second frequency analysis result is obtained by performing frequency analysis using the frequency analysis unit for a part of the receiving signal corresponding to an OFF part of the modulated signal, the difference acquisition unit is configured to obtain a difference between a power spectral value of a frequency of the modulated signal according to the first frequency analysis result and a power spectral value of a frequency of the modulated signal according to the second frequency analysis result, as a signal strength.
21. Regarding claim 10. The prior art of record fails to teach a difference acquisition unit, wherein the modulated signal generating unit is configured to turn on and off the modulated signal, and the difference acquisition unit is configured to obtain a difference between a first envelope obtained by the envelope detection circuit for a part of the receiving signal corresponding to an ON part of the modulated signal and a second envelope obtained by the envelope detection circuit for a part of the receiving signal corresponding to an OFF part of the modulated signal.
22. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
23. WO-2021198026-A1 Wiegner teaches a transceiver comprising: a transmit signal path; a receive signal path; bidirectional amplification circuitry reconfigurable for use in both the transmit signal path or receive signal path. The amplification circuitry includes at least one resonant tunnelling diode; and the control circuitry is configured to selectively couple the amplification circuitry into the transmit or receive path of the transceiver in dependence upon whether the transceiver is to operate to transmit or receive a signal.
/CURTIS A KUNTZ/Primary examiner, Art Unit 2646