DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 12-20 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 recites “a metal layer formed the ferroelectric layer” but should read “a metal layer formed on the ferroelectric layer”.
Claim 13 recites “or rogers RF, and wherein and wherein the biasing layer” but should read “or rogers RF, and wherein the biasing layer”.
Claim 18 recites “the unit cells changes a dielectric of the unit cell” but should read “the unit cells changes a dielectric constant of the unit cell”.
Claim 20 recites “a metal layer formed the ferroelectric layer” but should read “a metal layer formed on the ferroelectric layer”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 12, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sievenpiper et al. (US20070182639; hereinafter Sievenpiper).
Regarding claim 1, Sievenpiper (figs. 3-5) discloses “A unit cell comprising: a biasing layer (407); a first substrate (¶[0057]; In an exemplary embodiment, the ground plane 408 and the control circuits 407 may be separated by an insulating layer (not shown) which may be patterned and etched for making the control circuit connections as desired) formed on the biasing layer; a ground layer (408) formed on the first substrate; a second substrate (403) formed on the ground layer; a ferroelectric layer (205) formed on the second substrate; a metal layer (206/409) formed on the ferroelectric layer; and a first via and a second via (vias 410) electrically connecting the ferroelectric layer to the biasing layer, wherein the biasing layer is configured such that a voltage can be applied to the ferroelectric layer through the first and second via (¶[0057]; In an exemplary embodiment, the control pads 414 may be part of the control circuits 407 and may provide an electrical connection from a control line to a corresponding via 410 in an assembled condition)”.
Regarding claim 2, Sievenpiper (figs. 3-5) discloses “The unit cell of claim 1, wherein the first substrate comprises silicon, FR4, glass sapphire, quartz, or rogers RF and wherein the second substrate comprises silicon, FR4, glass sapphire, quartz, or rogers RF (¶[0055]; In an exemplary embodiment, the substrates 403, 411 may be silicon substrates, for example silicon wafers, glass, quartz, alumina, ceramic, saphire (single crystal alumina), LAlO, MgO, NdGaO, YSZ or SrTiO3)”.
Regarding claim 4, Sievenpiper (figs. 3-5) discloses “The unit cell of claim 1, wherein the ferroelectric layer covers only a portion of a top surface of the second substrate (see fig. 3)”.
Regarding claim 5, Sievenpiper (figs. 3-5) discloses “The unit cell of claim 1, wherein the ferroelectric layer comprises barium strontium titanate (¶[0034]; In an exemplary embodiment, a varactor structure 201 may also include a ferroelectric element 205, for example BST)”.
Regarding claim 6, Sievenpiper (figs. 3-5) discloses “The unit cell of claim 1, wherein the metal layer is shaped to be resonant to a range of frequencies (¶[0018]; The antenna may be capable of steering a beam of microwave or millimeter wave energy in one or two dimensions, using a set of electrical control signals)”.
Regarding claim 7, Sievenpiper (figs. 3-5) discloses “The unit cell of claim 6, wherein the range of frequencies is greater than 30 GigaHertz, greater than 35 GigaHertz, less than 30 GigaHertz, or between 30 GigaHertz and 300 GigaHertz (¶[0018]; The antenna may be capable of steering a beam of microwave or millimeter wave energy in one or two dimensions, using a set of electrical control signals)”.
Regarding claim 8, Sievenpiper (figs. 3-5) discloses “The unit cell of claim 1, wherein the biasing layer (407) comprises a first bias pad (414) connected through the first via (410) to a first side of the ferroelectric layer (205) and a second bias pad (414) connected through the second via (410) to a second side of the ferroelectric layer (see fig. 5)”.
Regarding claim 9, Sievenpiper (figs. 3-5) discloses “The unit cell of claim 8, wherein dielectric constant of the ferroelectric layer changes according to a voltage placed across the ferroelectric layer using the first and second bias pads (¶[0023]; In an exemplary embodiment, the method 100 may also include depositing 104 a layer of ferroelectric material. In an exemplary embodiment, the ferroelectric material may be barium strontium titanate (BST). In an exemplary embodiment, the ferroelectric material may be between 500-30000 A thick, for example about 2000 A. In an exemplary embodiment, the ferroelectric material may include Ba(1-x) Sr(x) Ti O3 (BST) with x to be about 0.5 as the active ferroelectric material. This composition may be in the paraelectric phase at the operating temperature and does not show hysteresis in the polarization-electric field (P-E) characteristic. When operated as a paraelectric, the material shows a permittivity which varies as a function of applied voltage)”.
Regarding claim 10, Sievenpiper discloses “The unit cell of claim 9, wherein a relative tunable phase of 360 degrees is achieved in a signal reflected by the unit cell (when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”. See MPEP 2112.01. Since all the elements of claim 9 and the voltage control of ¶0020] and ¶[0027] are anticipated in Sievenpiper, the relative tunable phase of 360 by controlling the voltage is presumed to be inherent)”.
Regarding claim 11, Sievenpiper discloses “The unit cell of claim 10, wherein the signal reflected by the unit cell is steerable to a specified direction by controlling the voltage (According to MPEP 2112.01 “when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”. Since all the elements of claim 10 and the voltage control of ¶0020] and ¶[0027] are anticipated in Sievenpiper, the steering of unit cell is presumed to be inherent)”.
Regarding claim 12, Sievenpiper (figs. 3-5) discloses “A panel (fig. 5A) comprising: a plurality of unit cells arranged in a grid pattern, wherein each of the unit cells comprises: a biasing layer (407); a first substrate (¶[0057]; In an exemplary embodiment, the ground plane 408 and the control circuits 407 may be separated by an insulating layer (not shown) which may be patterned and etched for making the control circuit connections as desired) formed on the biasing layer; a ground layer (408) formed on the first substrate; a second substrate (403) formed on the ground layer; a ferroelectric layer (205) formed on the second substrate; a metal layer (206/409) formed on the ferroelectric layer; and a first via and a second via (vias 410) electrically connecting the ferroelectric layer to the biasing layer, wherein the biasing layer is configured such that a voltage can be applied to the ferroelectric layer through the first and second via (¶[0057]; In an exemplary embodiment, the control pads 414 may be part of the control circuits 407 and may provide an electrical connection from a control line to a corresponding via 410 in an assembled condition)”.
Regarding claim 15, Sievenpiper (figs. 3-5) discloses “The panel of claim 12, wherein the metal layer is shaped to be resonant to a range of frequencies, wherein the range of frequencies is greater than 30 GigaHertz, greater than 35 GigaHertz, greater than 40 GigaHertz, less than 30 GigaHertz, or between 30 GigaHertz and 300 GigaHertz (¶[0018]; The antenna may be capable of steering a beam of microwave or millimeter wave energy in one or two dimensions, using a set of electrical control signals)”.
Regarding claim 16, Sievenpiper (figs. 3-5) discloses “The panel of claim 12, wherein the biasing layer (407) comprises a first bias pad (414) connected through the first via (410) to a first side of the ferroelectric layer (205) and a second bias pad (414) connected through the second via (410) to a second side of the ferroelectric layer (see fig. 5) and wherein dielectric constant of the ferroelectric layer changes according to a voltage placed across the ferroelectric layer using the first and second bias pads (¶[0023]; In an exemplary embodiment, the method 100 may also include depositing 104 a layer of ferroelectric material. In an exemplary embodiment, the ferroelectric material may be barium strontium titanate (BST). In an exemplary embodiment, the ferroelectric material may be between 500-30000 A thick, for example about 2000 A. In an exemplary embodiment, the ferroelectric material may include Ba(1-x) Sr(x) Ti O3 (BST) with x to be about 0.5 as the active ferroelectric material. This composition may be in the paraelectric phase at the operating temperature and does not show hysteresis in the polarization-electric field (P-E) characteristic. When operated as a paraelectric, the material shows a permittivity which varies as a function of applied voltage)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 13-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sievenpiper.
Regarding claim 3, Sievenpiper discloses the unit cell of claim 1 as shown previously, Sievenpiper further disclose “wherein the ground layer comprise metal or are metallic (¶[0057]; In an exemplary embodiment, the ground plane 408 may be a metal layer )”.
Sievenpiper does not disclose “wherein the biasing layer comprise metal or are metallic”.
However, Sievenpiper teaches a metal ground layer in ¶[0057] as well as control circuitry on layer 407 which would require a similar metal material in order to function properly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Sievenpiper and make the unit cell of claim 1, wherein the biasing layer comprise metal or are metallic, in order to have the circuity function properly given its electrical nature.
Regarding claim 13, Sievenpiper discloses “The panel of claim 12, wherein the first substrate comprises silicon, FR4, glass sapphire, quartz, or rogers RF and wherein the second substrate comprises silicon, FR4, glass sapphire, quartz, or rogers RF (¶[0055]; In an exemplary embodiment, the substrates 403, 411 may be silicon substrates, for example silicon wafers, glass, quartz, alumina, ceramic, saphire (single crystal alumina), LAlO, MgO, NdGaO, YSZ or SrTiO3), and wherein the ferroelectric layer covers only a portion of a top surface of the second substrate (see fig. 3)”, Sievenpiper further disclose “wherein the ground layer comprise metal or are metallic (¶[0057]; In an exemplary embodiment, the ground plane 408 may be a metal layer )”.
Sievenpiper does not disclose “wherein the biasing layer comprise metal or are metallic”.
However, Sievenpiper teaches a metal ground layer in ¶[0057] as well as control circuitry on layer 407 which would require a similar metal material in order to function properly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Sievenpiper and make the unit cell of claim 12, wherein the biasing layer comprise metal or are metallic, in order to have the circuity function properly given its electrical nature.
Regarding claim 14, Sievenpiper (figs. 3-5) discloses “The unit cell of claim 13, wherein the ferroelectric layer comprises barium strontium titanate (¶[0034]; In an exemplary embodiment, a varactor structure 201 may also include a ferroelectric element 205, for example BST)”.
Regarding claim 17, Sievenpiper discloses the unit cell of claim 16 as shown previously. Sievenpiper further disclose “controlling the voltage applied to the ferroelectric layer (¶[0020] and ¶[0027])”.
Sievenpiper does not disclose “wherein a relative tunable phase of 360 degrees is achieved in a signal reflected by the panel and wherein the signal reflected by the panel is steerable to a specified direction by controlling the voltage”.
However, According to MPEP 2112.01 “when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”. Since all the elements of claim 16 are anticipated in Sievenpiper, the steering of unit cell and 360 degree phase by controlling the voltage is presumed to be inherent.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Sievenpiper and make the unit cell of claim 16, wherein a relative tunable phase of 360 degrees is achieved in a signal reflected by the panel by controlling the voltage placed across the ferroelectric layers of the unit cells and wherein the signal reflected by the panel is steerable to a specified direction by controlling the voltage, in order to have the antenna adjust properly.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sievenpiper in view of Yiyang et al. (CN116567860; hereinafter Yiyang).
Regarding claim 18, Sievenpiper discloses “A method for steering a signal (figs. 1-10), the method comprising: operating a panel in an environment, the panel including unit cells (figs. 1-5); determining a direction for steering a signal (¶[0052]; In an exemplary embodiment, the control circuits 307 provide bias voltage to respective biased elements 309a. The varactors 301 allow the capacitance between the neighboring elements 309a, 309b to be controlled by controlling the voltage applied to each element 309a. A controller may be programmed to address particular elements 309a and provide bias voltages to particular elements 309a in a pattern to selectively steer a beam illuminating the surface); applying a voltage to each of the unit cells such that the signal is reflected in the determined direction (¶[0052]), wherein each of the unit cells is configured to be controlled independently (fig. 1-2, V1-Vn implies individual voltages) and wherein the voltage applied to each of the unit cells changes a dielectric of the unit cell (¶[0023]; In an exemplary embodiment, the method 100 may also include depositing 104 a layer of ferroelectric material. In an exemplary embodiment, the ferroelectric material may be barium strontium titanate (BST). In an exemplary embodiment, the ferroelectric material may be between 500-30000 A thick, for example about 2000 A. In an exemplary embodiment, the ferroelectric material may include Ba(1-x) Sr(x) Ti O3 (BST) with x to be about 0.5 as the active ferroelectric material. This composition may be in the paraelectric phase at the operating temperature and does not show hysteresis in the polarization-electric field (P-E) characteristic. When operated as a paraelectric, the material shows a permittivity which varies as a function of applied voltage)”.
Sievenpiper does not disclose “wherein the signal is received from a base station, an access point, or a different panel”.
However, Yiyang teaches the use of reflect arrays with ferroelectric thin films in communication schemes using base station signals in fig. 1 and ¶[0002-0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Yiyang and modify the method of Sievenpiper wherein the signal is received from a base station, an access point, or a different panel, in order to adjust and operate the signal in the required configuration.
Regarding claim 19, Sievenpiper (figs. 3-5) discloses “The method of claim 18, further comprising reconfiguring the panel by applying a different voltage to the unit cells (fig. 1-2, V1-Vn implies individual voltages)”.
Regarding claim 20, Sievenpiper (figs. 3-5) discloses “The method of claim 18: wherein each of the plurality of unit cells comprises: a metallic biasing layer (407); a first substrate (¶[0057]; In an exemplary embodiment, the ground plane 408 and the control circuits 407 may be separated by an insulating layer (not shown) which may be patterned and etched for making the control circuit connections as desired) formed on the biasing layer; a ground metal layer (408) formed on the first substrate; a second substrate (403) formed on the ground layer; a ferroelectric layer (205) formed on the second substrate; a metal layer (206/409) formed on the ferroelectric layer; wherein the metal layer is configured to have a resonance with a signal having a frequency of interest ((¶[0018]; The antenna may be capable of steering a beam of microwave or millimeter wave energy in one or two dimensions, using a set of electrical control signals); and a first via and a second via (vias 410) electrically connecting the ferroelectric layer to the biasing layer, wherein the biasing layer is configured such that a voltage can be applied to the ferroelectric layer through the first and second via (¶[0057]; In an exemplary embodiment, the control pads 414 may be part of the control circuits 407 and may provide an electrical connection from a control line to a corresponding via 410 in an assembled condition)”.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN M BACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845