Status of Claims
Applicant's submission filed on 4/20/26 has been entered. Claims 5-6 are cancelled. Claims 12-18 are new. Claims 1-4, 7-18 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taira et al. (US 20190258233 A1), in view of MITSUMA et al. (US 20220152894 A1).
Re-claims 1, 12, Taira et al. teach a production management system that manages a production line including two or more production line devices, the system comprising:
--a server device configured to be able to communicate with the production line devices, wherein the production line device transmits event data including a running status and information regarding an abnormal state to the server device, the event data being set in advance, and
(see e.g. [0061] As shown in FIG. 1, a production apparatus 10 has a plurality of production lines 20, and a plant central processing unit 30 for controlling the production lines 20. The plant central processing unit 30 causes processing of “the number of products”, “the number of good products”, “an operating time”, “a stopping time”, “the number of stopping”, “type number” and “the number of discharge for each sensor” for each production line 20. Each production line 20 has a line central processing unit 22 for controlling operation, stopping or the like of the production line, in a line network 21 connecting production equipment (not shown). Moreover, each production line 20 has an equipment central processing unit 23 for controlling each production equipment, a line display device 24 for displaying an operating state of the production line, and an inspection device 50 described later. )
Although Taira et al. anticipate --the server device
--displays the running status and the abnormal state of each of the production line devices in a chronological order based on the received event data, and
[0102] The equipment abnormality data D3n is preferably visualized on a screen 74S of the display device 74 (visualizing step). A term “visualize” means one of control methods in a production site of the product. ---Specific examples of specifically visualized data include a machine operation rate, a rate of good product production, the number of machine stopping, a transition of the number of discharge of the defective product, and a time-series graph of data of a sensor measuring a shape of the product, a defect of the product or the like.)
--displays the [wide] strips in the chronological order for each of the production line devices, in a direction intersecting a direction along the chronological order, in an order of arranging the production line devices on the production line.
(see e.g. [0115] Based on this cause data D8, production pattern abnormality data D2n (not shown) of the equipment data D3 associated with the product data D1 is traced (abnormal product tracing step). Thus, a place of occurrence of the abnormal product of the product is associated with the equipment of abnormality occurrence.
[0174] ---The abnormal region of the production pattern in the production equipment in which any product abnormality is caused is identified by tracing to obtain equipment abnormality data D3n. As a result, when the values are required to be adjusted, the production equipment 40 are stopped to adjust equipment in necessary places.
[0111] As described above, the cause of the abnormal product (also referred to as the defective product) of the product 90 can be promptly understood, and thus a defective place can be promptly restored. Moreover, the cause of defectiveness of the production line 20 can be visualized, and therefore the defective place of defective production equipment 40 can be promptly restored.)
However, MITSUMA et al. explicitly teach ---- Wherein the server device
--displays the running status and the abnormal state of each of the production line devices in a chronological order on a common time axis on a device display portion based on the received event data,
(see e.g. Fig. 3; [0033] As shown in a lower part of the display unit 30 in FIG. 3, the molding machine management system 100 according to the present embodiment displays a detailed operation status for each molding machine. The display content shows, the current state of each injection molding machine, a production and defect performance in each injection molding machine, a production progress in each injection molding machine, and a production plan in association with the time axis from 0:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. (24:00) and an operation status up to the current time point in each injection molding machine. FIG. 3 shows an example of a case where the current time period is between 13:00 and 14:00.)
--the device display portion divided into wide strips, each of the wide strips corresponding to one of the production line devices, the wide strips further divided into narrow strips, a first one of the narrow strips comprising a running status display portion configurated to display the running status and a second one of the narrow strips comprising an abnormal status display portion configured to display the abnormal state,
(see e.g. Fig. 3; [0038] As shown in FIG. 3, the molding machine management system 100 according to the present embodiment includes the display unit 30 that displays in a bar graph the production performance and the planned production status for each molding machine in association with the time axis, and displays in a circular icon the abnormality of the molding machine for each molding machine in association with the time axis when the molding machine management system 100 receives the abnormality of the molding machine.)
displays the wide strips in the chronological order for each of the production line devices, in a direction intersecting a direction along the chronological order, in an order of arranging the production line devices on the production line.
(see e.g. Fig. 3; [0032] –[0038] As shown in an upper right part of the display unit in FIG. 3, the molding machine management system 100 according to the present embodiment displays the operation status for each production line. The display content indicates, for each production line, an actual operation rate during a period from the start of the production to the current time point with respect to the planned operation rate during a period from the start of production to the current time point, and a current state of the injection molding machine forming the production line. It is shown that the operation rate of the production line 1 including the molding machine 101 and the molding machine 102 is about 50%, the operation rate of the production line 2 including the molding machine 103 is 90% or more, the molding machine 101 and the molding machine 103 are currently in operation, and the molding machine 102 is currently stopped due to an abnormality.
[0038]. As shown in FIG. 3, the molding machine management system 100 according to the present embodiment includes the display unit 30 that displays in a bar graph the production performance and the planned production status for each molding machine in association with the time axis, and displays in a circular icon the abnormality of the molding machine for each molding machine in association with the time axis when the molding machine management system 100 receives the abnormality of the molding machine. )
Furthermore, the examiner notes that the manner in which the different statuses are displayed is a matter of design choice.
12. The production management system according to claim 1, wherein the narrow strips are composed adjacently and are separated by a boundary line.
(see e.g. fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Taira et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by MITSUMA; et al., so that it is possible to recognize the molding machine and the time zone where the abnormality has occurred in consideration of the production performance and the planned production status, in order to make it possible to perform the subsequent action particularly appropriately.
Re-claim 2, Taira et al. teach the production management system according to claim 1, wherein the server device further displays an occurrence status of a product defect in addition to the running status and the abnormal state,
(see e.g. abstract -- A method of producing a product 90 through a plurality of production steps, containing: a step of acquiring equipment data D3 of production equipment 40 for producing the product; a step of acquiring product data D1 from the product 90; a step of storing the equipment data D3 and the product data D1 in a data collection unit 70; a step of associating the equipment data D3 with the product data D1; a step of judging abnormality of the product data D1; a step responsive to abnormality occurring in the product 90 for identifying one or both of equipment abnormality data D3n and product abnormality data D1n associated with the product judged to be abnormal; and the step of identifying the production step causing the product abnormality by the step of identifying the abnormality data.)
Taira et al. do not explicitly teach the following limitation.
However, MITSUMA et al. teach -a third one of the narrow strips further comprise a defect occurrence display portion configured to display a mark at a position corresponding to a time point the product defect occurs.
(see e.g. fig. 3).
Furthermore, the examiner notes that the manner in which the different statuses are displayed is a matter of design choice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Taira et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by MITSUMA; et al., so that it is possible to recognize the molding machine and the time zone where the abnormality has occurred in consideration of the production performance and the planned production status, in order to make it possible to perform the subsequent action particularly appropriately.
Claim 7 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 8 recites similar limitations as claim 2 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Re-claim 10, Taira et al.do not explicitly teach --The production management system according to claim 1, wherein the first narrow strip running status display portion and the abnormal state display portion second narrow strip are configured to have a same height and are configured to be arranged vertically in the device display portion.
However, it is considered an obvious variation of MITSUMA et al. since NOMAMOTO teaches displaying both the running status (i.e. production performance) and the abnormal status (i.e. Abnormal rate). (see e.g. Fig. 3).
Claim 11 recites similar limitations as claim 10, and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claims 13-15, 17, 18 recites similar limitations as claim 12 and are therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claims 3, 4, 9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taira et al. (US 20190258233 A1), in view of MITSUMA et al. (US 20220152894 A1), in further view of OKA (CN 107850891 B), in further view of Choi et al. (US 7991214 B1).
Re-claim 3, Taira et al., in view of MITSUMA et al., do not explicitly teach the limitations as claimed.
However, OKA teaches the production management system according to claim 1, further comprising: an image capturing unit that captures an image of a vicinity of the production line devices and transmits the captured image to the server device, wherein the server device stores the image obtained by capturing the vicinity of the production line devices, selects an image of one of the production line devices as a transmission source for a predetermined acquisition time before and after an event occurrence time point, when receiving the event data set in advance, stores the selected image in association with the received event data,
(see e.g. page 3 -Preferably the display mechanism will be related to each of the plurality of production lines, the image representing each production line and the combination of each other index of 4 views are displayed side by side.
--page 11 -The user interface picture 520 displays the operating state of one or more production lines contained in the selected manufacturing device. More specifically, for each of the selected manufacturing device contained in the production line, the representation of each production line 521, image 523, image 525 and each index based on the management of the icon group 522, icon group 524, icon group 526 establishing association to display. Furthermore, as image 521, image 523, image 525, as long as it is a summary of the production line of the object can be viewed one eye, can be any one of image such as photo and so on to the image further abstraction of image.
--- page 12 -The user interface picture 530 contains an event log area 539 for displaying the events generated in any of the processes (devices) contained in the selected production line in order.
(see e.g. page 12 Further, as an image 532, image 533, image 534, image 535, image 536, as long as it is a summary of the process of the object can be viewed one eye, can be any one of image such as picture from more specific image to the image further abstraction of image. Further, if some bad condition is generated in any one of the process, then the item (object) 5331 representing the bad condition is associated with the process (device) of the object to display.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Taira et al., in view of MITSUMA et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by OKA, in order to display a more detailed operating state of the selected process (see e.g. page 12).
Taira et al., in view of MITSUMA et al., in view of OKA, do not explicitly teach the limitations as claimed.
However, Choi et al. teach displays a mark associated with a presence or absence of the image of the vicinity of the production line devices on [a fourth one of the narrow strips, the fourth narrow strip further comprising] an image presence or absence display portion on the device display portion.
(see e.g. (16) It is one aspect of the present invention to utilize an image enhancer in order to highlight areas of potential defects in the product (e.g., sample). The highlighted areas may appear in images that are taken of the product. In accordance with at least one embodiment of the present invention, the images taken of a product may comprise an X-ray image and the potential defects may correspond to darker areas in the image having a non-uniform or irregular shape, as opposed to darker areas having smooth transitions, right angles, or straight lines that would tend to represent a man-made object.
19) It is still another aspect of the present invention to use an image enhancer to verify the quality of products. Using an image enhancer during such quality assurance testing and failure mode analysis allow products to be analyzed for defects without destroying the product or going through the time and labor-consuming steps of conventional dye-and-pry techniques. Analysis of products without destroying the products allows each product to be analyzed for defects prior to going to market, rather than only being able to analyze a small subset of the products or only being able to analyze products that have already been determined to have a defect by some other testing mechanism. Furthermore, since certain embodiments of the present invention do not require the time-consuming vacuuming and heating tasks of the prior art, the present invention is well suited for use in the production line itself, rather than as a separate process.)
(33) The devices of the imaging system 100 may all be employed on a production line such that all products produced are subjected to quality assurance by image analysis. )
As stated above in claim 1, the type of strips is considered a design choice. The fourth one and narrow strips is anticipated by MITSUMA et al.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Taira et al., in view of MITSUMA et al. et al., in view of OKA , and include the steps cited above, as taught by Choi et al., in order to reduce the yield loss in a production process as well as assuring that the number of defective devices released to the public consumer is minimized (see e.g. (4)).
Claim 4 recites similar limitations as claim 3 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 9 recites similar limitations as claim 3, and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 16 recites similar limitations as claim 12 and are therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/25 have been fully considered but they are moot. The reference argued by Applicant, Nomamoto, is no longer relied upon. The new reference MITSUMA et al. addresses the claims, as amended.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUNA CHAMPAGNE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627
May 22, 2026