DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the remarks dated 8/26/2025.
Response to Amendments
In view of the amendments to the title, abstract, and specification, the previous corresponding objections from the action dated 3/3/2025 are withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to claim 15, the previous corresponding claim objection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simons (US 8,925,496 B2)(hereinafter Simons).
RE Claim 1: Simons discloses a device (Figs 3-4) comprising:
a first band (60),
a second band (90) attached to the first band (60)(Figs 3, 4), and
a fastener attached to the second band (70).
RE Claim 2: Simons discloses the device as claimed in claim 1 and previously discussed and further discloses
wherein the first band includes a buckle (108).
RE Claim 3: Simons discloses the device as claimed in claim 2 and previously discussed and further discloses
wherein the first band (60) includes a box stitch (between 64 and 108 as seen in Fig 3)(also between 108 and 68 in Fig 3).
RE Claim 4: Simons discloses the device as claimed in claim 3 and previously discussed and further discloses
wherein the second band includes a box stitch (near 92 as seen in Fig 3).
RE Claim 5: Simons discloses the device as claimed in claim 4 and previously discussed and further discloses
wherein the fastener is a snap hook (snap closure mechanism 70)(compare applicant’s 30 with Simons 70).
RE Claim 8: Simons discloses a device (Figs 3-4) comprising:
a first band (60) attached to a grooming arm (Fig 4),
a second band (90) having a ring band (ring connector 92) attached to the first band (60) by the ring band (92)(Fig 3), and
a fastener (70) attached to the second band (90).
RE Claim 9: Simons discloses the device as claimed in claim 8 and previously discussed and further discloses
wherein the first band (60) includes a box stitch (between 64 and 108 as seen in Fig 3)(also between 108 and 68 in Fig 3).
RE Claim 10: Simons discloses the device as claimed in claim 9 and previously discussed and further discloses
wherein the first band (60) includes a box stitch (between 64 and 108 as seen in Fig 3)(also between 108 and 68 in Fig 3).
RE Claim 11: Simons discloses the device as claimed in claim 10 and previously discussed and further discloses
wherein the second band includes a box stitch (near 92 as seen in Fig 3).
RE Claim 12: Simons discloses the device as claimed in claim 11 and previously discussed and further discloses
further discloses wherein the fastener is a snap hook (snap closure mechanism 70)(compare applicant’s 30 with Simons 70).
RE Claim 15: Simons discloses a device (Figs 5, 6) comprising:
a first band (see annotated Fig 5 below) attached to a grooming arm (Fig 6),
a second band (see annotated Fig 5 below) having a ring band (not numbered, see annotated Fig 5 below) attached to the first band by the ring band (first + second bands attached to each other via the grooming loop, ring band, and fasteners), and
the second band (see annotated Fig 5 below) is attached to a grooming loop (see annotated Fig 5 below) having a size adjustment ring (grooming loop is a collar and is adjustable via cam snap), the grooming loop configured to be wrapped around an animal’s neck (Fig 6),
wherein the grooming loop is attached to the grooming arm (Fig 6), and
a fastener (see annotated Fig 5 below) attached to the second band (see annotated Fig 5 below).
Simons Fig 5 Reproduced and Annotated
RE Claim 16: Simons discloses the device as claimed in claim 15 and previously discussed and further discloses
wherein the first band includes a buckle (camlock buckle on first band, compare with Applicant’s camlock buckle 25).
RE Claim 17: Simons discloses the device as claimed in claim 16 and previously discussed and further discloses
wherein the first band (annotated Fig 5) includes a box stitch (not numbered, but seen on the first band opposite the camlock).
RE Claim 18: Simons discloses the device as claimed in claim 17 and previously discussed and further discloses
wherein the second band includes a box stitch (not numbered, but seen on the second band near the ring band).
RE Claim 19: Simons discloses the device as claimed in claim 18 and previously discussed and further discloses
further discloses wherein the fastener is a snap hook (not numbered, shown in annotated Fig 5)(also equivalent to snap closure mechanism 70 in Fig 3)(compare with Applicant’s 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 13-14, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simons as applied to claims 5, 12, and 15 above, and further in view of Miron (US 8,297,234 B2)(hereinafter Miron).
RE Claim 6: Simons discloses the device as claimed in claim 5 as previously discussed.
Simons discloses the band may be made of material such as Nylon webbing, Polyester webbing, cotton webbing, cloth, or other similar materials per col 3, ln 14-17.
Simons does not explicitly teach wherein the first band is made of a rubber coated nylon material.
However, Miron teaches an animal restraint comprising a band (analogous art) and further teaches the band is made of a rubber coated nylon material (col 4, ln 30-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Simons in view of Miron such that the first band is made of a rubber coated nylon material as taught by Miron for the advantages of a durable strap that provides some degree of flexibility and rigidity.
RE Claim 7: Simons discloses the device as claimed in claim 1 as previously discussed.
Simons discloses the band may be made of material such as Nylon webbing, Polyester webbing, cotton webbing, cloth, or other similar materials per col 3, ln 14-17.
Simons does not explicitly teach wherein the second band is made of a rubber coated nylon material.
However, Miron teaches an animal restraint comprising a band (analogous art) and further teaches the band is made of a rubber coated nylon material (col 4, ln 30-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Simons in view of Miron such that the second band is made of a rubber coated nylon material as taught by Miron for the advantages of a durable strap that provides some degree of flexibility and rigidity.
RE Claim 13: Simons discloses the device as claimed in claim 12 as previously discussed.
Simons discloses the band may be made of material such as Nylon webbing, Polyester webbing, cotton webbing, cloth, or other similar materials per col 3, ln 14-17.
Simons does not explicitly teach wherein the first band is made of a rubber coated nylon material.
However, Miron teaches an animal restraint comprising a band (analogous art) and further teaches the band is made of a rubber coated nylon material (col 4, ln 30-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Simons in view of Miron such that the first band is made of a rubber coated nylon material as taught by Miron for the advantages of a durable strap that provides some degree of flexibility and rigidity.
RE Claim 14: Simons discloses the device as claimed in claim 8 as previously discussed.
Simons discloses the band may be made of material such as Nylon webbing, Polyester webbing, cotton webbing, cloth, or other similar materials per col 3, ln 14-17.
Simons does not explicitly teach wherein the second band is made of a rubber coated nylon material.
However, Miron teaches an animal restraint comprising a band (analogous art) and further teaches the band is made of a rubber coated nylon material (col 4, ln 30-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Simons in view of Miron such that the second band is made of a rubber coated nylon material as taught by Miron for the advantages of a durable strap that provides some degree of flexibility and rigidity.
RE Claim 20: Simons discloses the device as claimed in claim 15 as previously discussed.
Simons discloses the band may be made of material such as Nylon webbing, Polyester webbing, cotton webbing, cloth, or other similar materials per col 3, ln 14-17.
Simons does not explicitly teach wherein the first band is made of a rubber coated nylon material.
However, Miron teaches an animal restraint comprising a band (analogous art) and further teaches the band is made of a rubber coated nylon material (col 4, ln 30-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Simons in view of Miron such that the first band is made of a rubber coated nylon material as taught by Miron for the advantages of a durable strap that provides some degree of flexibility and rigidity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
RE Claims 1 and 8: Applicant’s arguments regarding the restraint of Simon on pages 2-3 of the remarks are with respect to a different embodiment of Simons. The rejections rely upon the embodiment approximated in Figs 3-4 and described in col 5, ln 19 – end.
Applicants argument that the Simons reference lacks two distinct bands attached to each other (clam 1) is not persuasive. See Fig 3 of Simons where there are two distinct bands (strips of material) that attach to each other via fastener 70. Also see col 5, ln 19 - end.
Applicants argument that Simons does not teach a ring band (claim 8) is not persuasive. There is no definition of ring band in Applicant’s specification. As best understood, connector 92 is a strip of material (band) in a closed shape (ring).
RE Claim 15: Applicant’s arguments regarding the restraint of Simon on pages 3-4 of the remarks are with respect to a different embodiment of Simons. The rejection relies upon the embodiment approximated in Figs 5-6.
The argument that Examiner’s mapping conflates Simons’ clamps with size adjustment rings is not persuasive because the grooming loop itself is a size adjustable ring due to the cam snap.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 dated 3/3/2025.
These documents present alternative designs similar in scope which illustrate relevant features in comparison to the Applicant’s submission. The cited prior art include pet restraint device with loops, fasteners, and buckles.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIA E GRABER/Examiner, Art Unit 3644
/MONICA L PERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644