DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/06/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 28 contains the trademark/trade name Bluetooth. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe Bluetooth low energy device and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14, 15 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu ( U.S. PGPUB 2025/0031191), Xu hereinafter. Xu teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning.
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Xu teaches a network device for wireless communications, the network device comprising: (fig. 13 and fig. 14 and paragraph 0133 - FIG. 13 shows a wireless audio data transmission device 1300 according to one embodiment of the present invention. The wireless audio data transmission device 1300 can be used as a master device. The master device communicates wirelessly with N slave devices in consecutive isochronous intervals based on N communication links, respectively. The N slave devices comprise one or more audio input slave devices and one or more audio output slave devices. N is an integer greater than or equal to two.)
at least one memory; and (fig. 16)
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to: (fig. 16)
output, for transmission to a plurality of wireless communication devices, a message comprising a plurality of available channel subframes; (fig. 1, fig.2, fig. 10, fig. 11(a) and fig. 11(b) and paragraphs 0039 to 0041 and 0081 discloses output for transmission to devices - … the master device periodically transmits a synchronization control data packet based on a periodic advertising channel in the bidirectional advertising communication time slot and receives a synchronization control response packet fed back by a candidate slave device which is one of the slave devices requesting access. ...)
receive, on one or more available channel subframes of the plurality of available channel subframes from one or more wireless communication devices of the plurality of wireless communication devices, an initiation request message requesting synchronization with the network device; (fig. 1, fig.2, fig. 10, fig. 11(a) and fig. 11(b) and paragraph 0125 discloses receiving initiation request message - … After the slave device transmits the AIS access request, it continues to receive the AUX_SYNC_CTR PDU transmitted by the master device ...)
output, for transmission on the one or more available channel subframes to the one or more wireless communication devices, an initiation response message confirming the synchronization with the network device; and(fig. 1, fig.2, fig. 10, fig. 11(a) and fig. 11(b) and paragraph 0125 discloses initiation confirmation message - … After the slave device transmits the AIS access request, it continues to receive the AUX_SYNC_CTR PDU transmitted by the master device ...)
establish a synchronized connection with the one or more wireless communication devices on the one or more available channel subframes (paragraphs 0082 to 0088 discloses synchronized connection - … master device further transmits a link access permit command based on the synchronization control data packet for permitting the candidate slave device to establish a communication link with the master device. …)
Regarding claims 14 and 28, Xu teaches claims 1 and 15.
Xu further teaches wherein each wireless communication device of the plurality of wireless communication devices is a Bluetooth low energy (BLE) device (paragraphs 0145 to 0152 discloses BLE devices - [0150]… The baseband data and protocol processor also executes the BLE Audio-related BLE protocol and the AIG protocol, processes the AISD PDUs received by the BLE RF transceiver module, and transmits them to the audio processing unit. … )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 2-13 and 16-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu ( U.S. PGPUB 2025/0031191), Xu hereinafter, in view of Woolley Bluetooth Core Specification Version 5.4 Technical overview, Woolley hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 2 and 16, Xu teaches claim 1 and 15.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to output the message for transmission within a periodic advertisement with response (PAwR) train.
However, in the analogous art, Woolley explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to output the message for transmission within a periodic advertisement with response (PAwR) train (Section 1.2.3.4.4 - Synchronization The LE Set Periodic Sync Subevent command is a new command that the Observer uses to instruct its Controller to synchronize its scanning schedule with one or more PAwR subevents belonging to a particular PAwR advertising train.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s Wireless audio data transmission method and related device to include Woolley’s Bluetooth Core Specification Version 5.4 Technical overview to get advantages associated with Bluetooth.
Regarding Claims 3 and 17, Xu in view of Woolley teaches claims 2 and 16.
Woolley further teaches wherein the message further comprises data associated with the PAwR train (Section 1.2.3.3.1 - ... Having acquired the event timing information described in (1) and the subevents information in (2), the Observer has a complete description of the timing parameters and structure of the events and subevents of the PAwR advertising train. But it is only when it has the information in (3) that it can schedule its scanning such that it receives only those packets that are expected to contain data of relevance and can schedule the transmission of response packets. ). The information in 3 is the data associated with the PAWR train.
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 2 and 16 is also applied to claim 3 and 17.
Regarding Claims 4 and 18, Xu teaches claims 1 and 15.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to output the message for transmission on a legacy channel.
However, in the analogous art, Woolley explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to output the message for transmission on a legacy channel (Sections 1.1.5 and 1.1.5.1 - Legacy Advertising When performing legacy advertising, identical copies of legacy advertising packets are transmitted on up to three primary advertising channels, ).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 2 and 16 is also applied to claim 4 and 18.
Regarding Claims 5 and 19, Xu teaches claims 1 and 15.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the message is an extended advertising packet.
However, in the analogous art, Woolley explicitly discloses wherein the message is an extended advertising packet (Section 1.1.5.2 Extended Advertising … The LE Advertising Broadcast (ADVB) logical transport incorporates two advertising modes: legacy advertising and one of two ways of performing extended advertising. Both legacy advertising and the form of extended advertising associated with the ADVB logical transport involve irregular scheduling of events. ...)
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 2 and 16 is also applied to claims 5 and 19.
Regarding Claims 6 and 20, Xu teaches claims 1 and 15.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the initiation request message is a camping initiation message, and wherein the initiation response message is a camping confirmation message.
However, in the analogous art, Woolley explicitly discloses wherein the initiation request message is a camping initiation message, and wherein the initiation response message is a camping confirmation message (Section 1.1.4 - … A Peripheral can accept a request to establish a connection sent by a Central. … The terms Central and Peripheral are used when the context relates to establishing connections. … and section 1.2.1 - … Observers can establish the periodic transmission schedule used by the Broadcaster from AUX_ADV_IND PDUs or by using the Periodic Advertising Sync Transfer (PAST) procedure. ... The PAwR Broadcaster may use a transmission time slot to send a connection request (AUX_CONNECT_REQ) to a specific device and establish an LE-ACL connection with it. PADVB does not have this capability. ... )
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 2 and 16 is also applied to claims 6 and 20.
Regarding Claims 7 and 21, Xu teaches claims 1 and 15.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the initiation request message comprises wireless communication device identification information and cryptographic information.
However, in the analogous art, Woolley explicitly discloses wherein the initiation request message comprises wireless communication device identification information and cryptographic information (Section 2.1.3 - The intended recipient(s) of encrypted data must somehow be provided with the associated key material so that received data can be decrypted. ... and Section 2.2.2 - ... The Encrypted Data Key Material characteristic contains a 24-octet value which is made up of a 16-octet session key and an 8-octet IV value. A GATT client can read this value over an encrypted and authenticated ACL connection only; therefore, the advertising device and all devices intended to be recipients of encrypted advertising data must have been paired. ...).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 2 and 16 is also applied to claims 7 and 21.
Regarding Claims 8 and 22, Xu teaches claims 1 and 15.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the plurality of available channel subframes are coded within a bit mask included in the message.
However, in the analogous art, Woolley explicitly discloses wherein the plurality of available channel subframes are coded within a bit mask included in the message (Section 4.1.1 - … When LE Coded is used, a Forward Error Correction (FEC) algorithm and, depending on configuration, a pattern mapper is applied to payloads before transmission. … )
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 2 and 16 is also applied to claims 8 and 22.
Regarding Claims 9 and 23, Xu teaches claims 1 and 15.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein, to establish the synchronized connection, the at least one processor is configured to establish a generate attribute profile (GATT) connection.
However, in the analogous art, Woolley explicitly discloses wherein, to establish the synchronized connection, the at least one processor is configured to establish a generate attribute profile (GATT) connection (Section 3, 3.1 to 3.2.2 – The whole of section 3 discloses details of GATT)
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 2 and 16 is also applied to claims 9 and 23.
Regarding Claims 10 and 24, Xu teaches claims 1 and 15.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive, from a network entity, a command to start onboarding at least one of the plurality of wireless communication devices.
However, in the analogous art, Woolley explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive, from a network entity, a command to start onboarding at least one of the plurality of wireless communication devices (Section 1.2.3.4.1 - Periodic Advertising Configuration Version 2 of the LE Set Periodic Advertising Parameters command adds parameters Num_Subevents, Subevent_Interval, Response_Slot_Delay, Response_Slot_Spacing, and Num_Response_ Slots. These parameters are required when configuring the Controller for periodic advertising with responses.)
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 2 and 16 is also applied to claims 10 and 23.
Regarding Claims 11 and 25, Xu in view of Woolley teaches claims 10 and 24.
Woolley further teaches wherein the network entity is a management entity (ME) (Section 1.2.4.2.2 - Figure 9 shows the transmission of PDUs that occur when the AP issues a command addressed to several shelf labels, each of which is a member of ESL group #1. This is followed by transmitting a single command addressed to a single device that belongs to ESL group #2.). The command by AP to several shelf labels shows it as a management entity.
Regarding Claims 12 and 26, Xu teaches claims 1 and 15.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive, from a network entity, a command to stop onboarding the one or more wireless communication devices.
However, in the analogous art, Woolley explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive, from a network entity, a command to stop onboarding the one or more wireless communication devices (Section 1.2.3.4.1 - Periodic Advertising Configuration Version 2 of the LE Set Periodic Advertising Parameters command adds parameters Num_ Subevents, Subevent_Interval, Response_Slot_Delay, Response_Slot_Spacing, and Num_Response_ Slots. These parameters are required when configuring the Controller for periodic advertising with responses.)
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 2 and 16 is also applied to claims 12 and 26.
Regarding Claims 13 and 27, Xu teaches claims 1 and 15.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein network device is an access point (AP).
However, in the analogous art, Woolley explicitly discloses wherein network device is an access point (AP). (Section 1.2.4 - The PAwR Broadcaster, known as an Access Point (AP) in the ESL profile specification, configures electronic shelf label devices by writing to various GATT characteristics over an LE ACL connection.)
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claims 2 and 16 is also applied to claims 13 and 27.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPUB 2024/0397455 which describes radio device synchronisation
U.S. PGPUB 2003/0133468 which describes methods and apparatus for automatic assignment of a communication base station and timeslot for an electronic shelf label
U.S. PGPUB 2024/0276304 which describes wireless methods, devices and systems having operating parameter updates via periodic, broadcast message
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472