Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7 and 10 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAO et al. (Patent No: US2020/0358503 A1), hereinafter, HAO in view of AHMED et al. (Patent No: WO2021/206802 A2), herein, AHMED.
Regarding Claim 1, HAO teaches,
A user equipment (UE) comprising: a transceiver configured to enable wireless communications with a base station; - Paragraph [0059] ([0059] recites, “At the UE 120, the antennas 452a through 452r may receive the downlink signals from the base station 110 and may provide received signals to the demodulators (DEMODs) in transceivers 454a through 454r, respectively.”)
and a processor, communicatively coupled to the transceiver, and configured to: receive, using the transceiver, a configuration message from the base station; -Fig. 4; Paragraph [0012] ([0012] recites, “Certain aspects provide a method for wireless communication by a UE. The method generally includes receiving a CSI-RS resource configuration from a BS of one or more CSI-RS resources associated with a CSI report. The CSI-RS resource includes a set of CSI-RS ports.)
determine a first set of antenna ports based on the configuration message; -Paragraph [0087] ([0087] recites, “the BS may send a bitmap to the UE indicating, for each of the set of CSI-RS ports, whether that CSI-RS port is to be used for channel measurement or interference measurement (e.g., using X bits to indicate for each of the X available CSI-RS ports).”)
wherein the first set of antenna ports is in a code division multiplexing (CDM) group; -Paragraph [0088-0089] ([0088-0089] recites, “in one implementation, the ports may be divided into 8 groups of 4 ports each (e.g., {0,1,2,3}, {4,5,6,7}, {8,9,10,11}, {12,13,14,15}, {16,17,18,19}, {20,21,22,23}, {24,25,26,27}, {28,29,30,31})…….. The groups of CSI-RS ports may include groups of CDM CSI-RS ports or of component CSI-RS resources. For example, CSI-RS ports may be grouped with other CSI-RS belonging to the same CDM group or component CSI-RS pattern. The partitioning and/or the size of the groups may be configured by the network via higher layer signaling or may be fixed in the wireless standards (e.g., and preconfigured in the BS and UE).”)
determine a second set of antenna ports in the CDM group, wherein the first set of antenna ports are different from the second set of antenna ports: -Paragraph [0090-0091] ([0090-0091] recites, “ the BS can send a 2-stage (e.g., hierarchal) bitmap (e.g., first and second bitmaps). The first stage of the bitmap may indicate, for each CDM group or CSI-RS component, whether that CDM group or CSI-RS component is used for channel measurement or interference measurement, for example, whether any (one or more of the) of the CSI-RS ports in that group are used for channel measurement or interference measurement. For example, for CDM4 as shown in FIG. 10, the first stage bitmap may be 8 bits (e.g., 11110000 indicating the first four CDM group/CSI-RS component resource is used for channel measurement)… The second stage of the 2-stage bitmap indicates, for each CSI-RS port in each group indicated in the first stage of the bitmap, whether that CSI-RS port is to be used for channel measurement or interference measurement.” As explained above, second set of antenna ports are differentiated by the bit map)
Paragraph [0008, 0091] ( [0008] recites, “The BS partitions the set of CSI-RS ports into groups of CSI-RS ports. The BS provides a first indication to the UE of a subset of the groups of the CSI-RS ports to be used by the UE for channel measurements and/or a second indication to the UE of a subset of the groups of the CSI-RS ports to be used by the UE for interference measurements. “ [0091] recites, “The second stage of the 2-stage bitmap indicates, for each CSI-RS port in each group indicated in the first stage of the bitmap, whether that CSI-RS port is to be used for channel measurement or interference measurement …… For the CDM8 example shown in FIG. 12, the second stage bitmap may be 8 bits for each group/CSI-RS component resource (e.g., 11110000 indicating the four ports are used for channel measurement).” Bitmap dictates whether the ports to be used or should not be used for interference estimation. In the above example first four ports are used for channel estimation while should refrain from interference estimation. Any ports can be assigned by the base station to be used/refrain from doing channel/interference estimation using the bitmap. Also, as taught by AHMED (in the following), the second indication tells whether or not second set of antenna ports are assigned to another UE, that is part of the configuration. Based on the configuration (bitmap is part of the configuration) as mentioned above if another UE is not assigned to the antenna port, refrain from performing interference estimation. This is obvious as without another UE absent from the antenna port, no need for interference estimation)
Although implicit and easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art, HAO does not explicitly mention,
determine that the second set of antenna ports is not assigned to another UE; perform channel estimation on the first set of antenna ports;
However, in an analogous invention AHMED teaches,
determine that the second set of antenna ports is not assigned to another UE; perform channel estimation on the first set of antenna ports; -Paragraph [0006] ([0006] recites, “In some aspects, a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include receiving a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) configuration that indicates a code-division multiplexing (CDM) group configured for the UE; receiving a first indication of an antenna port, included in the CDM group, assigned to the UE for reception of a first set of DMRS transmissions; receiving a second indication of whether a second set of DMRS transmissions for another antenna port, included in the CDM group, is present or absent for another UE; and performing channel estimation based at least in part on the first indication of the antenna port and the second indication of whether the second set of DMRS transmissions for the other antenna port is present or absent”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “determine that the second set of antenna ports is not assigned to another UE; perform channel estimation on the first set of antenna ports; ” of AHMED. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the accuracy of channel estimation [0119].
Regarding Claim 2, HAO and AHMED teach the limitations of Claim 1.
HAO further teaches,
The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a capability type of the UE, wherein the capability type indicates whether the UE supports the second set of antenna ports; and perform or refrain from performing interference estimation on the second set of antenna ports based on the capability type and the configuration message. -Paragraph [0084] ([0084] recites, “The indicated subset of CSI-RS ports may be based on a capability of the UE for performing CSI feedback reporting, based on other UEs the BS schedules some of the CSI-RS ports to perform channel measurements, and/or based on CSI-RS ports the BS schedules the UE to perform interference measurements. For example, the BS may indicate some CSI-RS ports for the UE to perform channel measurements, the BS may indicate other CSI-RS ports for the UE to perform interference measurements,”)
Regarding Claim 7, HAO and AHMED teach the limitations of Claim 1.
HAO further teaches,
The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, using the transceiver, a second configuration message from the base station, wherein the second configuration message includes one or more sets of antenna ports; -Paragraph [0008] ([0008] recites, “The BS provides a first indication to the UE of a subset of the groups of the CSI-RS ports to be used by the UE for channel measurements and/or a second indication to the UE of a subset of the groups of the CSI-RS ports to be used by the UE for interference measurements.”)
determine that the one or more sets of antenna ports include the first set of antenna ports; -Paragraph [0010] ([0010] recites, “ The CSI-RS resource includes a set of CSI-RS ports. The at least one processor is further configured to partition the set of CSI-RS ports into groups of CSI-RS ports. The apparatus includes a transmitter configured to provide a first indication to the UE of a subset of the groups of the CSI-RS ports to be used by the UE for channel measurements and/or a second indication to the UE of a subset of the groups of the CSI-RS ports to be used by the UE for interference measurements.”
and in response to determining that the one or more sets of antenna ports include the first set of antenna ports, refrain from performing interference estimation on the second set of antenna ports. -Paragraph [0091] ([0091] recites, ““The second stage of the 2-stage bitmap indicates, for each CSI-RS port in each group indicated in the first stage of the bitmap, whether that CSI-RS port is to be used for channel measurement or interference measurement …… For the CDM8 example shown in FIG. 12, the second stage bitmap may be 8 bits for each group/CSI-RS component resource (e.g., 11110000 indicating the four ports are used for channel measurement).” Bitmap dictates whether the ports to be used or should not be used for interference estimation. In the above example first four ports are used for channel estimation while should refrain from interference estimation. Any ports can be assigned by the base station to be used/refrain from doing channel/interference estimation using the bitmap.)
Claim 10 is the method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 1 above which is rejected. Claim 10 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Claims 3, 5-6, 11-13, 15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAO in view of AHMED and further in view of MANOLAKOS et al. (Patent No: US 2021/0105785 A1), hereinafter, MANOLAKOS.
Regarding Claim 3, HAO and AHMED teach the limitations of Claim 2.
Although implicit, HAO does not explicitly teach,
The UE of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to: generate a capability report based on the capability type of the UE; and transmit, using the transceiver, the capability report to the base station.
However, in an analogous invention, MANOLAKOS teaches,
The UE of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to: generate a capability report based on the capability type of the UE; -Paragraph [0056] ([0056] recites, “In some aspects, the UE includes means for indicating the recommended null resource element pattern or the recommended number of resource elements for the null resource element pattern in at least one of a UE capability report”)
and transmit, using the transceiver, the capability report to the base station. -Paragraph [0056] ([0056] recites, “In some aspects, the UE includes means for transmitting, to a base station, an indication of a recommended null resource element pattern or a recommended number of resource elements for the null resource element pattern. In some aspects, the UE includes means for indicating the recommended null resource element pattern or the recommended number of resource elements for the null resource element pattern in at least one of a UE capability report or a CSI report.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “generate a capability report based on the capability type of the UE; and transmit, using the transceiver, the capability report to the base station.
” of MANOLAKOS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communications between access points and stations in a wireless network [0007].
Regarding Claim 5, HAO and AHMED teach the limitations of Claim 2.
Although implicit, HAO does not explicitly teach,
The UE of claim 2, wherein the first set of antenna ports are legacy antenna ports, wherein the second set of antenna ports are new antenna ports, and wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, using the transceiver, a second configuration message that includes a legacy antenna port table.
However, in an analogous invention, MANOLAKOS teaches,
The UE of claim 2, wherein the first set of antenna ports are legacy antenna ports, wherein the second set of antenna ports are new antenna ports, and wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, using the transceiver, a second configuration message that includes a legacy antenna port table. -Fig. 4; Paragraph [0078-0079] ([0078-0079] recites, “In some aspects, the value may correspond to an antenna port field in an antenna port table. The antenna port table may indicate one or more DMRS ports for UE 120 and a number of DMRS code-division multiplexing (CDM) groups without data. As shown in FIG. 4, BS 110 and UE 120 may be configured such that BS 110 and UE 120 use an antenna port table that has available rows, an additional field, an additional column or reserved bits among other examples to indicate the null RE pattern. Note that third operation 415 may take place before or during operations 405 and 410, and that BS 110 may configure UE 120 to use the antenna port table at operation 405.” As shown in Fig. 4, UE is receiving configuration message (405) that includes antenna port table.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “the first set of antenna ports are legacy antenna ports, wherein the second set of antenna ports are new antenna ports, and wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, using the transceiver, a second configuration message that includes a legacy antenna port table” of MANOLAKOS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communications between access points and stations in a wireless network [0007].
Regarding Claim 6, HAO, AHMED and MANOLAKOS combination teach the limitations of Claim 5.
Although implicit, HAO does not explicitly teach,
The UE of claim 5, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that that the capability type of the UE is capability 0 or default capability; and refrain from performing interference estimation on the second set of antenna ports.
However, MANOLAKOS teaches,
The UE of claim 5, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that that the capability type of the UE is capability 0 or default capability; and refrain from performing interference estimation on the second set of antenna ports. -Fig. 4; Paragraph [0077][0056] ([0056] recites, “In some aspects, the UE includes means for indicating the recommended null resource element pattern or the recommended number of resource elements for the null resource element pattern in at least one of a UE capability report ..”[0077] recites, “ BS 110 may select a null RE pattern from the set of null RE patterns based at least in part on information about communication conditions, a location of UE 120, a capability of UE 120..” [0069] recites, “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating the use of null resource elements signaled in an antenna port field for demodulation interference estimation in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure…” It is easily understandable from the above recitations to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that based on the UE capability (in the capability report), BS signals Null resource elements for UE to perform interference estimation (Fig. 4). If UE does not have the capability, it is conveyed in the UE capability report (default) and UE refrains from interference estimation.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “determine that that the capability type of the UE is capability 0 or default capability; and refrain from performing interference estimation on the second set of antenna ports.” of MANOLAKOS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communications between access points and stations in a wireless network [0007].
Regarding Claim 11, HAO and AHMED teach the limitations of Claim 10.
Although implicit, HAO does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 10, further comprising: determining a capability type of the UE; generating a capability report based on the capability type of the UE; transmitting the capability report to the base station; and performing or refraining from performing channel estimation on a second set of antenna ports based on the capability type of the UE
However, in an analogous invention, MANOLAKOS teaches,
The method of claim 10, further comprising: determining a capability type of the UE; generating a capability report based on the capability type of the UE; transmitting the capability report to the base station; -Paragraph [0056] ([0056] recites, “In some aspects, the UE includes means for transmitting, to a base station, an indication of a recommended null resource element pattern or a recommended number of resource elements for the null resource element pattern. In some aspects, the UE includes means for indicating the recommended null resource element pattern or the recommended number of resource elements for the null resource element pattern in at least one of a UE capability report” AS explained above in the UE capability report, UE indicates number of resources (DMRS/Antenna port) it supports)
and performing or refraining from performing channel estimation on a second set of antenna ports based on the capability type of the UE. -Paragraph [0038] ([0038] recites, “the UE determines a channel estimate, and cancels the channel estimate before calculating interference for the non-null resource element. For null resource elements, the UE may proceed with measuring interference without first determining, and subsequently canceling, any channel estimates for the null resource elements.” As explained above, the UE may perform/refrain channel estimation on second set of antenna ports supporting the null resource elements)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “determining a capability type of the UE; generating a capability report based on the capability type of the UE; transmitting the capability report to the base station; and performing or refraining from performing channel estimation on a second set of antenna ports based on the capability type of the UE” of MANOLAKOS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communications between access points and stations in a wireless network [0007].
Claim 12 is the method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 5 which is rejected above. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 5. Claim 12 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 13, HAO, AHMED and MANOLAKOS combination teach the limitations of Claim 11.
HAO further teaches,
-[0091] recites, “The second stage of the 2-stage bitmap indicates, for each CSI-RS port in each group indicated in the first stage of the bitmap, whether that CSI-RS port is to be used for channel measurement or interference measurement …… For the CDM8 example shown in FIG. 12, the second stage bitmap may be 8 bits for each group/CSI-RS component resource (e.g., 11110000 indicating the four ports are used for channel measurement).” Four ports with bitmap 0000 refrain from performing channel measurements. Bitmap dictates whether the ports to be used or should not be used for channel estimation. In the above example first four ports are used for channel estimation while rest of the four ports should refrain from channel estimation. Any ports can be assigned by the base station to be used/refrain from doing channel/interference estimation using the bitmap)
Although implicit, HAO does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 1 1, further comprising: determining that that the capability type of the UE is capability 0 or default capability;
However, in an analogous invention, MANOLAKOS teaches,
The method of claim 1 1, further comprising: determining that that the capability type of the UE is capability 0 or default capability; -Fig. 4; Paragraph [0077][0056] ([0056] recites, “In some aspects, the UE includes means for indicating the recommended null resource element pattern or the recommended number of resource elements for the null resource element pattern in at least one of a UE capability report ..”[0077] recites, “ BS 110 may select a null RE pattern from the set of null RE patterns based at least in part on information about communication conditions, a location of UE 120, a capability of UE 120..” It is easily understandable from the above recitations to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that based on the UE capability (in the capability report). If UE does not have the capability, it is conveyed in the UE capability report (default))
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “determining that that the capability type of the UE is capability 0 or default capability;” of MANOLAKOS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communications between access points and stations in a wireless network [0007].
Regarding Claim 15, HAO teaches,
A base station comprising: a transceiver configured to enable wireless communication with a first user equipment (UE) and a second UE; -Fig. 1, 4; Paragraph [0057] (Fig. 1 shows BS communicating with multiple UEs. Fig. 4 shows the block diagram of BS/UE with different components including transceiver (MOD/DEMOD))
and a processor, communicatively coupled to the transceiver, and configured to: -Fig. 4; Paragraph [0057] (Fig. 4 shows BS block diagram with processor, transceiver (Mod/Demod/antenna))
;
and refrain from performing interference estimation on the second set of antenna ports; -Paragraph [0008, 0091] ( [0008] recites, “The BS partitions the set of CSI-RS ports into groups of CSI-RS ports. The BS provides a first indication to the UE of a subset of the groups of the CSI-RS ports to be used by the UE for channel measurements and/or a second indication to the UE of a subset of the groups of the CSI-RS ports to be used by the UE for interference measurements. “ [0091] recites, “The second stage of the 2-stage bitmap indicates, for each CSI-RS port in each group indicated in the first stage of the bitmap, whether that CSI-RS port is to be used for channel measurement or interference measurement …… For the CDM8 example shown in FIG. 12, the second stage bitmap may be 8 bits for each group/CSI-RS component resource (e.g., 11110000 indicating the four ports are used for channel measurement).” Bitmap dictates whether the ports to be used or should not be used for interference estimation. In the above example first four ports are used for channel estimation while should refrain from interference estimation. Any ports can be assigned by the base station to be used/refrain from doing channel/interference estimation using the bitmap)
and transmit, using the transceiver, the configuration message to the first UE. -Paragraph [0014] ([0014] recites, “The apparatus generally includes a receiver configured to receive a CSI-RS resource configuration from a BS of one or more CSI-RS resources associated with a CSI report. The CSI-RS resource includes a set of CSI-RS ports….”BS transmits the configuration from the antenna (transceiver))
Although implicit, HAO does not explicitly mention,
receive, using the transceiver, a capability report from the first UE; generate a configuration message based on the capability report, wherein the configuration message assigns a first set of antenna ports to the first UE, wherein the configuration message further indicates that a second set of antenna port is not assigned to another UE, and wherein the first and the second sets of antenna ports are in a code division multiplexing (CDM) group; wherein the configuration message configures the first UE to perform channel estimation on the first set of antenna ports
However, in an analogous invention, AHMED teaches,
generate a configuration message based on the capability report, wherein the configuration message assigns a first set of antenna ports to the first UE, wherein the configuration message further indicates that a second set of antenna port is not assigned to another UE, and wherein the first and the second sets of antenna ports are in a code division multiplexing (CDM) group; wherein the configuration message configures the first UE to perform channel estimation on the first set of antenna ports -Paragraph [0006] ([0006] recites, “In some aspects, a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include receiving a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) configuration that indicates a code-division multiplexing (CDM) group configured for the UE; receiving a first indication of an antenna port, included in the CDM group, assigned to the UE for reception of a first set of DMRS transmissions; receiving a second indication of whether a second set of DMRS transmissions for another antenna port, included in the CDM group, is present or absent for another UE; and performing channel estimation based at least in part on the first indication of the antenna port and the second indication of whether the second set of DMRS transmissions for the other antenna port is present or absent” Configuration received by the UE is sent from the base station. )
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “generate a configuration message based on the capability report, wherein the configuration message assigns a first set of antenna ports to the first UE, wherein the configuration message further indicates that a second set of antenna port is not assigned to another UE, and wherein the first and the second sets of antenna ports are in a code division multiplexing (CDM) group; wherein the configuration message configures the first UE to perform channel estimation on the first set of antenna ports” of AHMED. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the accuracy of channel estimation [0119].
Although implicit, and understandable to any ordinary person with the skill in the art, HAO and AHMED do not explicitly mention,
receive, using the transceiver, a capability report from the first UE;
However, in an analogous invention, MANOLAKOS teaches,
receive, using the transceiver, a capability report from the first UE; -Paragraph [0056] ([0056] recites, “In some aspects, the UE includes means for transmitting, to a base station, an indication of a recommended null resource element pattern or a recommended number of resource elements for the null resource element pattern. In some aspects, the UE includes means for indicating the recommended null resource element pattern or the recommended number of resource elements for the null resource element pattern in at least one of a UE capability report or a CSI report.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “receive, using the transceiver, a capability report from the first UE; ” of MANOLAKOS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communications between access points and stations in a wireless network [0007].
Regarding Claim 18, HAO, AHMED and MANOLAKOS teach the limitations of Claim 15.
Although implicit, HAO does not explicitly teach,
The base station of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to: generate a second configuration message that includes one or more sets of antenna ports; determine that the one or more sets of antenna ports include the first set of antenna ports; and generate the first configuration message to assign the second set of antenna ports to be vacant.
However, MANOLAKOS teaches,
The base station of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to: generate a second configuration message that includes one or more sets of antenna ports; -Fig. 4; Paragraph [0078][0039] ([0078] recites, “In a second operation 410, BS 110 may indicate the null RE pattern in DCI. For example, BS 110 may indicate a value that corresponds to a value or index in a table, array, or other data structure among other examples. In some aspects, the value may correspond to an antenna port field in an antenna port table. The antenna port table may indicate one or more DMRS ports for UE 120 and a number of DMRS code-division multiplexing (CDM) groups without data.” [0039] recites, “the BS may indicate the null resource element pattern in the DCI using a value of an antenna port field that also indicates one or more demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports for the UE and a number of DMRS code-division multiplexing groups without data.” Configuration message sent from BS to UE through DCI)
determine that the one or more sets of antenna ports include the first set of antenna ports; and generate the first configuration message to assign the second set of antenna ports to be vacant. -Paragraph [0008] ([0008] recites, “In some aspects, a method of wireless communication performed by a base station includes transmitting, to a UE, DCI that includes an indication of a null resource element pattern. The null resource element pattern may be indicated in the DCI using: a value of an antenna port field that also indicates one or more DMRS ports for the UE and a number of DMRS code-division multiplexing groups without data, or a zero power downlink reference signal. The method may include transmitting a downlink communication based at least in part on the null resource element pattern indicated in the DCI.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “generate a second configuration message that includes one or more sets of antenna ports; determine that the one or more sets of antenna ports include the first set of antenna ports; and generate the first configuration message to assign the second set of antenna ports to be vacant.” of MANOLAKOS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communications between access points and stations in a wireless network [0007].
Regarding Claim 19, HAO, AHMED and MANOLAKOS teaches the limitations of Claim 15.
HAO does not explicitly mention,
The base station of claim 15, wherein the first and the second sets of antenna ports are demodulation reference signals (DMRS) antenna ports.
However, MANOLAKOS teaches,
The base station of claim 15, wherein the first and the second sets of antenna ports are demodulation reference signals (DMRS) antenna ports. -Paragraph [0078] ([0078] recites, “..The antenna port table may indicate one or more DMRS ports for UE 120 and a number of DMRS code-division multiplexing (CDM) groups without data.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “the first and the second sets of antenna ports are demodulation reference signals (DMRS) antenna ports.” of MANOLAKOS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communications between access points and stations in a wireless network [0007].
Claims 8-9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAO in view AHMED, MANOLAKOS and further in view of MEI et al. (US 2024/0097857 A1), hereinafter, MEI.
Regarding Claim 8, HAO teaches the limitations of Claim 2.
Although implicit, HAO does not explicitly mention,
The UE of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that the capability type of the UE is capability 1; determine that the first set of antenna ports are legacy antenna ports; and perform interference estimation on the second set of antenna ports, wherein the second set of antenna ports are new antenna ports.
However, in an analogous invention MEI teaches,
The UE of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to: -Paragraph [0025] ([0025] recites, “In some embodiments, the indication of co-scheduled DMRS ports can be used to determine at least one of the following: (1) whether there are DMRS ports configured for the co-scheduled UES for interference estimation (also referred to as interference DMRS ports), (2) the number of interference DMRS ports in total, if configured, and/or (3) whether at least part of the interference DMRS ports are legacy DMRS ports or new DMRS ports. For example, in some embodiments, a total number of DMRS ports for all co-scheduled UE(s) or a total number of DMRS ports in each CDM group is indicated to a target UE, and the target UE can derive whether there are interference DMRS ports, the number of interference DMRS ports, and/or whether or which of these interference DMRS ports are legacy DMRS ports or new DMRS ports based on the indication.” As explained above, UE determines from the indication the total no of DMRS (antenna) ports, set of DMRS ports (second set) for interference estimation and whether the interference DMRS ports are legacy or new DMRS ports.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “determine that the first set of antenna ports are legacy antenna ports; and perform interference estimation on the second set of antenna ports, wherein the second set of antenna ports are new antenna ports” of MEI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve channel demodulation performance and provide reliable, robust communications [0022].
Although implicit, HAO and MEI combination explicitly do not mention,
determine that the capability type of the UE is capability 1;
However, in an analogous invention, MANOLAKOS teaches,
determine that the capability type of the UE is capability 1; -Paragraph [0056] ([0056] recites, “UE includes means for indicating the recommended null resource element pattern or the recommended number of resource elements for the null resource element pattern in at least one of a UE capability report “ As explained above, in the UE capability report, UE sends BS it’s ability of supporting interference estimation and suggests null resource element pattern. It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that the UE could be of capability 1)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “determine that the capability type of the UE is capability 1;” of MANOLAKOS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communications between access points and stations in a wireless network [0007].
Regarding Claim 9, HAO and AHMED teach the limitations of Claim 2.
Although implicit, HAO does not explicitly mention,
The UE of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that the capability type of the UE is capability 2;determine that the first set of antenna ports are a combination of legacy antenna ports and new antenna ports; and perform interference estimation on the second set of antenna ports, wherein the second set of antenna ports are a combination of legacy antenna ports and new antenna ports.
However, in an analogous invention MEI teaches,
The UE of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to: -Paragraph [0025] ([0025] recites, “In some embodiments, the indication of co-scheduled DMRS ports can be used to determine at least one of the following: (1) whether there are DMRS ports configured for the co-scheduled UES for interference estimation (also referred to as interference DMRS ports), (2) the number of interference DMRS ports in total, if configured, and/or (3) whether at least part of the interference DMRS ports are legacy DMRS ports or new DMRS ports. For example, in some embodiments, a total number of DMRS ports for all co-scheduled UE(s) or a total number of DMRS ports in each CDM group is indicated to a target UE, and the target UE can derive whether there are interference DMRS ports, the number of interference DMRS ports, and/or whether or which of these interference DMRS ports are legacy DMRS ports or new DMRS ports based on the indication.” As explained above, UE determines from the indication the total no of DMRS (antenna) ports, set of DMRS ports (second set) for interference estimation and whether the interference DMRS ports are legacy or new DMRS ports or a combination of both.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “determine that the first set of antenna ports are a combination of legacy antenna ports and new antenna ports; and perform interference estimation on the second set of antenna ports, wherein the second set of antenna ports are a combination of legacy antenna ports and new antenna ports.” of MEI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve channel demodulation performance and provide reliable, robust communications [0022].
Although implicit, HAO, AHMED and MEI combination do not explicitly mention,
determine that the capability type of the UE is capability 2;
However, in an analogous invention, MANOLAKOS teaches,
determine that the capability type of the UE is capability 2; -Paragraph [0056] ([0056] recites, “UE includes means for indicating the recommended null resource element pattern or the recommended number of resource elements for the null resource element pattern in at least one of a UE capability report “ As explained above, in the UE capability report, UE sends BS it’s ability of supporting interference estimation and suggests null resource element pattern. It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that the UE could be of capability 2.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “determine that the capability type of the UE is capability 2;” of MANOLAKOS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communications between access points and stations in a wireless network [0007].
Regarding Claim 14, HAO and AHMED teach the limitations of Claim 10.
Although implicit, HAO does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 10, further comprising: receiving a second configuration message from the base station, wherein the second configuration message includes one or more sets of antenna ports; determining that the one or more sets of antenna ports include the first set of antenna ports; and in response to determining that the one or more sets of antenna ports include the first set of antenna ports, refraining from performing channel estimation on the second set of antenna ports.
However, in an analogous invention, MEI teaches,
The method of claim 10, further comprising: receiving a second configuration message from the base station, wherein the second configuration message includes one or more sets of antenna ports; -Table. 1; Paragraph [0023-0025] ( [0023] recites, “Besides the parameters that schedule the data portion of the transmission, the DCI signaling message also carries various parameters, such as an antenna port(s) field, to indicate parameters associated with the non-data portion of the transmission (e.g., DMRS transmission). Table 1 shows one example mapping table for the antenna port(s) indicated by a DCI message.”)
determining that the one or more sets of antenna ports include the first set of antenna ports; -Paragraph[0024] ([0024] recites, “.. In other cases, the UE can estimate the interference based on the other DMRS ports (e.g., in the same CDM group or different CDM groups) according to the indicated DMRS ports and the number of CDM group number without data.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “receiving a second configuration message from the base station, wherein the second configuration message includes one or more sets of antenna ports; determining that the one or more sets of antenna ports include the first set of antenna ports;” of MEI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve channel demodulation performance and provide reliable, robust communications [0022].
Although implicit, HAO and MEI combination do not explicitly teach,
and in response to determining that the one or more sets of antenna ports include the first set of antenna ports refraining from performing channel estimation on the second set of antenna ports.
However, in an analogous invention, MANOLAKOS teaches,
and in response to determining that the one or more sets of antenna ports include the first set of antenna ports refraining from performing channel estimation on the second set of antenna ports -Paragraph [0038] ([0038] recites, “For null resource elements, the UE may proceed with measuring interference without first determining, and subsequently canceling, any channel estimates for the null resource elements.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “in response to determining that the one or more sets of antenna ports include the first set of antenna ports refraining from performing channel estimation on the second set of antenna ports” of MANOLAKOS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communications between access points and stations in a wireless network [0007].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAO in view of AHMED and further in view of CHIEN et al. (Patent No: US 2022/0377798 A1), hereinafter, CHIEN.
Regarding Claim 4, HAO and AHMED teach the limitations of Claim 2.
Although implicit, HAO does not explicitly teach,
The UE of claim 2, wherein the capability type further indicates whether the UE is a legacy UE or a new UE.
However, in an analogous invention, CHIEN teaches,
The UE of claim 2, wherein the capability type further indicates whether the UE is a legacy UE or a new UE. -Paragraph [0043-0044] ([0043-0044] recites, “…The device type related information may explicitly comprise a UE identity, a device type, or a UE capability of the extended device type UE……. The extended device type, such as the RedCap UE type, may be defined in a telecommunication network using a new UE type (i.e., a new UE category) or a new set of UE capabilities.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “the capability type further indicates whether the UE is a legacy UE or a new UE.” of CHIEN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce UE power consumption, and balance network load [0016].
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAO in view of AHMED, MANOLAKOS and further in view of Davydov et al. (Patent No: US 2016/0173262 A1), hereinafter, Davydov.
Regarding Claim 16, HAO, AHMED and MANOLAKOS teach the limitations of Claim 15.
Although implicit, HAO does not explicitly teach,
The base station of claim 15, wherein the first set of antenna ports are legacy antenna ports, and wherein the second set of antenna ports are new antenna ports.
However, Davydov teaches,
The base station of claim 15, wherein the first set of antenna ports are legacy antenna ports, and wherein the second set of antenna ports are new antenna ports. -Paragraph [0121] ([0121] recites, “In various embodiments, wherein a DCI bit or RRC signaling is used between a new {antenna port(s), scrambling identity and number of layers} mapping table and a legacy {antenna port(s), scrambling identity and number of layers} mapping table to determine antenna ports used for PDSCH transmission.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “the first set of antenna ports are legacy antenna ports, and wherein the second set of antenna ports are new antenna ports.” of Davydov. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide performance improvements of the different physical channels, such as, but not limited to the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), Enhanced Physical Downlink Control Channel (EPDCCH), and the like [0036].
Regarding Claim 17, HAO, AHMED, MANOLAKOS and Davydov teach the limitations of Claim 16.
Although implicit, HAO does not explicitly teach,
The base station of claim 16, wherein the configuration message includes a legacy antenna port table.
However, Davydov teaches,
The base station of claim 16, wherein the configuration message includes a legacy antenna port table. -Fig. 7; Paragraph [0012] ([0012] recites, “FIG. 7 is a legacy {Antenna port(s), scrambling identity and number of layers indication} mapping table according to various embodiments;”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “configuration message includes a legacy antenna port table” of Davydov. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide performance improvements of the different physical channels, such as, but not limited to the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), Enhanced Physical Downlink Control Channel (EPDCCH), and the like [0036].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAO in view of AHMED, MANOLAKOS in view of BAE et al. (Patent No: US 2022/0191903 A1), hereinafter, BAE.
Regarding Claim 20, HAO, AHMED and MANOLAKOS teach the limitations of Claim 19.
Although implicit, HAO does not explicitly mention,
The base station of claim 19, wherein the first and the second sets of antenna ports are configuration type 1 or configuration type 2 DMRS antenna ports, and wherein the first and the second sets of antenna ports are mapping type A or mapping type B DMRS antenna ports.
However, BAE teaches,
The base station of claim 19, wherein the first and the second sets of antenna ports are configuration type 1 or configuration type 2 DMRS antenna ports, -Paragraph [0286] ([0286] recites, “Alternatively, the length of the front-loaded DMRS may be determined based on a DMRS antenna port and a configuration number (e.g., maxLength).”)
and wherein the first and the second sets of antenna ports are mapping type A or mapping type B DMRS antenna ports. -Paragraph [0192] ([0192] recites, “…PDSCH mapping Type A or PDSCH mapping Type B may be indicated by TDRA. For PDSCH mapping Type A, the DMRS is located in the third symbol (symbol #2) or fourth symbol (symbol #3) in a slot. For PDSCH mapping Type B, the DMRS is allocated in the first symbol allocated for the PDSCH.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CSI-RS PORT SUBSET INDICATION” proposed by HAO to include the concept of “first and the second sets of antenna ports are configuration type 1 or configuration type 2 DMRS antenna ports, and wherein the first and the second sets of antenna ports are mapping type A or mapping type B DMRS antenna ports.” of BAE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the reliability of PUSCH/PDSCH transmission [0227].
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475