Final Rejection
DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 02/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 2-13 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) of claims 6 and 10. Accordingly the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 02/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicants arguments to claim 1, applicant states “It is clear that Miyajima only describes the operation of a charge pump circuit, but fails to disclose anything about a power supply circuit being configured to operate such that the pulse driving is started after discharge of the flying capacitor is started, and such that the discharge of the flying capacitor is ended after the pulse driving is ended. Figs. 8 and 10-11 of Miyajima illustrate configuration examples of the charge-pump circuit, but fail to provide any information on the pulse driving.”, examiner respectfully disagrees. Miyajima teaches the power supply circuit (power supply) and the charge pump type boosting means (charge pump circuit) and the flying capacitor and Miyajima teaches a first phase wherein the two switches are closed to charge the flying capacitor to the power supply voltage and then transfer phase as the second phase. The flying capacitor is in series with the power supply voltage, and the stabilizing capacitor is charged by both the voltage of the flying capacitor and the power supply voltage. Furthermore, Miyajima teaches a drive voltage (drive pulse) is generated by switching between zero voltage and the boosted voltage. Thus the claim limitation, the pulse driving (drive voltage (drive pulse)) is started (generated) after discharge of the flying capacitor is started (the first phase, the two switches are closed to charge the flying capacitor to the power supply voltage), and such that the discharge of the flying capacitor is ended after the pulse driving is ended (a drive voltage (drive pulse) is generated by switching between zero voltage and the boosted voltage), is properly taught. (See Page.2, lines 1-19, Figs.8, 10-11 of Miyajima)
Regarding applicants arguments to claim 5, applicant states “At most, the cited portions disclose setting a switching frequency of a power supply section, but Applicant could find no disclosure or suggestion of a "control circuit configured to permit a switching operation of the switch element to be started only in permission time periods set with a fixed period," as required by claim 5.”, examiner respectfully disagrees. Akahane teaches the Switching-frequency setting section 10d sets a switching frequency of a switching signal to a set period, for example the period is set specifically to a period wherein the positive-integer multiples of the switching frequency are not included and another example is wherein the period is set to a maximum pulse repetition frequency (fig.11) and another example is to set switching frequency Fsw such that Expressions 2 and 3 are satisfied (fig.12). (See Paragraphs 56, 104-106, 124, Figs.1, 10-12 of Akahane)
Regarding applicants arguments to claim 9, applicant states “Applicant could find no disclosure or suggestion of a "drive device [having] a first mode in which a step-up operation of the power supply circuit is turned on, and a second mode in which the step-up operation of the power supply circuit is turned off," as recited in claim 9.”, examiner respectfully disagrees. Akahane teaches a switching section (selector) for switching control between on and off of the driving states of the plurality of transducers individually or on a block basis. Thus, Akahane properly teaches drive device having a first mode in which a step-up operation of the power supply circuit is turned on (channel switching section (selector) for switching control to a on driving state of the plurality of transducers individually or on a block basis), and a second mode in which the step-up operation of the power supply circuit is turned off (channel switching section (selector) for switching control to a off driving state of the plurality of transducers individually or on a block basis). (See Paragraphs 32, 62, 65, 67, 3 of Akahane)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-7, 9-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akahane (US 20180125456 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Akahane teaches a drive device, comprising: a power supply circuit (12) that includes a switch element (10d). (Paragraphs 3, 56, 96, Figs.1, 3A-3B)
Akahane also teaches a drive circuit (10) that is configured to use a voltage supplied from the power supply circuit as a power supply voltage and that is configured to perform pulse driving of a drive-target element. (Paragraphs 51-57, 78, Claims 1-3, Figs.1-3B)
Akahane also teaches wherein the power supply circuit (12) is configured to operate such that a switching frequency of the switch element differs from a frequency of the pulse driving. (Abstract, Paragraphs 11-12, 56, 61, 63, 96, Claim 1, Figs.1-3B)
Akahane also teaches the drive device further comprises a control circuit configured to permit a switching operation (10d) of the switch element to be started only in permission time periods set with a fixed period (Switching-frequency setting section 10d according to the present embodiment sets the switching frequency so that frequencies being positive-integer multiples of the switching frequency are not included in a frequency band). (Paragraphs 56, 104-106, 124, Figs.1, 10-12) Akahane teaches the Switching-frequency setting section 10d sets a switching frequency of a switching signal to a set period for example the period is set specifically to a period wherein the positive-integer multiples of the switching frequency are not included and another example is wherein the period is set to a maximum pulse repetition frequency (fig.11) and another example is to set switching frequency Fsw such that Expressions 2 and 3 are satisfied (fig.12).
Regarding claim 6, Akahane teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to prohibit a switching operation of the switching element from being started in guard-band time periods, and is configured to permit the switching operation of the switch element to be ended both in the permission time periods and in the guard-band time periods each set between adjacent ones of the permission time periods. (Paragraphs 56, 104-106, 124, Figs.1, 10-12)
Regarding claim 7, Akahane teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to receive a clock signal with the fixed period and to set the permission time periods based on the clock signal. (Paragraphs 64-67, Fig.3A)
Regarding claim 9, Akahane teaches a drive device, comprising: a power supply circuit (12) that includes a switch element (10d). (Paragraphs 3, 56, 96, Figs.1, 3A-3B)
Akahane also teaches a drive circuit (10) that is configured to use a voltage supplied from the power supply circuit as a power supply voltage and that is configured to perform pulse driving of a drive-target element. (Paragraphs 51-57, 78, Claims 1-3, Figs.1-3B)
Akahane also teaches wherein the power supply circuit (12) is configured to operate such that a switching frequency of the switch element differs from a frequency of the pulse driving. (Abstract, Paragraphs 11-12, 56, 61, 63, 96, Claim 1, Figs.1-3B)
Akahane also teaches wherein the drive device has a first mode in which a step-up operation of the power supply circuit is turned on, and a second mode in which the step-up operation of the power supply circuit is turned off (channel switching section (selector) for switching control between on and off of the driving states of the plurality of transducers individually or on a block basis (hereinafter, referred to as “channel”)). (Paragraphs 32, 62, 65, 67, 3)
Regarding claim 10, Akahane teaches wherein the drive circuit is configured to intermittently performs repetition of the pulse driving, the first mode is executed when an elapsed time between start timing of a first operation of the pulse driving and start timing of a subsequent operation of the pulse driving is equal to or more than a predetermined time, and the second mode is executed when an elapsed time between start timing of a second operation of the pulse driving and start timing of a subsequent operation of the pulse driving is less than the predetermined time. (Paragraphs 32, 43, 62, Claims 4-5)
Regarding claim 12, Akahane teaches an ultrasonic sensor, comprising: a piezoelectric element; and the drive device according to claim 5 configured to drive the piezoelectric element. (Paragraph 32, Fig.1)
Regarding claim 13, Akahane teaches an ultrasonic sensor, comprising: a piezoelectric element; and the drive device according to claim 9 configured to drive the piezoelectric element. (Paragraph 32, Fig.1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahane in view of Miyajima (JP 2008275436 A, all citations provided from machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 2, Akahane teaches a drive device, comprising: a power supply circuit (12) that includes a switch element (10d). (Paragraphs 3, 56, 96, Figs.1, 3A-3B)
Akahane also teaches a drive circuit (10) that is configured to use a voltage supplied from the power supply circuit as a power supply voltage and that is configured to perform pulse driving of a drive-target element. (Paragraphs 51-57, 78, Claims 1-3, Figs.1-3B)
Akahane also teaches wherein the power supply circuit (12) is configured to operate such that a switching frequency of the switch element differs from a frequency of the pulse driving. (Abstract, Paragraphs 11-12, 56, 61, 63, 96, Claim 1, Figs.1-3B)
Akahane does not explicitly teach the power supply circuit is a charge pump circuit that includes a flying capacitor, and the power supply circuit is configured to operate such that the pulse driving is started after discharge of the flying capacitor is started, and such that the discharge of the flying capacitor is ended after the pulse driving is ended.
Miyajima teaches the power supply circuit is a charge pump circuit that includes a flying capacitor, and the power supply circuit is configured to operate such that the pulse driving is started after discharge of the flying capacitor is started, and such that the discharge of the flying capacitor is ended after the pulse driving is ended. (Page.2, lines 1-19, Figs.8, 10-11)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Akahane to incorporate the power supply circuit is a charge pump circuit that includes a flying capacitor, and the power supply circuit is configured to operate such that the pulse driving is started after discharge of the flying capacitor is started, and such that the discharge of the flying capacitor is ended after the pulse driving is ended in order to obtain a boost ratio and increase the number of boost stages.
Regarding claim 3, Akahane does not explicitly teach wherein a length of a first time period from start to end of the discharge of the flying capacitor is equal to or longer than a length of a second time period from start to end of the pulse driving but equal to or shorter than two times the length of the second time period.
Miyajima teaches wherein a length of a first time period from start to end of the discharge of the flying capacitor is equal to or longer than a length of a second time period from start to end of the pulse driving but equal to or shorter than two times the length of the second time period. (Page.2, lines 1-10, Figs.8, 10-11)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Akahane to incorporate wherein a length of a first time period from start to end of the discharge of the flying capacitor is equal to or longer than a length of a second time period from start to end of the pulse driving but equal to or shorter than two times the length of the second time period in order to obtain a boost ratio and increase the number of boost stages.
Regarding claim 4, Akahane teaches wherein the power supply circuit does not include a smoothing circuit in an output stage of the power supply circuit. (Paragraphs 61, 63, Figs.1-3B)
Regarding claim 11, Akahane teaches an ultrasonic sensor, comprising: a piezoelectric element; and the drive device according to claim 2 configured to drive the piezoelectric element. (Paragraph 32, Fig.1)
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahane in view of Liu (CN 103347564 A, all citations provided from machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 8, Akahane does not explicitly teach wherein the control circuit includes a latch circuit and a plurality of logic gates.
Liu teaches wherein the control circuit includes a latch circuit and a plurality of logic gates. (Paragraphs 57, 34, 37)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Akahane to incorporate wherein the control circuit includes a latch circuit and a plurality of logic gates in order to achieve operational efficiency of more than 95%, adjusting the circuit drive each channel and minimizing the voltage standing wave ratio.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645