DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2026 has been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Summary
This action is in reply to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 03/12/2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks, filed 03/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-30 under 35 U.S.C. §102 and §103 have fully considered but they are not persuasive.
35 U.S.C. §102 and §103
The Applicant presented argument that group common DCI activating a previously-configured gNB DTXIDRX pattern, as described in Hu, is not the same as, and does not disclose, "one or more second control messages including information indicative of a plurality of signaling restriction sets ... each signaling restriction set of the plurality of signaling restriction sets including one or more respective signaling restrictions," "the one or more respective signaling restrictions including a restriction from communicating one or both of a respective set of signal types or a respective set of channels," as recited in amended independent claim 1, for at least the reason that activation of a gNB DTXIDRX pattern is not "information indicative of a plurality of signaling restriction sets." Hu merely describes configuration and activation of gNB DTX/DRX patterns that define DRX cycles and ON durations thereof (see, e.g., Hu ,i [0049]), and Hu fails to contemplate any "one or more respective signaling restrictions including a restriction from communicating one or both of a respective set of signal types or a respective set of channels," as recited in amended independent claim 1.
The Office Action appears to equate the gNB DTXIDRX pattern activated via the group common DCI of Hu to "information indicative of a plurality of signaling restriction sets, each signaling restriction set of the plurality of signaling restriction sets being associated with one or more cell DTX/DRX configurations of the plurality of cell DTX/DRX configurations," as recited in amended independent claim 1. See Office Action pp. 5-7. But the Office Action cannot rely on the gNB DTX/DRX pattern of Hu, to disclose both a "cell DTX/DRX configuration" and a "signaling restriction set ... associated with one or more cell DTX/DRX configurations of the plurality of cell DTX/DRX configurations," as claimed. (REMARKS, Pages 17-18)
The Examiner respectively disagrees and presents that no where in claim 1 or any other claims disclose any kind of signaling or channel restriction which distinguishes over control signaling channel communication and traffic communication of Hu’s signaling restriction by DTX/DRX patterns which is in accordance with Claim1 limitation “communicate with the serving cell in accordance with a cell DTX/DRX configuration of the plurality of cell DTX/DRX configurations and in accordance with a signaling restriction set of the plurality of signaling restriction sets that is associated with the cell DTX/DRX configuration.”
Further, Hu discloses a semi-static DTX/DRX preconfigured using RRC and activated by group DCI, see Hu Fig. 2A, Fig. 3, [0006, 0009, 0049, 0056-0058, 0062, 0099, TABLE, 1, TABLE 5] and DTX/DRX dynamically configured by DCI as disclosed by Fig. Fig. 4, where Fig. 4 explicitly illustrates flexible different DTX/DRX patterns of ON/OFF periods over corresponding N number of time slots at different times using different group DCIs, in addition to long DTX/DRX cycle for a DTX/DRX pattern and short DTX/DRX cycle during an ON period of a long DTX/DRX cycle providing further restriction set for signalling and traffic communication as disclosed in Hu Fig. 4, [0007, 0008, 0049, 0084-0085, 0100, 0101, TABLE 2, TABLE 6].
Further detail please see below in Section 7.
Accordingly claim 1 and similarly claims 15, 25 and 28 are rejected.
Dependent claims 2-14, 16-24, 26-27 and 29-30, being dependent on claims 1, 15, 25 and 28, are also rejected for the same reason as above.
NOTICE for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 15-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as anticipated by Hu et al. (US 20240107444 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘HU’).
Regarding claim 1, HU teaches a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1 UE, [0042] the device 100 may be a UE (e.g., a client device) or a base station (e.g., a gNB)), comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the UE to
([0041] includes a controller module 101 (e.g., a processor), a storage module 102.
[0044] The controller module 101 may include at least one processor and may execute instructions that are stored in the storage module 102. For example, the controller module 101 may execute instructions for performing signaling techniques described herein.):
receive one or more first control messages including information indicative of a plurality of cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) or discontinuous reception (DRX) (DTX/DRX) configurations associated with a serving cell, each cell DTX/DRX configuration of the plurality of cell DTX/DRX configurations being associated with a respective DTX/DRX cycle (
[0006] Semi-static DTX/DRX may be a pre-configured mechanism where the gNB goes to sleep for a predetermined period of time. The UEs may also be aware of this schedule and can go to sleep during the same time period. This type of DTX/DRX can be used in areas with low traffic, where the gNB can save energy without impacting the user experience.
[0008] Dynamic DTX/DRX may be a more flexible mechanism where the gNB can go to sleep based on the current traffic conditions. The UEs may also be aware of the gNB's sleep schedule and can adjust their own behavior accordingly. This type of DTX/DRX can be used in areas with high traffic, where the gNB can save energy without impacting the user experience.
[0011] The present disclosure introduces several time-domain solutions that enable network power savings. Notably, the concept of UE connected discontinuous transmission/reception (C-DTX/DRX) is adapted to be used with gNB, and signaling is defined for UEs to operate in the presence of gNB DTX/DRX.
Fig. 2A Step 202,
[0054] FIG. 2A illustrates a flowchart for semi-static and dynamic gNB DTX/DRX signaling.
[0055] the gNB may gather information about the existing DRX patterns of the UEs it serves. The UE receives the gNB DTX/DRX pattern in step 202.
[0061] the determination of UE DTX/DRX patterns can be determined only by the gNB.
[0086] the gNB provides the serving UEs with a set of possible patterns for the DTX/DRX framework (e.g., one or more of the UEs may receive information from the gNB DTX/DRX common to a plurality of UEs). These patterns can include both semi-static and dynamic solutions.
[0087] Accordingly, the gNB may use the RRC broadcast to transmit one or more DRX patterns to both serving UEs and idle/inactive UEs.);
receive one or more second control messages including information indicative of a plurality of signaling restriction sets, each signaling restriction set of the plurality of signaling restriction sets being associated with one or more cell DTX/DRX configurations of the plurality of cell DTX/DRX configurations, each signaling restriction set of the plurality of signaling restriction sets including one or more respective signaling restrictions associated with communication between the UE and the serving cell over one or more non-active periods of the respective DTX/DRX cycle (
[0049] A DRX configuration includes parameters such as the DRX short cycle and DRX long cycle, collectively referred to as the DRX cycle. Within each DRX cycle, there is an “ON duration” during which the UE's medium access control (MAC) entity monitors the PDCCH. The duration of the ON period is determined by a drx-onDurationTimer, and a drx-SlotOffset specifies the delay from the start of the DRX cycle before starting the drx-onDurationTimer. The initiation of a new DRX cycle depends on whether the UE has received a new DL assignment or UL grant within a specific time defined by the drx-InactivityTimer, which restarts whenever PDCCH indicates a new transmission.
Fig. 2A Steps 203->204->206 or Steps 203->204->205,
[0055] By considering the preferred DRX patterns of all the serving UEs, the gNB can make a decision regarding the cell-specific gNB DTX and DRX pattern. Accordingly, the gNB may optimize energy savings without compromising the performance of the UEs. In step 203, the UE receives group information.
[0056] In step 204, the UE determines whether it receives group DCI. That is, if the gNB determines that an energy-saving operation is necessary, it broadcasts the cell-specific DTX and DRX pattern to all UEs that are either RRC connected or in an RRC inactive or idle state. This broadcast ensures that all UEs adopt the gNB's DTX and DRX pattern as their common pattern, rather than using their individual UE-specific DRX patterns. In this case, (yes in step 204), the new UE DTX/DRX pattern is used as indicated per group DCI in step 205 and the process continues to step 207. The broadcast signaling can be achieved through RRC system information for RRC connected, inactive, and idle UEs. Additionally, physical layer group common DCI can be utilized for RRC connected UEs. If the UE does not receive group DCI (no in step 204), then the UE continues to use the same UE DTX/DRX pattern in step 206.
[0057] Furthermore, depending on whether the gNB is in an energy-saving operation or not, the gNB has the capability to dynamically switch the serving UEs between their UE-specific DRX pattern (when the network energy-saving mode is deactivated) and the cell-specific DRX pattern (when the network energy-saving mode is activated).
See also Fig. 3, DTX/DRX On Duration, gNB short DTX cycle, gNB long DTX cycle,
[0069] FIG. 3 illustrates a gNB DTX pattern for semi-static configuration, according to an embodiment.
See also Fig. 4 illustrating different patterns at different time indicated by different DCI transmission/reception,
[0083] FIG. 4 illustrates a gNB DTX pattern for dynamic configuration, according to an embodiment.
[0084] Referring to FIG. 4, DCI indicates the on/off status (duration) of the gNB for an upcoming number (N) of time slots to the serving UEs. If the newly indicated on/off duration conflicts with a previously indicated on/off duration, the previous indication becomes outdated and is no longer applicable.
[0085] For the gNB DTX/DRX in “dynamic” DTX/DRX, the set of possible gNB DTX and DRX patterns can be predefined and signaled to the serving UEs via RRC signaling with the following IEs in Table 2, below.
[0100] For a dynamic DTX/DRX embodiment, the structure of each block may include one or more of the DCI fields, shown below in Table 6.
),
the one or more respective signaling restrictions including a restriction from communicating one or both of a respective set of signal types or a respective set of channels (
[0016] the gNB DTX/DRX pattern, including the on/off duration …
[0049] A DRX configuration includes parameters such as the DRX short cycle and DRX long cycle, collectively referred to as the DRX cycle. Within each DRX cycle, there is an “ON duration” during which the UE's medium access control (MAC) entity monitors the PDCCH. The duration of the ON period is determined by a drx-onDurationTimer, and a drx-SlotOffset specifies the delay from the start of the DRX cycle before starting the drx-onDurationTimer. The initiation of a new DRX cycle depends on whether the UE has received a new DL assignment or UL grant within a specific time defined by the drx-InactivityTimer, which restarts whenever PDCCH indicates a new transmission.
See also Fig. 4, [0084, 9985, 0100, Table 2, Table 6]
(Construed that at least PDCCH signalling is to be transmitted and monitored during ON duration and not during OFF duration)); and
communicate with the serving cell in accordance with a cell DTX/DRX configuration of the plurality of cell DTX/DRX configurations and in accordance with a signaling restriction set of the plurality of signaling restriction sets that is associated with the cell DTX/DRX configuration (
[0020] In an embodiment, a method performed by at least one UE in a wireless communication system includes transmitting, to a base station, a wake up signal (WUS) according to a semi-static operating procedure to initiate an active state based on a preconfigured timer.
Fig. 2A Steps 207>208,
[0058] In step 207, the UE determines whether it needs to transmit data. When the UE needs to transmit data (yes in step 207), it sends a WUS on a designated resource where it knows that the gNB will be listening in step 208.
See also Fig. 3 WUS occasion.
[0071] The use of DTX/DRX patterns at the gNB has implications for the scheduler, as the UE may only be able to be communicated to during its active state periods according to the DRX and DTX cycle.).
Regarding claim 2, HU teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of a non-active duration threshold associated with the plurality of signaling restriction sets (
Fig. 3, [0071] The use of DTX/DRX patterns at the gNB has implications for the scheduler, as the UE may only be able to be communicated to during its active state periods according to the DRX and DTX cycle. …. Waiting until the next activity period based on the DTX and DRX cycle, although possible, would introduce additional delays. To minimize these delays, the gNB remains in the active state for a configurable time after an active DL or UL transmission. This is accomplished by the gNB initiating or resetting an inactivity timer each time it schedules a DL or UL transmission, staying awake until the timer expires.
[0075] In the case of “semi-static” DTX/DRX configuration, the gNB DTX/DRX cycle can be described using one or all of the following parameter configurations (A)-(E):
[0076] (A). WUS “on” duration and periodicity. This refers to the duration and frequency at which the gNB remains awake to receive potential WUSs from the UEs. By enabling WUS, the gNB only needs to monitor the WUS instead of the entire long and short DTX/DRX cycles. If no WUS signal is detected for a predefined duration, the gNB can remain inactive until the next WUS occasion, skipping the DRX and DTX cycles. However, if a WUS signal is received, the gNB becomes active and may follow the short DRX and DTX cycle, as illustrated in FIG. 3.
[0077] (B). gNB “on” duration. This parameter specifies the duration for which the gNB remains active during the active state of the DTX/DRX cycle.
[0078] (C). Periodicity of a short DTX cycle. This refers to the frequency at which the gNB switches to the short DTX cycle during its active state.
[0079] (D). gNB inactive timer. The gNB inactive timer determines the duration for which the gNB remains inactive after the completion of an active state, allowing for periods of inactivity between cycles.
[0080] (E). gNB periodicity of a long DTX cycle. This parameter defines the frequency at which the gNB follows the long DTX cycle during its inactive state.
[0081] The set of possible gNB DTX and DRX patterns can be predefined and signaled to the serving UEs via RRC signaling with the following IEs in Table 1
); and
select the signaling restriction set in accordance with whether a duration of a non-active period of a DTX/DRX cycle associated with the cell DTX/DRX configuration satisfies the non-active duration threshold (
[0071] The use of DTX/DRX patterns at the gNB has implications for the scheduler, as the UE may only be able to be communicated to during its active state periods according to the DRX and DTX cycle.
(Construed that UE assisted by gNB/Network may select a DTX/RRX patten with corresponding WUS occasions and corresponding duration value or time threshold for communication as indicated by [0081] and Table 1)).
Regarding claim 3, HU teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein the plurality of signaling restriction sets includes at least a first signaling restriction set and a second signaling restriction set, the signaling restriction set being one of the first signaling restriction set or the second signaling restriction set (
Fig 3, Inactivity period during long DTX cycle as first non-active periods of durations greater than the non-active duration threshold of any value of inactivity period of short DTX/DRX cycle), and wherein:
the first signaling restriction set corresponds to a first subset of cell DTX/DRX configurations of the plurality of cell DTX/DRX configurations, each cell DTX/DRX configuration of the first subset of cell DTX/DRX configurations being associated with a respective first DTX/DRX cycle including first non-active periods of durations greater than the non-active duration threshold (
See Fig 3, long DTX cycle as first non-active periods of durations greater than the non-active duration threshold,
[0072] the gNB may follow the long DTX/DRX cycle, but if it recently scheduled a DL or UL transmission, it may switch to a short DTX/DRX cycle for a predefined duration.
[0073] …. This may be considered as a concept that uses gNB WUS occasions, where the gNB wakes up for a configurable duration (significantly shorter than the on duration in the long DTX/DRX cycle) before the start of the long DTX/DRX cycle. In general, having knowledge of the UE's traffic pattern or UE-type information is beneficial for the gNB to tailor the DTX/DRX cycle accordingly.
[0076] If no WUS signal is detected for a predefined duration, the gNB can remain inactive until the next WUS occasion, skipping the DRX and DTX cycles.
[0079] (D). gNB inactive timer. The gNB inactive timer determines the duration for which the gNB remains inactive after the completion of an active state, allowing for periods of inactivity between cycles.
[0080] (E). gNB periodicity of a long DTX cycle. This parameter defines the frequency at which the gNB follows the long DTX cycle during its inactive state.
See also Table Dtx/Drx-ShortCycleTimer: the gNB (re)starts an shortCycle timer every time it has a UL reception or DL transmission and remains in the short DTX/DRX Cycle until the time expires. If it expires, the gNB goes to the long DTX/DRX cycle. values = o, p, q
); and
the second signaling restriction set corresponds to a second subset of cell DTX/DRX configurations of the plurality of cell DTX/DRX configurations, each cell DTX/DRX configuration of the second subset of cell DTX/DRX configurations being associated with a respective second DTX/DRX cycle including second non-active periods of durations less than or equal to the non-active duration threshold, the second signaling restriction set including a greater quantity of signaling restrictions relative to the first signaling restriction set in accordance with one or both of a quantity of signal types or a quantity of channels included in the second signaling restriction set relative to the first signaling restriction set (
Fig. 3 gNB short DTX or DTX/DRX cycle
See [0016, 0049] cited above for claim 1.
[0072] the gNB may follow the long DTX/DRX cycle, but if it recently scheduled a DL or UL transmission, it may switch to a short DTX/DRX cycle for a predefined duration.
[0073] …. This may be considered as a concept that uses gNB WUS occasions, where the gNB wakes up for a configurable duration (significantly shorter than the on duration in the long DTX/DRX cycle) before the start of the long DTX/DRX cycle.
[0076] If no WUS signal is detected for a predefined duration, the gNB can remain inactive until the next WUS occasion, skipping the DRX and DTX cycles. However, if a WUS signal is received, the gNB becomes active and may follow the short DRX and DTX cycle, as illustrated in FIG. 3.
[0078] (C). Periodicity of a short DTX cycle. This refers to the frequency at which the gNB switches to the short DTX cycle during its active state.
See also Table 1 Drtx/Drx-ShortCycle values e, f, g; and
DTX/DRX-ShortCycleTimer values o, p, q, implicitly representing three different unequal values or thresholds and at least one of them smaller than the 2 others values being unequal, otherwise a single value of “o” or “p” or “q” would have sufficed if equal or constant
(gNB short DTX or DTX/DRX cycle is more restrictive than gNB long DTX or DTX/DRX since –
(i) short DTX or DTX/DRX cycle is within an active period of a gNB long DTX or DTX/DRX
(ii) short DTX or DTX/DRX cycle gets activated on reception of a WUS during a gNB long DTX or DTX/DRX cycle and/or DL or UL transmission scheduling during ON period of a gNB long DTX or DTX/DRX cycle)
Alternately see also Fig. 4, second DTX/SRX pattern indicated by a second DCI is having a shorter DTX/DRX On duration than the On duration of first DTX/DRX pattern indicated by first DCI,
Fig. 4, [0083] FIG. 4 illustrates a gNB DTX pattern for dynamic configuration, according to an embodiment illustrating different patterns at different time indicated by different DCI transmission/reception
[0084] Referring to FIG. 4, DCI indicates the on/off status (duration) of the gNB for an upcoming number (N) of time slots to the serving UEs. If the newly indicated on/off duration conflicts with a previously indicated on/off duration, the previous indication becomes outdated and is no longer applicable).
Regarding claim 4, HU teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of a plurality of non-active duration thresholds associated with the plurality of signaling restriction sets (
Fig. 2B Steps 202->203->204,
[0055] The UE receives the gNB DTX/DRX pattern in step 202. By considering the preferred DRX patterns of all the serving UEs, the gNB can make a decision regarding the cell-specific gNB DTX and DRX pattern. Accordingly, the gNB may optimize energy savings without compromising the performance of the UEs. In step 203, the UE receives group information.); and
select the signaling restriction set in accordance with whether a duration of a non-active period of a DTX/DRX cycle associated with the cell DTX/DRX configuration satisfies one or more of the plurality of non-active duration thresholds (
[0071] The use of DTX/DRX patterns at the gNB has implications for the scheduler, as the UE may only be able to be communicated to during its active state periods according to the DRX and DTX cycle.
Fig. 2, [0073] the DTX and DRX mechanism can be further enhanced if the UE can inform the gNB to sleep for another long DTX and DRX cycle if no UL traffic is expected, rather than waking up regularly to transmit DL control signaling or monitor UL control signaling or data for a predefined time before returning to sleep. This may be considered as a concept that uses gNB WUS occasions, where the gNB wakes up for a configurable duration (significantly shorter than the on duration in the long DTX/DRX cycle) before the start of the long DTX/DRX cycle. In general, having knowledge of the UE's traffic pattern or UE-type information is beneficial for the gNB to tailor the DTX/DRX cycle accordingly.).
Regarding claim 5, HU teaches the UE of claim 4, wherein the plurality of signaling restriction sets includes at least a first signaling restriction set (
See [0049, 0081] and TABLE 1 cited above for claim 1, and claim 2,
TABLE 1 Drtx/Drx-ShortCycle values e, f, g; and
DTX/DRX-ShortCycleTimer with values are o, p, q; implicitly representing three different unequal values or thresholds and at least one of them smaller than the 2 others values being unequal, e.g. o<p<q in one instance;
A DTX/DRX pattern with short cycle DTX/DRX timer value “o” is construed as belong to first signaling restriction set;
Alternately see also Fig. 4, first DTX/SRX pattern indicated by first DCI having different DTX/DRX On duration than second and third DTX/SRX patterns indicated by respectively second DCI and third DCI,
[0083] FIG. 4 illustrates a gNB DTX pattern for dynamic configuration, according to an embodiment illustrating different patterns at different time indicated by different DCI transmission/reception
[0084] Referring to FIG. 4, DCI indicates the on/off status (duration) of the gNB for an upcoming number (N) of time slots to the serving UEs. If the newly indicated on/off duration conflicts with a previously indicated on/off duration, the previous indication becomes outdated and is no longer applicable), a second signaling restriction set (
TABLE 1 Table 1 DTX/DRX-ShortCycleTimer with values are o, p, q;
A DTX/DRX pattern with short cycle DTX/DRX timer value “p” is construed as second signaling restriction set;
Alternately see also Fig. 4, second DTX/SRX pattern indicated by second DCI having different DTX/DRX On duration than the On duration of first DTX/SRX pattern indicated by first DCI,
[0083, 0084] cited above.), and a third signaling restriction set (
TABLE 1 Table 1 DTX/DRX-ShortCycleTimer with values are o, p, q;
A DTX/DRX pattern with short cycle DTX/DRX timer value “q” is construed as third signaling restriction set;
Alternately see also Fig. 4, third DTX/SRX pattern indicated by third DCI having different DTX/DRX On duration than the On duration of first DTX/SRX patterns indicated by first DCI and second DCI,
[0083, 0084] cited above.), the signaling restriction set being one of the first signaling restriction set, the second signaling restriction set, or the third signaling restriction set, and wherein:
the first signaling restriction set corresponds to a first subset of cell DTX/DRX configurations of the plurality of cell DTX/DRX configurations, each cell DTX/DRX configuration of the first subset of cell DTX/DRX configurations being associated with a respective first DTX/DRX cycle including first non-active periods of durations less than or equal to a first non-active duration threshold of the plurality of non-active duration thresholds (
See [0009, 0016, 0049] disclosing traffic, ON/OFF period and signalling during ON period.
TABLE 1 Drtx/Drx-ShortCycle values e, f, g; and
DTX/DRX-ShortCycleTimer with values are o, p, q;
As explained above “o” is equal to a DTX/DRX-ShortCycleTimer threshold in one instance, “o” being construed as belong to first signaling restriction set;
Alternately see also Fig. 4, first DTX/SRX pattern indicated by first DCI having different DTX/DRX On duration than second and third DTX/DRX patterns indicated by respectively second DCI and third DCI,
[0083, 0084] cited above);
the second signaling restriction set corresponds to a second subset of cell DTX/DRX configurations of the plurality of cell DTX/DRX configurations, each cell DTX/DRX configuration of the second subset of cell DTX/DRX configurations being associated with a respective second DTX/DRX cycle including second non-active periods of durations greater than the first non-active duration threshold and less than or equal to a second non-active duration threshold of the plurality of non-active duration thresholds, the second signaling restriction set including a smaller quantity of signaling restrictions relative to the first signaling restriction set in accordance with one or both of a first quantity of signal types or a first quantity of channels included in the second signaling restriction set relative to the first signaling restriction set (
See [0009, 0016, 0049] disclosing traffic, ON/OFF period and signalling during ON period.
TABLE 1 Drtx/Drx-ShortCycle values e, f, g; and
DTX/DRX-ShortCycleTimer with values are o, p, q;
As explained above o < p is equal to a DTX/DRX-ShortCycleTimer threshold in one instance, “o” being construed as belong to first signaling restriction set and “p” being construed as belong to second signaling restriction set;
Alternately see also Fig. 4, second DTX/SRX pattern indicated by second DCI having different DTX/DRX On duration than the On duration of first DTX/DRX pattern indicated by first DCI,
[0083, 0084] cited above); and
the third signaling restriction set corresponds to a third subset of cell DTX/DRX configurations of the plurality of cell DTX/DRX configurations, each cell DTX/DRX configuration of the third subset of cell DTX/DRX configurations being associated with a respective third DTX/DRX cycle including third non-active periods of durations greater than the second non-active duration threshold, the third signaling restriction set including a smaller quantity of signaling restrictions relative to the second signaling restriction set in accordance with one or both of a second quantity of signal types or a second quantity of channels included in the third signaling restriction set relative to the second signaling restriction set (
See [0009, 0016, 0049] disclosing traffic, ON/OFF period and signalling during ON period.
TABLE 1 Drtx/Drx-ShortCycle values e, f, g; and
DTX/DRX-ShortCycleTimer with values are o, p, q;
As explained above p < q is equal to a DTX/DRX-ShortCycleTimer threshold in one instance, “p” being construed as belong to second signaling restriction set and “q” being construed as belong to third signaling restriction set
Alternately see also Fig. 4, third DTX/SRX pattern indicated by third DCI having different DTX/DRX On duration than the On duration of first DTX/DRX patterns indicated by first DCI and second DCI,
[0083, 0084] cited above.).
Regarding claim 6, HU teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of one or more non-active duration thresholds and one or more active duration thresholds associated with the plurality of signaling restriction sets (Fig. 2A Step 202,
[0055] the gNB may gather information about the existing DRX patterns of the UEs it serves. The UE receives the gNB DTX/DRX pattern in step 202.
[0061] the determination of UE DTX/DRX patterns can be determined only by the gNB.); and
select the signaling restriction set in accordance with whether a duration of a non-active period of a DTX/DRX cycle associated with the cell DTX/DRX configuration satisfies one or more of the one or more non-active duration thresholds and in accordance with whether a duration of an active period of the DTX/DRX cycle associated with the cell DTX/DRX configuration satisfies one or more of the one or more active duration thresholds (
Fig. 2A Step 203->204,
[0056] In step 204, the UE determines whether it receives group DCI. That is, if the gNB determines that an energy-saving operation is necessary, it broadcasts the cell-specific DTX and DRX pattern to all UEs that are either RRC connected or in an RRC inactive or idle state. This broadcast ensures that all UEs adopt the gNB's DTX and DRX pattern as their common pattern.
[0071] The use of DTX/DRX patterns at the gNB has implications for the scheduler, as the UE may only be able to be communicated to during its active state periods according to the DRX and DTX cycle.
[0081] The set of possible gNB DTX and DRX patterns can be predefined and signaled to the serving UEs via RRC signaling with the following IEs in Table 1.
See TABLE 1 with values for short DTX/DRX cycle and Timers and long DTX/DRX cycle and Timer, values for respective cycles and times indicating one or more of the one or more non-active duration thresholds and one or more of the one or more active duration thresholds, and UE communicating in accordance of during gNB active state periods, indicates select the signaling restriction set in accordance of satisfying whether a duration of a non-active period of a DTX/DRX cycle and one or more of the one or more active duration thresholds associated with the cell DTX/DRX configuration).
Regarding claim 7, HU teaches the UE of claim 6, wherein the plurality of signaling restriction sets includes at least a first signaling restriction set and a second signaling restriction set, and wherein:
the first signaling restriction set corresponds to a first subset of cell DTX/DRX configurations of the plurality of cell DTX/DRX configurations, each cell DTX/DRX configuration of the first subset of cell DTX/DRX configurations being associated with a respective first DTX/DRX cycle including first non-active periods of durations less than or equal to a shortest non-active duration threshold of the one or more non-active duration thresholds and first active periods of durations less than or equal to a shortest active duration threshold of the one or more active duration thresholds, the first signaling restriction set including a largest quantity of signaling restrictions in accordance with one or both of a first quantity of signal types or a first quantity of channels included in the first signaling restriction set relative to other signaling restriction sets included in the plurality of signaling restriction sets; and
the second signaling restriction set corresponds to a second subset of cell DTX/DRX configurations of the plurality of cell DTX/DRX configurations, each cell DTX/DRX configuration of the second subset of cell DTX/DRX configurations being associated with a respective second DTX/DRX cycle including second non-active periods of durations greater than a longest non-active duration threshold of the one or more non-active duration thresholds and second active periods of durations greater than a longest active duration threshold of the one or more active duration thresholds, the second signaling restriction set including a smallest quantity of signaling restrictions in accordance with one or both of a first quantity of signal types or a first quantity of channels included in the first signaling restriction set relative to other signaling restriction sets included in the plurality of signaling restriction sets (
See HU teaching cited above for claim 5
See also Fig. 4, first DTX/SRX pattern indicated by first DCI having different DTX/DRX On duration than second and third DTX/SRX patterns indicated by respectively second DCI and third DCI,
[0083] FIG. 4 illustrates a gNB DTX pattern for dynamic configuration, according to an embodiment illustrating different patterns at different time indicated by different DCI transmission/reception
[0084] Referring to FIG. 4, DCI indicates the on/off status (duration) of the gNB for an upcoming number (N) of time slots to the serving UEs. If the newly indicated on/off duration conflicts with a previously indicated on/off duration, the previous indication becomes outdated and is no longer applicable).
Regarding claim 8, HU teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
receive the information indicative of the plurality of signaling restriction sets and the information indicative of the plurality of cell DTX/DRX configurations via a same set of one or more control messages, wherein each signaling restriction set of the plurality of signaling restriction sets is indicated by a respective cell DTX/DRX configuration of the plurality of cell DTX/DRX configurations (
[0086] the gNB provides the serving UEs with a set of possible patterns for the DTX/DRX framework (e.g., one or more of the UEs may receive information from the gNB DTX/DRX common to a plurality of UEs). These patterns can include both semi-static and dynamic solutions.
[0087] Accordingly, the gNB may use the RRC broadcast to transmit one or more DRX patterns to both serving UEs and idle/inactive UEs); and
receive a downlink control information message activating the cell DTX/DRX configuration, wherein communicating in accordance with the signaling restriction set is in association with the signaling restriction set being indicated by the cell DTX/DRX configuration activated by the downlink control information message (
Fig. 4, [0083] FIG. 4 illustrates a gNB DTX pattern for dynamic configuration, according to an embodiment.
[0088] After gNB broadcasts group DCI, it is received by one or more UEs. The assigned PDCCH search spaces are monitored by the UE, which attempts to decode the group DCI. The following description explains how the format of the group common DCI is designed to indicate cell-specific gNB DTX and DRX patterns.
[0089] The group common DCI may serve as a dynamic signal that can activate the specific DRX pattern for each UE being served. For a simple gNB DTX and DRX pattern (contrasted with the parameters listed in Tables 1-2), the group common DCI may only indicate the gNB on/off pattern per time slot, where each symbol of the slot is designated as either gNB “on” or gNB “off.”).
Regarding claim 9, HU teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of a mapping between the plurality of cell DTX/DRX configurations and the plurality of signaling restriction sets, wherein communicating in accordance with the cell DTX/DRX configuration and the signaling restriction set is associated with the mapping (
[0087] Accordingly, the gNB may use the RRC broadcast to transmit one or more DRX patterns to both serving UEs and idle/inactive UEs. …. Within each DRX pattern, there may be an associated index, and for each pattern, the aforementioned parameters may be defined in the IEs.
[0088] After gNB broadcasts group DCI, it is received by one or more UEs. The assigned PDCCH search spaces are monitored by the UE, which attempts to decode the group DCI. The following description explains how the format of the group common DCI is designed to indicate cell-specific gNB DTX and DRX patterns.
[0089] The group common DCI may serve as a dynamic signal that can activate the specific DRX pattern for each UE being served. For a simple gNB DTX and DRX pattern (contrasted with the parameters listed in Tables 1-2), the group common DCI may only indicate the gNB on/off pattern per time slot, where each symbol of the slot is designated as either gNB “on” or gNB “off.”).
Regarding claim 10, HU teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
select the signaling restriction set in accordance with a criteria, wherein the criteria includes one or more of a latency tolerance of the UE or a power level of the UE, and wherein communicating in accordance with the signaling restriction set is in association with selecting the signaling restriction set in accordance with the criteria (
Fig. 2B, [0058] In step 207, the UE determines whether it needs to transmit data. When the UE needs to transmit data (yes in step 207), it sends a WUS on a designated resource where it knows that the gNB will be listening in step 208. On the other hand, if the UE doesn't need to transmit data (no in step 207), the UE operates according to current UE DTX/DRX parameters in step 209.
[0063] Both the semi-static and dynamic gNB DTX patterns may be initiated by the gNB, which has knowledge of the number of connected UEs in its own cell and neighboring cells, as well as the delay requirements of established radio bearers. Based on this information, the gNB can initiate a semi-static gNB DTX pattern or dynamically trigger a “gNB Tx Inactive State” for a specific duration.
[0071] The use of DTX/DRX patterns at the gNB has implications for the scheduler, as the UE may only be able to be communicated to during its active state periods according to the DRX and DTX cycle.
[0072] In most scenarios, a long DTX/DRX cycle combined with the gNB remaining awake for a period after scheduling is sufficient to minimize delays. However, certain services, particularly voice over Internet protocol (IP), involve regular transmission periods followed by periods of little or no activity. To address these services, an optional short DTX/DRX cycle can be employed in addition to the long cycle. Therefore, the gNB may follow the long DTX/DRX cycle, but if it recently scheduled a DL or UL transmission, it may switch to a short DTX/DRX cycle for a predefined duration.
(Construed UE and gNB to follow short DTX/DRX cycle of predefined duration to meet criteria of delay or latency requirement for voice over Internet protocol (IP))).
Regarding claim 11, HU teaches the UE of claim 10, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication of the criteria; or retrieve the criteria from a memory of the UE (
[0055] Referring to FIG. 2A, in step 201, one or more serving UEs communicate their preferred UE-specific DRX or DTX configurations to the gNB (gNodeB) through, for example, UE assistance information conveyed as an RRC message to the gNB. The assistance information may be provided by the UE to indicate the UE's ability to receive DRX or DTX patterns…..the gNB can make a decision regarding the cell-specific gNB DTX and DRX pattern. Accordingly, the gNB may optimize energy savings without compromising the performance of the UEs. In step 203, the UE receives group information.
[0063] Both the semi-static and dynamic gNB DTX patterns may be initiated by the gNB, which has knowledge of the number of connected UEs in its own cell and neighboring cells, as well as the delay requirements of established radio bearers. Based on this information, the gNB can initiate a semi-static gNB DTX pattern or dynamically trigger a “gNB Tx Inactive State” for a specific duration.
[0071] The use of DTX/DRX patterns at the gNB has implications for the scheduler, as the UE may only be able to be communicated to during its active state periods according to the DRX and DTX cycle.
[0072] certain services, particularly voice over Internet protocol (IP), involve regular transmission periods followed by periods of little or no activity. To address these services, an optional short DTX/DRX cycle can be employed in addition to the long cycle.
(Construed criteria of latency or delay requirement for certain service like voice over IP, which is well known in the art, e.g. defined in 3GPP TS 23.203 version 15.3.0, available freely over internet, is known to both gNB and UE or stored in respective memory since corresponding bearer is established and gNB informs UE about the DTX/DRX pattern to use inconsideration of the preferred DTX/DRX by UE which further indirectly indicates notifying of a criteria of delay or latency requirement of certain service being satisfied with the DTX/DRX pattern)).
Regarding claim 12, HU teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
receive a downlink control information message activating the cell DTX/DRX configuration, wherein the downlink control information message includes an indication of the signaling restriction set, and wherein communicating in accordance with the signaling restriction set is in association with the downlink control information message including the indication of the signaling restriction set (
See Fig. 2A Step 205 Use new UE DRX/DTX pattern as indicated per group DCI,
[0071] The use of DTX/DRX patterns at the gNB has implications for the scheduler, as the UE may only be able to be communicated to during its active state periods according to the DRX and DTX cycle.
[0081] The set of possible gNB DTX and DRX patterns can be predefined and signaled to the serving UEs via RRC signaling with the following IEs in Table 1.
[0083] FIG. 4 illustrates a gNB DTX pattern for dynamic configuration, according to an embodiment.
[0084] Referring to FIG. 4, DCI indicates the on/off status (duration) of the gNB for an upcoming number (N) of time slots to the serving UEs. If the newly indicated on/off duration conflicts with a previously indicated on/off duration, the previous indication becomes outdated and is no longer applicable.
[0086] the gNB provides the serving UEs with a set of possible patterns for the DTX/DRX framework (e.g., one or more of the UEs may receive information from the gNB DTX/DRX common to a plurality of UEs). These patterns can include both semi-static and dynamic solutions. To enable the UEs to process the group DCI, ….. The gNB may signal a group configuration to the UE, which may include one or more of the following information ….. the order within the group, in cases where group commands can vary on a per-UE basis; and a list of indexes, where each index represents a specific DTX/DRX pattern configuration, as previously described, and one of the pattern indexes can also indicate “no DTX/DRX”.).
Regarding claim 13, HU teaches the UE of claim 12, wherein the indication of the signaling restriction set includes a quantity of bits, different permutations of the quantity of bits indicating different signaling restriction sets of the plurality of signaling restriction sets (
See Fig. 2A Step 202, 203 or
Step 205 Use new UE DRX/DTX pattern as indicated per group DCI,
[0099) For a semi-static DTX/DRX embodiment, the structure of each block may include one or more of the DCI fields, shown below in Table 5.
[0100] For a dynamic DTX/DRX embodiment, the structure of each block may include one or more of the DCI fields, shown below in Table 6.
[0101] The group common DCI format 2_7 may include a single-bit flag that distinguishes between the semi-static and dynamic gNB DTX/DRX solution. This flag allows the UE to interpret the corresponding DCI fields based on either Table 5 (semi-static solution) or Table 6 (dynamic solution).
It is construed as implicit from Fig. 2A Step 205 and different possible values in TABLE 5 and TABLE 6 that Indication of restriction set includes a quantity of bits, different permutations of the quantity of bits indicating different signaling restriction sets of the plurality of signaling restriction sets).
Regarding claim 15, HU teaches a network entity (
Fig. 1 UE, [0042] the device 100 may be a UE (e.g., a client device) or a base station (e.g., a gNB)), comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the network entity to (
[0041] includes a controller module 101 (e.g., a processor), a storage module 102.
[0044] The controller module 101 may include at least one processor and may execute instructions that are stored in the storage module 102. For example, the controller module 101 may execute instructions for performing signaling techniques described herein.).
Further, the claim 15 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 8.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 9.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 12.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 26, HU teaches the method of claim 25, further comprising transmitting an indication of a capability, of the UE, to support the plurality of signaling restriction sets, wherein receiving the information indicative of the plurality of signaling restriction sets is in accordance with the capability of the UE (
Fig. 2A, Steps 201, 202,
[0055] Referring to FIG. 2A, in step 201, one or more serving UEs communicate their preferred UE-specific DRX or DTX configurations to the gNB (gNodeB) through, for example, UE assistance information conveyed as an RRC message to the gNB. The assistance information may be provided by the UE to indicate the UE's ability to receive DRX or DTX patterns. For example, the assistance information may indicate predefined time slots for receiving the DRX or DTX patterns. Accordingly, the gNB may gather information about the existing DRX patterns of the UEs it serves. The UE receives the gNB DTX/DRX pattern in step 202.
[0086] the gNB provides the serving UEs with a set of possible patterns for the DTX/DRX framework ……. These patterns can include both semi-static and dynamic solutions…. The gNB may signal a group configuration to the UE….. where group commands can vary on a per-UE basis; and a list of indexes, where each index represents a specific DTX/DRX pattern configuration, as previously described).
Regarding claim 27, HU teaches the method of claim 25, wherein the one or more first control messages and the one or more second control messages include one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages (
[0056] In step 204, the UE determines whether it receives group DCI. ….. the new UE DTX/DRX pattern is used as indicated per group DCI in step 205 and the process continues to step 207. The broadcast signaling can be achieved through RRC system information for RRC connected, inactive, and idle UEs.
[0062] The UE may receive the gNB's DTX information (pattern). The gNB's DTX and DRX pattern can be either semi-static or dynamic. In a semi-static pattern, the durations of the “gNB Tx Active State” and “gNB Tx Inactive State” are fixed, and the periodicity of the gNB pattern remains constant. This pattern is indicated through RRC signaling. In the case of a dynamic gNB pattern, the “gNB Tx Inactive State” is triggered dynamically by the network, typically through DCI.….. However, even for the dynamic DTX pattern, some RRC signaling may be necessary to inform the UE about its usage and to communicate resources for sending potential WUS, among other things.
See also [0087] the gNB may use the RRC broadcast to transmit one or more DRX patterns to both serving UEs and idle/inactive UEs. ….each DRX pattern, there may be an associated index, and for each pattern ….).
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 29 HU teaches the method of claim 28, further comprising transmitting a downlink control information message activating the cell DTX/DRX configuration, wherein the downlink control information message includes information indicative of whether the UE is expected to operate in accordance with a connected-mode DRX configuration at the UE or the cell DTX/DRX configuration (
Fig. 2A, Steps 203->204,
[0056] In step 204, the UE determines whether it receives group DCI. That is, if the gNB determines that an energy-saving operation is necessary, it broadcasts the cell-specific DTX and DRX pattern to all UEs that are either RRC connected or in an RRC inactive or idle state. This broadcast ensures that all UEs adopt the gNB's DTX and DRX pattern as their common pattern, rather than using their individual UE-specific DRX patterns. In this case, (yes in step 204), the new UE DTX/DRX pattern is used as indicated per group DCI ).
Regarding claim 30, HU teaches the method of claim 28, further comprising transmitting a downlink control information message activating the cell DTX/DRX configuration (
[0056] In step 204, the UE determines whether it receives group DCI. That is, if the gNB determines that an energy-saving operation is necessary, it broadcasts the cell-specific DTX and DRX pattern to all UEs that are either RRC connected or in an RRC inactive or idle state. This broadcast ensures that all UEs adopt the gNB's DTX and DRX pattern as their common pattern, rather than using their individual UE-specific DRX patterns.
[0057] depending on whether the gNB is in an energy-saving operation or not, the gNB has the capability to dynamically switch the serving UEs between their UE-specific DRX pattern (when the network energy-saving mode is deactivated) and the cell-specific DRX pattern (when the network energy-saving mode is activated).), wherein the downlink control information message includes information indicative of a spatial or power adaptation state associated with the serving cell (
[0004] One approach for reducing power consumption at the network level involves enabling the discontinuous transmission (DTX)/discontinuous reception (DRX) mode at the next-generation base station (gNB) and synchronizing the inactivity periods of UEs with the gNB using a UE DTX/DRX mode. This synchronization can be achieved in two ways: semi-statically and dynamically.
[0007] On the other hand, a dynamic approach is more suitable for highly variable traffic. In this case, the gNB determines when to activate or deactivate based on the traffic demand and notifies the UEs accordingly.
[0110] Furthermore, the DRX configuration for each UE can be dynamically adjusted based on the base station's traffic load. For instance, when the base station's resource utilization is around 30% or lower and it aims to conserve power, it may choose to configure serving UEs or a group of UEs with a cell-specific gNB DTX/DRX pattern using DCI format 2_7. By aligning the C-DRX configurations among UEs, the base station can potentially extend sleep time, thereby saving energy. ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 20240107444 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘HU’) in view of Hindy et al. (US 20250106936 A1 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63540574, of record, hereinafter 'HINDY').
Regarding claim 14, HU teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
receive information indicative of a periodic configuration associated with two or more signaling restriction sets of the plurality of signaling restriction sets (
Fig. 3, gNB short DTX cycle and gNB long DTX cycle,
[0051] the UE can receive a DRX command MAC control element (CE) or a long DRX command MAC CE. Upon receiving either of these MAC CEs, the UE switches to using a short DRX cycle or a long DRX cycle, depending on the received MAC CE and whether short DRX was configured for the UE.
[0071] The use of DTX/DRX patterns at the gNB has implications for the scheduler, as the UE may only be able to be communicated to during its active state periods according to the DRX and DTX cycle.
[0072] the gNB may follow the long DTX/DRX cycle, but if it recently scheduled a DL or UL transmission, it may switch to a short DTX/DRX cycle for a predefined duration.
[0086] According to an embodiment, the gNB provides the serving UEs with a set of possible patterns for the DTX/DRX framework (e.g., one or more of the UEs may receive information from the gNB DTX/DRX common to a plurality of UEs). These patterns can include both semi-static and dynamic solutions.
See also TABLE 1 cited in claim 2
See also Fig. 4, first DTX/SRX pattern indicated by first DCI having different DTX/DRX On duration than second and third DTX/SRX patterns indicated by respectively second DCI and third DCI,
[0083] FIG. 4 illustrates a gNB DTX pattern for dynamic configuration, according to an embodiment illustrating different patterns at different time indicated by different DCI transmission/reception
[0084] Referring to FIG. 4, DCI indicates the on/off status (duration) of the gNB for an upcoming number (N) of time slots to the serving UEs. If the newly indicated on/off duration conflicts with a previously indicated on/off duration, the previous indication becomes outdated and is no longer applicable).
HU does not explicitly disclose communicating, over one or more first non-active periods of a DTX/DRX cycle associate the cell DTX/DRX configuration, in accordance with a first signaling restriction set of the plurality of signaling restriction sets according to the periodic configuration; and
communicating, over one or more second non-active periods of the DTX/DRX cycle associate the cell DTX/DRX configuration, in accordance with a second signaling restriction set of the plurality of signaling restriction sets according to the periodic configuration, wherein the first signaling restriction set and the second signaling restriction set are different (Although HU discloses –
[0052] To further optimize power consumption, the network may configure the UE to limit channel state information (CSI) reporting only during the ON durations of the DRX. However, regardless of PDCCH monitoring, the MAC entity transmits HARQ feedback and an aperiodic sounding reference signal (SRS) when expected.).
In an analogous art, HINDY teaches communicating, over one or more first non-active periods of a DTX/DRX cycle associate the cell DTX/DRX configuration, in accordance with a first signaling restriction set of the plurality of signaling restriction sets according to the periodic configuration (
[0036] In some implementations of the method and apparatuses described herein, at least one of: a length of the long cell DTX cycle is an integer multiple of a length of the short cell DTX cycle, …… a first on-duration timer value of the long cell DTX cycle is equivalent to a second first on-duration timer value of the short cell DTX cycle, ….. a length of the long cell DRX cycle is an integer multiple of a length of the short cell DRX cycle, …. and a first on-duration timer value of the long cell DRX cycle is equivalent to a second first on-duration timer value of the short cell DRX cycle.
Fig. 22, DL signal received during shorter inactive period of Cell DTX cycle,
[0397] In an example a CSI-RS transmission corresponding to DL multi-TRP transmission (e.g., a CSI-RS Resource Set for channel measurement configured with two Resource Groups and N Resource Pairs) that occupies two consecutive slots (e.g., n, n+1) is monitored by the UE if slot n precedes a start of a first cell DTX cycle activated by the network. This behavior can apply even if slot n+1 is within the cell DTX cycle and not within the on-duration period of the cell DTX.
Fig. 24, UL signal transmitted during shorter inactive period of Cell DRX cycle,
[0406] In an example a PUCCH resource configured with inter-slot repetition is monitored by the UE if a first PUCCH reception precedes a start of a first cell DRX cycle activated by the network, even if subsequent PUCCH reception occasions are within the cell DRX cycle and not within the on-duration period of the cell DRX.); and
communicating, over one or more second non-active periods of the DTX/DRX cycle associate the cell DTX/DRX configuration, in accordance with a second signaling restriction set of the plurality of signaling restriction sets according to the periodic configuration, wherein the first signaling restriction set and the second signaling restriction set are different (
Fig. 23, DL signal received during longer inactive period of Cell DTX cycle,
[0398] In an example a CSI-RS transmission corresponding to DL multi-TRP transmission (e.g., a CSI-RS Resource Set for channel measurement configured with two Resource Groups and N Resource Pairs) that occupies two consecutive slots (e.g., n, n+1) is monitored by the UE if slot n is within the cell DTX cycle and within the on-duration period. This behavior can apply even if slot n+1 is not within the on-duration period of the cell DTX cycle.
Fig. 25, UL signal transmitted during longer inactive period of Cell DRX cycle,
[0407] In an example a PUCCH resource configured with inter-slot repetition is monitored by the UE if a first PUCCH reception is within the cell DRX cycle and within the on-duration period, even if subsequent PUCCH reception occasions are not within the on-duration period of the cell DRX cycle.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of communicating during DTX/DRX inactive period of HINDY to the technique of network energy saving in cellular systems using different patterns of short DTX/DRX cycle and long DTX/DRX cycle of HU in order to take the advantage of a technique for reducing the impact of cell DTX and/or cell DRX configuration on the wireless performance by reconfiguring the signals that are impacted during inactive times to alleviate system performance degradation via accelerated and more rapid signaling (HINDY: [0099]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al. (US 20240049130 A1), describing METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR INDICATING ENERGY SAVING MODE OF BASE STATION IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413