DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacala et al. (US 20190179028), hereinafter referred to as ‘Pacala’ and in further view of Yahav et al. (US 20120154535), hereinafter referred to as ‘Yahav’.
Regarding Claim 1, Pacala discloses a device including a photon counting sensor array comprising (The low dynamic range inherent to SPADs is due, in part, to the physics of how a SPAD detects a photon—they are so-called Geiger mode devices that, for each photon detection event, produce a binary electrical signal (photon detected or not detected) in the form of an avalanche current pulse [0073]): emitters configured to emit a light to an object (According to some embodiments, a light ranging device can include a light emitting module and a light sensing module. The light emitting module can include a light source configured to transmit light pulses to objects in a surrounding environment [0025]); a detector array comprising a first pixel and a second pixel separated from each other (an array of photosensors configured to receive light from the bulk lens system and detect reflected portions of the light pulses that are reflected from the objects in the surrounding environment [0025]; The term sensor array can sometimes refer to a sensor chip that includes an array of multiple sensors. Additionally, the term pixel is sometimes used interchangeably with photosensor or sensor [0061]); and a processor (Light transmission module 340 can further include an optional processor 346 and memory 348, although in some embodiments these computing resources can be incorporated into ranging system controller 350 [0099]), wherein: the first pixel is configured to receive a light reflected from the object, the mask material is not disposed on the first pixel (an array of photosensors configured to receive light from the bulk lens system and detect reflected portions of the light pulses that are reflected from the objects in the surrounding environment [0025]); the first pixel is configured to generate a first signal based on the light reflected from the object; the second pixel is configured to generate a second signal (an array of photosensors configured to receive light from the bulk lens system and detect reflected portions of the light pulses that are reflected from the objects in the surrounding environment [0025], and detector circuitry configured to detect reflected portions of the light pulses that are reflected from the objects in the surrounding environment and to compute ranging data based on the reflected portion of the light pulses [0017]; The term sensor array can sometimes refer to a sensor chip that includes an array of multiple sensors. Additionally, the term pixel is sometimes used interchangeably with photosensor or sensor [0061]); the processor is configured to receive the first signal and the processor is configured to receive the first signal and the second signal (an array of photosensors configured to receive light from the bulk lens system and detect reflected portions of the light pulses that are reflected from the objects in the surrounding environment [0025], and detector circuitry configured to detect reflected portions of the light pulses that are reflected from the objects in the surrounding environment and to compute ranging data based on the reflected portion of the light pulses [0017]; The term sensor array can sometimes refer to a sensor chip that includes an array of multiple sensors. Additionally, the term pixel is sometimes used interchangeably with photosensor or sensor [0061).
However, Pacala does not explicitly disclose a mask material disposed on the second pixel, the second pixel is not configured to receive the light reflected from the object; and compare the first signal and the second signal, and sense noise based on the second signal.
Nevertheless, Yahav discloses a mask material disposed on the second pixel and the mask material is not disposed on the first pixel (Light 60 propagating towards storage pixels 403 does not create photoelectrons in the storage pixels because the light is blocked from entering the storage pixels because the storage pixels are overlaid with a "masking" layer 644. An example of a material for the masking layer 644 is a metal, which is opaque to light 60 and blocks exposure of the regions under storage pixel electrode 641 to light 60 [0061]; In this example, each photopixel 402, i.e., mask material is not disposed, is associated with a storage pixel 403 on its right and is electrically isolated from a storage pixel 403 to its left [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pacala with the teachings of Yahav to block exposure of the regions of the second pixel while optimizing the accuracy of the first pixel and to distinguish between the data collected by first and second pixel while improving accuracy of data collection.
Regarding Claim 4, Pacala and Yahav disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Pacala discloses a first conductive trace that is connected to the first pixel and a second conductive trace that is connected to the second pixel (…a light ranging device electrically connected to and coupled to rotate with the second circuit board assembly, the light ranging device configured to transmit light pulses to objects in a surrounding environment, to detect reflected portions of the light pulses that are reflected from the objects in the surrounding environment [0034];A modular light ranging device according to some embodiments of the disclosure includes a set of vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VCSELs) as illumination sources that emit pulses of radiation into a field and includes arrays of single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD) detectors as a set of pixels (photosensors) that detect radiation reflected or scattered from a surface in the field [0073]).
However, Pacala does not explicitly disclose the mask material overlaps the second conductive trace.
Nevertheless, Yahav discloses the mask material (In this example, polysilicon electrodes 641 are also formed over regions of CCD 400 that comprise storage pixels 403 having np junctions 648. Light 60 propagating towards storage pixels 403 does not create photoelectrons in the storage pixels because the light is blocked from entering the storage pixels because the storage pixels are overlaid with a "masking" layer 644…In some embodiments, electrodes 641 are formed from a conducting material that is opaque to light 60 and the electrodes provide masking of storage pixels 403 in place of masking layer 644, or enhance masking provided by the masking layer [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pacala with the teachings of Yahav to minimize the exposure to the second pixel while improving the accuracy of data collection of the first pixel.
Regarding Claim 5, Pacala and Yahav disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 4.
However, Pacala does not explicitly disclose a width of the mask material is greater than a width of the second pixel.
Nevertheless, Yahav discloses the mask material (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pacala with the teachings of Yahav to maximize the coverage of the second pixel while maximizing the accuracy of the first pixel’s data collection.
Regarding Claim 7, Pacala and Yahav disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Pacala discloses each of the first and second pixels (as discussed above) comprises a surface region of p-type semiconductor material that is positioned to receive light (Array 1410 can be planar (e.g., having irregularity from a perfect plane less than 1 mm peak-to-valley over a 10 mm diameter disc) for ease in manufacturing (e.g., forming arrays in bulk on a semiconductor substrate [0201]; In some embodiments, light emitter circuitry 216 includes a chip-scale array of light sources, such as an array of vertical cavity surface emitting lasers (VCSELs) on an Indium Gallium Arsenide (InGAs) substrate [0078]).
However, Pacala does not explicitly disclose wherein the mask material is disposed on the surface region of the second pixel, and wherein the surface region of the second pixel is non-overlapping with the mask material in a vertical direction.
Nevertheless, Yahav discloses wherein the mask material is disposed on the surface region (as discussed above), and wherein the surface region of the second pixel with the mask material in a vertical direction (Fig. 6B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pacala with the teachings of Yahav to maximize the coverage of the second pixel while maximizing the accuracy of the first pixel’s data collection.
Regarding Claim 8, Pacala and Yahav disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 7.
However, does not explicitly disclose a width of the mask material is greater than a width of the surface region of the second pixel.
Nevertheless, Yahav discloses the mask material (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pacala with the teachings of Yahav to maximize the coverage of the second pixel while maximizing the accuracy of the first pixel’s data collection.
Regarding Claim 9, Pacala and Yahav disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 7.
Pacala discloses a substrate on which the first and second pixels are disposed, wherein each of the first and second pixels comprises a metal window that extends through the substrate and is configured to receives light (In some embodiments, light emitter circuitry 216 includes a chip-scale array of light sources, such as an array of vertical cavity surface emitting lasers (VCSELs) on an Indium Gallium Arsenide (InGAs) substrate. Light sensing module 214 can also include a micro-optics array and notch filter element (not shown) that is located between the bulk optics 215 and light detector circuitry 218. In some embodiments, light detector circuitry 218 can includes a chip-scale array of photon detectors, such as an array of single photon avalanche diodes (SPADS) fabricated in a CMOS technology [0078]).
However, Pacala does not explicitly disclose wherein the mask material is disposed on the metal window of the second pixel, and wherein the metal window of the second pixel is non-overlapping with the mask material in a vertical direction.
Nevertheless, Yahav discloses the mask material is disposed (as discussed above), and wherein the metal window of the pixel with the mask material in a vertical direction (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pacala with the teachings of Yahav to maximize the coverage of the second pixel while maximizing the accuracy of the first pixel’s data collection.
Regarding Claim 10, Pacala and Yahav disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
However, does not explicitly disclose a lower surface of the mask material has a step.
Nevertheless, Yahav discloses the mask material has a step (Fig. 6A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pacala with the teachings of Yahav to plan the most effective path while minimizing drilling risks and control costs.
Regarding Claim 11, Pacala and Yahav disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
However, Pacala does not explicitly disclose the second pixel is biased to the first pixel.
Nevertheless, Yahav discloses the second pixel is biased to the first pixel (As will be discussed in specific examples below, generally, the photopixel electrodes 631 and storage pixel electrodes 641 are biased relative to each other so that when an ON voltage value is applied during a long or short capture period, photocharge generated in a photopixel by light from a scene rapidly transfers to and is accumulated and stored in the photopixel's storage pixel [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pacala with the teachings of Yahav to adjust an operating point while controlling sensitivity, noise, and calibration of the pixels.
Regarding Claim 12, Pacala and Yahav disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Pacala discloses a distance between center points of the first and second pixels is less than a crosstalk length (If multiple receiver channels are arrayed adjacent to one another, this stray light in one receiver channel may be absorbed by a pixel in another channel, thereby contaminating the timing, phase, or other information inherent to photons. Accordingly, the receiver channel 1120 may also feature several structures to reduce crosstalk and increase signal between receiver channels [0190]).
Regarding Claim 13, Pacala discloses a method of operating a single photon counting sensor array, the method comprising: operating a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) device that comprises (The low dynamic range inherent to SPADs is due, in part, to the physics of how a SPAD detects a photon—they are so-called Geiger mode devices that, for each photon detection event, produce a binary electrical signal (photon detected or not detected) in the form of an avalanche current pulse [0073]): emitters configured to emit light to an object (According to some embodiments, a light ranging device can include a light emitting module and a light sensing module. The light emitting module can include a light source configured to transmit light pulses to objects in a surrounding environment [0025]); a detector array comprising a first pixel and a second pixel separated from each other (an array of photosensors configured to receive light from the bulk lens system and detect reflected portions of the light pulses that are reflected from the objects in the surrounding environment [0025]; The term sensor array can sometimes refer to a sensor chip that includes an array of multiple sensors. Additionally, the term pixel is sometimes used interchangeably with photosensor or sensor [0061]); wherein: the first pixel is configured to receive a light reflected from the object (an array of photosensors configured to receive light from the bulk lens system and detect reflected portions of the light pulses that are reflected from the objects in the surrounding environment [0025]), receiving, by a processor, characteristic data of a first signal generated by the first pixel and a second signal generated by the second pixel (an array of photosensors configured to receive light from the bulk lens system and detect reflected portions of the light pulses that are reflected from the objects in the surrounding environment [0025], and detector circuitry configured to detect reflected portions of the light pulses that are reflected from the objects in the surrounding environment and to compute ranging data based on the reflected portion of the light pulses [0017]; The term sensor array can sometimes refer to a sensor chip that includes an array of multiple sensors. Additionally, the term pixel is sometimes used interchangeably with photosensor or sensor [0061), and comparing, by the processor, the characteristic data of the second signal with the characteristic data of the first signal to determine a measurement of intrinsic noise (Examples of ranging data include range information, e.g. distance to a given target point at a certain angle (azimuth and/or zenith), range-rate or velocity information, e.g. the derivative of the ranging data with respect to time, and also operational information such as signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of return or signal intensity, target reflectivity, ambient NIR levels coming from each pixel field of view, diagnostic information including temperature, voltage levels, etc. [0053]).
However, Pacala does not explicitly disclose a mask material disposed on the second pixel the mask material is not disposed on the first pixel, and the second pixel is not configured to receive the light reflected from the object.
Nevertheless, Yahav discloses a mask material disposed on the second pixel and the mask material is not disposed on the first pixel, and the second pixel is not configured to receive the light reflected from the object (Light 60 propagating towards storage pixels 403 does not create photoelectrons in the storage pixels because the light is blocked from entering the storage pixels because the storage pixels are overlaid with a "masking" layer 644. An example of a material for the masking layer 644 is a metal, which is opaque to light 60 and blocks exposure of the regions under storage pixel electrode 641 to light 60 [0061]; In this example, each photopixel 402, i.e., mask material is not disposed, is associated with a storage pixel 403 on its right and is electrically isolated from a storage pixel 403 to its left [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pacala with the teachings of Yahav to block exposure of the regions of the second pixel while optimizing the accuracy of the first pixel.
Regarding Claim 14, Pacala and Yahav disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 13.
Pacala discloses comparing the characteristic data of the signal received by the second pixel with the characteristic data of the signal received by the first pixel to determine the measurement of intrinsic noise comprises (In some embodiments, the data passed down in the optical signals via the optical downlink can include range data for individual points (pixels) in the field (or possibly multiple ranges for a single pixel and angle, e.g. during fog/rain, when looking through glass windows, etc.), azimuth and zenith angle data, signal to noise ratio (SNR) of the return or signal intensity, target reflectivity, ambient near IR (NIR) levels coming from each pixel field of view, diagnostic operational information from the light ranging device such as temperature, voltage levels, etc. [0096]): identifying a super pixel comprising a group of the first and second pixels in the detector array (A modular light ranging device according to some embodiments of the disclosure includes a set of vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VCSELs) as illumination sources that emit pulses of radiation into a field and includes arrays of single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD) detectors as a set of pixels (photosensors) that detect radiation reflected or scattered from a surface in the field [0073]); determining a total photon count rate received by the super pixel (The low dynamic range inherent to SPADs is due, in part, to the physics of how a SPAD detects a photon—they are so-called Geiger mode devices that, for each photon detection event, produce a binary electrical signal (photon detected or not detected) in the form of an avalanche current pulse [0073]); determining an avalanche count rate received by the first pixel of the super pixel (The low dynamic range inherent to SPADs is due, in part, to the physics of how a SPAD detects a photon—they are so-called Geiger mode devices that, for each photon detection event, produce a binary electrical signal (photon detected or not detected) in the form of an avalanche current pulse [0073]); and determining the measurement of noise as a function of the total photon count rate and the avalanche count rate received by the first pixel of the super pixel (In some embodiments, the data passed down in the optical signals via the optical downlink can include range data for individual points (pixels) in the field (or possibly multiple ranges for a single pixel and angle, e.g. during fog/rain, when looking through glass windows, etc.), azimuth and zenith angle data, signal to noise ratio (SNR) of the return or signal intensity, target reflectivity, ambient near IR (NIR) levels coming from each pixel field of view, diagnostic operational information from the light ranging device such as temperature, voltage levels, etc. [0096]).
Regarding Claim 16, Pacala and Yahav disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 13.
Pacala discloses a first conductive trace that is connected to the first pixel and a second conductive trace that is connected to the second pixel (…a light ranging device electrically connected to and coupled to rotate with the second circuit board assembly, the light ranging device configured to transmit light pulses to objects in a surrounding environment, to detect reflected portions of the light pulses that are reflected from the objects in the surrounding environment [0034];A modular light ranging device according to some embodiments of the disclosure includes a set of vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VCSELs) as illumination sources that emit pulses of radiation into a field and includes arrays of single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD) detectors as a set of pixels (photosensors) that detect radiation reflected or scattered from a surface in the field [0073]).
However, Pacala does not explicitly disclose the mask material overlaps the second conductive trace.
Nevertheless, Yahav discloses the mask material (In this example, polysilicon electrodes 641 are also formed over regions of CCD 400 that comprise storage pixels 403 having np junctions 648. Light 60 propagating towards storage pixels 403 does not create photoelectrons in the storage pixels because the light is blocked from entering the storage pixels because the storage pixels are overlaid with a "masking" layer 644…In some embodiments, electrodes 641 are formed from a conducting material that is opaque to light 60 and the electrodes provide masking of storage pixels 403 in place of masking layer 644, or enhance masking provided by the masking layer [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pacala with the teachings of Yahav to minimize the exposure to the second pixel while improving the accuracy of data collection of the first pixel.
Regarding Claim 17, Pacala and Yahav disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 16.
Pacala discloses each of the first and second pixels (as discussed above) comprises a surface region of p-type semiconductor material that is positioned to receive light (Array 1410 can be planar (e.g., having irregularity from a perfect plane less than 1 mm peak-to-valley over a 10 mm diameter disc) for ease in manufacturing (e.g., forming arrays in bulk on a semiconductor substrate [0201]; In some embodiments, light emitter circuitry 216 includes a chip-scale array of light sources, such as an array of vertical cavity surface emitting lasers (VCSELs) on an Indium Gallium Arsenide (InGAs) substrate [0078]).
However, Pacala does not explicitly disclose wherein the mask material is disposed on the surface region of the second pixel, and wherein the surface region of the second pixel is non-overlapping with the mask material in a vertical direction.
Nevertheless, Yahav discloses wherein the mask material is disposed on the surface region of the second pixel (as discussed above), and the mask material in a vertical direction (as discussed above).
Regarding Claim 18, Pacala and Yahav disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 17.
However, does not explicitly disclose a width of the mask material is greater than a width of the surface region of the second pixel.
Nevertheless, Yahav discloses the mask material (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pacala with the teachings of Yahav to maximize the coverage of the second pixel while maximizing the accuracy of the first pixel’s data collection.
Regarding Claim 19, Pacala and Yahav disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 13.
However, does not explicitly disclose a lower surface of the mask material has a step.
Nevertheless, Yahav discloses the mask material has a step (Fig. 6A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pacala with the teachings of Yahav to plan the most effective path while minimizing drilling risks and control costs.
Regarding Claim 20, Pacala and Yahav disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 13.
Pacala discloses a distance between center points of the first and second pixels is less than a crosstalk length (If multiple receiver channels are arrayed adjacent to one another, this stray light in one receiver channel may be absorbed by a pixel in another channel, thereby contaminating the timing, phase, or other information inherent to photons. Accordingly, the receiver channel 1120 may also feature several structures to reduce crosstalk and increase signal between receiver channels [0190]).
Response to Arguments
35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 06/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pg. 11) “Starting with the Pacala reference, the Office Action (pages 4-6) admits Pacala fails to disclose or suggest the above-emphasized features taken from now-canceled claims 2 and 3. Accordingly, Pacala fails to disclose or suggest each and every feature of independent claim 1 including (1) not disclosing anything relating to mask materials, (2) not disclosing that the second pixel is not configured to receive the light reflected from an object, and (3) comparing the first signal and the second signal, and sense noise based on the second signal. Further, the "second pixel" of Pacala is merely a random pixel in a photosensor array treated exactly the same as the first pixel”
Examiner disagrees and submits that Pacala discloses photosensors or photodetectors, or a set of pixels, i.e. first and second pixel, and the image data storage for storing as image data, i.e. collecting data [0073] and the obviousness statement addressed the comparison between the two signals. Comparing signals can also be found in Pacala due to the reflected light from the different fields of view distributed around the volume surrounding the LIDAR system is collected by the various sensors and processed, resulting in range information for any objects in each respective field of view [0113].
Applicant argues (pg. 11-12) “Turning to the Yahav reference, the technical premises and the purpose of the existence of the mask in Pacala and Yahav are different. Yahav is directed to a ToF system whereby masked pixels are used only for temporary storage of a photonic charge. Yahav's mask layer is used to ensure such storage pixels stay completely dark so they never add or lose charge except such charge that is deliberately transferred from unmasked photopixels”
The Examiner disagrees and submits that Yahav is in the same technical field as Pacala because they have optical systems that include photosensors, i.e. pixels where light is sensed and images are captured of the target [0007]. With regards to the mask, the masking layer found in Yahav performs the same function of blocking exposure and is formed of a metal.
Applicant argues (pg. 12) “There is absolutely no benefit to adding Yahav's mask layer to Pacala. While the Office Action (page 6) asserts "[i]t would have been obvious . .. to modify the invention of Pacala with the teachings of Yahav to distinguish between the data collected by first and second pixel while improving accuracy of data collection," Yahav's second/masked pixels do not collect data but merely store data taken from other pixels…Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention could not have derived the specific configuration of the amended claims from the applied art of record.”
Examiner disagrees and submits “Yahav's second/masked pixels do not collect data but merely store data taken from other pixels” that it would be obvious to first collect the data before the storage and the benefit of adding Yahav’s mask is to perform the same function, i.e, disposed on the second pixel, as discussed in amended claim 1. Additionally, the combination of references derive the specific configuration and according to MPEP 2145, “One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871(CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).Where a rejection of a claim is based on two or more references, a reply that is limited to what a subset of the applied references teaches or fails to teach, or that fails to address the combined teaching of the applied references may be considered to be an argument that attacks the reference(s) individually. Where an applicant' s reply establishes that each of the applied references fails to teach a limitation and addresses the combined teachings and/or suggestions of the applied prior art, the reply as a whole does not attack the references individually as the phrase is used in Keller and reliance on Keller would not be appropriate. This is because "[T]he test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to [a PHOSITA]." In re Mouttet, 686 F.3d 1322, 1333, 103 USPQ2d 1219, 1226 (Fed. Cir. 2012).”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHARAH ZAAB/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ALEXANDER SATANOVSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857