DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZHINONG et al (WO 2022253534).
Regarding claim 1, ZHINONG et al discloses, a device comprising (500, fig. 5):
a reconfigurable intelligent surface (501, 511, fig.5) that includes a flexible substrate (sheets may each comprise a flexible material, see page 8, line 15) (page27, lines6-page29,lines 18, first sheet 501 providing characteristics 502 that are varying along a first length direction 508 and a second sheet 511 providing characteristics 512 that are varying along a second length direction 518 and each roller has a cylindrical shape around which at least a part of the second sheet 511 may be rolled up, i.e. in a stowed position.);
a first movement mechanism (504, 514, fig.5) operatively connected with a first end of the flexible substrate (page27, lines6-page29,lines 18, first sheet 501 providing characteristics 502 that are varying along a first length direction 508 and a second sheet 511 providing characteristics 512 that are varying along a second length direction 518 and two elongated rollers 514 and 515 which are configured to rotate in direction 517 around their longitudinal axes. The rollers 514, 515 are arranged spaced apart in parallel. Each roller has a cylindrical shape around which at least a part of the second sheet 511 may be rolled up, i.e. in a stowed position. In the area between the rollers 514, 515 a section of the second sheet 511 extends in a plane and may be exposed to incident radio waves.); and
a second movement mechanism (505, 515, fig.5) operatively connected with a second end of the flexible substrate (page27, lines6-page29,lines 18, first sheet 501 providing characteristics 502 that are varying along a first length direction 508 and a second sheet 511 providing characteristics 512 that are varying along a second length direction 518 and two elongated rollers 514 and 515 which are configured to rotate in direction 517 around their longitudinal axes. The rollers 514, 515 are arranged spaced apart in parallel. Each roller has a cylindrical shape around which at least a part of the second sheet 511 may be rolled up, i.e. in a stowed position. In the area between the rollers 514, 515 a section of the second sheet 511 extends in a plane and may be exposed to incident radio waves.),
wherein the first (504, 514, fig.5) and second movement mechanisms (505, 515, fig.5) cooperate to reposition the reconfigurable intelligent surface (501, 511, fig.5), wherein the reconfigurable intelligent surface (501, 511, fig.5), the first movement mechanism (504, 514, fig.5), and the second movement mechanism (501, 511, fig.5) are arranged to selectively expose a segment of the reconfigurable intelligent surface in an illumination window (page27, lines6-page29,lines 18, a first sheet 501 providing characteristics 502 that are varying along a first length direction 508. The characteristics 502 are configured to influence spatial properties of an incident radio wave. The first sheet 501 may have a length extending in direction 508. The RD 500 comprises a first actuator 503 coupled to the first sheet 501 and configured to move the first sheet 501 in direction 508. For example, the first actuator 503 may comprise two elongated rollers 504 and 505 which are configured to rotate in direction 507 around their longitudinal axes. The rollers 504, 505 are arranged spaced apart in parallel. Each roller has a cylindrical shape around which at least a part of the first sheet 501 may be rolled up, i.e. in a stowed position. In the area between the rollers 504, 505 a section of the first sheet 501 extends in a plane and may be exposed to incident radio waves).
Regarding claim 2, ZHINONG et al discloses, wherein the reconfigurable intelligent layer further comprises a metallic layer formed on a surface of the flexible substrate, wherein the metallic layer comprises a plurality of unit cells.
Regarding claim 3, ZHINONG et al discloses, wherein the unit cells are configured to each provide a phase response (fig. 13-14, page 33, line18-page34, line13, the second sheet 511, may be realized by a printed meta surface with gradually changed size of unit cells along the vertical direction. Additionally, a periodicity of the features of the unit cells may gradually change along the second sheet 511. The second sheet 511 may comprise a combination and patterns of conductive and dielectric materials. The unit cell size of the second sheet 511 affects the coupling between the first sheet 501 and the ground sheet 560, which eventually changes the reflection wave phases. The unit cells may be patch-shaped or dipole-shaped or may have any other appropriate shape and a meta surface that is responsive to the first polarization only, i.e. the first sheet 501 only changes the phase of a radio wave or a component of a radio wave having the first polarization.).
Regarding claim 4, ZHINONG et al discloses, wherein a phase response of the segment generates constructive interference to reflect a signal in a specific direction (fig. 13-14, page 33, line18-page34, line13, the second sheet 511, a meta surface that is responsive to the first polarization only, i.e. the first sheet 501 only changes the phase of a radio wave or a component of a radio wave having the first polarization. The first sheet 501 may be transparent to radio waves or components of radio waves having other polarizations than the first polarization. The second sheet 511 comprises a meta surface that is responsive to a second polarization only. When passing through the first sheet 501 , the spatial propagation properties of the first component of the radio wave 701 are modified by the characteristics of the first sheet 501 , e.g. the azimuth angle is modified according to the characteristics of the first sheet 501 . The second sheet 511 does not alter the spatial propagation properties of the first component of the radio wave 701 such that the second sheet 511 is essentially transparent for the first component of the radio wave. Likewise, when passing through the second sheet 511 , the spatial propagation properties of the second component of the radio wave are modified by the characteristics of the second sheet 511 , i.e. the azimuth angle is modified according to the characteristics of the second sheet 511 . The first sheet 501 does not alter the spatial propagation properties of the second component of the radio wave in the azimuth domain such that the first sheet 511 is essentially transparent for the first component of the radio wave).
Regarding claim 5, ZHINONG et al discloses, further comprising a frame that forms the illumination window (fig. 6, page 29, lines 19-19, FIG. 6 shows the RD 500 of FIG. 5 enclosed in a housing 530. The housing 530 provides an opening or area transparent to radio waves, in which the stacked sections of the first and second sheets 501 , 511 are arranged. The opening or area transparent to radio waves may be considered as the "exposed area" 531).
Regarding claim 6, ZHINONG et al discloses, wherein the first and second movement mechanisms are configured to place the segment in the illumination window (fig. 6, page 29, lines 19-19, FIG. 6 shows the RD 500 of FIG. 5 enclosed in a housing 530. The housing 530 provides an opening or area transparent to radio waves, in which the stacked sections of the first and second sheets 501, 511 are arranged. The opening or area transparent to radio waves may be considered as the "exposed area" 531).
Regarding claim 7, ZHINONG et al discloses, further comprising an electromagnetic cover positioned over the illumination window (page 40, line 26-page 41, line 12, direct a beam of electromagnetic waves, for example beam 203, to the RD, for example RD 500. Next, the RD may be configured to reflect the incident beam to the TD, for example, RD 500 may reflect incident beam 203 as reflected beam 204 to TD 102. RD 500 may have the structure as described in connection with FIG. 5. For example, in step 2203 an appropriate section of the first sheet 501 of RD 500 may be selected to adjust the azimuth propagation direction of the reflected beam 204. In step 2204 the first sheet 501 may be moved such that the selected section is in the exposed area. In step 2205 an appropriate section of the second sheet 511 of RD 500 may be selected to adjust the elevation propagation direction of the reflected beam 204. In step 2206 the second sheet 511 may be moved such that the selected section is in the exposed area. For selecting the appropriate sections of the first and second sheets 501 and 511 , a position of the TD 102 may be considered).
Regarding claim 8, ZHINONG et al discloses, wherein the first movement mechanism comprises a first roller and the second movement mechanism comprises a second roller (page27, line6-page29,line 18, a first sheet 501 providing characteristics 502 that are varying along a first length direction 508. The characteristics 502 are configured to influence spatial properties of an incident radio wave. The first sheet 501 may have a length extending in direction 508. The RD 500 comprises a first actuator 503 coupled to the first sheet 501 and configured to move the first sheet 501 in direction 508. For example, the first actuator 503 may comprise two elongated rollers 504 and 505 which are configured to rotate in direction 507 around their longitudinal axes. The rollers 504, 505 are arranged spaced apart in parallel. Each roller has a cylindrical shape around which at least a part of the first sheet 501 may be rolled up, i.e. in a stowed position. In the area between the rollers 504, 505 a section of the first sheet 501 extends in a plane and may be exposed to incident radio waves).
Regarding claim 9, ZHINONG et al discloses, wherein the first end is wrapped around the first roller and the second end is wrapped around the second roller (page27, line6-page29,line 18, a first sheet 501 providing characteristics 502 that are varying along a first length direction 508. The characteristics 502 are configured to influence spatial properties of an incident radio wave. The first sheet 501 may have a length extending in direction 508. The RD 500 comprises a first actuator 503 coupled to the first sheet 501 and configured to move the first sheet 501 in direction 508. For example, the first actuator 503 may comprise two elongated rollers 504 and 505 which are configured to rotate in direction 507 around their longitudinal axes. The rollers 504, 505 are arranged spaced apart in parallel. Each roller has a cylindrical shape around which at least a part of the first sheet 501 may be rolled up, i.e. in a stowed position. In the area between the rollers 504, 505 a section of the first sheet 501 extends in a plane and may be exposed to incident radio waves).
Regarding claim 10, ZHINONG et al discloses, wherein the first roller and the second roller cooperate to scroll the reconfigurable intelligent surface in at least one direction (page27, line6-page29,line 18, a first sheet 501 providing characteristics 502 that are varying along a first length direction 508. The characteristics 502 are configured to influence spatial properties of an incident radio wave. The first sheet 501 may have a length extending in direction 508. The RD 500 comprises a first actuator 503 coupled to the first sheet 501 and configured to move the first sheet 501 in direction 508. For example, the first actuator 503 may comprise two elongated rollers 504 and 505 which are configured to rotate in direction 507 around their longitudinal axes. The rollers 504, 505 are arranged spaced apart in parallel. Each roller has a cylindrical shape around which at least a part of the first sheet 501 may be rolled up, i.e. in a stowed position. In the area between the rollers 504, 505 a section of the first sheet 501 extends in a plane and may be exposed to incident radio waves).
Regarding claim 11, ZHINONG et al discloses, wherein changing the segment exposed in the illumination window to a different segment changes a phase response of the device to a new phase response that corresponds to a different reflection direction (page27, line6-page29,line 18, a first sheet 501 providing characteristics 502 that are varying along a first length direction 508. The characteristics 502 are configured to influence spatial properties of an incident radio wave. The first sheet 501 may have a length extending in direction 508. The RD 500 comprises a first actuator 503 coupled to the first sheet 501 and configured to move the first sheet 501 in direction 508. For example, the first actuator 503 may comprise two elongated rollers 504 and 505 which are configured to rotate in direction 507 around their longitudinal axes. The rollers 504, 505 are arranged spaced apart in parallel. Each roller has a cylindrical shape around which at least a part of the first sheet 501 may be rolled up, i.e. in a stowed position. In the area between the rollers 504, 505 a section of the first sheet 501 extends in a plane and may be exposed to incident radio waves and The unit cell size of the second sheet 511 affects the coupling between the first sheet 501 and the ground sheet 560, which eventually changes the reflection wave phases. The unit cells may be patch-shaped or dipole-shaped or may have any other appropriate shape.).
Regarding claim 12, ZHINONG et al discloses, further comprising a controller configured to actuate the first movement mechanism to scroll in a first direction and actuate the second movement mechanism to scroll in a second direction (page27, line6-page29,line 18, a first sheet 501 providing characteristics 502 that are varying along a first length direction 508. The characteristics 502 are configured to influence spatial properties of an incident radio wave. The first sheet 501 may have a length extending in direction 508. The RD 500 comprises a first actuator 503 coupled to the first sheet 501 and configured to move the first sheet 501 in direction 508. For example, the first actuator 503 may comprise two elongated rollers 504 and 505 which are configured to rotate in direction 507 around their longitudinal axes. The rollers 504, 505 are arranged spaced apart in parallel. Each roller has a cylindrical shape around which at least a part of the first sheet 501 may be rolled up, i.e. in a stowed position. In the area between the rollers 504, 505 a section of the first sheet 501 extends in a plane and may be exposed to incident radio waves and The unit cell size of the second sheet 511 affects the coupling between the first sheet 501 and the ground sheet 560, which eventually changes the reflection wave phases. The unit cells may be patch-shaped or dipole-shaped or may have any other appropriate shape).
Regarding claim 13, ZHINONG et al discloses, further comprising a metallic layer printed on a surface of the flexible substrate, wherein the metallic layer comprises a pattern for each of the unit cells, the pattern is configured to be resonant with a frequency (page 35, line 30-page 36, line 11, Unit cells provided at the first and second sheets may have a good polarization selectivity to ensure the meta surface to respond to one polarization only. A dipole shape unit cell may be applied as shown in FIG. 14. For example, the first sheet 501 may comprise vertical dipoles 1401 having a varying length along the moving direction 508 of the first sheet 501 . For example, a length of the vertical dipoles may vary in the range of a few millimeters, for example in the range from 2 to 5 mm. The second sheet 511 may comprise horizontal dipoles 1411 having a varying length along the moving direction 518 of the second sheet 511).
Regarding claim 15, ZHINONG et al discloses, wherein the flexible substrate comprises plastic, liquid crystal polymer, polyimide, or flexible glass (page , lines 15-30, The first, second, third and/or fourth sheets may each comprise a flexible material, preferably plastics, rubber, semiconductor material, graphene, fibers or a composition or combination thereof).
Regarding claim 16, ZHINONG et al discloses see claim 1, further, , device comprising (fig. 5):
a reconfigurable intelligent surface that includes a layer configured to reflect an electromagnetic signal and a flexible substrate (page27, lines6-page29,lines 18, first sheet 501 providing characteristics 502 that are varying along a first length direction 508 and a second sheet 511 providing characteristics 512 that are varying along a second length direction 518 and each roller has a cylindrical shape around which at least a part of the second sheet 511 may be rolled up, i.e. in a stowed position.);
a tuning mechanism operatively connected with a first end of the reconfigurable intelligent surface and a second end of the reconfigurable intelligent surface, wherein the tuning mechanism is configured to reposition the reconfigurable intelligent surface with respect to an illumination window, wherein a phase response of a segment of the reconfigurable intelligent surface exposed in the illumination window determines a reflection direction of an incident signal (page27, line6-page29,line 18, a first sheet 501 providing characteristics 502 that are varying along a first length direction 508. The characteristics 502 are configured to influence spatial properties of an incident radio wave. The first sheet 501 may have a length extending in direction 508. The RD 500 comprises a first actuator 503 coupled to the first sheet 501 and configured to move the first sheet 501 in direction 508. For example, the first actuator 503 may comprise two elongated rollers 504 and 505 which are configured to rotate in direction 507 around their longitudinal axes. The rollers 504, 505 are arranged spaced apart in parallel. Each roller has a cylindrical shape around which at least a part of the first sheet 501 may be rolled up, i.e. in a stowed position. In the area between the rollers 504, 505 a section of the first sheet 501 extends in a plane and may be exposed to incident radio waves and The unit cell size of the second sheet 511 affects the coupling between the first sheet 501 and the ground sheet 560, which eventually changes the reflection wave phases. The unit cells may be patch-shaped or dipole-shaped or may have any other appropriate shape).
Regarding claim 17, ZHINONG et al discloses, wherein the tuning mechanism is configured to move the reconfigurable intelligent surface to provide beam scanning, wherein different segments of the reconfigurable intelligent surface have different phase responses (page27, line6-page29,line 18, a first sheet 501 providing characteristics 502 that are varying along a first length direction 508. The characteristics 502 are configured to influence spatial properties of an incident radio wave. The first sheet 501 may have a length extending in direction 508. The RD 500 comprises a first actuator 503 coupled to the first sheet 501 and configured to move the first sheet 501 in direction 508. For example, the first actuator 503 may comprise two elongated rollers 504 and 505 which are configured to rotate in direction 507 around their longitudinal axes. The rollers 504, 505 are arranged spaced apart in parallel. Each roller has a cylindrical shape around which at least a part of the first sheet 501 may be rolled up, i.e. in a stowed position. In the area between the rollers 504, 505 a section of the first sheet 501 extends in a plane and may be exposed to incident radio waves and The unit cell size of the second sheet 511 affects the coupling between the first sheet 501 and the ground sheet 560, which eventually changes the reflection wave phases. The unit cells may be patch-shaped or dipole-shaped or may have any other appropriate shape.).
Regarding claim 18, ZHINONG et al discloses, wherein the tuning mechanism is configured with at least one movement mechanism configured to scroll the reconfigurable intelligent surface with respect to a first axis (page27, line6-page29,line 18, a first sheet 501 providing characteristics 502 that are varying along a first length direction 508. The characteristics 502 are configured to influence spatial properties of an incident radio wave. The first sheet 501 may have a length extending in direction 508. The RD 500 comprises a first actuator 503 coupled to the first sheet 501 and configured to move the first sheet 501 in direction 508. For example, the first actuator 503 may comprise two elongated rollers 504 and 505 which are configured to rotate in direction 507 around their longitudinal axes. The rollers 504, 505 are arranged spaced apart in parallel. Each roller has a cylindrical shape around which at least a part of the first sheet 501 may be rolled up, i.e. in a stowed position. In the area between the rollers 504, 505 a section of the first sheet 501 extends in a plane and may be exposed to incident radio waves and The unit cell size of the second sheet 511 affects the coupling between the first sheet 501 and the ground sheet 560, which eventually changes the reflection wave phases. The unit cells may be patch-shaped or dipole-shaped or may have any other appropriate shape.).
Regarding claim 12, ZHINONG et al discloses, wherein the reconfigurable intelligent substrate includes a plurality of unit cells each having a phase response, wherein the phase responses are configured to generate constructive interference to reflect the electromagnetic signal (page27, line6-page29,line 18, a first sheet 501 providing characteristics 502 that are varying along a first length direction 508. The characteristics 502 are configured to influence spatial properties of an incident radio wave. The first sheet 501 may have a length extending in direction 508. The RD 500 comprises a first actuator 503 coupled to the first sheet 501 and configured to move the first sheet 501 in direction 508. For example, the first actuator 503 may comprise two elongated rollers 504 and 505 which are configured to rotate in direction 507 around their longitudinal axes. The rollers 504, 505 are arranged spaced apart in parallel. Each roller has a cylindrical shape around which at least a part of the first sheet 501 may be rolled up, i.e. in a stowed position. In the area between the rollers 504, 505 a section of the first sheet 501 extends in a plane and may be exposed to incident radio waves and The unit cell size of the second sheet 511 affects the coupling between the first sheet 501 and the ground sheet 560, which eventually changes the reflection wave phases. The unit cells may be patch-shaped or dipole-shaped or may have any other appropriate shape.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHINONG et al (WO 2022253534)copper in view of Kaddour et al (12494572).
ZHINONG et al does not specifically disclose wherein the metallic layer comprises copper.
In the same field of endeavor, Kaddour et al discloses, wherein the metallic layer comprises copper (col. 2, lines 22-24). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of ZHINONG et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to improving the aperture efficiency is maintained through the simple mechanism, since the feed position is intact as taught by Kaddour et al.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHINONG et al (WO 2022253534)copper in view of Shahvirdi et al (20220278740).
ZHINONG et al does not specifically disclose wherein the devices are configured to reflect the electromagnetic signal is succession to the area.
In the same field of endeavor, Kaddour et al discloses, wherein the devices are configured to reflect the electromagnetic signal is succession to the area (fig. 24-25, ¶ 0085, two MTS reflect arrays operating together as relays to increase the coverage area of the RF signal in accordance to various examples). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of ZHINONG et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to ability to generate desired beam forms at controlled directions while avoiding interference among the many signals and structures of the surrounding environment as taught by Kaddour et al.
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643