DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/29/23 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/29/23. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “… the first end portion has a thickness of 4 mm or greater 4 mm in the second direction” in line 8. Claim 12 has recited a similar limitation “the first metal portion has a thickness of 15 mm or greater than 15 mm in the second direction”. Thus, it is unclear if the first end portion has a thickness of 4 mm or greater 4 mm or greater than 4 mm. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the limitation is interpreted as “… the first end portion has a thickness of 4 mm or greater than 4 mm in the second direction”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210126274 A1 (US’274) in view of US 20210119242 A1 (US’242).
As to Claim 1:
US’274 discloses a fuel cell, comprising: a cell stack including a plurality of unit cells stacked in a first direction thereof; first and second end plates disposed on respective end portions of the cell stack; a clamping member configured to clamp the cell stack together with the first and second end plates; wherein the clamping member includes a first portion disposed on an upper portion of the cell stack and on an upper portion of the target end plate and a second portion bent and extending from the first portion to the outer surface of the body; wherein the body of the target end plate includes an insert portion including a metal material and a shell portion including an insulating resin; and wherein the second portion of the clamping member is accommodated in the space between the body and the partition wall (US’274, [0008], [0048]–[0049], [0061], [0076], [0125]–[0131]).
However, US’274 does not disclose a plurality of clamping members configured to clamp the plurality of unit cells in the first direction, the plurality of clamping members being spaced from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction, wherein the plurality of clamping members includes a first clamping member disposed on an edge portion of the cell stack to extend in the first direction and a second clamping member disposed on at least one of an upper portion or a lower portion of the cell stack to extend in the first direction.
US’242 discloses a fuel cell comprising a cell stack including a plurality of unit cells stacked in a first direction thereof, first and second end plates disposed at corresponding first and second end portions of the cell stack, and a plurality of clamping members spaced from each other in a second direction, which intersects the first direction thereof (US’242, [0009], [0043]–[0044], [0058], [0063]–[0065]).
US’242 further teaches that among the plurality of clamping members, a clamping member may be disposed in the central area of the cell stack in the second direction and other clamping members may be disposed in the peripheral area of the cell stack in the second direction thereof (US’242, [0092]–[0093]).
Both US’274 and US’242 are analogous arts because they belong to the same field of endeavor, specifically relating to vehicle fuel cells such as polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cells (PEMFC), and are both directed toward solving structural challenges regarding clamping, supporting, and maintaining surface pressures on a stacked assembly of unit cells (US’274, [0002]–[0005], [0007]–[0008], [0125]–[0131]; US’242, [0002]–[0004], [0008]–[0009], [0063]–[0067], [0092]–[0093]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the fuel cell assembly of US’274 by incorporating a plurality of clamping members spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction as taught by US’242 (US’274, [0125]–[0131]; US’242, [0063]–[0065], [0092]–[0093]).
One would be motivated to distribute the over molded, corner-wrapping and surface-running configurations of US’274 into a plurality of discrete, spaced clamping elements as taught by US’242 in order to achieve a highly balanced application of compression force, counteract unequal internal expansion stresses across different profile faces, minimize dead volume weight, and securely prevent high-vibration lateral slippage or misalignment of stacked components during vehicle operation (US’274, [0004], [0125]–[0131], [0141]–[0143]; US’242, [0004], [0008], [0063]–[0067], [0092]–[0093], [0098]–[0112]).
As to Claim 2:
See the rejection of claim 1 from which claim 2 depends; and US’274 discloses that the first insulating portion and the second insulating portion are integrally formed with each other, wherein the body, the partition wall, and the connecting portion may be integrally formed with each other, and the shell portion comprising an insulating resin is configured as a single unitary layer surrounding the metallic insert portion (US’274, [0012], [0017]–[0018], [0076], [0084]).
However, US’274 does not explicitly disclose the first and second insulating portions as part of a distinct, separate multi-bar clamping arrangement spaced from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction.
US’242 discloses a plurality of clamping members spaced from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction, where a clamping member is disposed in the central area of the cell stack and other clamping members are disposed in the peripheral area of the cell stack in the second direction thereof (US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0064], [0092]–[0093]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the fuel cell assembly of US’274 by incorporating a plurality of separate clamping members spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction as taught by US’242, and to integrally form the horizontal and vertical insulating tracking portions of the corner-wrapping bars (US’274, [0012], [0017]–[0018], [0076], [0084], [0125]–[0131]; US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0064], [0092]–[0093]).
One would be motivated to distribute the overmolded corner-wrapping configurations into separate structural bars to achieve a highly balanced application of compression force, counteract unequal internal expansion stresses across different profile faces, and eliminate current leak paths through co-molded internal insulation tracks during vehicle operation (US’274, [0003]–[0005], [0076], [0084], [0125]–[0131], [0141]–[0143]; US’242, [0003]–[0004], [0008], [0063]–[0067], [0092]–[0093], [0098]–[0112]).
As to Claim 3:
See the rejection of claim 1 from which claim 3 depends; US’274 discloses that the clamping member has a clamping body including a metal material and a shell portion including an insulating resin, and also teaches that an insulating plate 140 is disposed between the cell stack and the clamping member to provide electrical insulation; and US’274 further discloses that a portion of the clamping structure is positioned on an upper portion of the cell stack (US’274, [0065], [0076]–[0077], [0125]–[0131]).
However, US’274 does not explicitly disclose a separate multi-bar clamping arrangement spaced from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction, wherein a distinct second clamping member is located on an upper or lower portion of the cell stack and explicitly includes a second metal portion and a third insulating portion disposed between the second metal portion and the cell stack.
US’242 discloses a plurality of clamping members spaced from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction (US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0064]).
US’242 further teaches that the clamping members include a clamping body made of a metallic material, a heat-generating portion surrounding the clamping body, a heat-insulating portion surrounding the heat-generating portion, and that individual clamping members are distributed such that a clamping member is positioned in the central area of the cell stack (corresponding to an upper or lower face portion) while other clamping members are arranged in the peripheral area of the cell stack in the second direction thereof (US’242, [0073]–[0074], [0086], [0092]–[0093]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the fuel cell assembly of US’274 by incorporating a plurality of separate clamping members spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction as taught by US’242, and to implement the metallic and insulating dual-layer tracking layout across the flat face-running second clamping members (US’274, [0065], [0125]–[0131]; US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0064], [0073]–[0074], [0086], [0092]–[0093]).
One would be motivated to distribute these structurally distinct bars across different upper or lower face surfaces of the cell stack to achieve a highly balanced application of compression force, counteract irregular or excessive internal structural stresses across different dimensions of the assembly, eliminate dead-volume weight, and safely prevent short-circuit current leak paths to the external system using continuous underlying insulation tracks (US’274, [0003]–[0005], [0065], [0125]–[0131], [0141]–[0143]; US’242, [0003]–[0004], [0008], [0063]–[0067], [0086], [0092]–[0093], [0098]–[0112]).
As to Claim 6:
US’274 discloses the fuel cell of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 from which claim 6 depends); and wherein the second portion covers a part of the side portion of the cell stack, as it teaches that the clamping member has a second portion bent and extending from the first portion to the outer surface of the body and that the second portion of the clamping member may be accommodated in the space between the body and the partition wall, which inherently covers a part of the side portion of the cell stack (US’274, [0048]–[0049], [0061], [0066]–[0072], [0125]–[0131]).
As to Claim 15:
US’274 discloses the fuel cell of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 from which claim 15 depends); an enclosure coupled to the first end plate and a side cover to enclose the side portion of the cell stack, as it teaches an enclosure surrounding side portions of the cell stack and including at least one opening to expose at least one of opposite end portions of the cell stack therethrough, where first and second end plates are respectively disposed at the opposite end portions of the cell stack; and a side cover coupled to the second end plate, as it describes alternative comparative fuel cell configurations that include an enclosure 302 and a side cover 520 or separate side covers 530 and 540 to seal the fuel cell (US’274, [0008], [0048]–[0049], [0061], [0066]–[0072], [0124]–[0127], [0133]–[0141]).
However, US’274 does not explicitly disclose the side cover coupled to the second end plate and the enclosure coupled to the first end plate and the side cover to enclose the side portion of the cell stack within a distributed clamping bar arrangement where a plurality of clamping members are spaced from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction.
US’242 discloses a plurality of clamping members spaced from each other in a second direction, which intersects the first direction thereof, and further teaches that individual clamping members are spaced from each other in the second direction such that a clamping member is disposed in the central area of the cell stack while other clamping members are arranged in the peripheral area of the cell stack in the second direction thereof (US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0065], [0092]–[0093]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the fuel cell assembly of US’274 by incorporating a plurality of separate clamping members spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction as taught by US’242, and to include the enclosure and side cover housing components as shown in the comparative examples of US’274 (US’274, [0066]–[0072], [0124]–[0127], [0133]–[0143]; US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0065], [0092]–[0093]).
One would be motivated to introduce these housing structures around the distributed clamping bars to provide multi-faceted protection for the internal active cell modules against external environmental factors such as dust, moisture, and road debris, while optimizing spatial packaging and maintaining robust seal integrity and structural access during vehicle operation (US’274, [0005], [0007]–[0008], [0066]–[0072], [0124]–[0127], [0133]–[0143]; US’242, [0003]–[0004], [0008], [0063]–[0067], [0092]–[0093], [0098]–[0112]).
As to Claim 16:
US’274 discloses the fuel cell of claim 15 (see the rejection of claim 15 from which claim 16 depends); a first coupling portion configured to couple the first end plate to a first end portion of each of the clamping members, as it teaches a coupling screw configured to penetrate a clamping member and to be inserted into the interior of the first end plate body; a second coupling portion configured to couple the second end plate to a second end portion of each of the clamping members, as it describes a coupling screw configured to be inserted into the interior of the body of the second end plate; and a third coupling portion configured to couple the side cover to the second end plate, as it teaches alternative comparative fuel cell configurations where a separate side cover is coupled to an enclosure and end plate components via fastening means (US’274, [0066]–[0072], [0074]–[0081], [0107]–[0111], [0125]–[0131], [0133]–[0141]).
Claims 4-5, 7, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210126274 A1 (US’274) in view of US 20210119242 A1 (US’242), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20200144651 A1 (US’651).
As to Claim 4:
US’274 discloses the fuel cell of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 from which claim 4 depends); and further discloses that a portion of the clamping structure extends down along a vertical face, wherein the clamping member comprises a first portion disposed on an upper portion of the cell stack and a second portion bent and extending from the first portion to the outer surface of the body (US’274, [0048]–[0049], [0061], [0125]–[0131]).
However, US’274 does not explicitly disclose a distributed multi-bar clamping arrangement where a plurality of separate clamping members are spaced from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction, wherein the second portion of a first clamping member covers an entire area of the side portion of the cell stack.
US’242 discloses a plurality of clamping members spaced from each other in a second direction, which intersects the first direction thereof (US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0064]).
Furthermore, US’651 discloses a structural outer module envelope, including a housing, in particular a hollow-cylindrical casing with a substantially rectangular basic surface, which extends from one end plate to the further end plate to enclose the fuel cell stack elements (US’651, [0011], [0103]–[0107], [0141]–[0143]).
US’651 teaches that the outer casing or sheet is arranged on a side of the fluid lines that faces away from the stack, and is configured to completely cover and enclose the lateral segments and active side surfaces of the cell stack modules to protect components carrying electric voltage against undesirable external contact (US’651, [0011]–[0012], [0070], [0103]–[0107], [0141]–[0143], [0175]).
Both US’242 and US’651 are analogous arts to US’274 because they belong to the same field of automotive engineering endeavor, specifically relating to vehicle fuel cells such as polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cells (PEMFC), and are all directed toward solving shared structural challenges regarding clamping, protecting, insulating, housing, and uniformizing compressive surface pressures on a stacked assembly of unit cells (US’274, [0002]–[0008], [0047]–[0049], [0125]–[0131]; US’242, [0002]–[0004], [0008]–[0009], [0042]–[0044], [0063]–[0067], [0092]–[0093]; US’651, [0002]–[0013], [0020]–[0024], [0036]–[0037], [0141]–[0163]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the fuel cell assembly of US’274 by incorporating a plurality of separate clamping members spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction as taught by US’242, and to expand the vertical bent portion of the edge-running clamping members into a continuous sheet structure that covers the entire area of the side portion of the cell stack as taught by the casing and housing elements of US’651 (US’274, [0125]–[0131]; US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0064], [0092]–[0093]; US’651, [0011]–[0013], [0103]–[0107], [0141]–[0143]).
One would be motivated to extend the second portion of the clamping bars to span the full vertical side wall area of the stack in order to establish a continuous, multi-functional outer structural envelope that uniformizes loading distribution across the active surfaces, eliminates current leak pathways through broad structural coverage, and provides robust mechanical shielding against external road debris, moisture, or accidental operator contact during vehicle operation (US’274, [0003]–[0005], [0125]–[0131], [0141]–[0143]; US’242, [0003]–[0004], [0008], [0063]–[0067], [0092]–[0093], [0098]–[0112]; US’651, [0010]–[0012], [0020]–[0024], [0036]–[0037], [0103]–[0107], [0141]–[0163]).
As to Claim 5:
US’274 discloses the fuel cell of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 from which claim 5 depends); and wherein the first clamping member includes a first portion disposed on an upper portion of the cell stack and a second portion bent and extending from the first portion to be disposed on a side portion of the cell stack (US’274, [0048]–[0049], [0061], [0125]–[0131]).
However, US’274 does not explicitly disclose a distributed multi-bar clamping arrangement where a plurality of separate clamping members are spaced from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction, wherein the second portion further includes an impact mitigation pattern.
US’242 discloses a plurality of clamping members spaced from each other in a second direction, which intersects the first direction thereof (US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0064]).
Furthermore, US’651 discloses that a fuel cell device can incorporate an integrated force transmission structure 148 configured to compensate for shock and/or vibration loadings (US’651, [0029]–[0037]).
US’651 explicitly teaches that this protective structure is configured as a specialized reinforcing geometric array, which preferentially includes a honeycomb structure 150, a rib structure, and/or a supporting structure 152 to stably withstand external mechanical stresses (US’651, [0030], [0035]–[0037], [0155]–[0163]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the fuel cell assembly of US’274 by incorporating a plurality of separate clamping members spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction as taught by US’242, and to introduce the impact mitigation structural patterning of US’651 into the second portion of the edge-running clamping members (US’274, [0125]–[0131]; US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0064], [0092]–[0093]; US’651, [0029]–[0037], [0155]–[0163]).
One would be motivated to pattern the vertical bent sections of the clamping bars with the structural ribs or honeycomb configuration of US’651 in order to optimize localized shock absorption, safeguard the internal current-carrying cell stack elements against sudden crash or impact loadings encountered during vehicular operation, and reinforce the structural body of the clamping device with a highly stable, material-saving component framework (US’274, [0003]–[0005], [0125]–[0131], [0141]–[0143]; US’242, [0003]–[0004], [0008], [0063]–[0067], [0092]–[0093], [0098]–[0112]; US’651, [0010]–[0013], [0029]–[0037], [0144]–[0163]).
As to Claim 7:
US’274 discloses the fuel cell of claim 6 (see the rejection of claim 6 from which claim 7 depends); and further discloses that the clamping member includes a first portion disposed on an upper portion of the cell stack and a second portion bent and extending from the first portion to be disposed on a side portion of the cell stack (US’274, [0048]–[0049], [0061], [0125]–[0131]).
However, US’274 does not explicitly disclose a distributed multi-bar clamping arrangement where a plurality of separate clamping members are spaced from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction, wherein the second portion is formed so that a thickness thereof in the second direction is reduced in a direction away from the first portion.
US’242 discloses a plurality of clamping members spaced from each other in a second direction, which intersects the first direction thereof (US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0064]).
Furthermore, US’651 discloses that clamping components or structural members can be formed with variable dimensions and non-uniform thicknesses to optimize strength and material distribution (US’651, [0029]–[0037], [0144]–[0163]).
Specifically, US’651 teaches that structural bracing elements, such as crossmembers 130, can be constructed with a substantially diamond-shaped design where the thickness of the member is reduced or tapers down at its mutually opposite outer ends away from its main central body (US’651, [0146]–[0150], [0155]–[0163]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the fuel cell assembly of US’274 by incorporating a plurality of separate clamping members spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction as taught by US’242, and to form the vertical second portion of the edge-running clamping members such that its thickness is reduced or tapered in a direction away from the first portion as guided by the variable mechanical thickness and diamond-shaped tapering principles of US’651 (US’274, [0125]–[0131]; US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0064], [0092]–[0093]; US’651, [0029]–[0037], [0146]–[0163]).
One would be motivated to taper or reduce the thickness of the vertical bent section of the clamping bars as it extends away from the horizontal first portion in order to create a highly optimized, material-saving structural frame that decreases total dead-volume weight and accommodates compact engine-compartment packaging boundaries while retaining maximum structural rigidity at the primary corner load points (US’274, [0003]–[0005], [0125]–[0131], [0141]–[0143]; US’242, [0003]–[0004], [0008], [0063]–[0067], [0092]–[0093], [0098]–[0112]; US’651, [0004]–[0013], [0029]–[0037], [0144]–[0163]).
As to Claim 17:
US’274 discloses the fuel cell of claim 16 (see the rejection of claim 16 from which claim 17 depends); wherein at least one of the coupling portions includes an insertion hole formed to allow a coupling element to pass therethrough or to be inserted thereinto, as it teaches a partition wall comprising a first through-hole through which a coupling screw passes and a target end plate comprising a blind hole into which the coupling screw is fastened; and further teaches that a cap covers the coupling screw (US’274, [0107]–[0113], [0129]–[0131]).
However, US’274 does not explicitly disclose a distributed multi-bar clamping arrangement where a plurality of clamping members are spaced from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction, wherein at least one of the first, second, and third coupling portions specifically includes a flange bolt and a sealing washer disposed between the flange bolt and the insertion hole.
US’242 discloses a plurality of clamping members spaced from each other in a second direction, which intersects the first direction thereof (US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0064]).
Furthermore, US’651 discloses that a fuel cell stack can be securely clamped and maintained under uniform pressure using clamping elements, where the crossmembers are drawable towards one another by means of clamping rods running completely outside the fuel cell stack (US’651, [0013]–[0019]).
US’651 explicitly teaches that these clamping rods can be threaded rods onto which companion screw nuts are tightened at both ends, and further discloses that a guide disc or a centering ring is provided in order to position or to center the respective clamping, plate, and spring interfaces relative to one another (US’651, [0015]–[0019], [0049]–[0053], [0146]–[0163]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the fuel cell assembly of US’274 by incorporating a plurality of separate clamping members spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction as taught by US’242, and to utilize a conventional flange bolt and a sealing washer at the insertion holes of the coupling portions as guided by the threaded rod, screw nut, and guide disc centering interfaces taught by US’651 (US’274, [0107]–[0113], [0129]–[0131]; US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0064], [0092]–[0093]; US’651, [0015]–[0019], [0049]–[0053], [0146]–[0163]).
One would be motivated to employ a flange bolt and a companion sealing washer inside the fastener insertion hole to provide a reliable mechanical lock with an expanded, integral load-bearing area that evenly distributes high compressive stresses, while ensuring a secure, watertight and airtight seal that prevents external road moisture, dust, or environmental contaminants from migrating into the active internal modules of the fuel cell device during vehicular operation (US’274, [0005], [0007]–[0008], [0107]–[0113], [0124]–[0131], [0141]–[0143]; US’242, [0003]–[0004], [0008], [0063]–[0067], [0092]–[0093], [0098]–[0112]; US’651, [0010]–[0012], [0015]–[0019], [0049]–[0053], [0103]–[0107], [0141]–[0163]).
As to Claim 18:
US’274 discloses the fuel cell of claim 17 (see the rejection of claim 17 from which claim 18 depends); and wherein the insertion hole includes a passage or structural recess, as it teaches that a partition wall comprises a first through-hole through which a coupling screw passes and a target end plate comprises a blind hole into which the coupling screw is fastened (US’274, [0107]–[0109], [0131]).
However, US’274 does not explicitly disclose a distributed multi-bar clamping arrangement where a plurality of clamping members are spaced from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction, wherein the insertion hole includes a diameter of 5 mm or greater than 5 mm and a depth of 9 mm or greater than 9 mm.
US’242 discloses a plurality of clamping members spaced from each other in a second direction, which intersects the first direction thereof (US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0064]).
Furthermore, US’651 discloses that a fuel cell device can incorporate distinct structural component dimensions, including a precise thickness of a pickup sheet that is at most approximately 400 μm (US’651, [0039]–[0041]).
US’651 explicitly teaches that structural elements, fluid lines, and passage holes within the basic bodies can be molded or shaped according to specific engineering requirements to withstand internal compressive forces, and details optimizing the parameters of the structural fasteners relative to the load boundaries of the cell elements (US’651, [0029]–[0037], [0076]–[0077], [0144]–[0163], [0166]–[0178]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the fuel cell assembly of US’274 by incorporating a plurality of separate clamping members spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction as taught by US’242, and to configure the insertion holes to include a diameter of 5 mm or greater than 5 mm and a depth of 9 mm or greater than 9 mm as guided by the custom dimensional and structural molding features of US’651 (US’274, [0107]–[0109], [0131]; US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0064], [0092]–[0093]; US’651, [0029]–[0037], [0076]–[0077], [0144]–[0163], [0166]–[0178]).
One would be motivated to specify these particular structural thresholds (a diameter of at least 5 mm and a depth of at least 9 mm) for the fastener insertion hole as a matter of routine optimization of result-effective variables, specifically sizing the hole parameters to safely accommodate heavy-duty fastening bolts capable of sustaining high internal axillary compression loads, preventing thread stripping or physical deformation under thermal expansion stresses, and ensuring long-term structural durability of the vehicle’s fuel cell housing (US’274, [0005], [0007]–[0008], [0107]–[0113], [0124]–[0131], [0141]–[0143]; US’242, [0003]–[0004], [0008], [0063]–[0067], [0092]–[0093], [0098]–[0112]; US’651, [0010]–[0013], [0015]–[0024], [0029]–[0037], [0144]–[0163]).
As to Claim 19:
US’274 discloses a fuel cell, comprising: a cell stack including a plurality of unit cells stacked in a first direction thereof; first and second end plates disposed on a first end portion and a second end portion of the cell stack, respectively; a side cover coupled to the second end plate; an enclosure coupled to the first end plate and the side cover to enclose a side portion of the cell stack; a clamping member configured to clamp the cell stack together with the first and second end plates; a coupling portion configured to couple the clamping member to the end plate; wherein the clamping member includes an insulating portion disposed on an edge portion to extend from a region on the upper portion of the cell stack to a region on the side portion of the cell stack; and a metal portion disposed on a portion of the insulating portion disposed on the upper portion of the cell stack to be coupled to the coupling portion (US’274, [0008], [0014]–[0018], [0047]–[0049], [0061], [0066]–[0076], [0107]–[0111], [0124]–[0131], [0133]–[0141]).
However, US’274 does not disclose a plurality of clamping members configured to clamp the plurality of unit cells in the first direction, including a first clamping member disposed on an edge portion of the cell stack to extend in the first direction, and a second clamping member disposed on at least one of an upper portion or a lower portion of the cell stack to be spaced from the first clamping member and to extend in the first direction, and a coupling portion configured to couple each of the first and second clamping members to each of the first and second end plates and to couple the side cover to the enclosure.
US’242 discloses a plurality of clamping members configured to clamp a plurality of unit cells in a first direction, wherein the plurality of clamping members are spaced from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction thereof (US’242, [0009]–[0011], [0024], [0042]–[0044], [0058], [0063]–[0065]).
US’242 further teaches that among the plurality of clamping members, a clamping member may be disposed in the central area of the cell stack (corresponding to an upper or lower portion face) and other clamping members may be disposed in the peripheral area of the cell stack in the second direction thereof (US’242, [0024], [0064], [0092]–[0093]).
Additionally, US’651 discloses a fluid guide unit media module that is mechanically secured to the housing assembly, where a basic body and its cover elements are connected to one another by plastics welding (US’651, [0009]–[0014], [0101]–[0103], [0167]–[0179], [0193]–[0194]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the fuel cell assembly of US’274 by incorporating a plurality of separate clamping members spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction as taught by US’242, and to utilize the integrated coupling portion techniques of US’651 to structurally secure the first and second clamping members to the end plates and the side cover to the enclosure casing (US’274, [0107]–[0111], [0125]–[0131], [0133]–[0141]; US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0065], [0092]–[0093]; US’651, [0013]–[0020], [0101]–[0103], [0167]–[0179], [0193]–[0194]).
One would be motivated to distribute the overmolded corner-wrapping configuration of US’274 into separate spaced structural bars as taught by US’242 to achieve a highly balanced application of compression force, counteract unequal internal thermal expansion stresses across different faces of the assembly, and eliminate dead-volume weight (US’274, [0003]–[0005], [0125]–[0131], [0141]–[0143]; US’242, [0003]–[0004], [0008], [0063]–[0067], [0092]–[0093], [0098]–[0112]).
Furthermore, one would be motivated to integrate the housing and side cover coupling lines into a singular interconnected network as guided by US’651 to reduce the total number of physical interfaces, simplify tool access during assembly cycles, and ensure long-term fluid-tight seal performance against external environmental hazards (US’651, [0004]–[0014], [0101]–[0103], [0167]–[0179], [0193]–[0194]).
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210126274 A1 (US’274) in view of US 20210119242 A1 (US’242), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US 20200185732 A1 (US’732).
As to Claim 8:
US’274 discloses the fuel cell of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 from which claim 8 depends); and wherein the cell stack includes an upper surface, a lower surface opposite to the upper surface in a third direction intersecting each of the first direction and the second direction, a first side surface located between the upper surface and the lower surface, and a second side surface opposite to the first side surface in the second direction (US’274, [0048]–[0049], [0061], [0066]–[0072], [0125]–[0131]).
However, US’274 does not explicitly disclose a distributed multi-bar clamping arrangement where a plurality of separate clamping members are spaced from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction, wherein the plurality of clamping members further includes a first clamping bar disposed on a boundary at which the upper surface and the first side surface are contiguous with each other, a second clamping bar disposed on a boundary at which the upper surface and the second side surface are contiguous with each other, a third clamping bar disposed on a boundary at which the lower surface and the first side surface are contiguous with each other, a fourth clamping bar disposed on a boundary at which the lower surface and the second side surface are contiguous with each other, a fifth clamping bar disposed on the upper surface, and a sixth clamping bar disposed on the lower surface.
US’242 discloses a plurality of clamping members spaced from each other in a second direction, which intersects the first direction thereof (US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0064]).
Furthermore, US’732 discloses that a fuel cell stack can be securely compressively held via a distributed network of multiple parallel bars, where a heat-generating-part support part includes a first side on which some of the clamping bars are arranged and a second side opposite to the first side on which the remaining ones of the clamping bars are arranged (US’732, [0047], [0050]–[0052], [0113]–[0117]).
US’732 explicitly teaches that to balance compression loading behavior across different perimeter sides, the bracing architecture can utilize exactly six separate clamping bars distributed symmetrically across both outer peripheral regions and flat faces of the assembly (US’732, [0052], [0113]–[0117], [0118]–[0124], [0137]–[0146]).
Both US’242 and US’732 are analogous arts to US’274 because they belong to the same field of automotive engineering endeavor, specifically relating to vehicle fuel cells such as polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cells (PEMFC), and are all directed toward solving shared structural challenges regarding clamping, supporting, insulating, and optimizing multi-faceted compression profiles across stacked unit cell modules (US’274, [0002]–[0008], [0047]–[0049], [0125]–[0131]; US’242, [0002]–[0004], [0008]–[0009], [0042]–[0044], [0063]–[0067], [0092]–[0093]; US’732, [0002]–[0009], [0049]–[0052], [0072]–[0073], [0113]–[0117], [0137]–[0146]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the fuel cell assembly of US’274 by incorporating a plurality of separate clamping members spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction as taught by US’242, and to arrange exactly six separate structural bars symmetrically across the boundaries and faces of the stack as taught by US’732 (US’274, [0125]–[0131]; US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0064], [0092]–[0093]; US’732, [0052], [0113]–[0117], [0118]–[0124], [0137]–[0146]).
One would be motivated to distribute the six clamping bars such that four run precisely along the contiguous corner boundaries to wrap the edges and two run flat along the top and bottom faces in order to establish a highly balanced application of compression force, counteract irregular internal expansion stresses across different profile surfaces, eliminate dead-volume casing weight, and securely prevent high-vibration lateral cell slippage or misalignment during vehicle operation (US’274, [0003]–[0005], [0125]–[0131], [0141]–[0143]; US’242, [0003]–[0004], [0008], [0063]–[0067], [0092]–[0093], [0098]–[0112]; US’732, [0005]–[0009], [0050]–[0052], [0113]–[0117], [0137]–[0146]).
As to Claim 9:
US’274 discloses the fuel cell of claim 8 (see the rejection of claim 8 from which claim 9 depends); and further discloses that a first clamping structure includes a horizontal portion and a vertical portion bent and extending down toward a side face to wrap around an edge portion, while other sections of the clamping arrangement sit flat on an upper surface portion of the cell stack assembly (US’274, [0014]–[0018], [0025]–[0026], [0125]–[0131]).
However, US’274 does not explicitly disclose a distributed multi-bar clamping arrangement of six separate clamping bars where each of the first, second, third, and fourth clamping bars corresponds to a distinct first clamping member with a bent corner profile, and each of the fifth and sixth clamping bars corresponds to a distinct second clamping member with a surface-running profile.
US’242 discloses a plurality of clamping members spaced from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction (US’242, [0063]–[0065]).
Furthermore, US’732 discloses a fuel cell structure where a distributed grid of independent clamping bars compresses the stack (US’732, [0018], [0050]–[0052], [0113]–[0117]).
US’732 explicitly teaches that a heat-generating-part support part includes a first side on which some of the clamping bars are arranged and a second side on which the remaining ones of the clamping bars are arranged, and further teaches configurations utilizing exactly six clamping bars arranged on the sides of the block (US’732, [0028], [0052], [0115]–[0116], [0122]–[0124]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the fuel cell assembly of US’274 by incorporating a plurality of separate clamping members spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction as taught by US’242, arranged in a six-bar configuration as taught by US’732, and mapping the functional corner-wrapping or face-running bars according to the profiles of Claim 9 (US’274, [0125]–[0131]; US’242, [0063]–[0065], [0092]–[0093]; US’732, [0052], [0113]–[0117], [0122]–[0124], [0137]–[0146]).
One would be motivated to map each of the four boundary/corner contiguous bars to correspond to a first clamping member with an angle-bent geometric profile and map each of the upper and lower face-centered bars to correspond to a second clamping member with a surface-running profile in order to distribute compressive clamping force symmetrically, counteract unequal internal thermal expansion forces, eliminate unnecessary housing weight, and securely prevent high-vibration lateral cell slippage or misalignment during vehicle operation (US’274, [0003]–[0005], [0125]–[0131], [0141]–[0143]; US’242, [0003]–[0004], [0008], [0063]–[0067], [0092]–[0093], [0098]–[0112]; US’732, [0005]–[0009], [0050]–[0052], [0113]–[0117], [0137]–[0146]).
As to Claim 10:
US’274 discloses the fuel cell of claim 8 (see the rejection of claim 8 from which claim 10 depends); and further discloses that a first clamping structure includes a horizontal portion and a vertical portion bent and extending down toward a side face to wrap around an edge portion, while other sections of the clamping arrangement sit flat on an upper surface portion of the cell stack assembly (US’274, [0014]–[0018], [0025]–[0026], [0125]–[0131]).
However, US’274 does not explicitly disclose a distributed multi-bar clamping arrangement of six separate clamping bars where each of the first and fourth clamping bars corresponds to a distinct first clamping member with a bent corner profile, and each of the second, third, fifth, and sixth clamping bars corresponds to a distinct second clamping member with a surface-running profile.
US’242 discloses a plurality of clamping members spaced from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and teaches that individual clamping members are spaced apart from each other such that a clamping member is disposed in a central area of the cell stack and other clamping members are arranged in a peripheral area (US’242, [0024], [0063]–[0065], [0092]–[0093]).
Furthermore, US’732 discloses a fuel cell structure where a distributed grid of independent clamping bars compresses the stack (US’732, [0018], [0050]–[0052], [0113]–[0117]).
US’732 explicitly teaches that a heat-generating-part support part includes a first side on which some of the clamping bars are arranged and a second side on which the remaining ones of the clamping bars are arranged, and further teaches configurations utilizing exactly six clamping bars arranged on the sides of the block (US’732, [0028]–[0030], [0052], [0113]–[0117], [0122]–[0124]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the fuel cell assembly of US’274 by incorporating a plurality of separate clamping members spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction as taught by US’242, arranged in a six-bar configuration as taught by US’732, and selectively mapping the functional corner-wrapping or face-running bars according to the profiles of Claim 10 (US’274, [0125]–[0131]; US’242, [0063]–[0065], [0092]–[0093]; US’732, [0052], [0113]–[0117], [0122]–[0124], [0137]–[0146]).
One would be motivated to selectively choose which subset of the boundary or flat face locations carry corner-wrapping bent tabs versus purely surface-running bars as a matter of routine design choice to accommodate alternative internal fluid manifold paths or local spatial clearance constraints, thereby ensuring a balanced distribution of compressive clamping forces, counteracting irregular thermal expansion forces, and preventing high-vibration lateral cell misalignment during vehicle operation (US’274, [0003]–[0005], [0125]–[0131], [0141]–[0143]; US’242, [0003]–[0004], [0008], [0063]–[0067], [0092]–[0093], [0098]–[0112]; US’732, [0005]–[0009], [0050]–[0052], [0113]–[0117], [0137]–[0146]).
As to Claim 11:
See the rejection of claim 8 from which claim 11 depends; US’274 discloses a clamping structure where a first clamping portion extends horizontally and a second portion is bent and extends down toward a side face to wrap around an edge portion of a target end plate; and a metal portion is disposed on a portion of the insulating shell layer on the upper surface to be coupled to a corresponding coupling fastener (US’274, [0014]–[0018], [0025]–[0026], [0107]–[0111], [0125]–[0131]).
However, US’274 does not explicitly disclose a distributed multi-bar clamping arrangement of six separate clamping bars where each of the second and third clamping bars corresponds to a distinct first clamping member with a bent corner profile, and each of the first, fourth, fifth, and sixth clamping bars corresponds to a distinct second clamping member with a surface-running profile.
US’242 discloses a plurality of clamping members configured to clamp a plurality of unit cells in a first direction, wherein the clamping members are spaced from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction thereof (US’242, [0009]–[0011], [0024], [0063]–[0065]).
US’242 further teaches that individual clamping bars can be distributed such that a clamping member is positioned in the central area of the cell stack face while other clamping members are arranged in the peripheral area of the cell stack in the second direction (US’242, [0024], [0064], [0092]–[0093]).
US’732 discloses a fuel cell structure where a distributed grid of independent clamping bars compresses the stack (US’732, [0018], [0050]–[0052], [0113]–[0117]).
US’732 explicitly teaches that a heat-generating-part support part includes a first side on which some of the clamping bars are arranged and a second side opposite to the first side on which the remaining ones of the clamping bars are arranged, and further teaches configurations utilizing exactly six clamping bars arranged on the sides of the block (US’732, [0028]–[0030], [0052], [0113]–[0117], [0122]–[0124]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the fuel cell assembly of US’274 by incorporating a plurality of separate clamping members spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction as taught by US’242, arranged in a six-bar configuration as taught by US’732, and selectively mapping the functional corner-wrapping or face-running bars according to the profiles of Claim 11 (US’274, [0125]–[0131]; US’242, [0063]–[0065], [0092]–[0093]; US’732, [0052], [0113]–[0117], [0122]–[0124], [0137]–[0146]).
One would be motivated to selectively alter which subset of the boundary or flat face channels carry corner-wrapping bent tabs versus purely surface-running bars as a matter of routine design choice to accommodate alternative internal fluid manifold paths or local spatial clearance constraints, thereby ensuring a highly balanced distribution of compressive clamping forces, counteracting irregular thermal expansion forces, and preventing high-vibration lateral cell misalignment during vehicle operation (US’274, [0003]–[0005], [0125]–[0131], [0141]–[0143]; US’242, [0003]–[0004], [0008], [0063]–[0067], [0092]–[0093], [0098]–[0112]; US’732, [0005]–[0009], [0050]–[0052], [0113]–[0117], [0137]–[0146]).
As to Claim 12:
See the rejection of claim 8 from which claim 12 depends; US’274 discloses that the target end plate body includes an insert portion comprising a metal material and a shell portion comprising an insulating resin, and that the overmolded shell portion of the clamping member forms an insulating resin layer surrounding a rigid metallic insert core; and US’274 further discloses that the overmolded resin material features tailored properties, tolerances, and physical clearance parameters optimized to withstand internal compressive forces, prevent electrical current transmission, and mitigate degradation under structural expansion loads (US’274, [0017]–[0018], [0076], [0107]–[0108], [0125]–[0131]).
However, US’274 does not explicitly disclose a distributed multi-bar clamping arrangement of six separate clamping bars where the second insulating portion has an elastic modulus of 12 GPa at 23 °C, an impact strength of 10 kJ/m² or greater than 10 kJ/m², and a length of 2–3 mm in the third direction, wherein a first end portion of the second insulating portion abutting the first metal portion has a thickness of 15 mm or greater than 15 mm in the second direction, and wherein a second end portion of the second insulating portion opposite to the first end portion has a thickness of 4 mm or greater than 4 mm in the second direction.
US’242 discloses a plurality of clamping members configured to clamp a plurality of unit cells in a first direction and spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction, and further teaches that an insulating portion can include material options like polyimide, polypropylene, or urethane selected with specific constraints to accommodate tailored elastic thermal expansions and withstand mechanical compression stresses (US’242, [0009]–[0011], [0020]–[0024], [0063]–[0068], [0073]–[0074], [0086], [0092]–[0093]).
Furthermore, US’732 discloses a fuel cell structure where a distributed grid of independent clamping bars compresses the stack (US’732, [0018], [0050]–[0052], [0113]–[0117]).
US’732 explicitly teaches that a heat-generating-part support part includes a first side on which some of the clamping bars are arranged and a second side on which the remaining ones of the clamping bars are arranged, and details that individual structural components or heater support parts can include metal, ceramic, or customized insulating material selections configured with variable dimensions to optimize localized strength and heat transfer efficiency near the cell stack borders (US’732, [0025]–[0030], [0052], [0091]–[0093], [0108]–[0112], [0113]–[0124], [0125]–[0127]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the fuel cell assembly of US’274 by incorporating a plurality of separate clamping members spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction as taught by US’242, arranged in a six-bar configuration as taught by US’732, and specifying the particular material properties, length thresholds, and tapering thickness boundaries for the second insulating portion as detailed in Claim 12 (US’274, [0125]–[0131]; US’242, [0063]–[0068], [0086], [0092]–[0093]; US’732, [0052], [0091]–[0093], [0113]–[0124], [0125]–[0127], [0137]–[0146]).
One would be motivated to optimize these precise numerical parameters, including the elastic modulus of 12 GPa at 23 °C, impact strength ≥10 kJ/m², length of 2–3 mm, and the defined end thicknesses of ≥15 mm and ≥4 mm, as a matter of routine optimization of result-effective variables based on the material selection guidelines of US’242 and the dimensional optimization principles of US’732 (US’242, [0020]–[0024], [0073]–[0074], [0086]; US’732, [0025]–[0030], [0091]–[0093], [0108]–[0112], [0125]–[0127]).
Sizing and configuring the insulating portion parameters within these structural limits ensures that the distributed edge clamping bars maintain robust structural rigidity at primary corner load points, effectively resist localized mechanical shock or high-vibration automotive impact forces, and securely prevent low-temperature material degradation or short-circuit current pathways during vehicle operation (US’274, [0003]–[0005], [0125]–[0131], [0141]–[0143]; US’242, [0003]–[0004], [0008], [0063]–[0068], [0086], [0092]–[0093], [0098]–[0112]; US’732, [0005]–[0009], [0050]–[0052], [0091]–[0093], [0113]–[0117], [0137]–[0146]).
As to Claim 13:
See the rejection of claim 9 from which claim 13 depends; US’274 discloses a clamping structure featuring a horizontal portion and an angle-bent vertical portion that passes over an edge boundary to extend down a part of a side face of an end plate body; and further teaches that this downward vertical section carries an overmolded insulating resin shell layer (US’274, [0014]–[0018], [0025]–[0026], [0076], [0125]–[0131]).
However, US’274 does not explicitly disclose a distributed multi-bar clamping arrangement of six separate clamping bars where the second insulating portion of the first clamping bar and the second insulating portion of the third clamping bar are spaced from each other in the third direction, and the second insulating portion of the second clamping bar and the second insulating portion of the fourth clamping bar are spaced from each other in the third direction.
US’242 discloses a plurality of clamping members configured to clamp a plurality of unit cells in a first direction and spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction, and further teaches that individual parallel clamping bars are spaced away from each other such that a clamping bar is positioned in a central face area while other clamping bars are arranged in a peripheral area (US’242, [0009]–[0011], [0024], [0063]–[0065], [0092]–[0093]).
US’732 discloses a fuel cell structure where a distributed grid of independent clamping bars compresses the stack (US’732, [0018], [0050]–[0052], [0113]–[0117]).
US’732 explicitly teaches that a heat-generating-part support part includes a first side on which some of the clamping bars are arranged and a second side opposite to the first side on which the remaining ones of the clamping bars are arranged, and details configurations utilizing exactly six clamping bars arranged on the sides of the block where different subsets of bars can be fitted into or drawn out through openings that do not overlap (US’732, [0028]–[0030], [0052], [0113]–[0117], [0118]–[0124], [0133]–[0134], [0137]–[0146]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the fuel cell assembly of US’274 by incorporating a plurality of separate clamping members spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction as taught by US’242, arranged in a six-bar configuration as taught by US’732, and spacing the upper and lower second insulating portions from each other in the vertical third direction as described in Claim 13 (US’274, [0125]–[0131]; US’242, [0063]–[0065], [0092]–[0093]; US’732, [0052], [0113]–[0117], [0118]–[0124], [0133]–[0134], [0137]–[0146]).
One would be motivated to terminate the downward-bent vertical insulating portions of the upper edge bars, the first and second bars, and the upward-bent vertical insulating portions of the lower edge bars, the third and fourth bars, short of meeting along the vertical side walls of the stack. Leaving a distinct physical gap to space these insulating sections apart from each other in the vertical third direction represents a predictable application of the distributed parallel bar arrangements taught by US’242 and US’732, which serves to drastically minimize dead-volume assembly weight, reduce raw material manufacturing costs, and facilitate unobstructed external visual or physical access to the middle lateral regions of the unit cell stack during vehicle operational servicing (US’274, [0003]–[0005], [0125]–[0131], [0141]–[0143]; US’242, [0003]–[0004], [0008], [0063]–[0067], [0092]–[0093], [0098]–[0112]; US’732, [0005]–[0009], [0050]–[0052], [0113]–[0117], [0133]–[0134], [0137]–[0146]).
As to Claim 14:
See the rejection of claim 9 from which claim 14 depends; US’274 discloses that the target end plate body comprises an insert portion comprising a metal material and a shell portion comprising an insulating resin; and further discloses that the body, the partition wall, and the connecting portion may be integrally formed with each other, wherein the shell portion of the body is configured as a single unitary layer that can cover or surround the target profiles to form a continuous or unified insulating tracking configuration (US’274, [0012], [0017]–[0018], [0076], [0084], [0125]–[0131]).
However, US’274 does not explicitly disclose a distributed multi-bar clamping arrangement of six separate clamping bars where the second insulating portion of the first clamping bar and the second insulating portion of the third clamping bar are integrally formed with each other, and the second insulating portion of the second clamping bar and the second insulating portion of the fourth clamping bar are integrally formed with each other.
US’242 discloses a plurality of clamping members configured to clamp a plurality of unit cells in a first direction and spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction, and teaches that an insulating portion can include material options like polyimide, polypropylene, or urethane selected to surround or shield underlying structural bodies (US’242, [0009]–[0011], [0020]–[0024], [0063]–[0068], [0073]–[0074], [0086], [0092]–[0093]).
Furthermore, US’732 discloses a fuel cell structure where a distributed grid of independent clamping bars compresses the stack (US’732, [0018], [0050]–[0052], [0113]–[0117]).
US’732 explicitly teaches that a heat-generating-part support part includes a first side on which some of the clamping bars are arranged and a second side opposite to the first side on which the remaining ones of the clamping bars are arranged, and details that individual structural components or heater support parts can be integrally formed with each other or with adjacent plates to simplify maintenance and ensure unified mechanical handling (US’732, [0025]–[0030], [0052], [0079]–[0086], [0091]–[0093], [0113]–[0124], [0137]–[0146]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the fuel cell assembly of US’274 by incorporating a plurality of separate clamping members spaced from each other in an intersecting second direction as taught by US’242, arranged in a six-bar configuration as taught by US’732, and integrally forming the respective upper and lower second insulating portions along the vertical side walls of the stack as described in Claim 14 (US’274, [0012], [0076], [0084], [0125]–[0131]; US’242, [0063]–[0068], [0086], [0092]–[0093]; US’732, [0052], [0079]–[0086], [0091]–[0093], [0113]–[0124], [0137]–[0146]).
One would be motivated to connect and integrally mold the downward-extending vertical insulating portions of the upper edge bars, the first and second bars, with the upward-extending vertical insulating portions of the lower edge bars, the third and fourth bars, to form a unified side insulation track. Merging these adjacent insulating tracks into single-piece co-molded vertical side components represents a predictable application of the integral molding principles of US’274 and the component simplification design guidelines of US’732, which serves to drastically minimize the number of discrete loose handling parts, eliminate separate assembly steps, reduce dimensional stacking tolerances, and maximize current isolation and structural rigidity along the entire lateral surface area of the unit cell stack (US’274, [0003]–[0005], [0012], [0076], [0084], [0125]–[0131], [0141]–[0143]; US’242, [0003]–[0004], [0008], [0063]–[0068], [0086], [0092]–[0093], [0098]–[0112]; US’732, [0005]–[0009], [0050]–[0052], [0079]–[0086], [0091]–[0093], [0113]–[0117], [0137]–[0146]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20090123808 A1 discloses a fuel cell stack capable of making fuel flow within the stack uniform.
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723