Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 11/29/2023. Claims 1-12 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/29/2023 and 7/29/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroe (US 20190225095) in view of Jang (US 20210152079).
As to claim 1, Hiroe discloses a battery (Fig. 1 elements 10,100, and 20), comprising:
a first power storage (Fig. 1 12);
a second power storage (Fig. 1 11);
a positive node configured to connect in parallel a positive terminal of the first power storage and a positive terminal of the second power storage (Fig. 1 above);
a negative node configured to connect in parallel a negative terminal of the first power storage and a negative terminal of the second power storage (Fig. 1 above);
one of a main contactor (Fig. 1 21), the one being provided at a side opposite to the first power storage and the second power storage with respect to the positive node (Fig. 1 above);
a connection circuit configured to connect the negative terminal of the first power storage and the positive terminal of the second power storage (Fig. 1 above);
a first switching contactor provided in the connection circuit (Fig. 1 R1);
a second switching contactor provided between the positive node and a first connection portion configured to connect the positive terminal of the second power storage and the connection circuit (Fig. 1 R2); a third switching contactor provided between the negative node and a second connection portion configured to connect the negative terminal of the first power storage and the connection circuit (Fig. 1 R3); and
a controller configured to control on and off of the main contactor and the first to third switching contactors (Fig. 1 ECU 100),
wherein the controller is configured to switch between
a first voltage state in which the first switching contactor is in an on state, the second switching contactor and the third switching contactor are in an off state, and the first power storage and the second power storage are connected in series and chargeable at a first voltage (Fig. 3 and [0067] “first state”..between a first state and a second state. The first state is a state where the plural electric power storage bodies are connected in series. The second state is a state where the plural electric power storage bodies are connected in parallel. Chargeable at voltage VB1 [0067][0076] and Fig. 6), and
a second voltage state in which the first switching contactor is in an off state, the second switching contactor and the third switching contactor are in an on state, and the first power storage and the second power storage are connected in parallel and chargeable at a second voltage (Fig. 2 and [0057]. Chargeable at voltage VB2 [0067][0076] and Fig. 6).
Hiroe does not disclose a control cutoff fuse configured to cut off according to a control signal being provided at a side opposite to the first power storage and the second power storage with respect to the negative node.
Jang teaches a control cutoff fuse configured to cut off according to a control signal being provided at a side opposite to the power storage with respect to the negative node (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hiroe battery to include a control cutoff fuse configured to cut off according to a control signal being provided at a side opposite to the first power storage and the second power storage with respect to the negative node in order to protect the circuit from damage due to malfunction of fault.
As to claim 2, Hiroe in view of Jang teaches the battery according to claim 1. wherein the controller controls the battery to be in either the first voltage state or the second voltage state ([0038] and Fig. 6 of Hiroe).
Hiroe in view of Jang does not teach wherein the controller controls the battery to be in either the first voltage state or the second voltage state in a case where an auxiliary contactor signal is ON.
However Hiroe teaches the auxiliary machine load 70 is connected the electric power storage device 10 [0042]. Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hiroe battery to be in either the first voltage state or the second voltage state in a case where an auxiliary contactor signal is ON in order to allow the battery to provide power to the auxiliary devices.
Claims 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroe (US 20190225095) in view of Jang (US 20210152079) in view of Kim (US 20180069411).
As to claim 3, Hiroe in view of Jang teaches the battery according to claim 1.
Hiroe in view of Jang does not teach wherein the controller turns off the main contactor and cuts off the control cutoff fuse based on occurrence of an impact.
Kim teaches wherein the controller turns off the main contactor and cuts off the control cutoff fuse based on occurrence of an impact ([0048] The auxiliary fuse 174 according to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention may be designed to be blown (e.g., be open-circuited) before the main switch 130 is fused after the battery module 110 is short-circuited).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hiroe’s controller to turn off the main contactor and cuts off the control cutoff fuse based on occurrence of an impact in order to protect the circuit from damage due to malfunction of fault.
As to claim 4, Hiroe in view of Jang teaches the battery according to claim 1.
Hiroe in view of Jang does not teach wherein the controller turns off the main contactor and cuts off the control cutoff fuse based on occurrence of a short circuit.
Kim teaches wherein the controller turns off the main contactor and cuts off the control cutoff fuse based on occurrence of a short circuit ([0048] The auxiliary fuse 174 according to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention may be designed to be blown (e.g., be open-circuited) before the main switch 130 is fused after the battery module 110 is short-circuited).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hiroe’s controller to turn off the main contactor and cuts off the control cutoff fuse based on occurrence of a short circuit in order to protect the circuit from damage due to malfunction of fault.
Claims 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroe (US 20190225095) in view of Jang (US 20210152079) evident by Wu (US 20180069411).
As to claim 5, Hiroe in view of Jang teaches the battery according to claim 1 wherein a second switching contactor is connected in series between the first connection portion and the positive node (Fig. 1 R2), and the third switching contactor is connected in series between the second connection portion and the negative node (Fig. 1 R3)
Hiroe in view of Jang does not teach a first fuse is connected in series between the first connection portion and the positive node and a second fuse is connected in series between the second connection portion and the negative node.
However, placing a fuse in series with a battery is old and well known (See Wu Fig. 1-2 fuses 40-41 and 50-51). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hiroe’s battery to wherein a first fuse is connected in series between the first connection portion and the positive node and a second fuse is connected in series between the second connection portion and the negative node in order to protect the circuit from damage due to malfunction of fault.
Claims 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroe (US 20190225095) in view of Jang (US 20210152079) in view of Prasad (US 20230286388).
As to claim 6, Hiroe in view of Jang teaches the battery according to claim 1.
Hiroe in view of Jang does not teach wherein the first switching contactor and a fuse are connected in series in the connection circuit.
Prasad teaches wherein the first switching contactor and a fuse are connected in series in the connection circuit (Fig. 2 Fm).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hiroe’s battery to wherein the first switching contactor and a fuse are connected in series in the connection circuit in order to protect the circuit from damage due to malfunction of fault.
Claims 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroe (US 20190225095) in view of Jang (US 20210152079) in view of Ishikawa (US 20030146726).
As to claim 7, Hiroe in view of Jang teaches the battery according to claim 1. Hiroe further discloses a power storage system (Fig. 1 vehicle 1), comprising: a motor ([0040]-[0041], Fig. 1 motor 50) , the motor being driven by electric power supplied from the battery (Fig. 1 [0040]); an inverter connected on an electric power transmission path between the battery and the motor ([0040] the PCU 40 includes: an inverter); and a DC power supply circuit connected to a connection portion positioned on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the battery (Fig. 1 DC charging facility 200),
Hiroe in view of Jang does not teach a three-phase motor in which coils of three phases are connected at a neutral point, the three-phase motor being driven by electric power supplied from the battery nor teaches wherein the DC power supply circuit has a branch circuit connected to the neutral point at a positive electrode side of the DC power supply circuit.
Ishikawa teaches (Fig. 5) a three-phase motor in which coils of three phases are connected at a neutral point (Fig. 5 motors 6,6a), the three-phase motor being driven by electric power supplied from the battery (Fig. 5), wherein the DC power supply circuit (7) has a branch circuit connected to the neutral point at a positive electrode side of the DC power supply circuit (Fig. 5)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hiroe’s battery to include a three-phase motor in which coils of three phases are connected at a neutral point, the three-phase motor being driven by electric power supplied from the battery and wherein the DC power supply circuit has a branch circuit connected to the neutral point at a positive electrode side of the DC power supply circuit in order to enable the battery to be charged and improve efficiency by charging auxiliary components of a vehicle.
As to claim 8, Hiroe in view of Jang in view of Ishikawa teaches the power storage system according to claim 7, further comprising: an auxiliary device (Fig. 1 auxiliary machine load 70); and an auxiliary device drive circuit connected on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the connection portion (Fig. 1) and an auxiliary device drive circuit configured to supply electric power to the auxiliary device ([0042] the auxiliary machine load 70 includes a DC/DC converter that lowers a voltage of the positive electrode line PL and generates an auxiliary machine voltage).
Hiroe in view of Jang does not teach the auxiliary device configured to be driven by DC electric power from the battery and an external power supply nor teaches, wherein the auxiliary device is operated at the first voltage.
Ishikawa teaches an auxiliary device (Fig. 4, 6) configured to be driven by DC electric power from the battery (1) and an external power supply (8, 0047-0049), wherein the auxiliary device is operated at the first voltage (lower voltage with 7, 0048).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hiroe’s auxiliary device to be configured to be driven by DC electric power from the battery and an external power supply, wherein the auxiliary device is operated at the first voltage in order to improve efficiency by charging auxiliary components of a vehicle.
As to claim 9, Hiroe in view of Jang in view of Ishikawa teaches the power storage system according to claim 8.
Hiroe in view of Jang does not teach wherein when the battery is charged at the second voltage, the controller causes the inverter to boost a voltage supplied from the branch circuit to the three-phase motor to the first voltage.
Ishikawa teaches wherein when the battery is charged at the second voltage, the controller causes the inverter to boost a voltage supplied from the branch circuit to the three-phase motor to the first voltage ([0048]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hiroe’s power storage system to wherein when the battery is charged at the second voltage, the controller causes the inverter to boost a voltage supplied from the branch circuit to the three-phase motor to the first voltage in order to improve efficiency by charging auxiliary components of a vehicle.
As to claim 10, Hiroe in view of Jang teaches the battery according to claim 1.
Hiroe further discloses a power storage system (Fig. 1 vehicle 1), comprising: a motor ([0040]-[0041], Fig. 1 motor 50) , the motor being driven by electric power supplied from the battery (Fig. 1 [0040]); an inverter connected on an electric power transmission path between the battery and the motor ([0040] the PCU 40 includes: an inverter); and a DC power supply circuit connected to a connection portion positioned on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the battery (Fig. 1 DC charging facility 200),
Hiroe in view of Jang does not teach a three-phase motor in which coils of three phases are connected at a neutral point, the three-phase motor being driven by electric power supplied from the battery nor teaches wherein the DC power supply circuit has a branch circuit connected to a coil of one phase among the coils of three phases at a positive electrode side of the DC power supply circuit.
Ishikawa teaches (Fig. 4) a three-phase motor in which coils of three phases are connected at a neutral point (Fig. 4 motors 6), the three-phase motor being driven by electric power supplied from the battery (Fig. 4), wherein the DC power supply circuit (7) has a branch circuit connected to a coil of one phase among the coils of three phases at a positive electrode side of the DC power supply circuit (Fig. 4,DC/DC converter connected to the U branch of the motor) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hiroe’s battery to include a three-phase motor in which coils of three phases are connected at a neutral point, the three-phase motor being driven by electric power supplied from the battery and wherein the DC power supply circuit has a branch circuit connected to a coil of one phase among the coils of three phases at a positive electrode side of the DC power supply circuit in order to improve efficiency by charging auxiliary components of a vehicle
As to claim 11, Hiroe in view of Jang in view of Ishikawa teaches the power storage system according to claim 10, further comprising: an auxiliary device (Fig. 1 auxiliary machine load 70); and an auxiliary device drive circuit configured to supply electric power to the auxiliary device ([0042] the auxiliary machine load 70 includes a DC/DC converter that lowers a voltage of the positive electrode line PL and generates an auxiliary machine voltage).
Hiroe in view of Jang does not teach the auxiliary device configured to be driven by DC electric power from the battery and an external power supply nor teaches, wherein the auxiliary device is operated at the first voltage.
Ishikawa teaches an auxiliary device (Fig. 4, 6) configured to be driven by DC electric power from the battery (1) and an external power supply (8, 0047-0049), wherein the auxiliary device is operated at the first voltage (lower voltage with 7, 0048).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hiroe’s auxiliary device to be configured to be driven by DC electric power from the battery and an external power supply, wherein the auxiliary device is operated at the first voltage in order to improve efficiency by charging auxiliary components of a vehicle
As to claim 12, Hiroe in view of Jang in view of Ishikawa teaches the power storage system according to claim 11.
Hiroe in view of Jang does not teach wherein when the battery is charged at the second voltage, the controller causes the inverter to boost a voltage supplied from the branch circuit to the three-phase motor to the first voltage.
Ishikawa teaches wherein when the battery is charged at the second voltage, the controller causes the inverter to boost a voltage supplied from the branch circuit to the three-phase motor to the first voltage ([0048]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hiroe’s power storage system to wherein when the battery is charged at the second voltage, the controller causes the inverter to boost a voltage supplied from the branch circuit to the three-phase motor to the first voltage in order to improve efficiency by charging auxiliary components of a vehicle.
Conclusion and Related Art
Shin (US 20190315234) is cited for having the DC power supply circuit has a branch circuit connected to a coil of one phase among the coils of three phases at a positive electrode side of the DC power supply circuit.
Tritschler (US 10367363) is cited for having a DC power supply circuit connected to a connection portion positioned on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the battery.
Tarkiainen (US 10826408) a DC power supply circuit connected to a connection portion positioned on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the battery, wherein the DC power supply circuit has a branch circuit connected to the neutral point at a positive electrode side of the DC power supply circuit.
Mituta (US 20210257843) is cited for having a first power storage; a second power storage; a positive node configured to connect in parallel a positive terminal of the first power storage and a positive terminal of the second power storage; a negative node configured to connect in parallel a negative terminal of the first power storage and a negative terminal of the second power storage.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859