DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 4, 2026, with respect to claims 7, 17, and 18-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 18 and 20 and the objection to claims 7, 17, and 19 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed August 4, 2026, with respect to claims 1-6 and 8-11, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0201784 (“KISSA”) in view of US 2019/0250435 (“MAZED”) and in view of
US 2023/0418090 (“LI”).
Regarding claim 1, KISSA teaches a VOA (30), comprising: an optical waveguide (32, 34); and electrodes (36, 38) configured to change a state of a PCM in order to change an attenuation of optical power in the optical waveguide (pars. [0024], [0067]).
KISSA does not teach that the PCM is disposed on the optical waveguide. MAZED teaches a PCM disposed on an optical waveguide (pars. [0278]-[0280]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the VOA of KISSA such that the PCM is disposed on the optical waveguide, as taught by MAZED. The motivation would have been to directly induce a phase change on the light propagated by the waveguide (pars. [0278]-[0280]).
KISSA also does not teach that change in state of the PCM is between an amorphous state and a crystalline state. LI teaches electrodes configured to change a state of a PCM between an amorphous state and a crystalline state (pars. [0035], [0080], [0088]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the VOA of KISSA such that the electrodes are configured to change a state of the PCM between an amorphous state and a crystalline state, as taught by LI. The motivation would have been to change the refractive index of the PCM for desired optical applications (pars. [0035], [0080], [0088]).
Regarding claim 2, MAZED further teaches that the optical waveguide comprises: a first segment comprising a first portion of the PCM, wherein the first segment provides a first attenuation of an optical signal depending on a state of the first portion of the PCM; and a second segment comprising a second portion of the PCM, wherein the second segment provides a second attenuation of the optical signal depending on a state of the second portion of the PCM (pars. [0257], [0283]).
Regarding claim 3, KISSA further teaches a first pair of electrodes (36A, 38A) to control the state of the first portion of the PCM; and a second pair of electrodes (36B, 38B) to control the state of the second portion of the PCM.
Regarding claim 6, KISSA further teaches that the electrodes and the VOA consume power only when changing the state of the PCM (par. [0024]).
Regarding claim 9, MAZED further teaches that the optical waveguide comprises a plurality of segments each comprising a portion of the PCM, wherein the plurality of segments provide a different amount of binary optical attenuation (pars. [0257], [0283]).
Regarding claim 10, KISSA in view of MOZED renders obvious the limitations of the base claim 9. The additional limitation appears to involve mere changes in dimensions. It has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and where a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than that of the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 11, KISSA in view of MOZED renders obvious the limitations of the base claim 9. The additional limitation appears to involve mere duplication of parts. It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KISSA in view of MAZED and in view of LI as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of
US 2014/0193938 (“FIFE”).
KISSA in view of MAZED and in view of LI renders obvious the limitations of the base claim 3. KISSA does not teach that the first pair of electrodes are doped with opposite type dopants, and the second pair of electrodes are doped with opposite type dopants. FIFE teaches pairs of electrodes doped with opposite type electrodes (pars. [0020]-[0026]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the pairs of electrodes of KISSA in view of MAZED and in view of LI so as to be doped with opposite type dopants, as taught by FIFE. The motivation would have been to allow for regulation of electrical current.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KISSA in view of MAZED as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2023/0104033 (“PLEROS”).
KISSA in view of MAZED and in view of LI renders obvious the limitations of the base claim 1. KISSA does not teach that the PCM comprises at least one of: germanium- antimony-tellurium or Germanium-antimony-selenium-tellurium. PLEROS teaches a PCM comprising at least one of: germanium- antimony-tellurium or Germanium-antimony-selenium-tellurium (par. [0072]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the PCM of KISSA in view of MAZED and in view of LI so as to comprise at least one of: germanium- antimony-tellurium or Germanium-antimony-selenium-tellurium, as taught by PLEROS. The motivation would have been to allow for gradual phase change (par. [0072]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 14, and 18-20 are allowed.
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 5, 14, and 18-20, the prior art of record, whether taken individually or in combination, when considered in light of the claimed subject matter as a whole as interpreted in light of the present Specification, fails to disclose or render obvious that a voltage between the first pair of electrodes is controlled by a first bit in a digital control signal and a voltage between the second pair of electrodes is controlled by a second bit in the digital control signal.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record, whether taken individually or in combination, when considered in light of the claimed subject matter as a whole as interpreted in light of the present Specification, fails to disclose or render obvious that the VOA does not require calibration.
Conclusion
/JERRY M BLEVINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874