DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter of claims 22 and 26 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claims. These claims include long lists of potential uses of the device, with no additional details described or shown in the drawings. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
With respect to claims 22 and 26, these claims are merely long lists of potential uses of the apparatus of their parent claim. The specification also includes these same long lists of potential uses, with the further description of the devices associated with these potential uses. The drawings include no depiction of these potential uses. As no details are provided how to implement the device of the parent claims into any of the device associated with the claimed potential uses, the disclosure is not enabling for those potential uses.
Claims 23 and 29 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 23 and 29, it is unclear what is meant by the claimed modulus, as there are many different types of material properties that are referred to as a modulus, and there is no way of determining to which modulus applicant intends to refer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18, 20, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohashi et al. (US 2018/0326455).
With respect to claim 1, Ohashi et al. discloses a vibration apparatus (Fig 4), comprising: a vibration part (item 45); a first electrode (item 413A) at a first surface of the vibration part (Fig 4); and a second electrode (item 413C) at a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration part (Fig 4), wherein the vibration part includes a piezoelectric portion (item 413B) and a supporting portion (items 415 and 421) connected to the piezoelectric portion (Fig 4), and wherein a height of the supporting portion differs from a height of the piezoelectric portion (Fig 4).
With respect to claim 2, Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the height of the supporting portion is higher than the height of the piezoelectric portion (Fig 4).
With respect to claim 3, Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein a width of the supporting portion differs from a width of the piezoelectric portion (Fig 4).
With respect to claim 4, Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the width of the supporting portion is smaller than the width of the piezoelectric portion (Fig 4).
With respect to claim 5, Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein a shape of the supporting portion differs from a shape of the piezoelectric portion (Fig 4).
With respect to claim 6, Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 5, wherein the shape of the supporting portion is one of a trapezoid shape, a convex shape, and a combination of a trapezoid shape and a convex shape (Fig 4, wherein a rectangle is a trapezoid).
With respect to claim 7, Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the supporting portion is higher than one or more of a first surface of the piezoelectric portion and a second surface different from the first surface of the piezoelectric portion (Fig 4).
With respect to claim 8, Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 7, wherein a shape of the supporting portion includes a trapezoid shape (Fig 4, wherein a rectangle is a trapezoid).
With respect to claim 9, Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first electrode is at a first surface of each of the piezoelectric portion and the supporting portion and is configured as one electrode (Fig 4, paragraph 104).
With respect to claim 10, Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first electrode is at a first surface of each of the piezoelectric portion and the supporting portion and is configured with an individual electrode (Fig 4, paragraph 104).
With respect to claim 11. Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 10, wherein the second electrode is at a second surface different from the first surface of each of the piezoelectric portion and the supporting portion and is configured as one electrode (Fig 4, paragraph 104).
With respect to claim 12, Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 11, wherein a signal having a frequency different from a frequency of the first electrode is applied to the second electrode, or a signal having a phase that is different from a phase of the first electrode is applied to the second electrode (this language merely described signals applied to the device during use, and does not further limit the structural features of the device itself).
With respect to claim 13, Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a first protection member (item 41) at the first electrode; and a second protection member (item 42) at the second electrode (Fig 4).
With respect to claim 14, Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 13, further comprising: a first adhesive member (item 417A) between the first electrode and the first protection member (Fig 4); and a second adhesive member (item 417B) between the second electrode and the second protection member (Fig 4).
With respect to claim 15, Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the supporting portion comprises: a plurality of first supporting portions in parallel with the piezoelectric portion therebetween; and a plurality of second supporting portions in parallel with the piezoelectric portion therebetween (Figs 4 and 6).
With respect to claim 16, Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 15, wherein a respective shape of each of the plurality of first supporting portions differs from a respective shape of each of the plurality of second supporting portions (Fig 4).
With respect to claim 17, Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 15, wherein each of the plurality of first supporting portions comprises a slope surface protruding from the piezoelectric portion, and wherein each of the plurality of second supporting portions comprises a curved surface protruding from the piezoelectric portion (Fig 4).
With respect to claim 18, Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 15, wherein the vibration part comprises a first region, a second region, and a third region between the first region and the second region (Fig 4), wherein the plurality of first supporting portions are at one or two of the first region, the second region, and the third region, and wherein the plurality of second supporting portions are at one or two of the first region, the second region, and the third region (Fig 4, wherein the definition of the first, second, and third regions in the claim is completely open-ended with no definition of the regions relative to any portion of the claims device; therefore, the first, second, and third regions can be any portions of the device).
With respect to claim 20, Ohashi et al. discloses an apparatus, comprising: a passive vibration member (item 412); and one or more vibration generating components configured to vibrate the passive vibration member (Fig 4), wherein the one or more vibration generating components include the vibration apparatus of claim 1 (Fig 4).
With respect to claim 24, Ohashi et al. discloses an apparatus, comprising: an exterior material; an interior material covering the exterior material; and one or more vibration generating components on at least one or more of the exterior material, the interior material, and a region between the exterior material and the interior material (Fig 4), wherein the one or more vibration generating components include the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein one or more of the interior material and the exterior material are configured to output sound based on a vibration of the one or more vibration generating components (Fig 4, paragraph 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 21, 22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi et al. in view of Maschmeyer et al. (US 2012/0105333).
With respect to claim 19, Ohashi et al. discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1.
Ohashi et al. does not disclose that the supporting portion comprises a flexible organic material.
Maschmeyer et al. teaches a piezoelectric vibration apparatus in which the supporting portion comprises a flexible organic material (Paragraph 85).
Before the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the mounting of a piezoelectric vibration apparatus with an OLED screen, as taught by Maschmeyer et al., with the piezoelectric vibration apparatus of Ohashi et al., for the benefit of providing the utility of providing haptic feedback in a screen-based device (Paragraph 85 of Maschmeyer et al.).
With respect to claim 21, Ohashi discloses the apparatus of claim 20.
Ohashi et al. does not disclose that the passive vibration member comprises one or more of metal, wood, rubber, plastic, glass, fiber, cloth, paper, a mirror, carbon, and leather.
Maschmeyer et al. teaches a piezoelectric vibration apparatus in which the passive vibration member comprises one or more of metal, wood, rubber, plastic, glass, fiber, cloth, paper, a mirror, carbon, and leather. (Paragraph 85).
Before the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the mounting of a piezoelectric vibration apparatus to an OLED screen, as taught by Maschmeyer et al., with the piezoelectric vibration apparatus of Ohashi et al., for the benefit of providing the utility of providing haptic feedback in a screen-based device (Paragraph 85 of Maschmeyer et al.).
With respect to claim 22, Ohashi et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 20.
Ohashi et al. does not disclose that the passive vibration member comprises one or more of a display panel including a pixel configured to display an image, a light emitting diode lighting panel, an organic light emitting lighting panel, an inorganic light emitting lighting panel, a screen panel on which an image is to be projected from a display apparatus, a lighting panel, a signage panel, a vehicular interior material, a vehicular glass window, a vehicular exterior material, a vehicular seat interior material, a building ceiling material, a building interior material, a building glass window, an aircraft interior material, an aircraft glass window, and a mirror.
Maschmeyer et al. teaches a piezoelectric vibration apparatus in which the passive vibration member comprises one or more of a display panel including a pixel configured to display an image, a light emitting diode lighting panel, an organic light emitting lighting panel, an inorganic light emitting lighting panel, a screen panel on which an image is to be projected from a display apparatus, a lighting panel, a signage panel, a vehicular interior material, a vehicular glass window, a vehicular exterior material, a vehicular seat interior material, a building ceiling material, a building interior material, a building glass window, an aircraft interior material, an aircraft glass window, and a mirror (Paragraph 85).
Before the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the mounting of a piezoelectric vibration apparatus to an OLED screen, as taught by Maschmeyer et al., with the piezoelectric vibration apparatus of Ohashi et al., for the benefit of providing the utility of providing haptic feedback in a screen-based device (Paragraph 85 of Maschmeyer et al.).
With respect to claim 25, Ohashi et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 24.
Ohashi et al. does not disclose that the passive vibration member comprises one or more of metal, wood, rubber, plastic, glass, fiber, cloth, paper, a mirror, carbon, and leather.
Maschmeyer et al. teaches a piezoelectric vibration apparatus in which the passive vibration member comprises one or more of metal, wood, rubber, plastic, glass, fiber, cloth, paper, a mirror, carbon, and leather. (Paragraph 85).
Before the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the mounting of a piezoelectric vibration apparatus to an OLED screen, as taught by Maschmeyer et al., with the piezoelectric vibration apparatus of Ohashi et al., for the benefit of providing the utility of providing haptic feedback in a screen-based device (Paragraph 85 of Maschmeyer et al.).
Claims 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi et al. in view of Lehmann et al. (US 2018/0081438).
With respect to claim 26, Ohashi et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 24.
Ohashi et al. does not disclose that the interior material comprises at least one or more of a dashboard, a pillar interior material, a roof interior material, a door interior material, a seat interior material, a handle interior material, a floor interior material, a rear view mirror, an overhead console, a glove box, a sun visor, and a rear package interior material, and wherein the one or more vibration generating components are configured to vibrate at least one or more of the dashboard, the pillar interior material, the roof interior material, the door interior material, the seat interior material, the handle interior material, the floor interior material, the rear view mirror, the overhead console, the glove box, the sun visor, and the rear package interior material.
Lehmann et al. teaches a piezoelectric vibration apparatus in which the interior material comprises at least one or more of a dashboard, a pillar interior material, a roof interior material, a door interior material, a seat interior material, a handle interior material, a floor interior material, a rear view mirror, an overhead console, a glove box, a sun visor, and a rear package interior material, and wherein the one or more vibration generating components are configured to vibrate at least one or more of the dashboard, the pillar interior material, the roof interior material, the door interior material, the seat interior material, the handle interior material, the floor interior material, the rear view mirror, the overhead console, the glove box, the sun visor, and the rear package interior material (Paragraph 37).
Before the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the mounting of a piezoelectric vibration apparatus to a dashboard, as taught by Lehmann et al., with the piezoelectric vibration apparatus of Ohashi et al., for the benefit of providing the utility of providing haptic feedback in a screen-based device (Paragraph 37 of Lehmann et al.).
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi et al. in view of Motoda (US 4768256).
With respect to claim 27, Ohashi et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 24.
Ohashi et al. does not disclose a glass window; and a transparent vibration apparatus disposed at the glass window.
Motoda teaches a piezoelectric vibration apparatus including a glass window; and a transparent vibration apparatus disposed at the glass window (Fig 1).
Before the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the mounting of a piezoelectric vibration apparatus to a window, as taught by Motoda, with the piezoelectric vibration apparatus of Ohashi et al., for the benefit of providing the utility of removing debris from a window (Fig 1 of Motoda).
With respect to claim 28, the combination of Ohashi et al. and Motoda discloses the apparatus of claim 27. Motoda discloses that the glass window comprises at least one or more of a front glass window, a side glass window, a rear glass window, and a roof glass window, and wherein the transparent vibration apparatus is configured to vibrate at least one or more of the front glass window, the side glass window, the rear glass window, and the roof glass window (Fig 1).
Conclusion
/DEREK J ROSENAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837