DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments focus on the lack of recitation in Chen that the materials do not downconvert or upconvert UV portions of light entering a first side into visible light. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
While Examiner appreciates Applicant’s intent and inventive concept, the claims currently do not capture this feature. The claim recites that a material is “capable” of such a functional recitation. Chen discloses in paragraph 75 a list of materials to be used that includes Group III-V materials. These can include those such as GaAs disclosed by both Chen in paragraph 75 and applicant in Specification paragraph 76. This material has a direct bandgap and by carrying its composition, the bandgap can be tuned across a visible spectrum. Therefore, since the same general material is claimed, it is therefore capable of performing the claimed function.
Examiner also maintains prior suggestion of amendment to clarify the angle ranges. For these reasons, Examiner maintains the prior rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9-11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2008/0264486 to Chen et al.
Chen discloses in the abstract and figures 3, and 8-11, an encapsulant for a solar cell comprising:
a film having a first side and an opposing second side (top and bottom surfaces in figure 11);
at least one optical structure (71; figure 11) formed in the film, the at least one optical structure comprising at least a first waveguide array positioned between the first and second sides, wherein each waveguide in the at least one first waveguide array is commonly oriented at a first angle (“lambda-shaped waveguides; figure 11) relative to a normal of a surface of the film and in which each waveguide of the first waveguide array is formed by a core of a high-refractive index polymer and a cladding of a low refractive index polymer (paragraph 51 discloses the use of polymer waveguides); and
at least one light conversion material disposed in the core of each waveguide, in which the at least one light conversion material comprises an organic or inorganic fluorescent dye is capable of downconverting UV portions of light entering the film into visible light (paragraph 103 discloses dyes and paragraph 105 discloses configuring for a visible spectrum. Further, as noted in the Response to Arguments above, the materials disclosed are capable of such a function).
Examiner further notes that *no* (emphasis added) angle range is claimed. Therefore, a simple straight waveguide would overcome this claim. For purposes of examination, Examiner will advance prosecution by interpreting an angle greater than zero with respect to normal. A claim amendment to clarify this angle should be made.
As to claims 3, and 10, the two claimed waveguide arrays are not required to intersect one another and therefore separate units such as shown in Figure 8 would have an additional array of waveguide structures. Since each array has the lambda-shaped profile with “zig-zagging” angles, there would be multiple secondary angles. Claim 10 is an independent claim which incorporates the second waveguide recited in claim 3.
As to claim 4, the opposing lambda-shaped waveguide is opposite a first angle in a “zig-zagged” pattern such as in figure 11.
As to claims 5, 9 and 16, nanoparticles in the cores are disclosed in paragraph 79.
Claim 11 repeats the recitation of the last portion of independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
Chen discloses the invention as claimed except for an angle range of about -30 to 30 degrees. Chen does discloses that an angle range should be obtuse and greater than 90 degrees for adjacent waveguides (paragraph 68). Figure 11 appears to show angles roughly in the range of 30 degrees but this is not explicitly disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the angles of Chen’s waveguides to optimize output.
Claim(s) 2, 6-7, 12-14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of US 11,611,308 to Davy.
Chen discloses a solar concentrator encapsulant as claimed except for the use of certain materials such as acrylates in claim 2, ratios of material mixes in claim 6 and lanthanide-doped yttrium oxides in claims 7 and 19. Independent claim 17 recites the above disclosed structure but includes the acrylate material in independent form. Previously disclosed dyes and nanoparticles above are disclosed respectively in dependent claims 18 and 20.
Davy discloses such acrylates in column 4, lines 1-16 to control the amount of transmission in a luminescent concentrator. Other materials are commonly used in the solar art and mixing such materials would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the materials as taught by Davy and alter their material composition in Chen to adjust the luminosity of the panel.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874