DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are indicated in the table below, along with corresponding structure and/or lack thereof:
Claim limitation
Claim Numbers
Structure (PGPUB citation)
“auxiliary device configured to be driven by”
10, 11, 18 and 20
High-voltage driven in-vehicle device [0073]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Isaji et al. US PGPUB 2024/0300380.
Regarding claim 2, Isaji discloses a vehicle including a drive source, a battery that supplies electric power to the drive source, and a controller that controls the drive source and the battery, [fig. 1; vehicle 110 with a battery 10A for powering motor R (par. 26) and controller 50], wherein the battery comprises:
a first power storage [fig. 1, 10A];
a second power storage [fig. 1, 10B];
a positive node configured to connect in parallel a positive terminal of the first power storage and a positive terminal of the second power storage [fig. 1; via contactor 14A the positive terminals of the batteries are connected];
a negative node configured to connect in parallel a negative terminal of the first power storage and a negative terminal of the second power storage [fig. 1; via contactor 14B the negative terminals of the batteries are connected];
a connection circuit configured to connect the negative terminal of the first power storage and the positive terminal of the second power storage [fig. 1; via contactor 14C the negative terminal of 10a and positive terminal of 10B are connected];
a first contactor and a fuse provided in the connection circuit [fig. 1, 14c and 14D];
a second contactor provided between the positive node and a first connection portion configured to connect the positive terminal of the second power storage and the connection circuit [fig. 1, 14a, between the wire connected to connection contactor 14c and the positive node]; and
a third contactor provided between the negative node and a second connection portion configured to connect the negative terminal of the first power storage and the connection circuit [fig. 1; 14B, between the wire connected to connection contactor 14c and the negative node], and
wherein the controller [fig. 1, 50] is configured to switch between a first voltage state in which the first contactor is an on state, the second contactor and the third contactor are in an off state, and the first power storage and the second power storage are connected in series and chargeable at a first voltage [par. 37, 45 & 50; a series state where 14C is connected and 14A/14B are off], and
a second voltage state in which the first contactor is in an off state, the second contactor and the third contactor are in an on state [par. 37, 45 & 50; a parallel state where 14C is off and 14A/14B are on], the first power storage and the second power storage are connected in parallel and chargeable at a second voltage [par. 50].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaji et al. US PGPUB 2024/0300380 in view of Chidester et al. US PGPUB 2017/0005371.
Regarding claim 1, Isaji discloses a vehicle including a drive source, a battery that supplies electric power to the drive source, and a controller configured to control the drive source and the battery [fig. 1; vehicle 110 with a battery 10A for powering motor R (par. 26) and controller 50], wherein the battery comprises:
a first power storage [fig. 1, 10A];
a second power storage [fig. 1, 10B];
a positive node configured to connect in parallel a positive terminal of the first power storage and a positive terminal of the second power storage [fig. 1; via contactor 14A the positive terminals of the batteries are connected];
a negative node configured to connect in parallel a negative terminal of the first power storage and a negative terminal of the second power storage [fig. 1; via contactor 14B the negative terminals of the batteries are connected];
a connection circuit configured to connect the negative terminal of the first power storage and the positive terminal of the second power storage [fig. 1; via wire and contactor 14C the negative terminal of 10a and positive terminal of 10B are connected];
a first contactor provided in the connection circuit [fig. 1, 14c];
a second contactor provided between the positive node and a first connection portion configured to connect the positive terminal of the second power storage and the connection circuit [fig. 1, 14A between positive node and wire that connects the second power storage to the connection circuit]; and
a third contactor provided between the negative node and a second connection portion configured to connect the negative terminal of the first power storage and the connection circuit [fig. 1, 14B between negative node and wire that connects the first power storage to the connection circuit]; and
wherein the controller [fig. 1, 50] is configured to switch between a first voltage state in which the first contactor is in an on state, the second contactor and the third contactor are in an off state [par. 37, 45 & 50; a series state where 14C is connected and 14A/14B are off], and
the first power storage and the second power storage are connected in series and chargeable at a first voltage, and a second voltage state in which the first contactor is in an off state, the second contactor and the third contactor are in an on state [par. 37, 45 & 50; a parallel state where 14C is off and 14A/14B are on], and the first power storage and the second power storage are connected in parallel and chargeable at a second voltage [par. 50]
Isaji does not explicitly disclose a first and second fuses between the battery nodes and the connection portion.
However, Chidester discloses an electric vehicle power system [abs.; fig. 1] comprising first and second fuses between the battery nodes and the connection portion [fig. 3, for reach battery string a fuse 31n is in series with the relay 24; par. 53].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Isaji to further include first and second fuses between the battery nodes and the connection portion for the purpose of isolating a battery in the event of thermal runaway, as taught by Chidester (par. 107).
Regarding claim 9, Isaji does not explicitly disclose wherein the drive source is a three-phase motor in which coils of three phases are connected at a neutral point, the three-phase motor being driven by electric power supplied from the battery, an inverter is provided on an electric power transmission path between the battery and the three-phase motor, a DC power supply circuit is connected to a connection portion positioned on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the battery, and the DC power supply circuit has a branch circuit connected to the neutral point at a positive electrode side of the DC power supply circuit.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the electric vehicle charging arts for using a three-phase motor to power the vehicle via an inverter powered by a DC battery, and to have an auxiliary circuit connected to the DC battery and the neutral for powering lower voltage loads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Isaji to further include wherein the drive source is a three-phase motor in which coils of three phases are connected at a neutral point, the three-phase motor being driven by electric power supplied from the battery, an inverter is provided on an electric power transmission path between the battery and the three-phase motor, a DC power supply circuit is connected to a connection portion positioned on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the battery, and the DC power supply circuit has a branch circuit connected to the neutral point at a positive electrode side of the DC power supply circuit for the purpose of powering lower voltage loads of an electric vehicle, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 10, Isaji does not explicitly disclose further comprising: an auxiliary device configured to be driven by DC electric power from the battery and an external power supply; and an auxiliary device drive circuit connected on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the connection portion, and configured to supply electric power to the auxiliary device, wherein the auxiliary device is operated at the first voltage, and when the battery is charged at the second voltage, the controller causes the inverter to boost a voltage supplied from the branch circuit to the three-phase motor to the first voltage.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the electric vehicle charging arts to use a three-phase motor to power the vehicle via an inverter powered by a DC battery, and to have an auxiliary circuit connected to the DC battery and the neutral for powering lower voltage loads and to increase the voltage for power the auxiliary circuit when necessary. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Isaji to further include an auxiliary device configured to be driven by DC electric power from the battery and an external power supply; and an auxiliary device drive circuit connected on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the connection portion, and configured to supply electric power to the auxiliary device, wherein the auxiliary device is operated at the first voltage, and when the battery is charged at the second voltage, the controller causes the inverter to boost a voltage supplied from the branch circuit to the three-phase motor to the first voltage for the purpose of powering lower voltage loads of an electric vehicle, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 11, Isaji does not explicitly disclose wherein the drive source is a three-phase motor in which coils of three phases are connected at a neutral point, and the three-phase motor being driven by electric power supplied from the battery, an inverter is provided on an electric power transmission path between the battery and the three-phase motor, a DC power supply circuit is connected to a connection portion positioned on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the battery, and the DC power supply circuit has a branch circuit connected to a coil of one phase among the coils of three phases at a positive electrode side of the DC power supply circuit.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the electric vehicle charging arts for using a three-phase motor to power the vehicle via an inverter powered by a DC battery, and to have an auxiliary circuit connected to the DC battery and the neutral for powering lower voltage loads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Isaji to further include wherein the drive source is a three-phase motor in which coils of three phases are connected at a neutral point, the three-phase motor being driven by electric power supplied from the battery, an inverter is provided on an electric power transmission path between the battery and the three-phase motor, a DC power supply circuit is connected to a connection portion positioned on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the battery, and the DC power supply circuit has a branch circuit connected to the neutral point at a positive electrode side of the DC power supply circuit for the purpose of powering lower voltage loads of an electric vehicle, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 12, Isaji does not explicitly disclose further comprising: an auxiliary device configured to be driven by DC electric power from the battery and an external power supply; and an auxiliary device drive circuit connected on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the connection portion, and configured to supply electric power to the auxiliary device, wherein the auxiliary device is operated at the first voltage, and when the battery is charged at the second voltage, the controller causes the inverter to boost a voltage supplied from the branch circuit to the three-phase motor to the first voltage.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the electric vehicle charging arts to use a three-phase motor to power the vehicle via an inverter powered by a DC battery, and to have an auxiliary circuit connected to the DC battery and the neutral for powering lower voltage loads and to increase the voltage for power the auxiliary circuit when necessary. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Isaji to further include an auxiliary device configured to be driven by DC electric power from the battery and an external power supply; and an auxiliary device drive circuit connected on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the connection portion, and configured to supply electric power to the auxiliary device, wherein the auxiliary device is operated at the first voltage, and when the battery is charged at the second voltage, the controller causes the inverter to boost a voltage supplied from the branch circuit to the three-phase motor to the first voltage for the purpose of powering lower voltage loads of an electric vehicle, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaji et al. US PGPUB 2024/0300380 in view of Chidester et al. US PGPUB 2017/0005371 and further in view of Takahashi et al. JP 2020150618 A. (It is noted that the machine translation, until a translation is obtained.)
Regarding claim 5, Isaji does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller drives the drive source in the second voltage state when the first contactor is stuck in an off state.
However, Takahashi discloses a series-parallel battery system for a vehicle [abs.] wherein the controller drives the drive source in the second voltage state when the first contactor is stuck in an off state [pars. 61-66; if the series relay RY2 has an open failure (stuck off) then parallel mode is used ]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Isaji to further include wherein the controller drives the drive source in the second voltage state when the first contactor is stuck in an off state for the purpose of enabling continued usage of the system after a fault, as taught by Isaji (pars. 61-66).
Regarding claim 6, Isaji does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller drives the drive source in the first voltage state when the second contactor or the third contactor is stuck in an off state.
However, Takahashi discloses a series-parallel battery system for a vehicle [abs.] wherein the controller drives the drive source in the first voltage state when the second contactor or the third contactor is stuck in an off state [pars. 61-66; if one of the parallel relays RY1/RY3 has an open failure (stuck off) then series mode is used ]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Isaji to further include wherein the controller drives the drive source in the first voltage state when the second contactor or the third contactor is stuck in an off state for the purpose of enabling continued usage of the system after a fault, as taught by Isaji (pars. 61-66).
Regarding claim 7, Isaji does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller drives the drive source in the first voltage state when the first contactor is stuck in an on state.
However, Takahashi discloses a series-parallel battery system for a vehicle [abs.] wherein the controller drives the drive source in the first voltage state when the first contactor is stuck in an on state [pars. 61-66; if the series relay RY2 has a short failure (stuck on) then parallel mode is used ]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Isaji to further include wherein the controller drives the drive source in the first voltage state when the first contactor is stuck in an on state for the purpose of enabling continued usage of the system after a fault, as taught by Isaji (pars. 61-66).
Regarding claim 8, Isaji does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller drives the drive source in the second voltage state when the second contactor or the third contactor is stuck in an on state.
However, Takahashi discloses a series-parallel battery system for a vehicle [abs.] wherein the controller drives the drive source in the second voltage state when the second contactor or the third contactor is stuck in an on state [pars. 61-66; if one of the parallel relays RY1/RY3 has an open failure (stuck off) then series mode is used].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Isaji to further include wherein the controller drives the drive source in the second voltage state when the second contactor or the third contactor is stuck in an on state for the purpose of enabling continued usage of the system after a fault, as taught by Isaji (pars. 61-66).
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaji et al. US PGPUB 2024/0300380 in view of Takahashi et al. JP 2020150618 A. (It is noted that the machine translation, until a translation is obtained.)
Regarding claim 13, Isaji does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller drives the drive source in the second voltage state when the first contactor is stuck in an off state.
However, Takahashi discloses a series-parallel battery system for a vehicle [abs.] wherein the controller drives the drive source in the second voltage state when the first contactor is stuck in an off state [pars. 61-66; if the series relay RY2 has an open failure (stuck off) then parallel mode is used ]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Isaji and Takahashi to further include wherein the controller drives the drive source in the second voltage state when the first contactor is stuck in an off state for the purpose of enabling continued usage of the system after a fault, as taught by Isaji (pars. 61-66).
Regarding claim 14, Isaji does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller drives the drive source in the first voltage state when the second contactor or the third contactor is stuck in an off state.
However, Takahashi discloses a series-parallel battery system for a vehicle [abs.] wherein the controller drives the drive source in the first voltage state when the second contactor or the third contactor is stuck in an off state [pars. 61-66; if one of the parallel relays RY1/RY3 has an open failure (stuck off) then series mode is used ]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Isaji and Takahashi to further include wherein the controller drives the drive source in the first voltage state when the second contactor or the third contactor is stuck in an off state for the purpose of enabling continued usage of the system after a fault, as taught by Isaji (pars. 61-66).
Regarding claim 15, Isaji does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller drives the drive source in the first voltage state when the first contactor is stuck in an on state.
However, Takahashi discloses a series-parallel battery system for a vehicle [abs.] wherein the controller drives the drive source in the first voltage state when the first contactor is stuck in an on state [pars. 61-66; if the series relay RY2 has a short failure (stuck on) then parallel mode is used ]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Isaji and Takahashi to further include wherein the controller drives the drive source in the first voltage state when the first contactor is stuck in an on state for the purpose of enabling continued usage of the system after a fault, as taught by Isaji (pars. 61-66).
Regarding claim 16, Isaji does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller drives the drive source in the second voltage state when the second contactor or the third contactor is stuck in an on state.
However, Takahashi discloses a series-parallel battery system for a vehicle [abs.] wherein the controller drives the drive source in the second voltage state when the second contactor or the third contactor is stuck in an on state [pars. 61-66; if one of the parallel relays RY1/RY3 has an open failure (stuck off) then series mode is used].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Isaji and Takahashi to further include wherein the controller drives the drive source in the second voltage state when the second contactor or the third contactor is stuck in an on state for the purpose of enabling continued usage of the system after a fault, as taught by Isaji (pars. 61-66).
Regarding claim 17, Isaji does not explicitly disclose wherein the drive source is a three-phase motor in which coils of three phases are connected at a neutral point, the three-phase motor being driven by electric power supplied from the battery, an inverter is provided on an electric power transmission path between the battery and the three-phase motor, a DC power supply circuit is connected to a connection portion positioned on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the battery, and the DC power supply circuit has a branch circuit connected to the neutral point at a positive electrode side of the DC power supply circuit.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the electric vehicle charging arts for using a three-phase motor to power the vehicle via an inverter powered by a DC battery, and to have an auxiliary circuit connected to the DC battery and the neutral for powering lower voltage loads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Isaji to further include wherein the drive source is a three-phase motor in which coils of three phases are connected at a neutral point, the three-phase motor being driven by electric power supplied from the battery, an inverter is provided on an electric power transmission path between the battery and the three-phase motor, a DC power supply circuit is connected to a connection portion positioned on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the battery, and the DC power supply circuit has a branch circuit connected to the neutral point at a positive electrode side of the DC power supply circuit for the purpose of powering lower voltage loads of an electric vehicle, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 18, Isaji does not explicitly disclose further comprising: an auxiliary device configured to be driven by DC electric power from the battery and an external power supply; and an auxiliary device drive circuit connected on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the connection portion, and configured to supply electric power to the auxiliary device, wherein the auxiliary device is operated at the first voltage, and when the battery is charged at the second voltage, the controller causes the inverter to boost a voltage supplied from the branch circuit to the three-phase motor to the first voltage.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the electric vehicle charging arts to use a three-phase motor to power the vehicle via an inverter powered by a DC battery, and to have an auxiliary circuit connected to the DC battery and the neutral for powering lower voltage loads and to increase the voltage for power the auxiliary circuit when necessary. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Isaji to further include an auxiliary device configured to be driven by DC electric power from the battery and an external power supply; and an auxiliary device drive circuit connected on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the connection portion, and configured to supply electric power to the auxiliary device, wherein the auxiliary device is operated at the first voltage, and when the battery is charged at the second voltage, the controller causes the inverter to boost a voltage supplied from the branch circuit to the three-phase motor to the first voltage for the purpose of powering lower voltage loads of an electric vehicle, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 19, Isaji does not explicitly disclose wherein the drive source is a three-phase motor in which coils of three phases are connected at a neutral point, and the three-phase motor being driven by electric power supplied from the battery, an inverter is provided on an electric power transmission path between the battery and the three-phase motor, a DC power supply circuit is connected to a connection portion positioned on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the battery, and the DC power supply circuit has a branch circuit connected to a coil of one phase among the coils of three phases at a positive electrode side of the DC power supply circuit.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the electric vehicle charging arts for using a three-phase motor to power the vehicle via an inverter powered by a DC battery, and to have an auxiliary circuit connected to the DC battery and the neutral for powering lower voltage loads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Isaji to further include wherein the drive source is a three-phase motor in which coils of three phases are connected at a neutral point, the three-phase motor being driven by electric power supplied from the battery, an inverter is provided on an electric power transmission path between the battery and the three-phase motor, a DC power supply circuit is connected to a connection portion positioned on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the battery, and the DC power supply circuit has a branch circuit connected to the neutral point at a positive electrode side of the DC power supply circuit for the purpose of powering lower voltage loads of an electric vehicle, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 20, Isaji does not explicitly disclose further comprising: an auxiliary device configured to be driven by DC electric power from the battery and an external power supply; and an auxiliary device drive circuit connected on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the connection portion, and configured to supply electric power to the auxiliary device, wherein the auxiliary device is operated at the first voltage, and when the battery is charged at the second voltage, the controller causes the inverter to boost a voltage supplied from the branch circuit to the three-phase motor to the first voltage.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the electric vehicle charging arts to use a three-phase motor to power the vehicle via an inverter powered by a DC battery, and to have an auxiliary circuit connected to the DC battery and the neutral for powering lower voltage loads and to increase the voltage for power the auxiliary circuit when necessary. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Isaji to further include an auxiliary device configured to be driven by DC electric power from the battery and an external power supply; and an auxiliary device drive circuit connected on an electric power transmission path between the inverter and the connection portion, and configured to supply electric power to the auxiliary device, wherein the auxiliary device is operated at the first voltage, and when the battery is charged at the second voltage, the controller causes the inverter to boost a voltage supplied from the branch circuit to the three-phase motor to the first voltage for the purpose of powering lower voltage loads of an electric vehicle, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 3, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “wherein the controller drives the drive source in the first voltage state when at least one of the first fuse or the second fuse is blown” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 1 from which claim 3 depends.
With respect to claim 4, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “wherein the controller drives the drive source in the second voltage state when the fuse is blown” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 2 from which claim 4 depends.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Oosawa et al. US PGPUB 2014/0203786 discloses a battery system for a vehicle which uses fuses and relays.
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859