Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 9th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-22 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) and 112(d) rejection previously set forth in the office action mailed December 8th, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chikama (U.S. Patent 5167221) in view of Yeh et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0309791 hereinafter “Yeh”). Regarding claim 21, Chikama teaches a controller for an endoscope (figure 1 element 1), the controller comprising:
a handle (figure 1 element 2) including a first section (figure 1 element 2 pointed at with the downwards arrow below) and a second section (figure 1 element 10 pointed to with the upward arrow below) being moveable with respect to each other (process described in column 5 lines 37-65)
a control actuator (figure 1 element 22) on one or more of the first section or the second section;
a pull wire (figure 2 element 30) extending between the first section and the second section within the handle;
an elongate tube (figure 1 element 3) through which the pull wire extends, the elongate tube being flexible to permit the elongate tube to bend when the first section and the second section are moved with respect to each other (movement of first and second section in relation to each other increases or decreases tension of wires, allowing the tube to bend).
Chikama fails to teach a working channel opening on one or more of the first section or the second section, but Yeh teaches a working channel opening (figure 2 element 208 “working channel port”) on one or more of the first section or the second section. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the controller of Chikama with the addition of a working channel opening in order to allow for the introduction of a treatment tool to the target region within the patient, widening the therapeutic capabilities of the device, reducing the need for multiple endoscopic operations with differently-abled endoscopes.
Regarding claim 22, Chikama teaches a method for controlling an endoscope (figure 1 element 1), the method comprising: actuating a controller (column 5 lines 16-18 “in the endoscope 1 of the above construction, when the manipulation knob 22 is rotated in a clockwise direction”) comprising:
a handle (figure 1 element 2) including a first section (figure 1 element 2 pointed to with the downward arrow below) and a second section (figure 1 element 10 pointed at with the upwards arrow below) being moveable with respect to each other (process described in column 5 lines 37-65)
a control actuator (figure 1 element 22) on one or more of the first section or the second section
a pull wire (figure 2 element 30) extending between the first section and the second section within the handle
an elongate tube (figure 1 element 3) through which the pull wire extends, the elongate tube being flexible to permit the elongate tube to bend when the first section and the second section are moved with respect to each other (movement of first and second section in relation to each other increases or decreases tension of wires, allowing the tube to bend).
Chikama fails to teach a method for controlling an endoscope, the method comprising: actuating a controller comprising a working channel opening on one or more of the first section or the second section, but Yeh teaches a method for controlling an endoscope, the method comprising: actuating a controller (paragraph 39 “A user-controllable lever 114 is provided at the proximal end 103 to actuate a control device as described in further detail below.”) comprising a working channel opening (figure 2 element 208 “working channel port”) on one or more of the first section or the second section. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the controller of Chikama with the addition of a working channel opening in order to allow for the introduction of a treatment tool to the target region within the patient, widening the therapeutic capabilities of the device, reducing the need for multiple endoscopic operations with differently-abled endoscopes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1 is allowed. The following limitations “A controller for an endoscope, the controller comprising: a handle wherein the handle is configured to adjust a distance between the first location and the second location; wherein the first pull wire tensioner comprises: a first anchor fixed to the handle proximate the working channel opening and a second anchor fixed to the handle proximate the control actuator, wherein the first anchor is configured to move with the first location and the second anchor is configured to move with the second location” are deemed allowable. The closest prior art of reference is found in Chikama. Chikama teaches a controller for an endoscope, with the controller comprising a handle wherein the handle is configured to adjust a distance between the first location and the second location, but fails to teach a pull wire tensioner comprising a first anchor fixed to the handle proximate the working channel opening and a second anchor fixed to the handle proximate the control actuator, wherein the first anchor is configured to move with the first location and the second anchor is configured to move with the second location. As claim 1 is allowed, its dependents 3, 4, and 6-20 are also deemed allowable due to their dependency on an allowable independent claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAYTON HYUN JIN BARKER/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795