DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to an amendment filed 8/17/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bok et al. (U.S. 2021/0200366 A1; “Bok”).
Regarding claim 1, Bok discloses a display device comprising:
A first pixel unit comprising a first sensor (first sensor pixel of the “sensor pixels”, [0435]); and
A second pixel unit comprising a second sensor (second sensor pixel of the “sensor pixels”, [0435]),
Wherein the first sensor (within first sensor pixel of the “sensor pixels”, [0435]; [0521]) comprises:
A first light receiving element (PD, Fig. 15 of first sensor pixel) comprising a first-first electrode (PCE, Fig. 15 of first sensor pixel) ([0540]);
A first-first transistor (RT1, Fig. 15 of first sensor pixel) connected to the first light receiving element (PD, Fig. 15 of first sensor pixel) ([0522]); and
A first connecting electrode (ANDE2, Fig. 15 of first sensor pixel) connecting the first-first electrode (PCE, Fig. 15 of first sensor pixel) of the first light receiving element (PD, Fig. 15 of first sensor pixel) to the first-first transistor (RT1, Fig. 15 of first sensor pixel), and extending in a first direction from a first connection point with the first light receiving element ([0536], [0543]), and
Wherein the second sensor (within second sensor pixel of the “sensor pixels”, [0435]; [0521]) comprises:
A second light receiving element (PD, Fig. 15 of second sensor pixel) comprising a first-second electrode (PCE, Fig. 15 of second sensor pixel) ([0540]);
A first-second transistor (RT1, Fig. 15 of second sensor pixel) connected to the second light receiving element (PD, Fig. 15 of second sensor pixel) ([0522]); and
A second connecting electrode (ANDE2, Fig. 15 of second sensor pixel) connecting the first-second electrode (PCE, Fig. 15 of second sensor pixel) of the second light receiving element (PD, Fig. 15 of second sensor pixel) to the first-second transistor (RT1, Fig. 15 of second sensor pixel), and extending in a first direction from a second connection point with the second light receiving element ([0536], [0543]), and
Regarding claim 2, Bok discloses a length of the first connecting electrode (ANDE2, Fig. 15 of first sensor pixel) and a length of the second connecting electrode (ANDE2, Fig. 15 of second sensor pixel) are equal to each other (Fig. 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok et al. (U.S. 2021/0200366 A1; “Bok”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of You et al. (U.S. 2021/0280569 A1; “You”).
Regarding claim 14, Bok discloses a first pixel unit (first sensor pixel of the “sensor pixels”, [0435]) and a second pixel unit (second sensor pixel of the “sensor pixels”, [0435]) but does not disclose they are located along a diagonal direction. However, You discloses a first pixel unit and a second pixel unit which are located along a first diagonal direction (See Examiner Annotated Fig. 2A). This has the advantage of increasing density of sensor pixel units to increase overall device performance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Bok with the first pixel unit and the second pixel unit located along a diagonal direction, as taught by You, so as to increase overall device performance.
Incorporating the diagonal direction locations of the first pixel unit and the second pixel unit, as taught by You, into the first pixel unit and the second pixel unit of Bok would result in the first diagonal direction crossing the first direction and a second direction on a plane defined by a first direction and the second direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 are allowed.
Claims 3-13 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REEMA PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 10/6/2026