DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jacki Kornbluth (US20200163993A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kornbluth describes a method of treating a subject with cancer comprising administering to said subject an NK cell exosome preparationt (see claim 11) and describes the cancer as leukemia (see claim 14).
Regarding claim 4, Kornbluth describes using allogeneic cells from peripheral blood (see 0050).
Regarding claim 5, Kornbluth describes using NK cell exosomes from a healthy donor (see claim 20).
Regarding claim 6, Kornbluth describes using fresh or frozen (preserved) NK-derived exosomes (see 0014 and Fig. 4).
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robert Seeger et. al. (JP2016535009A).
Regarding claims 1, Seeger teaches methods of treating cancer patients by administering an effective amount of a composition comprising exosomes comprising Fc receptors (see abstract) and teaches the exosomes to be from NK cells (see page 5, para. 5) and the cancer to be leukemia (see page 5, para. 7).
Regarding claims 3, 5 and 10, Seeger teaches “in one aspect, the composition further comprises an effective amount of autologous NK cells grown in vitro” (see page 6, para. 4) and teaches the cell to be from a healthy donor (see page 7, 1st para.).
Regarding claims 7-8, Seeger teaches wherein the leukemia can be ALL, AML, CLL, or CML (see page 6, last para.) and teaches the therapy is meant to induce remission specifically for leukemia remission (see page 6, para. 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 11, Seeger teaches “the inventors have found that highly cytotoxic NK cells derived from patients can be expanded in vitro, and that aNK cells release large amounts of exosomes when grown in vitro” and with the broadest reasonable interpretation this cell line that is expanded in vivo would be an NK-cell line when so broadly claimed.
Regarding claim 13-14, Seeger teaches “in some embodiments, the composition further comprises a therapeutic agent, including but not limited to chemotherapeutic agents, immunomodulators, or combinations thereof” (see page 5, last two para.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robert Seeger et. al. (JP2016535009A).
Regarding claims 1, Seeger teaches methods of treating cancer patients by administering an effective amount of a composition comprising exosomes comprising Fc receptors (see abstract) and teaches the exosomes to be from NK cells (see page 5, para. 5) and the cancer to be leukemia (see page 5, para. 7).
Regarding claim 2, Seeger teaches that exosomes derived from activated NK cells express CD64 according to various aspects of the invention. Western blot analysis: (1) isolated exosomes, or (2) 10 μg protein from NK cell lysate” (see page 10, 3rd para.).
Regarding claims 3, 5 and 10, Seeger teaches “in one aspect, the composition further comprises an effective amount of autologous NK cells grown in vitro” (see page 6, para. 4) and teaches the cell to be from a healthy donor (see page 7, 1st para.).
Regarding claims 7-8, Seeger teaches wherein the leukemia can be ALL, AML, CLL, or CML (see page 6, last para.) and teaches the therapy is meant to induce remission specifically for leukemia remission (see page 6, para. 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 11, Seeger teaches “the inventors have found that highly cytotoxic NK cells derived from patients can be expanded in vitro, and that aNK cells release large amounts of exosomes when grown in vitro” and with the broadest reasonable interpretation this cell line that is expanded in vivo would be an NK-cell line when so broadly claimed.
Regarding claim 13-14, Seeger teaches “in some embodiments, the composition further comprises a therapeutic agent, including but not limited to chemotherapeutic agents, immunomodulators, or combinations thereof” (see page 5, last two para.).
Seeger does not specifically teach the amount of exosome derived protein as being from 1 to 3 or 1 to 4 ug per treatment course however given the prior art this optimization is well within the purview of any skilled artisan.
Therefore it would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the effective amount of NK-derived exosomal protein at 1 to 3 or 1 to 4 ug per treatment as claimed. The NK-derived exosomes are the active components for treating leukemia and Seeger tests those components and determines at least 10 ug of protein to be within those components. Optimizing the amount would have been something that could have been done without any undue experimentation, especially as those are known as the effective variables which can alter whether the treatment is effective or not.
Conclusion
Currently no claims allowed.
JACOB A BOECKELMANExaminer, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655