DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 11, 13-14, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US 2010/0212926).
Regarding claim 1, Cho et al. disclose a cable, comprising:
a first conductor (21) formed to include a first self-passivating metal (aluminum, paragraph 0046);
a second conductor (25) formed to include a second self-passivating metal (aluminum, paragraph 0047); and
an offset structure (23) disposed between the first conductor and the second conductor, the offset structure between the first conductor and the second conductor along a length of the cable.
Cho et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the offset structure configured to enable a medium to contact first conductor and the second conductor along a length of the cable. However, Cho et al. disclose the offset structure (23) formed a plurality of porous cells (paragraph 0050).
This feature is seen to be an inherent teaching since the porous cells was disclosed. One skill in the art understood that the porous cells for enabling a medium to enter through.
Regarding claim 3, Cho et al. disclose the first conductor is at least partially surrounded by the offset structure, wherein the offset structure is at least partially surrounded by the second conductor, and wherein the offset structure includes one or more openings configured to enable the medium to contact the first conductor and the second conductor.
Regarding claim 4, Cho et al. disclose the offset structure has an open cell structure including a plurality of cells, wherein each cell includes two or more openings which are configured to interface with two or more of another cell, the first conductor, or the second conductor.
Regarding claim 5, Cho et al. disclose the offset structure is configured to maintain a constant distance between the first conductor and the second conductor.
Regarding claim 11, the method claim is deemed inherence by the apparatus claims. Specifically, one skill in the art understood that Cho et al. disclose a method of forming a cable, comprising:
forming a first conductor to include a first self-passivating metal;
forming a second conductor to include a second self-passivating metal; and
forming an offset structure to be disposed between the first conductor and the second conductor and formed to maintain a constant distance between the first conductor and the second conductor, wherein
the offset structure is configured to enable a medium to contact the first conductor and the second conductor along a length of the cable.
Regarding claim 13, Cho et al. disclose the first conductor is at least partially surrounded by the offset structure, wherein the offset structure is at least partially surrounded by the second conductor, and wherein the offset structure is formed to include one or more openings configured to enable the medium to contact the first conductor and the second conductor.
Regarding claim 14, Cho et al. disclose the offset structure is formed to have an open cell structure including a plurality of cells, wherein each cell includes two or more openings which are configured to interface with two or more of another cell, the first conductor, or the second conductor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2010/0212926) in view of Amidon et al. (US 2012/0289079).
Regarding claims 10 and 16, Cho et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention (same as the cable of claim 1) except for the cable is for a first and second connector.
Amidon teaches a coaxial cable for connectors with pin (146) held by an insulator (150) in the body (142).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide connectors into Cho’s cable, as taught by Bies for transmitting data signal.
Regarding claim 17, in the modified cable connection system, Amidon discloses each of the first contact insulator and the second contact insulator is formed to include a dielectric material having a dielectric constant which is approximately equal to a dielectric constant of the medium.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2010/0212926) in view of Zin et al. (CN 101051539).
Cho et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the offset structure has a helical shape.
Zin et al. teach an offset structure (2) has a helical shape.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a helical shape into Cho’s offset structure, as taught by Zin et al. for compactness and strength load distribution along the cable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834