DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 11, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimata et al. (USPN 11,183,154) in view of Nilsson et al. (USPN 10,439,703).
Regarding claim 1, Kimata teaches a wireless media device comprising: a signal processing device configured to process an image signal or an audio signal [Abstract, process display image signals for transmission]; and a transceiver device configured to wirelessly transmit a signal from the signal processing device to a display device [Col. 4, lines 23-55, wirelessly transmits image signals to a display device].
However, Kimata does not teach the transceiver device is configured to select a beam candidate group based on link quality between the wireless media device and the display device, manage the beam candidate group, and perform beam selection based on a plurality of candidate beams in the beam candidate group.
Nilsson teaches the transceiver device is configured to select a beam candidate group based on link quality between the wireless media device and the display device, manage the beam candidate group, and perform beam selection based on a plurality of candidate beams in the beam candidate group [Col. 6, line 56 – Col. 7, line 28, beam selection is done based on the link quality requirement and other parameters].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a display device wireless transmit signals to a display device based on the link quality of beamforming so that images can be displayed wirelessly using the best link quality.
Regarding claim 2, Nilsson teaches periodically measure the link quality of the plurality of candidate beams in the beam candidate group and update the plurality of candidate beams in the beam candidate group based on the measured link quality [Col. 8, lines 30-54, updates link quality based on changes in the conditions].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to periodically measure the link quality and update the beams based on link quality so that degradation is signal can be adjusted.
Regarding claim 3, Nilsson teaches performing the beam selection within the beam candidate group in case in which there is a valid beam among the plurality of candidate beams in the beam candidate group or in case in which measured link quality is greater than or equal to a reference value [Col. 6, line 56 – Col. 7, line 28, selects beam with link quality greater than the threshold value].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select beam with link quality of greater than or equal to a reference value so that proper communication can be done via achieved link quality.
Regarding claim 4, Nilsson teaches perform the beam selection based on a best beam in case in which link quality measured for the plurality of candidate beams in the beam candidate group is less than a reference value [Col. 6, line 56 – Col. 7, line 28, selects beam with link quality less than the threshold value based on needed parameters].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select beam with link quality of less than a reference value so that proper communication can be done based on needed parameters.
Regarding claim 6, Nilsson teaches managing the beam candidate group through beam grouping [Col. 7, lines 4-31, beams are grouped].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have beam grouping so that optimal beams can be selected from the beam grouping.
Regarding claim 7, Nilsson teaches identifying a plurality of regions for the beam candidate group, select candidate beams from some of the plurality of regions, and manage the selected candidate beams [Col. 7, lines 4-31, plurality of beam regions are identified].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention identify plurality of regions for the beam so that optimal beams can be selected from the beam regions.
Regarding claim 11, Nilsson teaches selecting a candidate beam having a highest measured link quality in the beam candidate group in case in which there is a valid beam in the plurality of candidate beams in the beam candidate group and measured link quality is greater than or equal to a reference value [Col. 6, line 56 – Col. 7, line 28, selects beam with link quality greater than the threshold value].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select beam with link quality of greater than or equal to a reference value so that proper communication can be done via achieved link quality.
Regarding claim 17, Kimata teaches a wireless media device comprising: a signal processing device configured to process an image signal or an audio signal [Abstract, process display image signals for transmission]; and a transceiver device configured to wirelessly transmit a signal from the signal processing device to a display device [Col. 4, lines 23-55, wirelessly transmits image signals to a display device]
However, Kimata does not teach the transceiver device is configured to identify a plurality of regions for a beam candidate group based on link quality between the wireless media device and the display device, select candidate beams from some of the plurality of regions, and manage the selected candidate beams.
Nilsson teaches the transceiver device is configured to identify a plurality of regions for a beam candidate group based on link quality between the wireless media device and the display device, select candidate beams from some of the plurality of regions, and manage the selected candidate beams [Col. 6, line 56 – Col. 7, line 28, beam selection is done based on the link quality requirement and other parameters].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a display device wireless transmit signals to a display device based on the link quality of beamforming so that images can be displayed wirelessly using the best link quality.
Regarding claim 19, Kimata teaches an image display apparatus comprising: a display device [Fig. 1, 40, display device]; and a wireless media device configured to wirelessly communicate with the display device, wherein the wireless media device comprises: a signal processing device configured to process an image signal or an audio signal [Abstract, process display image signals for transmission]; and a transceiver device configured to wirelessly transmit a signal from the signal processing device to a display device [Col. 4, lines 23-55, wirelessly transmits image signals to a display device].
However, Kimata does not teach the transceiver device is configured to select a beam candidate group based on link quality between the wireless media device and the display device, manage the beam candidate group, and perform beam selection based on a plurality of candidate beams in the beam candidate group.
Nilsson teaches the transceiver device is configured to select a beam candidate group based on link quality between the wireless media device and the display device, manage the beam candidate group, and perform beam selection based on a plurality of candidate beams in the beam candidate group [Col. 6, line 56 – Col. 7, line 28, beam selection is done based on the link quality requirement and other parameters].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a display device wireless transmit signals to a display device based on the link quality of beamforming so that images can be displayed wirelessly using the best link quality.
Regarding claim 20, Nilsson teaches identifying a plurality of regions for a beam candidate group based on the link quality between the wireless media device and the display device, select candidate beams from some of the plurality of regions, and manage the selected candidate beams [Col. 6, line 56 – Col. 7, line 28, beam selection is done based on the link quality requirement and other parameters].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify beam regions based on link quality so that appropriate beam can be selected based on the needed operating parameters.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8-10, 12-16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Landstrom et al. (USPN 11,990,973) teaches obtaining an angle spread value for signal paths towards a radio transceiver device e.g. user equipment. A beam management procedure is performed for selecting which directional beam to use for communication with the device by transmitting or receiving reference signals in a candidate set of directional beams, where which directional beams to include in the candidate set is dependent on the angle spread by determining sparsity of the directional beams in the set.
Petersson et al. (USPN 10,681,674) teaches selecting a particular beam based on first and second reference signal measurements, where the particular beam is not included in a first set of beams. The particular beam is utilized for transmission or reception of data. The particular beam is selected based on the first and second reference signal measurements. The first and second reference signal measurements are utilized to choose the particular beam from a second set of pre-configured beams.
Petersson et al. (USPN 10,219,268) teaches receiving, using a first beam, a current transmission resource from an access node using a first transmission format, and transmitting an indicator to the access node to use second transmission format for a later transmission resource to be transmitted to a wireless radio transceiver device. The later transmission resource is received at least partly using a candidate beam that is different from the first beam.
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464