Claim Interpretation
During patent examination, pending claims must be “given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.” MPEP 2111; See also, MPEP 2173.02. Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969). See also, In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321-22, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“During patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow”). The reason is simply that during patent prosecution when claims can be amended, ambiguities should be recognized, scope and breadth of language explored, and clarification imposed. An essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.
The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicant in preparing responses, to consider fully the entirety of the reference(s) as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: an inappropriate period after pane. Claims should have only one period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: lacking punctuation after the fourth element, ending with the term display. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0082132 A1 to Marruchella et al. (hereinafter Marruchella) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0331550 A1 to Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang).
With regards to claim 1, Marruchella discloses:
1. An apparatus, comprising:
a display (see Fig. 1, and detailed description, including, the workstations 14, may provide a graphical depiction of the process control routines within the controller 12 to a user illustrating the control elements within the process control routine and the manner in which these control elements are configured to provide control of the process plant16, interpretated as the workstation includes a display, para. 0037);
an input device, the input device comprises a pointing device (see, detailed description, including, any pointing device such as a mouse, para. 0087);
display logic coupled with the display and the input device (see, detailed description, including, a user may operate a batch operator interface ("BOI") 32 to define recipes, create batches executing the recipes, and control batch execution, para. 0041);
the display logic is operable to cause a visual representation of a phase of a procedure to be output on the display (see, Fig. 2, and detailed description, including, illustrates the process plant 16 of FIG. 1 from the perspective of equipment organization (according to a logical or geographic principle, for example) and equipment arbitration, para. 0047);
the display logic is operable to receive data from the input device (see, Fig. 2, and as above, including, the process plant 16 includes one or more areas 54, one or more resources 56, and one or more resource users 60. The areas 54 represent a logical and/or physical organization of the process plant 16, the resources 56 and the resource users 60, para. 0047);
the display logic is operable to cause a visual representation of an add transition icon to appear on the display (see, as above, and detailed description, including, the phase 404 may specify a temperature to which the material processed in the equipment phase 412 should be heated, or the number minutes a mixer in the equipment phases 412 should operate upon the mix of ingredients prepared during the previous phase 402, para. 0073); and
the display logic is operable to accept data representative of a new transition responsive to receiving data from the input device indicating selection of the add transition icon by the input device (see, as above, and detailed description, including, the equipment phase 412 may report a single output or report parameter 414 or multiple output or report parameters 414 during runtime or upon completion of the equipment phase 412. To continue with the examples above, the output parameter may be an average of temperature measurements collected during the execution of the equipment phase 412 or the number of gallons produced by the mixer in the equipment phase 412, para. 0073).
Marruchella fails to explicitly disclose:
the display logic is operable to determine from data received from the input device that the input device is hovering over the phase.
Wang discloses: the display logic is operable to determine from data received from the input device that the input device is hovering over the phase (see, Fig. 28, and detailed description, including, the variable-selection object may acknowledge a hover as a first acknowledged selection, but may require a double click, touch, or tap to acknowledge a second selection, para. 0066).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, and having the teachings of Marruchella and Wang before her, to be motivated to employ the features from Wang with Marruchella, including, the display logic is operable to determine from data received from the input device that the input device is hovering over the phase (see, Fig. 28, and detailed description, including, the variable-selection object may acknowledge a hover as a first acknowledged selection, but may require a double click, touch, or tap to acknowledge a second selection, para. 0066).
Therefore, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art1.
With regards to claim 2, Marruchella fails to explicitly disclose:
2. The apparatus set forth in claim 1, further comprising:
the display logic is operable to determining the input device is hovering over the phase
to cause a visual representation of an edit step parameters icon to appear on the display,
the display logic is operable to allow a step parameter associated with the phase to be edited responsive to receiving data from the input device indicating selection of
the edit step parameters icon by the input device.
Wang discloses:
The apparatus set forth in claim 1, further comprising:
the display logic is operable to determining the input device is hovering over the phase
to cause a visual representation of an edit step parameters icon to appear on the display, (see, detailed description, including, include apparatus and processes that implement one or more variable-selection objects. In some embodiments, a variable-selection object is an object that varies an input required to acknowledge an attempted selection of the object based the number of previous acknowledged selections, para. 0066);
the display logic is operable to allow a step parameter associated with the phase to be edited responsive to receiving data from the input device indicating selection of
the edit step parameters icon by the input device (see, as above, and detailed description, including, the variable-selection object may require input matching a predefined shape or pattern to acknowledge a selection. In some examples, the input required to acknowledge an attempted selection may be referred to as a selection input requirement, para. 0066).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, and having the teachings of Marruchella and Wang before her, to be motivated to employ the features from Wang with Marruchella, including, the input device is hovering over the phase to cause a visual representation of an edit step parameters icon to appear on the display, (see, detailed description, including, include apparatus and processes that implement one or more variable-selection objects. In some embodiments, a variable-selection object is an object that varies an input required to acknowledge an attempted selection of the object based the number of previous acknowledged selections, para. 0066);
the display logic is operable to allow a step parameter associated with the phase to be edited responsive to receiving data from the input device indicating selection of
the edit step parameters icon by the input device (see, as above, and detailed description, including, the variable-selection object may require input matching a predefined shape or pattern to acknowledge a selection. In some examples, the input required to acknowledge an attempted selection may be referred to as a selection input requirement, para. 0066).
Therefore, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art2.
With regards to claim 3, Marruchella fails to explicitly disclose:
3. The apparatus set forth in claim 2, further comprising:
the display logic is operable to determine from data received from the input device that
the input device is hovering over a transition;
the display logic is operable to cause a visual representation of an add step icon to appear on the display; and
the display logic is operable to accept data representative of a new step responsive to receiving data from the input device indicating selection of the add step icon by the input device.
Wang discloses:
The apparatus set forth in claim 2, further comprising:
the display logic is operable to determine from data received from the input device that the input device is hovering over a transition (see, Fig. 28, and detailed description, including, For example, the variable-selection object may acknowledge a mouse click, a touch, or a tap as a selection where the variable-selection object has not previously detected an attempted selection. Continuing this example, the variable-selection object may further acknowledge a subsequent mouse click, touch, or tap as a selection only if the subsequent mouse click, touch, or tap is held for a predetermined duration. Alternatively, the variable-selection object may acknowledge a hover as a first acknowledged selection, but may require a double click, touch, or tap to acknowledge a second selection. In other examples, as described further below with reference to FIG. 28, para. 0066);
the display logic is operable to cause a visual representation of an add step icon to appear on the display (see, Fig. 13, and detailed description, including, execution process 1300 in accord with the embodiments disclosed herein. As illustrated in FIG. 13, the execution process 1300 may include any number of distinct execution segments. The execution process 1300 begins at 130, para. 0154); and
the display logic is operable to accept data representative of a new step responsive to
receiving data from the input device indicating selection of the add step icon by the input device (see, Fig. 13, and detailed description, including, execution process 1300 in accord with the embodiments disclosed herein. As illustrated in FIG. 13, the execution process 1300 may include any number of distinct execution segments. The execution process 1300 begins at 130, para. 0154).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, and having the teachings of Marruchella and Wang before her, to be motivated to employ the features from Wang with Marruchella, including, the input device is hovering over a transition (see, Fig. 28, and detailed description, including, For example, the variable-selection object may acknowledge a mouse click, a touch, or a tap as a selection where the variable-selection object has not previously detected an attempted selection. Continuing this example, the variable-selection object may further acknowledge a subsequent mouse click, touch, or tap as a selection only if the subsequent mouse click, touch, or tap is held for a predetermined duration. Alternatively, the variable-selection object may acknowledge a hover as a first acknowledged selection, but may require a double click, touch, or tap to acknowledge a second selection. In other examples, as described further below with reference to FIG. 28, para. 0066);
the display logic is operable to cause a visual representation of an add step icon to appear on the display (see, Fig. 13, and detailed description, including, execution process 1300 in accord with the embodiments disclosed herein. As illustrated in FIG. 13, the execution process 1300 may include any number of distinct execution segments. The execution process 1300 begins at 130, para. 0154); and
the display logic is operable to accept data representative of a new step responsive to
receiving data from the input device indicating selection of the add step icon by the input device (see, Fig. 13, and detailed description, including, execution process 1300 in accord with the embodiments disclosed herein. As illustrated in FIG. 13, the execution process 1300 may include any number of distinct execution segments. The execution process 1300 begins at 130, para. 0154) .
the display logic is operable to allow a step parameter associated with the phase to be edited responsive to receiving data from the input device indicating selection of
the edit step parameters icon by the input device (see, as above, and detailed description, including, the variable-selection object may require input matching a predefined shape or pattern to acknowledge a selection. In some examples, the input required to acknowledge an attempted selection may be referred to as a selection input requirement, para. 0066).
Therefore, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art3.
With regards to claim 6, Marruchella discloses:
6. The apparatus set forth in claim 3, wherein the add transition icon comprises a plus sign (see, Fig. 1, indicating a “plus” sign, “+”, for item 257, and detailed description, including, the transition 257 may be set to Boolean "true" in order to affect transition, para. 0056).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, and having the teachings of Marruchella and Wang before her, to be motivated to employ the features from Wang with Marruchella, including, the add transition icon comprises a plus sign (see, Fig. 1, indicating a “plus” sign, “+”, for item 257, and detailed description, including, the transition 257 may be set to Boolean "true" in order to affect transition, para. 0056).
Therefore, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art4.
With regards to claim 8, Marruchella discloses:
8. The apparatus set forth in claim 3, wherein the add step icon comprises a plus sign (see, Fig. 1, and item 257, each of the process steps may require a user (e.g., an operator) to define one or more input/output (I/O) batch parameter values that are used during the execution of a batch to control the sequence and/or timing of equipment operations, with the inclusion of a plus sign, para. 0004).
With regards to claim 9, Marruchella discloses:
9. The apparatus set forth in claim 1, wherein the pointing device is a mouse (see, detailed description, including, each predefined set may acquire an easily recognizable visual indicator such as an icon, for example, and may be available in a certain pane for selection with any pointing device such as a mouse, para. 0087)
With regards to claim 10, Marruchella discloses:
10. The apparatus set forth in claim 1, wherein the display comprises a recipe construction pane and a location pane. wherein the location pane displays a visual representation of a location in the procedure that is being displayed in the recipe construction pane (see, Fig. 1, indicating a “plus” sign, “+”, for item 257, and detailed description, including, the transition 257 may be set to Boolean "true" in order to affect the transition, and is interpreted to represent the location in the procedure that is being displayed in the recipe construction pane, para. 0056).
Claim(s) 4-5, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0082132 A1 to Marruchella et al. (hereinafter Marruchella) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0331550 A1 to Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang) and further in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 201103031725 to, Kline Jr.(hereinafter Kline).
With regard to claim 4, neither Marruchella nor Wang disclose:
4. The apparatus set forth in claim 3, wherein the visual representation of the add transition icon at least partially overlaps the visual representation of the phase.
Kline discloses:
The apparatus set forth in claim 3, wherein the visual representation of the add transition icon at least partially overlaps the visual representation of the phase (see, Fig. 6, and detailed description, including, lower level sequences are represented as smaller bars contained within the larger bars. In general, the longer a bar, the longer a sequence is expected to run. Transitions, such as transitions 52, 54, 56, and 58, are represented as shaded narrow bars. It is to be understood that other visualizations may be used, for example flashing bars to denote transitions currently executing, colored bars to denote synchronized transitions, and so forth. The visualization group 86 may be displayed by a software tool, para. 0040).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, and having the teachings of Marruchella and Wang and Kline before her, to be motivated to employ the features from Kline with Wang and Marruchella, including, lower level sequences are represented as smaller bars contained within the larger bars. In general, the longer a bar, the longer a sequence is expected to run. Transitions, such as transitions 52, 54, 56, and 58, are represented as shaded narrow bars. It is to be understood that other visualizations may be used, for example flashing bars to denote transitions currently executing, colored bars to denote synchronized transitions, and so forth. The visualization group 86 may be displayed by a software tool, para. 0040).
Therefore, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art5.
With regard to claim 5, neither Marruchella nor Wang disclose:
5. The apparatus set forth in claim 3, wherein the visual representation of the edit step parameter icon at least partially overlaps the visual representation of the phase.
Kline discloses:
The apparatus set forth in claim 3, wherein the visual representation of the edit step parameter icon at least partially overlaps the visual representation of the phase (see, detailed description, including, a user action such as a double-click or some other similar mechanism may be used by the software tool to view and/or edit any item in the group, including transition expressions (i.e., the logic expressions defining a transition). Additionally, a sequence may be visualized that indicates "grouped" transitions by depicting a link between the transitions. In one embodiment, such a link may include a vertical link that displays the links and transitions as "lined-up" with the vertical links representing that the transitions should fire at the same time, para. 0040).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, and having the teachings of Marruchella and Wang and Kline before her, to be motivated to employ the features from Kline with Wang and Marruchella, including, the visual representation of the edit step parameter icon at least partially overlaps the visual representation of the phase (see, detailed description, including, a user action such as a double-click or some other similar mechanism may be used by the software tool to view and/or edit any item in the group, including transition expressions (i.e., the logic expressions defining a transition). Additionally, a sequence may be visualized that indicates "grouped" transitions by depicting a link between the transitions. In one embodiment, such a link may include a vertical link that displays the links and transitions as "lined-up" with the vertical links representing that the transitions should fire at the same time, para. 0040).
Therefore, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art6.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0082132 A1 to Marruchella et al. (hereinafter Marruchella) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0331550 A1 to Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang) and further in view U.S. Patent Application No. 2009/0089674 A1 to Silvestro et al. (hereinafter Silvestro).
With regards to claim 7, neither Marruchella nor Wang disclose:
7. The apparatus set forth in claim 3, wherein the edit step parameter comprises a pencil.
Silvestro discloses:
The apparatus set forth in claim 3, wherein the edit step parameter comprises a pencil, (see, Fig. 9, and detailed description, including, an exemplary GUI window 600 allows selecting a container to view an original, a pending edits or a test version of an SFC routine 602 in a view pane 604. An online view watermark 606 visually indicates whether this is original version (e.g., a document symbol), a pending edits as depicted (e.g., document symbol with an overlaid pencil), para. 0066).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, and having the teachings of Marruchella and Wang and Silvestro before her, to be motivated to employ the features from Silvestro with Wang and Marruchella, including, , an exemplary GUI window 600 allows selecting a container to view an original, a pending edits or a test version of an SFC routine 602 in a view pane 604. An online view watermark 606 visually indicates whether this is original version (e.g., a document symbol), a pending edits as depicted (e.g., document symbol with an overlaid pencil), para. 0066).
Therefore, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are allowed, with the objections to any claims fully addressed.
11. An apparatus, comprising:
a display;
an input device, the input device comprises a pointing device;
display logic coupled with the display and the input device;
the display logic is operable to cause a visual representation of a phase of a procedure
to be output on the display
the display logic is operable to receive data from the input device;
the display logic is operable to receive a predefined input a request to add a comment
to the phase from the pointing device;
the display logic is operable to cause a comment box to be displayed on the display and
obtain a comment to be added into the comment box via the input device; and
the comment is stored with a link to a phase and a visual representation of a comment
icon appears on the phase.
12. The apparatus set forth in claim 11, further comprising:
the display logic receiving data from the pointing device indicating that the visual
representation of the comment icon for the phase has been selected; and
the display logic is operable to cause a comment linked to the phase to be displayed in
a comment pane.
13. The apparatus set forth in claim 11, further comprising:
the display logic is operable to receive data from the pointing device indicating the
visual representation of the comment icon for the phase has been selected; and
the display logic causes a plurality of comments to be displayed in the comment pane,
the plurality of comments includes the comment linked to the phase responsive
to receiving the data from the pointing device indicating the visual representation
of the comment icon for the phase has been selected.
14. The apparatus set forth in claim 13, further comprising:
the display logic is operable to receive data from the pointing device indicating a
selected comment was selected from the plurality of comments; and
the display logic is operable to display a selected phase that is linked to the selected
comment in the recipe window.
15. The apparatus set forth in claim 13, wherein the display further comprises a location pane. wherein the location pane displays a visual representation of a location in the procedure that is being displayed in the recipe construction pane.
16. An apparatus, comprising:
a display, the display is operable to display a vertical navigation bar, a parameter pane
and a recipe construction pane;
an input device, the input device comprises a pointing device;
display logic coupled with the display and the input device;
the display logic is operable to receive data from the input device;
the display logic is operable to cause a visual representation of a recipe element to be
output in the recipe construction pane;
the display logic is operable to receive an edit recipe parameters input from the pointing
device;
the display logic is operable to cause parameters for the recipe element to be displayed
in the parameter pane in response to receiving the edit parameters input;
the display logic is operable to receive a predefined defer input for a selected
parameter for the recipe element from the input device;
the display logic is operable to automatically display a visual representation of available
levels that have a matching data type for the selected parameter;
the display logic is operable to receiving a level selection input for the selected
parameter to cause a confirmation prompt to appear on the display;
the display logic is operable to receive an input from the input device via the
confirmation prompt confirming a deferment for the selected parameter to cause the parameter to defer to a level corresponding to the level selection input; and
the display logic upon confirmation of the deferment is operable to cause the parameter
to be deferred to a level that corresponds to the level selection input and display
a visual representation of the deferment.
17. The apparatus set forth in claim 16, wherein the predefined defer input comprises selecting predefined as an origin for the parameter.
18. The apparatus set forth in claim 16, further comprising:
the visual representation of available levels comprises a plurality of chip icons, where
one of the plurality of chip icons represents a current level and at least one of the
other plurality of chip icons that represent available levels for deferment of the
selected parameter;
the display logic is operable to cause the chip icon at the current level to be faded in
comparison with the at least one of the other plurality of chip icons that represent
available levels for deferment of the selected parameter while waiting for a level
selection input;
the level selection input comprises selecting a chip icon from the at least one of the
other plurality of chip icons for a selected level;
the display logic is operable to cause a value for the selected parameter to defer to the
level of the at selected level; and
the display logic is operable to provide a visual representing of the deferment.
19. The apparatus set forth in claim 16, wherein the display further comprises a location pane. wherein the location pane displays a visual representation of a location in the procedure that is being displayed in the recipe construction pane.
20. The apparatus set forth in claim 16, further comprising
the display logic responsive to the predefined input to cause an add parameter prompt
to appear;
the display logic is operable to receive from the input device data representative of an
added parameter responsive to receiving the predefined input; and
the display logic is operable to receiving a defer selection as an origin for the added
parameter to cause added parameter to be the selected parameter.
A sampling of the prior art made of record and not relied upon and considered
pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure, includes: U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0282150 A1 to Wagner, that discusses, The device (305) has processors coupled to a memory device and displaying a user-selectable item. The processors display a user interface object with the user-selectable item upon receiving a gesture directed to the user-selectable item and modify visual attribute of the displayed user interface object upon receiving another gesture directed to the user-selectable item that causes state of the user-selectable item to be changed from first state to second state based upon the second state of the user-selectable item, where the latter gesture is different from the former gesture.
Conclusion
WILLIAM D. TITCOMB
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/WILLIAM D TITCOMB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 5-28-2026
1 1 KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385 (2007).
2 1 KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385 (2007).
3 1 KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385 (2007).
4 1 KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385 (2007).
5 1 KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385 (2007).
6 1 KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385 (2007).
7 1 KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385 (2007).