DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to the amendment filed on 11/03/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 9, 16 and 19 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirpal et al. (US 20130079062 A1, hereinafter Sirpal) in view of Kitatani (US 20130293502 A1, hereinafter Kitatani).
As to claim 1, Sirpal discloses a window display method, applied to an electronic device and comprising:
displaying, by the electronic device, a first window and a second window, wherein a screen direction of the electronic device is a first direction, wherein the screen direction is one of a portrait direction, a landscape direction, a reverse portrait direction, and a reverse landscape direction, and wherein a display direction of the first window is the first direction ("In this configuration, the device 100 may display one application window in one display 110 or 114, two application windows (one in each display 110 and 114), one application window and one desktop, or one desktop," Sirpal paragraph 0163; "Thus, for example, one display can present a portrait display orientation while the other presents a landscape display orientation. For example, as provided in FIG. 7B, a primary screen display 701 may be presented in a first display mode, such as a portrait mode P.sub.1, and another secondary screen display 711 may be presented in a second display mode, such as landscape mode L.sub.1. Both screens may also be presented in the same display mode, for example in a portrait mode, as provided in FIG. 7A. In FIG. 7A, both screens are presented in portrait mode, that is primary screen 701 in portrait mode P.sub.1 and secondary screen 702 in portrait mode P.sub.2," Sirpal paragraph 0171; "The two most common types of display orientation are portrait and landscape. In landscape mode, the display is oriented such that the width of the display is greater than the height of the display (such as a 4:3 ratio, which is 4 units wide and 3 units tall, or a 16:9 ratio, which is 16 units wide and 9 units tall). Stated differently, the longer dimension of the display is oriented substantially horizontal in landscape mode while the shorter dimension of the display is oriented substantially vertical. In the portrait mode, by contrast, the display is oriented such that the width of the display is less than the height of the display. Stated differently, the shorter dimension of the display is oriented substantially horizontal in the portrait mode while the longer dimension of the display is oriented substantially vertical," Sirpal paragraph 0016, can display two application windows side by side); and
when detecting that the screen direction of the electronic device changes from the first direction to a second direction, keeping, by the electronic device, a display direction of the second window unchanged, and rotating, by the electronic device, the first window, wherein the display direction of the first window after the rotating is the second direction ("A multi-screen device 100 can receive device state information in step 808. This step is as described in step 808 of FIG. 8. In step 908, display preferences (such as display orientation characteristics, e.g. display mode such as portrait or landscape), and/or display requirements, for each application are received. For example, a user could input, as provided in FIG. 7B, a preference request that the application 'App9' be presented in a first display mode, such as a portrait mode P.sub.1, and another application 'App10' be presented in a second display mode, such as landscape mode L.sub.1. The user could also input, for example, a preference request that App9 be locked in portrait mode, such that independent of the orientation of the device 100, App9 always presents itself in portrait mode. In embodiments, the user input for application preferences (to include, for example, locked or unlocked, and portrait or landscape)," Sirpal paragraph 0180; "The device 100 is further configured to independently manage and configure each display independently of the orientation of the device 100, subject to inputs from one or both of the user and applications running on the device 100. For example, upon rotation of the device, each screen display may be configured to maintain (or lock) its orientation or may be configured to allow its orientation to change (an unlocked configuration). The display orientation characteristics are based on the user's desires and/or requirements of any hosted application," Sirpal paragraph 0172, can keep one app locked to a particular orientation while the other can be unlocked and thus rotated when the device is rotated).
However Sirpal does not appear to explicitly disclose a first window and a second window on a same screen of the electronic device.
Kitatani teaches a first window and a second window on a same screen of the electronic device (“In FIG. 1, display apparatus 1 includes display surface 100 that displays various display information such as text information and image information,” Kitatani paragraph 0029; “For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6, assume that display control section 14 displays windows 601 and 602 as display information on display surface 100. At this time, for example, when a touch is detected by touch panel 12, display lock detecting section 15 outputs a display lock command which has the effect of performing a display lock on an active window (assumed to be window 602) to display control section 14. When the display lock command is received, display control section 14 performs a display lock on the active window,” Kitatani paragraph 0076; “In this case, as illustrated in FIG. 6, when display apparatus 1 is moved in such a manner that the apparatus orientation satisfies the change condition, the output format of the active window 602 is not changed but the output format of window 601 other than window 602 is changed,” Kitatani paragraph 0077; Kitatani Figure 6, a single screen with 2 windows where one window is unchanged in direction while the other is changed after rotation).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sirpal to allow a window rotation lock on a single screen as taught by Kitatani. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that Sirpal’s rotation lock mechanism could support more kinds of devices thus enhancing the utility of the finished product.
As to claim 2, Sirpal as modified by Kitatani further discloses the window display method according to claim 1, wherein the first window is a floating window ("A multi-screen device 100 can receive device state information in step 808. This step is as described in step 808 of FIG. 8. In step 908, display preferences (such as display orientation characteristics, e.g. display mode such as portrait or landscape), and/or display requirements, for each application are received. For example, a user could input, as provided in FIG. 7B, a preference request that the application 'App9' be presented in a first display mode, such as a portrait mode P.sub.1, and another application 'App10' be presented in a second display mode, such as landscape mode L.sub.1. The user could also input, for example, a preference request that App9 be locked in portrait mode, such that independent of the orientation of the device 100, App9 always presents itself in portrait mode. In embodiments, the user input for application preferences (to include, for example, locked or unlocked, and portrait or landscape)," Sirpal paragraph 0180; "A task can be an application and a sub-task can be an application component that provides a window with which users can interact to do something, such as dial the phone, take a photo, send an email, or view a map. Each task may be given a window in which to draw a user interface. The window typically fills a display (for example, touch sensitive display 110,114), but may be smaller than the display 110,114 and float on top of other windows," Sirpal paragraph 0142, displaying a floating window on top of another window where orientation can be locked for either window based on the per-app orientation lock setting).
As to claim 3, Sirpal as modified by Kitatani further discloses the window display method according to claim 1, wherein the second window is a full-screen window ("FIG. 6I depicts yet another output configuration that may be accommodated while the device 100 is in an open portrait state 320. Specifically, the device 100 may be configured to present a single continuous image across both touch sensitive displays 110, 114 in a portrait configuration referred to herein as a Portrait-Max (PMax) configuration 624. In this configuration, data (e.g., a single image, application, window, icon, video, etc.) may be split and displayed partially on one of the touch sensitive displays while the other portion of the data is displayed on the other touch sensitive display. The Pmax configuration 624 may facilitate a larger display and/or better resolution for displaying a particular image on the device 100. Similar to other output configurations, it may be possible to transition the device 100 from the Pmax configuration 624 to any other output configuration described herein depending upon which state the device 100 is moved," Sirpal paragraph 0168; "A multi-screen device 100 can receive device state information in step 808. This step is as described in step 808 of FIG. 8. In step 908, display preferences (such as display orientation characteristics, e.g. display mode such as portrait or landscape), and/or display requirements, for each application are received. For example, a user could input, as provided in FIG. 7B, a preference request that the application "App9" be presented in a first display mode, such as a portrait mode P.sub.1, and another application "App10" be presented in a second display mode, such as landscape mode L.sub.1. The user could also input, for example, a preference request that App9 be locked in portrait mode, such that independent of the orientation of the device 100, App9 always presents itself in portrait mode. In embodiments, the user input for application preferences (to include, for example, locked or unlocked, and portrait or landscape)," Sirpal paragraph 0180; "A task can be an application and a sub-task can be an application component that provides a window with which users can interact to do something, such as dial the phone, take a photo, send an email, or view a map. Each task may be given a window in which to draw a user interface. The window typically fills a display (for example, touch sensitive display 110,114), but may be smaller than the display 110,114 and float on top of other windows," Sirpal paragraph 0142, displaying a window in full screen mode where orientation can be locked per-app).
As to claim 4, Sirpal as modified by Kitatani further discloses the window display method according to claim 1, wherein the second window and a third window are displayed by the electronic device on split screens ("In this configuration, the device 100 may display one application window in one display 110 or 114, two application windows (one in each display 110 and 114), one application window and one desktop, or one desktop," Sirpal paragraph 0163, can display two application windows side by side).
As to claim 5, Sirpal as modified by Kitatani further discloses the window display method according to claim 1, wherein rotating the first window comprises:
rotating the first window when determining that the first window meets a preset condition ("A multi-screen device 100 can receive device state information in step 808. This step is as described in step 808 of FIG. 8. In step 908, display preferences (such as display orientation characteristics, e.g. display mode such as portrait or landscape), and/or display requirements, for each application are received. For example, a user could input, as provided in FIG. 7B, a preference request that the application 'App9' be presented in a first display mode, such as a portrait mode P.sub.1, and another application 'App10' be presented in a second display mode, such as landscape mode L.sub.1. The user could also input, for example, a preference request that App9 be locked in portrait mode, such that independent of the orientation of the device 100, App9 always presents itself in portrait mode. In embodiments, the user input for application preferences (to include, for example, locked or unlocked, and portrait or landscape)," Sirpal paragraph 0180).
As to claim 6, Sirpal as modified by Kitatani further discloses the window display method according to claim 5, wherein the first window comprises a first control, wherein the first control comprises a closed state and an open state, and wherein determining that the first window meets the preset condition comprises: determining that the first control is in the open state, wherein the open state indicates that the first window is displayed based on the screen direction of the electronic device ("These interactions on the gesture capture region 120 can be detected, and an interrupt signal sent to the processor 204. Upon conducting the user interface actions, the touch sensitive display 110, on the primary screen 1105, may display a window 1130. The window 1130 can require further user interface interaction. In embodiments, the user may need to confirm the desire to switch to a lock mode from an unlock mode or vice versa by selecting user interface device 1135 in the touch sensitive display 110 of screen 1105. If the detection of the user interaction was incorrect, the user may select user interface device 1140 to cancel the lock/unlock of the application. FIG. 11 also depicts secondary screen 1115," Sirpal paragraph 0188; Sirpal Figure 11 1130 "Lock App9 Display" checkbox).
As to claim 8, Sirpal as modified by Kitatani further discloses the window display method according to claim 1, wherein the first window and the second window are windows of different applications ("The simultaneous presentation of the first portrait configuration 604 and the second portrait configuration 608 may occur when the device 100 is in an open portrait state 320. In this configuration, the device 100 may display one application window in one display 110 or 114, two application windows (one in each display 110 and 114), one application window and one desktop, or one desktop. Other configurations may be possible. It should be appreciated that it may also be possible to transition the device 100 from the simultaneous display of configurations 604, 608 to any other configuration described herein depending upon which state the device 100 is moved. Furthermore, while in this state, an application's display preference may place the device into bilateral mode, in which both displays are active to display different windows in the same application. For example, a Camera application may display a viewfinder and controls on one side, while the other side displays a mirrored preview that can be seen by the photo subjects. Games involving simultaneous play by two players may also take advantage of bilateral mode," Sirpal paragraph 0163, can display two windows in split screen view of the same app or can display two windows of two different apps).
As to claim 9, Sirpal discloses a window display method, applied to an electronic device and comprising:
displaying, by the electronic device, a first window, wherein a screen direction of the electronic device is a first direction, wherein the screen direction is one of a portrait direction, a landscape direction, a reverse portrait direction, and a reverse landscape direction, and wherein a display direction of the first window is the first direction ("In this configuration, the device 100 may display one application window in one display 110 or 114, two application windows (one in each display 110 and 114), one application window and one desktop, or one desktop," Sirpal paragraph 0163; "Thus, for example, one display can present a portrait display orientation while the other presents a landscape display orientation. For example, as provided in FIG. 7B, a primary screen display 701 may be presented in a first display mode, such as a portrait mode P.sub.1, and another secondary screen display 711 may be presented in a second display mode, such as landscape mode L.sub.1. Both screens may also be presented in the same display mode, for example in a portrait mode, as provided in FIG. 7A. In FIG. 7A, both screens are presented in portrait mode, that is primary screen 701 in portrait mode P.sub.1 and secondary screen 702 in portrait mode P.sub.2," Sirpal paragraph 0171; "The two most common types of display orientation are portrait and landscape. In landscape mode, the display is oriented such that the width of the display is greater than the height of the display (such as a 4:3 ratio, which is 4 units wide and 3 units tall, or a 16:9 ratio, which is 16 units wide and 9 units tall). Stated differently, the longer dimension of the display is oriented substantially horizontal in landscape mode while the shorter dimension of the display is oriented substantially vertical. In the portrait mode, by contrast, the display is oriented such that the width of the display is less than the height of the display. Stated differently, the shorter dimension of the display is oriented substantially horizontal in the portrait mode while the longer dimension of the display is oriented substantially vertical," Sirpal paragraph 0016, can display two application windows side by side); and
when opening a second window and displaying the second window in a preset display direction of the second window, keeping, by the electronic device, the display direction of the first window unchanged, wherein the preset display direction of the second window is different from the first direction, and wherein the second window is a non-floating window ("A multi-screen device 100 can receive device state information in step 808. This step is as described in step 808 of FIG. 8. In step 908, display preferences (such as display orientation characteristics, e.g. display mode such as portrait or landscape), and/or display requirements, for each application are received. For example, a user could input, as provided in FIG. 7B, a preference request that the application 'App9' be presented in a first display mode, such as a portrait mode P.sub.1, and another application 'App10' be presented in a second display mode, such as landscape mode L.sub.1. The user could also input, for example, a preference request that App9 be locked in portrait mode, such that independent of the orientation of the device 100, App9 always presents itself in portrait mode. In embodiments, the user input for application preferences (to include, for example, locked or unlocked, and portrait or landscape)," Sirpal paragraph 0180; "The device 100 is further configured to independently manage and configure each display independently of the orientation of the device 100, subject to inputs from one or both of the user and applications running on the device 100. For example, upon rotation of the device, each screen display may be configured to maintain (or lock) its orientation or may be configured to allow its orientation to change (an unlocked configuration). The display orientation characteristics are based on the user's desires and/or requirements of any hosted application," Sirpal paragraph 0172; “The Task Management module 540 is operable to manage the operation of one or more applications 564 that may be executed by the device. Thus, the Task Management module 540 can receive signals to launch, suspend, terminate, etc. an application or application sub-tasks stored in the application store 560,” Sirpal paragraph 0143, can keep one displayed app locked to a particular orientation while another app that is being launched can be set to unlocked and thus rotated when the device is rotated).
However Sirpal does not appear to explicitly disclose a first window and a second window on a same screen of the electronic device.
Kitatani teaches a first window and a second window on a same screen of the electronic device (“In FIG. 1, display apparatus 1 includes display surface 100 that displays various display information such as text information and image information,” Kitatani paragraph 0029; “For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6, assume that display control section 14 displays windows 601 and 602 as display information on display surface 100. At this time, for example, when a touch is detected by touch panel 12, display lock detecting section 15 outputs a display lock command which has the effect of performing a display lock on an active window (assumed to be window 602) to display control section 14. When the display lock command is received, display control section 14 performs a display lock on the active window,” Kitatani paragraph 0076; “In this case, as illustrated in FIG. 6, when display apparatus 1 is moved in such a manner that the apparatus orientation satisfies the change condition, the output format of the active window 602 is not changed but the output format of window 601 other than window 602 is changed,” Kitatani paragraph 0077; Kitatani Figure 6, a single screen with 2 windows where one window is unchanged in direction while the other is changed after rotation).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sirpal to allow a window rotation lock on a single screen as taught by Kitatani. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that Sirpal’s rotation lock mechanism could support more kinds of devices thus enhancing the utility of the finished product.
As to claim 10, Sirpal as modified by Kitatani further discloses the window display method according to claim 9, wherein the second window is a full-screen window ("FIG. 6I depicts yet another output configuration that may be accommodated while the device 100 is in an open portrait state 320. Specifically, the device 100 may be configured to present a single continuous image across both touch sensitive displays 110, 114 in a portrait configuration referred to herein as a Portrait-Max (PMax) configuration 624. In this configuration, data (e.g., a single image, application, window, icon, video, etc.) may be split and displayed partially on one of the touch sensitive displays while the other portion of the data is displayed on the other touch sensitive display. The Pmax configuration 624 may facilitate a larger display and/or better resolution for displaying a particular image on the device 100. Similar to other output configurations, it may be possible to transition the device 100 from the Pmax configuration 624 to any other output configuration described herein depending upon which state the device 100 is moved," Sirpal paragraph 0168; "A multi-screen device 100 can receive device state information in step 808. This step is as described in step 808 of FIG. 8. In step 908, display preferences (such as display orientation characteristics, e.g. display mode such as portrait or landscape), and/or display requirements, for each application are received. For example, a user could input, as provided in FIG. 7B, a preference request that the application "App9" be presented in a first display mode, such as a portrait mode P.sub.1, and another application "App10" be presented in a second display mode, such as landscape mode L.sub.1. The user could also input, for example, a preference request that App9 be locked in portrait mode, such that independent of the orientation of the device 100, App9 always presents itself in portrait mode. In embodiments, the user input for application preferences (to include, for example, locked or unlocked, and portrait or landscape)," Sirpal paragraph 0180; "A task can be an application and a sub-task can be an application component that provides a window with which users can interact to do something, such as dial the phone, take a photo, send an email, or view a map. Each task may be given a window in which to draw a user interface. The window typically fills a display (for example, touch sensitive display 110,114), but may be smaller than the display 110,114 and float on top of other windows," Sirpal paragraph 0142, displaying a window in full screen mode where orientation can be locked per-app).
As to claim 11, Sirpal as modified by Kitatani further discloses the window display method according to claim 9, wherein the second window is a split-screen window displayed on split screens with at least one of the first window or a third window ("In this configuration, the device 100 may display one application window in one display 110 or 114, two application windows (one in each display 110 and 114), one application window and one desktop, or one desktop," Sirpal paragraph 0163, can display two application windows side by side).
As to claim 12, Sirpal as modified by Kitatani further discloses the window display method according to claim 9, wherein the first window is a floating window ("A multi-screen device 100 can receive device state information in step 808. This step is as described in step 808 of FIG. 8. In step 908, display preferences (such as display orientation characteristics, e.g. display mode such as portrait or landscape), and/or display requirements, for each application are received. For example, a user could input, as provided in FIG. 7B, a preference request that the application 'App9' be presented in a first display mode, such as a portrait mode P.sub.1, and another application 'App10' be presented in a second display mode, such as landscape mode L.sub.1. The user could also input, for example, a preference request that App9 be locked in portrait mode, such that independent of the orientation of the device 100, App9 always presents itself in portrait mode. In embodiments, the user input for application preferences (to include, for example, locked or unlocked, and portrait or landscape)," Sirpal paragraph 0180; "A task can be an application and a sub-task can be an application component that provides a window with which users can interact to do something, such as dial the phone, take a photo, send an email, or view a map. Each task may be given a window in which to draw a user interface. The window typically fills a display (for example, touch sensitive display 110,114), but may be smaller than the display 110,114 and float on top of other windows," Sirpal paragraph 0142, displaying a floating window on top of another window where orientation can be locked for either window based on the per-app orientation lock setting).
As to claim 13, Sirpal as modified by Kitatani further discloses the window display method according to claim 9, wherein keeping the display direction of the first window unchanged comprises:
keeping the display direction of the first window unchanged when determining that the first window meets a preset condition ("A multi-screen device 100 can receive device state information in step 808. This step is as described in step 808 of FIG. 8. In step 908, display preferences (such as display orientation characteristics, e.g. display mode such as portrait or landscape), and/or display requirements, for each application are received. For example, a user could input, as provided in FIG. 7B, a preference request that the application 'App9' be presented in a first display mode, such as a portrait mode P.sub.1, and another application 'App10' be presented in a second display mode, such as landscape mode L.sub.1. The user could also input, for example, a preference request that App9 be locked in portrait mode, such that independent of the orientation of the device 100, App9 always presents itself in portrait mode. In embodiments, the user input for application preferences (to include, for example, locked or unlocked, and portrait or landscape)," Sirpal paragraph 0180;).
As to claim 14, Sirpal as modified by Kitatani further discloses the window display method according to claim 13, wherein the first window comprises a first control, wherein the first control comprises a closed state and an open state, and wherein determining that the first window meets the preset condition comprises: determining that the first control is in the open state, wherein the open state indicates that the first window is displayed based on the screen direction of the electronic device ("These interactions on the gesture capture region 120 can be detected, and an interrupt signal sent to the processor 204. Upon conducting the user interface actions, the touch sensitive display 110, on the primary screen 1105, may display a window 1130. The window 1130 can require further user interface interaction. In embodiments, the user may need to confirm the desire to switch to a lock mode from an unlock mode or vice versa by selecting user interface device 1135 in the touch sensitive display 110 of screen 1105. If the detection of the user interaction was incorrect, the user may select user interface device 1140 to cancel the lock/unlock of the application. FIG. 11 also depicts secondary screen 1115," Sirpal paragraph 0188; Sirpal Figure 11 1130 "Lock App9 Display" checkbox).
As to claim 15, Sirpal as modified by Kitatani further discloses the window display method according to claim 9, wherein the first window and the second window are windows of different applications ("The simultaneous presentation of the first portrait configuration 604 and the second portrait configuration 608 may occur when the device 100 is in an open portrait state 320. In this configuration, the device 100 may display one application window in one display 110 or 114, two application windows (one in each display 110 and 114), one application window and one desktop, or one desktop. Other configurations may be possible. It should be appreciated that it may also be possible to transition the device 100 from the simultaneous display of configurations 604, 608 to any other configuration described herein depending upon which state the device 100 is moved. Furthermore, while in this state, an application's display preference may place the device into bilateral mode, in which both displays are active to display different windows in the same application. For example, a Camera application may display a viewfinder and controls on one side, while the other side displays a mirrored preview that can be seen by the photo subjects. Games involving simultaneous play by two players may also take advantage of bilateral mode," Sirpal paragraph 0163, can display two windows in split screen view of the same app or can display two windows of two different apps).
As to claim 16, Sirpal discloses an electronic device, comprising:
at least one processor (“In yet another embodiment, the disclosed methods may be partially implemented in software that can be stored on a storage medium, executed on programmed general-purpose computer with the cooperation of a controller and memory, a special purpose computer, a microprocessor, or the like,” Sirpal paragraph 0195); and
a non-transitory computer readable medium storing computer-executable instructions for execution by the at least one processor to enable the electronic device to perform operations (“In yet another embodiment, the disclosed methods may be partially implemented in software that can be stored on a storage medium, executed on programmed general-purpose computer with the cooperation of a controller and memory, a special purpose computer, a microprocessor, or the like,” Sirpal paragraph 0195) comprising:
displaying a first window and a second window, wherein a screen direction of the electronic device is a first direction, wherein the screen direction is one of a portrait direction, a landscape direction, a reverse portrait direction, and a reverse landscape direction, and wherein a display direction of the first window is the first direction ("In this configuration, the device 100 may display one application window in one display 110 or 114, two application windows (one in each display 110 and 114), one application window and one desktop, or one desktop," Sirpal paragraph 0163; "Thus, for example, one display can present a portrait display orientation while the other presents a landscape display orientation. For example, as provided in FIG. 7B, a primary screen display 701 may be presented in a first display mode, such as a portrait mode P.sub.1, and another secondary screen display 711 may be presented in a second display mode, such as landscape mode L.sub.1. Both screens may also be presented in the same display mode, for example in a portrait mode, as provided in FIG. 7A. In FIG. 7A, both screens are presented in portrait mode, that is primary screen 701 in portrait mode P.sub.1 and secondary screen 702 in portrait mode P.sub.2," Sirpal paragraph 0171; "The two most common types of display orientation are portrait and landscape. In landscape mode, the display is oriented such that the width of the display is greater than the height of the display (such as a 4:3 ratio, which is 4 units wide and 3 units tall, or a 16:9 ratio, which is 16 units wide and 9 units tall). Stated differently, the longer dimension of the display is oriented substantially horizontal in landscape mode while the shorter dimension of the display is oriented substantially vertical. In the portrait mode, by contrast, the display is oriented such that the width of the display is less than the height of the display. Stated differently, the shorter dimension of the display is oriented substantially horizontal in the portrait mode while the longer dimension of the display is oriented substantially vertical," Sirpal paragraph 0016, can display two application windows side by side); and
when detecting that the screen direction of the electronic device changes from the first direction to a second direction, keeping a display direction of the second window unchanged, and rotating the first window, wherein the display direction of the first window after the rotating is the second direction ("A multi-screen device 100 can receive device state information in step 808. This step is as described in step 808 of FIG. 8. In step 908, display preferences (such as display orientation characteristics, e.g. display mode such as portrait or landscape), and/or display requirements, for each application are received. For example, a user could input, as provided in FIG. 7B, a preference request that the application 'App9' be presented in a first display mode, such as a portrait mode P.sub.1, and another application 'App10' be presented in a second display mode, such as landscape mode L.sub.1. The user could also input, for example, a preference request that App9 be locked in portrait mode, such that independent of the orientation of the device 100, App9 always presents itself in portrait mode. In embodiments, the user input for application preferences (to include, for example, locked or unlocked, and portrait or landscape)," Sirpal paragraph 0180; "The device 100 is further configured to independently manage and configure each display independently of the orientation of the device 100, subject to inputs from one or both of the user and applications running on the device 100. For example, upon rotation of the device, each screen display may be configured to maintain (or lock) its orientation or may be configured to allow its orientation to change (an unlocked configuration). The display orientation characteristics are based on the user's desires and/or requirements of any hosted application," Sirpal paragraph 0172, can keep one app locked to a particular orientation while the other can be unlocked and thus rotated when the device is rotated).
However Sirpal does not appear to explicitly disclose a first window and a second window on a same screen of the electronic device.
Kitatani teaches a first window and a second window on a same screen of the electronic device (“In FIG. 1, display apparatus 1 includes display surface 100 that displays various display information such as text information and image information,” Kitatani paragraph 0029; “For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6, assume that display control section 14 displays windows 601 and 602 as display information on display surface 100. At this time, for example, when a touch is detected by touch panel 12, display lock detecting section 15 outputs a display lock command which has the effect of performing a display lock on an active window (assumed to be window 602) to display control section 14. When the display lock command is received, display control section 14 performs a display lock on the active window,” Kitatani paragraph 0076; “In this case, as illustrated in FIG. 6, when display apparatus 1 is moved in such a manner that the apparatus orientation satisfies the change condition, the output format of the active window 602 is not changed but the output format of window 601 other than window 602 is changed,” Kitatani paragraph 0077; Kitatani Figure 6, a single screen with 2 windows where one window is unchanged in direction while the other is changed after rotation).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sirpal to allow a window rotation lock on a single screen as taught by Kitatani. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that Sirpal’s rotation lock mechanism could support more kinds of devices thus enhancing the utility of the finished product.
As to claim 17, it is substantially similar to claim 2 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 18, Sirpal as modified by Kitatani further discloses the electronic device according to claim 16, wherein the second window is a full-screen window, or the second window and a third window are displayed by the electronic device on split screens ("FIG. 6I depicts yet another output configuration that may be accommodated while the device 100 is in an open portrait state 320. Specifically, the device 100 may be configured to present a single continuous image across both touch sensitive displays 110, 114 in a portrait configuration referred to herein as a Portrait-Max (PMax) configuration 624. In this configuration, data (e.g., a single image, application, window, icon, video, etc.) may be split and displayed partially on one of the touch sensitive displays while the other portion of the data is displayed on the other touch sensitive display. The Pmax configuration 624 may facilitate a larger display and/or better resolution for displaying a particular image on the device 100. Similar to other output configurations, it may be possible to transition the device 100 from the Pmax configuration 624 to any other output configuration described herein depending upon which state the device 100 is moved," Sirpal paragraph 0168; "A multi-screen device 100 can receive device state information in step 808. This step is as described in step 808 of FIG. 8. In step 908, display preferences (such as display orientation characteristics, e.g. display mode such as portrait or landscape), and/or display requirements, for each application are received. For example, a user could input, as provided in FIG. 7B, a preference request that the application "App9" be presented in a first display mode, such as a portrait mode P.sub.1, and another application "App10" be presented in a second display mode, such as landscape mode L.sub.1. The user could also input, for example, a preference request that App9 be locked in portrait mode, such that independent of the orientation of the device 100, App9 always presents itself in portrait mode. In embodiments, the user input for application preferences (to include, for example, locked or unlocked, and portrait or landscape)," Sirpal paragraph 0180; "A task can be an application and a sub-task can be an application component that provides a window with which users can interact to do something, such as dial the phone, take a photo, send an email, or view a map. Each task may be given a window in which to draw a user interface. The window typically fills a display (for example, touch sensitive display 110,114), but may be smaller than the display 110,114 and float on top of other windows," Sirpal paragraph 0142; "In this configuration, the device 100 may display one application window in one display 110 or 114, two application windows (one in each display 110 and 114), one application window and one desktop, or one desktop," Sirpal paragraph 0163, can display two application windows side by side or can display a window in full screen mode where orientation can be locked per-app).
As to claim 19, Sirpal discloses an electronic device, comprising:
at least one processor (“In yet another embodiment, the disclosed methods may be partially implemented in software that can be stored on a storage medium, executed on programmed general-purpose computer with the cooperation of a controller and memory, a special purpose computer, a microprocessor, or the like,” Sirpal paragraph 0195); and
a non-transitory computer readable medium storing computer-executable instructions for execution by the at least one processor to enable the electronic device to perform operations (“In yet another embodiment, the disclosed methods may be partially implemented in software that can be stored on a storage medium, executed on programmed general-purpose computer with the cooperation of a controller and memory, a special purpose computer, a microprocessor, or the like,” Sirpal paragraph 0195) comprising:
displaying a first window, wherein a screen direction of the electronic device is a first direction, wherein the screen direction is one of a portrait direction, a landscape direction, a reverse portrait direction, and a reverse landscape direction, and wherein a display direction of the first window is the first direction ("In this configuration, the device 100 may display one application window in one display 110 or 114, two application windows (one in each display 110 and 114), one application window and one desktop, or one desktop," Sirpal paragraph 0163; "Thus, for example, one display can present a portrait display orientation while the other presents a landscape display orientation. For example, as provided in FIG. 7B, a primary screen display 701 may be presented in a first display mode, such as a portrait mode P.sub.1, and another secondary screen display 711 may be presented in a second display mode, such as landscape mode L.sub.1. Both screens may also be presented in the same display mode, for example in a portrait mode, as provided in FIG. 7A. In FIG. 7A, both screens are presented in portrait mode, that is primary screen 701 in portrait mode P.sub.1 and secondary screen 702 in portrait mode P.sub.2," Sirpal paragraph 0171; "The two most common types of display orientation are portrait and landscape. In landscape mode, the display is oriented such that the width of the display is greater than the height of the display (such as a 4:3 ratio, which is 4 units wide and 3 units tall, or a 16:9 ratio, which is 16 units wide and 9 units tall). Stated differently, the longer dimension of the display is oriented substantially horizontal in landscape mode while the shorter dimension of the display is oriented substantially vertical. In the portrait mode, by contrast, the display is oriented such that the width of the display is less than the height of the display. Stated differently, the shorter dimension of the display is oriented substantially horizontal in the portrait mode while the longer dimension of the display is oriented substantially vertical," Sirpal paragraph 0016, can display two application windows side by side); and
when opening a second window and displaying the second window in a preset display direction of the second window, keeping the display direction of the first window unchanged, wherein the preset display direction of the second window is different from the first direction, and wherein the second window is a non-floating window ("A multi-screen device 100 can receive device state information in step 808. This step is as described in step 808 of FIG. 8. In step 908, display preferences (such as display orientation characteristics, e.g. display mode such as portrait or landscape), and/or display requirements, for each application are received. For example, a user could input, as provided in FIG. 7B, a preference request that the application 'App9' be presented in a first display mode, such as a portrait mode P.sub.1, and another application 'App10' be presented in a second display mode, such as landscape mode L.sub.1. The user could also input, for example, a preference request that App9 be locked in portrait mode, such that independent of the orientation of the device 100, App9 always presents itself in portrait mode. In embodiments, the user input for application preferences (to include, for example, locked or unlocked, and portrait or landscape)," Sirpal paragraph 0180; "The device 100 is further configured to independently manage and configure each display independently of the orientation of the device 100, subject to inputs from one or both of the user and applications running on the device 100. For example, upon rotation of the device, each screen display may be configured to maintain (or lock) its orientation or may be configured to allow its orientation to change (an unlocked configuration). The display orientation characteristics are based on the user's desires and/or requirements of any hosted application," Sirpal paragraph 0172; “The Task Management module 540 is operable to manage the operation of one or more applications 564 that may be executed by the device. Thus, the Task Management module 540 can receive signals to launch, suspend, terminate, etc. an application or application sub-tasks stored in the application store 560,” Sirpal paragraph 0143, can keep one displayed app locked to a particular orientation while another app that is being launched can be set to unlocked and thus rotated when the device is rotated).
However Sirpal does not appear to explicitly disclose a first window and a second window on a same screen of the electronic device.
Kitatani teaches a first window and a second window on a same screen of the electronic device (“In FIG. 1, display apparatus 1 includes display surface 100 that displays various display information such as text information and image information,” Kitatani paragraph 0029; “For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6, assume that display control section 14 displays windows 601 and 602 as display information on display surface 100. At this time, for example, when a touch is detected by touch panel 12, display lock detecting section 15 outputs a display lock command which has the effect of performing a display lock on an active window (assumed to be window 602) to display control section 14. When the display lock command is received, display control section 14 performs a display lock on the active window,” Kitatani paragraph 0076; “In this case, as illustrated in FIG. 6, when display apparatus 1 is moved in such a manner that the apparatus orientation satisfies the change condition, the output format of the active window 602 is not changed but the output format of window 601 other than window 602 is changed,” Kitatani paragraph 0077; Kitatani Figure 6, a single screen with 2 windows where one window is unchanged in direction while the other is changed after rotation).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sirpal to allow a window rotation lock on a single screen as taught by Kitatani. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that Sirpal’s rotation lock mechanism could support more kinds of devices thus enhancing the utility of the finished product.
As to claim 20, Sirpal as modified by Kitatani further discloses the electronic device according to claim 19, wherein the second window is a full-screen window, or the second window is a split-screen window displayed on split screens with at least one of the first window or a third window ("FIG. 6I depicts yet another output configuration that may be accommodated while the device 100 is in an open portrait state 320. Specifically, the device 100 may be configured to present a single continuous image across both touch sensitive displays 110, 114 in a portrait configuration referred to herein as a Portrait-Max (PMax) configuration 624. In this configuration, data (e.g., a single image, application, window, icon, video, etc.) may be split and displayed partially on one of the touch sensitive displays while the other portion of the data is displayed on the other touch sensitive display. The Pmax configuration 624 may facilitate a larger display and/or better resolution for displaying a particular image on the device 100. Similar to other output configurations, it may be possible to transition the device 100 from the Pmax configuration 624 to any other output configuration described herein depending upon which state the device 100 is moved," Sirpal paragraph 0168; "A multi-screen device 100 can receive device state information in step 808. This step is as described in step 808 of FIG. 8. In step 908, display preferences (such as display orientation characteristics, e.g. display mode such as portrait or landscape), and/or display requirements, for each application are received. For example, a user could input, as provided in FIG. 7B, a preference request that the application "App9" be presented in a first display mode, such as a portrait mode P.sub.1, and another application "App10" be presented in a second display mode, such as landscape mode L.sub.1. The user could also input, for example, a preference request that App9 be locked in portrait mode, such that independent of the orientation of the device 100, App9 always presents itself in portrait mode. In embodiments, the user input for application preferences (to include, for example, locked or unlocked, and portrait or landscape)," Sirpal paragraph 0180; "A task can be an application and a sub-task can be an application component that provides a window with which users can interact to do something, such as dial the phone, take a photo, send an email, or view a map. Each task may be given a window in which to draw a user interface. The window typically fills a display (for example, touch sensitive display 110,114), but may be smaller than the display 110,114 and float on top of other windows," Sirpal paragraph 0142; "In this configuration, the device 100 may display one application window in one display 110 or 114, two application windows (one in each display 110 and 114), one application window and one desktop, or one desktop," Sirpal paragraph 0163, can display two application windows side by side or can display a window in full screen mode where orientation can be locked per-app).
Claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirpal et al. (US 20130079062 A1, hereinafter Sirpal) in view of Kitatani (US 20130293502 A1, hereinafter Kitatani) in further view of Jeong et al. (US 20170139576 A1, hereinafter Jeong).
As to claim 7, Sirpal as modified by Kitatani discloses the window display method according to claim 1, however neither Sirpal nor Kitatani appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the method further comprises: after rotating the first window, adjusting a size of the first window.
Jeong teaches a limitation wherein the method further comprises: after rotating the first window, adjusting a size of the first window ("At this time, when the vertical length of the pop-up window is longer than the vertical length of the display 410 as the pop-up window 640 rotates, the size of the pop-up window 640 may be reduced according to the size of the display 410," Jeong paragraph 0133).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sirpal to change a size of a window after rotating the window as taught by Jeong. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to maximize display space usage to ensure that elements are not off-screen and that all windows are as large as they can be.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL SAMWEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171