DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being by US Pub No. 20230036772 (“Lu”).
Regarding Claim 1,Lu discloses an 8-cube room organizer (see Figs .1-11), comprising:
a first shelving unit (upper , best seen in Figs 7-8) comprising a first plurality of panels (1, 4, 5) forming a 4-cube room organizer with four individual cubes, wherein the first plurality of panels (1, 4, 5) are attached to each other using a first type of fasteners (17, 18);
a second shelving unit (lower) comprising a second plurality panels (3, 6, 7) forming a 4-cube | room organizer with four individual cubes, wherein the second plurality of panels (3, 6, 7) are attached to . each other using the first type of fasteners (17, 18);
wherein the first and second shelving units (upper and lower) are attached to each other using a : plurality of a second type of fasteners (9), the second type of fasteners (9) each requiring tightening at only one end, and wherein at least a portion of the second type of fastener (9) is housed within panels bearing cutouts (13) which provide room for a tightening tool(as shown in Fig.8) used to tighten the only one end of the second type of fastener.
Regarding Claim 2, Lu discloses wherein the second type of fasteners (9) comprises draw bolts (9).
Regarding Claim 3, Lu discloses, wherein the draw bolts (9) are tightened to a fastener (11) embedded in panels (side) adjacent to the panels bearing the cutouts,
Regarding Claim 4, Lu discloses wherein when the first and second shelving units (upper and lower) are attached to form an 8-cube room organizer, a horizontal panel is first removed from one of the first or the second shelving units.
Regarding Claim 5, Lu discloses wherein the first type of fasteners (17, 18) comprises wooden dowels.
Claims 9-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Member’s Mark 8 -Cube Room Organizer Manual ( hereinafter, “MM”).
Regarding Claim 9, MM disclose an 8-cube room organizer (see Figs. 1-8), comprising:
a shelving unit comprising two opposing vertical exterior panels (B) connected to: (a) five horizontal panels, which include three interior horizontal panels ( C, D) and two exterior horizontal panels (A), and (b) four interior vertical panels;
wherein at least two different fastener types (best seen in Figs. 7-8) are used for the connections, including:
(i) a first type of fastener (5) is used to connect the three interior horizontal panels (C, D) to the two opposing vertical exterior side panels, and to connect the four | interior vertical panels to the five horizontal panels; and
(ii) a second type of fastener (1, 4) is used to connect the two exterior horizontal panels (A) to the two opposing vertical panels.
Regarding Claim 10, MM discloses wherein the first type of fastener (5) comprises wooden dowels (5).
Regarding Claim 11, MM discloses wherein the second type of fastener (1, 4) | requires tightening at only one end (screw requires tightening).
Regarding Claim 14, MM discloses a third type of fastener (2,3) for connecting opposing ends of an interior middle horizontal shelf to each of the two opposing vertical panels.
Regarding Claim 15, MM discloses wherein the third type of fastener (2,3) comprises a cam lock assembly(see cam 2).
|
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over 20230036772 (“Lu”), alone.
Regarding Claims 6-8, Lu discloses -a method for creating an 8-cube room organizer, comprising the steps of:
forming a first shelving unit by attaching a plurality Claim 6of panels using a first type of fasteners (17, 18), to form a 4-cube room organizer with four individual cubes;
forming a second shelving unit by attaching a plurality of panels using the first type of fasteners, to form a 4-cube room organizer with four individual cubes;
attaching the first and second units to each other to form an 8-cube room | organizer using a plurality of a second type of fasteners (9), wherein each of the second type of | fasteners requires tightening at only one end, and wherein at least a portion of the second type of fasteners is each housed within panels bearing cutouts, the cutouts providing room for a lightening , tool used to tighten the only one end of the second type of fastener; Claim 7-the step of removing a horizontal panel from one of the first or the second shelving units, prior to the attachment of the first and the second shelving units to each other to form an 8-cube room organizer; Claim 6-wherein the first type of fastener comprises a wooden dowel, and the second type of fastener comprises a draw bolt.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that of the invention to use and assemble the 8 cube room organizer g according to the method steps set forth above, since Lu discloses the invention of claims 6-8 such method steps would occur during the ordinary course using the room see MPEP 2112.02
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over MM as applied to claim 11 above, in view of US Pub No. 20230036772 (“Lu”).
MM discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the second fastener in a cutout within of the at least one of the two opposing vertical panels
Regarding Claims 12-13, Lu discloses wherein at least a portion of the second type of fasteners ( 9) is each housed within a cutout (13) located within at least one of the two opposing vertical panels (17), the cutout which provides room for a tightening tool used to tighten the only one end of the second type of fastener (as seen in Fig.8; Claim 13-wherein the second type of fastener comprises a draw bolt (9) and nut (11).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the at least one of the opposing side panels could be adapted with a cutout to house the tightening bolt similar to the room organizer taught by MM, [0024], so the tightening bolt can be easily accessed while concealing the fastening means.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637