DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Restriction Requirement in the reply filed on December 29, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nilsson (US Patent No. 9,614,639 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Nilsson teaches an optical transmitter, shown on Fig. 1, comprising:
a first signal pathway configured to generate a first modulated optical signal with a first polarization (TE λ1; col. 3, lines 44-50; “FIG. 1 illustrates an example of an optical transmitter 100 consistent with an aspect of the present disclosure. Optical transmitter 100 includes a transmitter block 110-1 that includes an optical source 109, that supplies light or optical signals TEλ1 and TE′λ1 that typically has a given polarization, such as a transverse electric (TE) polarization. Signals TEλ1 and TE′λ1 typically have a given wavelength, e.g., λ1.”);
a second signal pathway configured to generate a second modulated optical signal with a second polarization (TE’ λ1; col. 3, lines 44-50; “FIG. 1 illustrates an example of an optical transmitter 100 consistent with an aspect of the present disclosure. Optical transmitter 100 includes a transmitter block 110-1 that includes an optical source 109, that supplies light or optical signals TEλ1 and TE′λ1 that typically has a given polarization, such as a transverse electric (TE) polarization. Signals TEλ1 and TE′λ1 typically have a given wavelength, e.g., λ1.”); and
a phase tuner configured to insert a marker signal into the second modulated optical signal prior to polarization rotation of the second modulated optical signal (col. 4, lines 15-23; “…modulators 120 and 122, respectively, that further modulate these signals with tones having frequencies (measured in Hz), which are typically less than the bit rates (expressed in Hz) at which data is carried by the optical signals. For example, optical signal TEλ1 may be modulated at a first relatively low frequency (for example, less than 1 MHz) corresponding to a first tone, and TE′λ1 may be modulated at a second relatively low frequency, (also less than 1 MHz, for example) corresponding to a second tone.”; col. 4, lines 31-33; “Polarizer 126, however, rotates the incoming light (TE′λ1) so that it is in an orthogonal polarization state to TEλ1.”).
Regarding claim 2, Nilsson teaches wherein the first modulated optical signal includes a single input optical signal modulated with a single data signal (col. 3, lines 51-54; “Signals TEλ1 and TE′λ1 are often continuous wave (CW) signals when output from source 109, but may be supplied to modulators 114 and 112, respectively, so that both signals are modulated to carry data at a bit rate,…”).
Regarding claim 4, Nilsson teaches wherein the marker signal has a lower frequency than a data rate of the first or second modulated optical signals (col. 3, lines 51-55; “Signals TEλ1 and TE′λ1 are often continuous wave (CW) signals when output from source 109, but may be supplied to modulators 114 and 112, respectively, so that both signals are modulated to carry data at a bit rate, for example, of 10 or 2.5 Gbit/second.”; col. 4, lines 15-23; “…modulators 120 and 122, respectively, that further modulate these signals with tones having frequencies (measured in Hz), which are typically less than the bit rates (expressed in Hz) at which data is carried by the optical signals.”).
Regarding claim 6, Nilsson teaches the optical transmitter further comprising:
a polarization combiner (128) to combine an output of the first signal pathway and the second signal pathway to form an output optical signal (col. 4, lines 38-42; “Optical signals TEλ1 and TMλ1, output from polarizers 124 and 126, respectively, are supplied to optical combiner 128, which combines these orthogonally polarized optical signals onto a waveguide 129.”); and
an optical coupler (130) to output the output optical signal from the optical transmitter (col. 4, lines 43-44; “A splitter or optical tap 130 supplies a portion of the optical signals TEλ1 and TMλ1,…”).
Regarding claim 7, Nilsson teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a laser (col. 5, line 1; “FIG. 3a, laser 305…”);
an optical splitter coupled to the laser (col. 5, lines 1-3; “FIG. 3a, laser 305 supplies light to an optical power splitter 308, which has output waveguides 310 and 312.”);
a first optical pathway coupled to the optical splitter, the first optical pathway comprising a first modulator (col. 5, lines 3-5; “Waveguides 310 and 312 supply optical signals TEλ1 and TE′λ1 to modulators 114 and 112, respectively.”), the first optical pathway coupled to an optical combiner (col. 4, lines 38-42; “Optical signals TEλ1 and TMλ1, output from polarizers 124 and 126, respectively, are supplied to optical combiner 128, which combines these orthogonally polarized optical signals onto a waveguide 129.”);
a second optical pathway coupled to the optical splitter, the second optical pathway comprising a second modulator coupled to the optical splitter (col. 5, lines 3-5; “Waveguides 310 and 312 supply optical signals TEλ1 and TE′λ1 to modulators 114 and 112, respectively.”),
a phase tuner coupled to the second modulator (col. 4, lines 15-23; “…modulators 120 and 122, respectively, that further modulate these signals with tones having frequencies (measured in Hz), which are typically less than the bit rates (expressed in Hz) at which data is carried by the optical signals. For example, optical signal TEλ1 may be modulated at a first relatively low frequency (for example, less than 1 MHz) corresponding to a first tone, and TE′λ1 may be modulated at a second relatively low frequency, (also less than 1 MHz, for example) corresponding to a second tone.”), and
a polarization rotator (col. 4, lines 31-33; “Polarizer 126, however, rotates the incoming light (TE′λ1) so that it is in an orthogonal polarization state to TEλ1.”) coupled to the phase tuner and to the optical combiner; and
an optical coupler (col. 4, lines 43-44; “A splitter or optical tap 130 supplies a portion of the optical signals TEλ1 and TMλ1,…”) coupled to the optical combiner (col. 4, lines 38-42; “Optical signals TEλ1 and TMλ1, output from polarizers 124 and 126, respectively, are supplied to optical combiner 128, which combines these orthogonally polarized optical signals onto a waveguide 129.”).
Regarding claim 12, Nilsson teaches wherein the first optical pathway comprises a transverse electric pathway, and wherein the second optical pathway comprises a transverse magnetic pathway (col. 4, lines 28-36; “Polarizer 124 filters light having any extraneous polarizations other than a TE polarization so that the output therefrom (TEλ1) is maintained at the TE polarization. Polarizer 126, however, rotates the incoming light (TE′λ1) so that it is in an orthogonal polarization state to TEλ1. For purposes of description, this orthogonal polarization state is referred to here as transverse magnetic (TM) polarization, as indicated by the designation TMλ1 in FIG. 1.”).
Regarding claim 13, Nilsson teaches wherein the laser, the optical splitter, the first optical pathway, the second optical pathway, and the optical combiner comprise an integrated circuit (col. 1, lines 7-14; “Wavelength division multiplexed (WDM) optical communication systems are known in which multiple optical signals, each having a different wavelength, are combined onto a single optical fiber. Such systems typically include transmitters having a laser associated with each wavelength, a modulator configured to modulate the output of the laser, and an optical combiner to combine each of the modulated outputs.”; col. 1, lines 21-23; “More recently, however, many WDM components, have been integrated onto a single chip, also referred to as a photonic integrated circuit (PIC).”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US Patent No. 9,614,639 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Nilsson teaches that the marker signal has a lower frequency than a data rate of the first or second modulated optical signals and differs from the claimed invention in that Nilsson does not specifically teach wherein the marker signal has a frequency between approximately 10 kilohertz (kHz) and 1 megahertz (MHz); and the first or second modulated signals have a data rate between approximately 10 gigabits per second (gb/s) and approximately 300 gb/s. However, since Nilsson teaches the marker signal has a lower frequency than data rate of the first or second modulated optical signals, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the optical transmission of Nilsson by providing the marker signal with a frequency between approximately 10 kilohertz (kHz) and 1 megahertz (MHz); and the first or second modulated signals have a data rate between approximately 10 gigabits per second (gb/s) and approximately 300 gb/s in order to satisfy transmission rate demand while optimizing signal to noise ratio. Furthermore, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Swain et al., 33 CCPA (Patents) 1250, 156 F.2d 239, 70 USPQ 412; Minnesota Minning and Mfg. Co. v. Coe, 69 App D.C. 217, 99 F.2d 986, 38 USPQ 213; Allen et al. v. Coe, 77 App D.C. 324, 135 F.2d 11, 57 USPQ 136. In addition, discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 239, 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); In re Aller, 42 CCPA 824, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (1955). See also In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) and In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US Patent No. 9,614,639 B2) in view of Moss et al (US Pub. No. 2019/0149240 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Nilsson teaches optical transmitter comprising the phase tuner (col. 4, lines 15-23; “…modulators 120 and 122, respectively, that further modulate these signals with tones having frequencies (measured in Hz), which are typically less than the bit rates (expressed in Hz) at which data is carried by the optical signals. For example, optical signal TEλ1 may be modulated at a first relatively low frequency (for example, less than 1 MHz) corresponding to a first tone, and TE′λ1 may be modulated at a second relatively low frequency, (also less than 1 MHz, for example) corresponding to a second tone.”; col. 4, lines 31-33; “Polarizer 126, however, rotates the incoming light (TE′λ1) so that it is in an orthogonal polarization state to TEλ1.”) and differs from the claimed invention in that Nilsson does not specifically teach that the phase tuner comprises a thermo-optic phase tuner. Moss et al teaches various types of optical modulator such as thermos-optic used to encode data (para [0046]; “Optical modulator 106 encodes data in the light propagating through waveguide 104 by modulating one or more properties of the light, such as the light's phase, amplitude, frequency, or polarization. Some embodiments may modulate the light by changing an optical property of waveguide 104, such as the waveguide's absorption coefficient or refractive index. Embodiments of optical modulator 106 may control changes in the optical properties of waveguide 104 using electro-optic modulation, acousto-optic modulation, magneto-optic modulation, thermo-optic modulation, mechano-optic modulation, or any other modulation technique known to one of ordinary skill in the art or otherwise suitable for controlling a waveguide's optical properties.”). Since thermos-electric modulator provide low optical insertion loss, therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the optical transmission of Nilsson by replacing the optical modulator with thermo-optic modulator (phase tuner), as taught by Moss et al, in order optimized signal to noise ratio.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jafari et al (US Patent No. 11,581,950 B2) is cited to show optical communication system comprising polarization modulation.
Zhou et al (US Pub. No. 2020/0162165 A1) is cited to show optical communication comprising polarization splitter, modulator and rotator.
Matsushita et al (US Patent No. 10,491,307 B2) is cited to show optical transmitter comprising optical polarization splitter, modulators and optical combiner.
Zhou et al (US Patent No. 9,692,521 B1) is cited to show polarization pre-compensation technique for polarization-division-multiplexed direct-detection optical communication systems.
DALZID E. SINGH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2635
/DALZID E SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635