Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim 1-13, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), or in the alternative, are rejected as being obvious over Abe et al. (US20170214091).
2. Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-13, 16, 17, Abe teaches a lithium-ion battery electrolyte, comprising: an electrolyte compound composition (EC/VC/DMC/MEC/FB, Table 1, Example 11); a lithium salt composition comprising one or more compounds comprise lithium difluoro(bisoxalato) phosphate (LiDFOP) with (LiPF6 and LiDFOP + LIDFOB), Table 1, Example 11)
3. Regarding claim 3, Abe teaches the lithium-ion battery electrolyte comprises fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) (As for suitable combinations of such cyclic carbonates, VC and FEC [0058]),
a concentration of the one or more compounds in the lithium-ion battery electrolyte is in a range of about 0.1 mol. % to about 20 mol. % (a ratio between a sum total mol concentration…“second lithium salts”:“tertiary carboxylic acid ester”=1:99 to 49:51 and more preferably 5:95 to 45:55 [0043]; This indicates concentration of the one or more compounds is 1 mol%, 5 mol%,…)
4. Regarding claims 9 and 10, Abe teaches the non-FEC cyclic carbonate is ethylene carbonate (EC) (EC/VC/DMC/MEC/FB (29/1/35/20/10), Table 1, Example 11)
5. Regarding claim 12, Abe teaches the electrolyte compound composition comprises one or more additive compounds is lithium bis(oxalato)borate (LiBOB) (As a lithium salt having an oxalic acid structure contained in the nonaqueous electrolytic solution is bis(oxalato)borate (LiBOB) [0030]), a total concentration of the one or more additive compounds in the lithium-ion battery electrolyte being about 10 mol. % or lower (wherein a ratio of mol concentration of the second lithium salt to mol concentration of the tertiary carboxylic acid ester represented by formula (I) is 1:99 to 49:51, see claim 14)
6. Regarding claim 13, Abe teaches a lithium-ion battery (lithium ion secondary battery [0094]), comprising: an anode current collector; a cathode current collector;
an anode disposed on or in the anode current collector (The negative electrode mixture paste was applied to one surface on a copper foil (current collector) [0129]); a cathode disposed on or in the cathode current collector (The positive electrode mixture paste was applied to one surface on an aluminum foil (current collector) [0129]); wherein: the anode comprises composite particles comprising silicon and carbon (As for the negative electrode active material for a lithium secondary battery a carbon material capable of absorbing and releasing lithium (graphitizable carbon, non-graphitizable carbon, silicon (simple substance), used alone in one kind or in combination of two or more kinds [0107])
7. Regarding claim 16, Abe teaches a a mass of the silicon is in a range of about 3 wt. % to about 80 wt. % of a total mass of the anode (Also, silicon (simple substance); 5% by mass [0129])
8. Regarding claim 17, Abe teaches the anode comprises graphitic carbon particles substantially free of silicon (Among the negative electrode active materials, considering absorbance and releasing ability with respect to lithium ions, high-crystalline carbon material such as artificial graphite, natural graphite [0108]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe et al. (US20170214091) as applied to claim 1 in view of Chen et al. (US 20240290956, PCT filed 11/28/22).
10. Chen teaches the composite particles comprise porous carbon in which the silicon is deposited, at least some of the silicon is present in the porous carbon as Si nanoparticles (composite material includes a porous carbon substrate wherein the silicon nanoparticles, are dispersedly distributed on the surface and/or within the pores of the porous carbon substrate, abstract) for the benefit of improving the cycle performance of lithium batteries (abstract)
11. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Abe with Chen’s teachings for the benefit of improving the cycle performance of lithium batteries.
Conclusion
/OLATUNJI A GODO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752