Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 6-8, applicant has not argued the rejection of the claims nor amended the claims, so the previous rejection still applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (11,159,355) in view of Yeh and Ko.
Regarding claim 6, Kumar discloses a method of a second communications node (wireless system consisting of a base station and user equipment) comprising, receiving from a first communications node, a signal consisting of modulations symbols generated by modulating a base sequence associated with a physical cell identity (Col. 15;55-60 or Col. 17;43-47), obtaining the physical cell identity from signal using base sequences (Col;35-55), and wherein each of the base sequences is generated based on sequences of a first through third binary sequence (Figure 4, 3 signals being generated for OFDM based on a Zadoff Chen sequence). Kumar does not disclose that use of 2M elements based on distributed concatenation or the second intermediate base sequence being generated by modifying the first base sequence.
Yeh teaches a method of a first communications node (transmitter)comprising: generating a first intermediate base sequence consisting of M elements based on first-third binary sequences (Fig 1a, first parallel path, abstract, para 26), generating a base sequence of M elements by modifying the first intermediate base sequence (Fig 1a, second parallel path which is the inverse, para 29). Yeh further discloses generating a base sequence based on distributed concatenation (i.e. combining signals) of the first and second signals (para 16-17) and mapping modulation symbols onto subcarriers (data to subcarrier mapper) and transmitting a signal consisting of the mapped modulation signals to a second communication node (para 16-20, signals are transmitted to be received by the OFDM receiver). Yeh does not explicitly disclose the base sequence consisting of 2M elements.
Ko, in an analogous art, teaches that in an OFDM system (para 117) the combination of 2 sets of signals that are length M to result in a concatenated signal which is 2M elements (Figure 55, para 383 – adding signals B/C to A which results in a pilot that is 2x the length of A alone). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a larger pilot and modify a second sequence based on the first sequence in order reduce errors in reception.
Regarding claims 7-8, Kumar further discloses that symbols are detected by the UE (Figs 10-11) and that the use of correlation values to determine the physical cell id (Col 7;49-56) as well as the use of the PSS as part of the signal process to detect the physical cell identity (Col. 15, lines 1-5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 9-13 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 1 and 9 are directed to a communication node which generates multiple intermediate base sequences. The first intermediate sequence uses a physical cell identity as well as 3 binary sequences. None of the cited prior art teaches nor fairly suggests the transformation of these symbols such that a first intermediate base sequence is entirely different from the first to third binary sequences as recited in claims 1 and 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
Rico Alvarino (2018/0220426) discloses binary sequences combined via pseudo-random generation and vectors.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WILLIAM GEORGE TROST IV
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/WILLIAM G TROST IV/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641