Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims and in view of the current amendment have been considered but are moot, please refer to rejection below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1-2, 13-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEI (US 2024/0012084 A1) in view of Edge (US 2020/0053638 A1).
As per claim 1, LEI teaches a tag locating method, wherein the tag locating method (Fig.1, ¶0032 target UE 105 (i.e. asset tag) locating method) comprises: receiving, by a location management function network element, first indication information from a first network element through a direct interface between the location management function network element and the first network element, wherein the first indication information indicates to the location management function network element to locate a first tag (Fig.1 and ¶0051, obtaining or receiving by LMF 120 (i.e. location management function), location related information (i.e. first indication information) from gNB (i.e. first network element) through direct communication between LMF and gNB to locate UE (i.e. first tag)), and both the location management function network element and the first network element are network elements in a core network (Fig.1, ¶0034, both LMF and gNB are network elements of 5G network).
However, LEI does not explicitly teach obtaining, by the location management function network element based on the first indication information, a result of locating the first tag; determining, by the location management function network element, location information of the first tag based on the result of locating the first tag; and sending, by the location management function network element, the location information of the first tag to the first network element.
In the same field of endeavor, Edge teaches obtaining, by the location management function network element based on the first indication information, a result of locating the first tag (Fig.5, step 4b, LCS procedure for GMLC based location based on step 3b of LCS service request); determining, by the location management function network element, location information of the first tag based on the result of locating the first tag (Fig.5 and ¶0089, GMLC 155 may perform a GMLC location method by sending a location request to AMF 154, with AMF 154 then forwarding the location request to LMF 152. LMF 152 may then obtain the UE 105 location (e.g. using A-GNSS, RTK, OTDOA, ECID, AOA, RTT and/or AOD), thus determining the location information, please note based on the result of locating the first tag" is a broad statement, so the result can be the location information); and sending, by the location management function network element, the location information of the first tag to the first network element (Fig.5 and ¶0090, stage 5b, GMLC reports (i.e. sending) UE location information to NEF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of
Edge into invention of LEI in order to support location services for a user equipment to meet the required location accuracy.
As per claim 2 as applied to claim 1 above, Edge further teaches wherein the first indication information comprises an identifier of the first tag (Fig.5 and ¶0088, UE ID and Location Level Information may be included in the Location Services (LCS) service request message).
As per claim 13, LEI teaches a tag locating method, wherein the tag locating method (Fig.1, ¶0032 target UE 105 (i.e. asset tag) locating method) comprises:
sending, by the first network element based on the request for locating, first indication information to a location management function network element through a direct interface between the location management function network element and the first network element, wherein the first indication information indicates to the location management function network element to locate the first tag (Fig.1 and ¶0050-51, sending by gNB (i.e. first network element) to the LMF 120 (i.e. location management function), location related information (i.e. first indication information) based on the location request through direct communication between LMF and gNB to locate UE (i.e. first tag)), and both the location management function network element and the first network element are network elements in a core network (Fig.1, ¶0034, both LMF and gNB are network elements of 5G network).
However, LEI does not explicitly teach obtaining, by a first network element, a request for locating a first tag; and obtaining, by the first network element, location information of the first tag from the location management function network element, wherein the location information of the first tag is determined based on a result of locating the first tag.
In the same field of endeavor, Edge teaches obtaining, by a first network element, a request for locating a first tag (Fig.5, step1, obtaining by NEF (i.e. first network element) location service request to locate UE (i.e. first tag)); and obtaining, by the first network element, location information of the first tag from the location management function network element, wherein the location information of the first tag is determined based on a result of locating the first tag (Fig.5 and ¶0089-90, stage 5b, NEF is receiving/obtaining from GMLC which reports UE location information to NEF. GMLC 155 may perform a GMLC location method by sending a location request to AMF 154, with AMF 154 then forwarding the location request to LMF 152. LMF 152 may then obtain the UE 105 location (e.g. using A-GNSS, RTK, OTDOA, ECID, AOA, RTT and/or AOD), thus determining the location information, please note based on the result of locating the first tag" is a broad statement, so the result can be the location information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of
Edge into invention of LEI in order to support location services for a user equipment to meet the required location accuracy.
As per claim 14 as applied to claim 13 above, Edge further teaches wherein the first indication information comprises an identifier of the first tag (Fig.5 and ¶0088, UE ID and Location Level Information may be included in the Location Services (LCS) service request message).
As per claim 20, LEI teaches communications apparatus (¶0059, communication apparatus), comprising: at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor (¶0059, including processor and memory for storing instructions) to:
Receive first indication information from a first network element through a direct interface between a location management function network element and the first network element, wherein the first indication information indicates to the location management function network element to locate a first tag (Fig.1 and ¶0051, obtaining or receiving by LMF 120 (i.e. location management function), location related information (i.e. first indication information) from gNB (i.e. first network element) through direct communication between LMF and gNB to locate UE (i.e. first tag)), and both the location management function network element and the first network element are network elements in a core network (Fig.1, ¶0034, both LMF and gNB are network elements of 5G network).
However, LEI does not explicitly teach obtain based on the first indication information, a result of locating the first tag; determine location information of the first tag based on the result of locating the first tag; and send the location information of the first tag to the first network element.
In the same field of endeavor, Edge teaches obtain based on the first indication information, a result of locating the first tag (Fig.5, step 4b, LCS procedure for GMLC based location based on step 3b of LCS service request); determine location information of the first tag based on the result of locating the first tag (Fig.5 and ¶0089, GMLC 155 may perform a GMLC location method by sending a location request to AMF 154, with AMF 154 then forwarding the location request to LMF 152. LMF 152 may then obtain the UE 105 location (e.g. using A-GNSS, RTK, OTDOA, ECID, AOA, RTT and/or AOD), thus determining the location information, please note based on the result of locating the first tag" is a broad statement, so the result can be the location information); and send the location information of the first tag to the first network element (Fig.5 and ¶0090, stage 5b, GMLC reports (i.e. sending) UE location information to NEF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of
Edge into invention of LEI in order to support location services for a user equipment to meet the required location accuracy.
B) Claims 3, 5-6, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEI (US 2024/0012084 A1) in view of Edge (US 2020/0053638 A1) and further in view of 3GPP TS 23.273 V16.6.0, "3rd Generation Partnership Project, Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects,5G System (5GS) Location Services (LCS); Stage 2 (Release 16)," hereinafter 3GPP.
As per claim 3 as applied to claim 1 above, LEI in view of Edge does not explicitly teach sending, by the location management function network element, second indication information to an access and mobility management function network element, wherein the second indication information indicates to each first receiver of the first tag to measure an uplink signal of the first tag, and the second indication information is obtained based on the first indication information; and obtaining, by the location management function network element from the access and mobility management function network element, first measurement information obtained by each first receiver through measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches sending, by the location management function network element, second indication information to an access and mobility management function network element (sections 6.1.1 and 6.11.1, sending by LMF the Namf_communication_N1N2MessageTransfer (i.e. second indication information) to AMF), wherein the second indication information indicates to each first receiver of the first tag to measure an uplink signal of the first tag (sections 6.1.1 and 6.11.1, the Namf_communication_N1N2MessageTransfer indicating to the target UE (i.e. receiver of the first tag) to measure or compute uplink position), and the second indication information is obtained based on the first indication information (sections 6.1.1 and 6.11.1, the Namf_communication_N1N2MessageTransfer based on the network service request message); and obtaining, by the location management function network element from the access and mobility management function network element, first measurement information obtained by each first receiver through measurement (sections 6.1.1 and 6.11.1, receiving or obtaining by LMF from AMF the Namf_Communication_N1InfoNotify or uplink positioning message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of
3GPP into invention of LEI and Edge in order for a positioning method used by LMF to support UE based positioning, UE assisted positioning and delivery of assistance data.
As per claim 5 as applied to claim 1 above, LEI in view of Edge does not explicitly teach receiving, by the location management function network element, fifth indication information from the first network element, wherein the fifth indication information indicates to the location management function network element to locate one or more second tags; and obtaining, by the location management function network element based on the fifth indication information, a result of locating the one or more second tags, wherein the determining location information of the first tag based on the result of locating the first tag comprises: determining, by the location management function network element, the location information of the first tag based on the result of locating the first tag, the result of locating the one or more second tags, and known location information of the one or more second tags.
In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches receiving, by the location management function network element, fifth indication information from the first network element, wherein the fifth indication information indicates to the location management function network element to locate one or more second tags (section 6.1.2 and fig.6.1.2-1, receiving by LMF from AMF (i.e. first network element) NImf_Location_Determine Location request (i.e. fifth indication) indicating to LMF to locate target UEs (i.e. one or more second tags)); and obtaining, by the location management function network element based on the fifth indication information, a result of locating the one or more second tags (section 6.1.2 and fig.6.1.2-1, step 12, obtaining UE positioning based on NImf_Location_Determine Location request), wherein the determining location information of the first tag based on the result of locating the first tag comprises: determining, by the location management function network element, the location information of the first tag based on the result of locating the first tag, the result of locating the one or more second tags, and known location information of the one or more second tags (section 6.1.2 and fig.6.1.2-1, determining location information of the target UE (i.e. first tag) based on the result of locating the target UE and determining by LMF the UE positioning based on the result of locating the target UE and when the location is required for more than one UE the same steps are repeated for the target UEs (i.e. one or more second tags)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of
3GPP into invention of LEI and Edge in order for a positioning method used by LMF to support UE based positioning, UE assisted positioning and delivery of assistance data.
As per claim 6 as applied to claim 5 above, 3GPP further teaches wherein the fifth indication information comprises: an identifier of each second tag, or an identifier of each second tag and known location information of each second tag (section 6.1.2, UE identified by its Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI) of the target UEs).
As per claim 15 as applied to claim 13 above, LEI in view of Edge does not explicitly teach sending, by the first network element, third indication information to the location management function network element, wherein the third indication information comprises an identifier of one or more first access network devices, and the first access network device is an access network device to which a first receiver belongs, wherein: the third indication information is used by an access and mobility management function network element to route second indication information to each first access network device; and the second indication information is obtained based on the first indication information, the second indication information indicates to each first receiver to measure an uplink signal of the first tag, and the result of locating the first tag comprises first measurement information measured by each first receiver.
In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches sending, by the first network element, third indication information to the location management function network element, wherein the third indication information comprises an identifier of one or more first access network devices, and the first access network device is an access network device to which a first receiver belongs (sections 6.1.1, sending by AMF the NImf_Location_Determine Location Request (i.e. third indication information) to LMF including an identifier of access network devices), wherein: the third indication information is used by an access and mobility management function network element to route second indication information to each first access network device; and the second indication information is obtained based on the first indication information, the second indication information indicates to each first receiver to measure an uplink signal of the first tag, and the result of locating the first tag comprises first measurement information measured by each first receiver (sections 6.1.1 and 6.11.1, the Namf_communication_N1N2MessageTransfer indicating to the target UE (i.e. receiver of the first tag) to measure or compute uplink position and receiving or obtaining by LMF from AMF the Namf_Communication_N1InfoNotify or uplink positioning message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of
3GPP into invention of LEI and Edge in order for a positioning method used by LMF to support UE based positioning, UE assisted positioning and delivery of assistance data.
As per claim 16 as applied to claim 13 above, LEI in view of Edge does not explicitly teach, sending, by the first network element, fifth indication information to the location management function network element, wherein the fifth indication information indicates to the location management function network element to locate one or more second tags, wherein: the location information of the first tag is determined based on the result of locating the first tag, a result of locating the one or more second tags, and known location information of the one or more second tags.
In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches sending, by the first network element, fifth indication information to the location management function network element, wherein the fifth indication information indicates to the location management function network element to locate one or more second tags (section 6.1.2 and fig.6.1.2-1, receiving by LMF from AMF (i.e. first network element) NImf_Location_Determine Location request (i.e. fifth indication) indicating to LMF to locate target UEs (i.e. one or more second tags), wherein: the location information of the first tag is determined based on the result of locating the first tag, a result of locating the one or more second tags, and known location information of the one or more second tags (section 6.1.2 and fig.6.1.2-1, determining location information of the target UE (i.e. first tag) based on the result of locating the target UE and determining by LMF the UE positioning based on the result of locating the target UE and when the location is required for more than one UE the same steps are repeated for the target UEs (i.e. one or more second tags)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of
3GPP into invention of LEI and Edge in order for a positioning method used by LMF to support UE based positioning, UE assisted positioning and delivery of assistance data.
As per claim 17 as applied to claim 16 above, 3GPP further teaches wherein the fifth indication information comprises: an identifier of each second tag, or an identifier of each second tag and known location information of each second tag (section 6.1.2, UE identified by its Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI) of the target UEs).
C) Claims 9, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEI (US 2024/0012084 A1) in view of Edge (US 2020/0053638 A1) and further in view of BERGGREN (US 2020/0322755 A1).
As per claim 9 as applied to claim 1 above, LEI in view of Edge does not explicitly teach receiving, by the location management function network element, ninth indication information from the first network element that is in the core network, wherein the ninth indication information indicates to the location management function network element to locate each first helper of the first tag; and obtaining, by the location management function network element, a result of locating each first helper, wherein the determining, by the location management function network element, location information of the first tag based on the result of locating the first tag comprises: determining, by the location management function network element, the location information of the first tag based on the result of locating the first tag and the result of locating each first helper; or determining, by the location management function network element, the location information of the first tag based on the result of locating the first tag, the result of locating each first helper, the result of locating the one or more second tags, and known location information of the one or more second tags.
In the same field of endeavor, BERGGREN teaches receiving, by the location management function network element that is in the core network, ninth indication information from the first network element, wherein the ninth indication information indicates to the location management function network element to locate each first helper of the first tag (¶0050 and ¶0054, receiving by location server that is located in the network positioning messages (i.e. ninth indication) wherein the positioning messages indicating to location server to locate relay device (i.e. first helper) of electronic device (i.e. first tag)); and obtaining, by the location management function network element, a result of locating each first helper, wherein the determining, by the location management function network element, location information of the first tag based on the result of locating the first tag (¶0050 and ¶0054, receiving by location server by observer (i.e. result) of locating relay device and determining by location server position data of electronic device based on observing the position) comprises: determining, by the location management function network element, the location information of the first tag based on the result of locating the first tag and the result of locating each first helper; or determining, by the location management function network element, the location information of the first tag based on the result of locating the first tag, the result of locating each first helper, the result of locating the one or more second tags, and known location information of the one or more second tags (¶0050 and ¶0054, determining by the location server the position data of the electronic device based on observing of positioning of the electronic device and the relay device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of
BERGGREN into invention of LEI and Edge in order for electronic devices and location server devices, which mitigate, alleviate or address the shortcomings existing and provide an improved battery lifetime and an improved positioning accuracy, possibly at relatively reduced cost.
As per claim 10 as applied to claim 9 above, BERGGREN further teaches wherein the ninth indication information comprises an identifier of each first helper (¶0025-26, relay device identifier).
As per claim 19 as applied to claim 13 above, LEI in view of Edge does not explicitly teach, wherein the tag locating method further comprises: sending, by the first network element, ninth indication information to the location management function network element that is in the core network, wherein the ninth indication information indicates to the location management function network element to locate each first helper of the first tag, wherein: the location information of the first tag is determined based on the result of locating the first tag, a result of locating each first helper, the result of locating the one or more second tags, and known location information of the one or more second tags, or the location information of the first tag is determined based on the result of locating the first tag and a result of locating each first helper.
In the same field of endeavor, BERGGREN teaches wherein the tag locating method further comprises: sending, by the first network element that is in the core network, ninth indication information to the location management function network element, wherein the ninth indication information indicates to the location management function network element to locate each first helper of the first tag (¶0050 and ¶0054, receiving by location server that is located in the network positioning messages (i.e. ninth indication) wherein the positioning messages indicating to location server to locate relay device (i.e. first helper) of electronic device (i.e. first tag)), wherein: the location information of the first tag is determined based on the result of locating the first tag, a result of locating each first helper, the result of locating the one or more second tags, and known location information of the one or more second tags, or the location information of the first tag is determined based on the result of locating the first tag and a result of locating each first helper (¶0050 and ¶0054, receiving by location server by observer (i.e. result) of locating relay device and determining by location server position data of electronic device based on observing the position and determining by the location server the position data of the electronic device based on observing of positioning of the electronic device and the relay device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of
BERGGREN into invention of LEI and Edge in order for electronic devices and location server devices, which mitigate, alleviate or address the shortcomings existing and provide an improved battery lifetime and an improved positioning accuracy, possibly at relatively reduced cost.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 4, 7-8, 11-12, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643