DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Request for Continued Examination filed 5/11/2026 includes a substitute Abstract, which is accepted. The Objection to the Abstract set forth in the previous action has been withdrawn. Applicant’s RCE filing also includes claim amendments and corresponding arguments. All 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112 (b) Rejections set forth in the previous action have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments and/or cancelation of claims.
Applicant has amended Claim 36 to further clarify the claimed process for preparing an anode. Claim 36 now distinguishes coating an anode (see Step B) as a separate step prior to immersing the coated anode in an aqueous electrolyte (see new Step C). This amendment is supported by the instant disclosure, and the Examiner agrees the art of record does not disclose amended Claim 36 with sufficient specificity. After an updated search and consideration of the amended claims, the claimed invention remains obvious, but over new art (Yushin et al.) that teaches coating an anode and then immersing the coated anode in an aqueous electrolyte.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36-40 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yushin et al., US 20150318530 A1 (new reference), and further in view of Takami et al., US 20180277885 A1 (previously cited).
Regarding Claim 36, Yushin discloses a process for preparing an anode composition for an electrochemical device ([0073-0078], Fig. 5) comprising:
providing an anode (Fig. 5: active material powder of block 502 is mixed and firmly attached to a metal current collector at block 506 [0096, 0099] see anode active material particles and current collector in Figs. 2, 12, and 19);
coating the anode with a polymer and at least one fluoride additive to provide a coated anode (protective coating is provided to cover the electrode surface [0077, 0105], coating includes polymers and Li salts [0064-0072] and Fig. 3, fluoride salts preferred for anode [0103]; see coated anode in Figs. 2, 12, and 19); and
immersing the coated anode in an aqueous electrolyte (Fig. 5: An aqueous electrolyte is prepared (block 510), the assembled battery is then infiltrated with the prepared electrolyte (block 512) [0076-0084]); and
charging the coated anode to form an electrolyte interphase layer upon the anode, wherein the electrolyte interphase layer comprises a decomposition product of the at least one fluoride additive (formation of surface coatings on the electrodes during cell operation due to decomposition of the Li salts [0020, 0083]; all Li salts listed in [0076] are fluorinated).
Yushin does not disclose the anode coating is a gel, and does not disclose the polymer is a water-soluble polymer. Yushin therefore does not disclose the gel and the aqueous electrolyte are phase-separated. However, these limitations are taught by Takami.
Takami teaches polymeric materials establish a gel or solid form when added to an anode coating composition ([0042-0052]; polymers such as PEO in [0048] are water-soluble). Takami discloses the polymer gel is effective at suppressing the diffusion of water molecules to the negative electrode, and also suppresses hydrogen generation in the negative electrode ([0047]). Takami also discloses the gel is phase-separated from the aqueous electrolyte, which greatly improves the cycle life and storage performance of a secondary battery ([0050]; gel is a semi-solid, aqueous electrolyte is a liquid).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the anode coating of Yushin comprise PEO as the water-soluble polymer, as Zhang teaches including PEO in the coating will create a gel that ensures phase separation from an aqueous electrolyte and improves battery performance.
Regarding Claim 37, modified Yushin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Yushin discloses the anode comprises lithium metal, graphite, silicon, or a combination thereof (Yushin, conductive carbons such as graphite and graphite flakes may be used in the construction of anode current collectors or in the polymer composite [0096]).
Regarding Claim 38, modified Yushin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Yushin discloses the anode comprises lithium metal (Yushin, Li-ion insertion/extraction in anode [0143-0146,
0159]; anode coating comprises a Li salt [0020,0083]).
Regarding Claim 39, modified Yushin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Yushin discloses the anode comprises graphite (Yushin, conductive carbons such as graphite and graphite flakes may be used in the construction of anode current collectors or in the polymer composite [0096]).
Regarding Claim 40, modified Yushin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Yushin discloses the anode comprises silicon (Yushin, silicon oxide may be used as a protective material [0149]).
Regarding Claim 50, modified Yushin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Yushin discloses the anode composition may be used in an electrochemical device (Yushin, “Fig. 5 illustrates a method of aqueous battery fabrication” [0029], Fig. 5).
Claims 42-44, 47, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Yushin as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al., US 20180254524 A1 (previously cited).
Regarding Claim 42, modified Yushin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Yushin does not disclose the at least one fluoride additive comprises an organic fluorinated hydrocarbon or an inorganic fluoride. However, this limitation is taught by Zhang.
Zhang teaches a water-based electrolyte comprising lithium salt can be diluted with an organic fluorinated hydrocarbon (hydrofluoroether, “HFE” [0124]). Zhang teaches HFE diluents have reductive stability with the Li metal of the active salt, and as an added cost saving measure, can dilute the active salt without sacrificing performance of the electrolyte ([0124-0129, 0184]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the HFE diluent of Zhang to the gel electrolyte coating of modified Yushin, in order to reduce cost without sacrificing performance of the electrolyte.
Regarding Claim 43, modified Yushin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Yushin discloses the at least one fluoride additive comprises a fluorinated ether (Zhang, hydrofluoroether, “HFE” [0124-0129]).
Regarding Claim 44, modified Yushin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Yushin discloses the at least one fluoride additive comprises 1,1,2,2,-tetrafluoroethyl-2',2',2'-trifluoroethyl ether (Zhang, 1,1,2,2,-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl ether, “TFTFE” [0124]).
Regarding Claim 47, modified Yushin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Yushin discloses the anode comprises graphite (see Claims 37 and 39), and the at least one fluoride additive comprises 1,1,2,2,-tetrafluoroethyl- 2',2',2'-trifluoroethyl ether (Zhang, TFTFE, [0124]).
Regarding Claim 48, modified Yushin discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Yushin discloses the anode comprises lithium metal (see Claim 38), and the at least one fluoride additive comprises 1,1,2,2,- tetrafluoroethyl-2',2',2'-trifluoroethyl ether (Zhang, TFTFE, [0124]).
Conclusion
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721