Applicant’s amendments and comments, received February 23, 2026, have been fully considered by the examiner. The following is a complete response to the February 23, 2026 communication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brannan (2017/0319276).
Regarding claim 1, Brannan provides a microwave ablation probe system (Title) comprising a coolant delivery system (para. [0010]) to deliver a coolant to the ablation probe, a microwave generator (para. [0030]) and a computing system (100) in communication with a thermal sensor (TS) on the ablation probe to collect temperature data over time (para. [0046]) and determines the rate of temperature change over time (i.e. slope) and provides an indication of the probe being cooled (i.e. as represented by the slopes as seen in Figure 5).
Regarding claim 9, Brannan discloses the steps of activating a coolant delivery system and delivering microwave energy to a probe. Thermal sensors (TS) are used to measure the temperature of the probe over time and calculating a slope (i.e rate of change over time) of the temperature to compare to a preset slope value (para. [0046], for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brannan (‘276) in view of the teaching of Burnside et al (6,511,478).
Brannan discloses the microwave ablation probe as addressed with respect to claim 1 above, but fails to expressly disclose the thermal sensor is provided on a flexible circuit. Brannan simply discloses the use of thermocouples located at various locations of the system including the coupling for the fluid inlet and outlet.
Burnside et al disclose another catheter system that includes a catheter for delivery of energy (e.g. microwave energy) for the heat treatment of tissue, the catheter including a plurality of thermocouples for detecting temperature at various locations along the catheter to control the delivery of energy to tissue. See, for example, Figure 2. In particular, Burnside et al teach that it is known to provide the thermocouples as wired components, or as a flexible circuit (210) along which the thermocouples are provided. See, for example, Figure 7 and associated description.
To have provided the Brannan probe with a flexible circuit assembly that carries the temperature sensors along the probe to monitor temperature would have been an obvious alternative design consideration for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention since Burnside et al fairly teach it is known to provide temperature sensors along a probe as either wired components (as is generally known) or as a flexible circuit that includes thermocouples disposed along the length of the probe.
Regarding claim 3, Burnside et al show the flexible circuit extending along the probe. Regarding claim 4, both Brannan and Burnside et al disclose the use of multiple temperature sensors.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brannan (‘276) in view of the teaching of Brannan (2016/0008069).
Brannan (‘276) discloses a coolant delivery system for the microwave probe, but fails to show and/or disclose any of the details of the coolant delivery system.
Brannan (‘069) disclose a substantially analogous microwave ablation system including a coolant delivery system, and specifically shows a conduit through the probe and a coupling for the inlet and outlet (see Figure 20 and paragraph [0089], for example).
To have provided the Brannan (‘276) system with the coolant delivery system taught by Brannan (‘069) to circulate the cooling through the probe as disclosed would have been an obvious modification for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention given that Brannan (‘069) show a coolant delivery system for an analogous microwave ablation probe.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brannan (‘276) in view of the teaching of Brannan (2016/0008069) and further in view of the teaching of Burnside et al (6,511,478).
Again, Brannan (‘276) fails to show the specific coupling and path for the coolant delivery system, but Brannon (‘069) shows the specifics of the coolant delivery system for an analogous microwave ablation probe.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Brannan (‘276) in view of Brannon (‘069) discloses a probe including an elongate shaft with a coupling attached to the shaft for connecting of the coolant delivery system (Figures 2, 8, 14 and 20, for example) including temperature sensors at the coupling (Figure 20). To have incorporated the Burnside et al flexible circuit in such a probe is deemed an obvious design consideration for one of ordinary skill in the art, particularly given that Burnside et al incorporate the flexible circuit within a similar catheter probe device.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brannan (‘276) further in view of the teaching of Cosman et al (9,717,552).
While Brannan (‘276) discloses the use of a temperature slope to monitor temperature for control of the delivery of energy and cooling fluid to a probe, there is no express step of troubleshooting the probe to verify coolant delivery based on the slope as required by these claims.
Cosman et al provide another probe device to deliver energy to tissue, that also delivers a cooling fluid to maintain desired temperature levels at the tissue site. In particular, Cosman et al teach that it is known to monitor the temperature and to perform a coolant check to verify sufficient coolant flow in the event the temperature drop is not consistent with expected results. See, for example, column 34, lines 35-65. As addressed previously, Brannan (‘276) discloses monitoring rate of change of temperature over time (i.e. slope) and thus measures positive and negative slopes of the temperature change. Incorporating the Cosman notion of verifying a rate of cooling into the Brannan (‘276) system would allow for the verifying of cooling based on the rate of change of temperature over time (i.e. slope).
To have provided the Brannan computer system and controller with a troubleshooting step to check temperature to verify that sufficient coolant is being delivered over a period of time during a procedure would have been an obvious modification for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention since Cosman et al fairly teach that such a temperature check and coolant delivery verification is known in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/M.F.P/May 6, 2026