DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2023-11-29 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The detail description is missing a term after "wedge-shape" (Fig. 3, Pg. 7, ln. 13), for examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted this to mean "the wedge-shape housing" .
Appropriate correction is required.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: "wedge-shape".
Claim Objections
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: lacks a term after "wedge-shaped. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huseth et al. (US-10672259-B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Huseth et al. discloses a communications system for emergency personnel (Summary, par. 4; systems, apparatuses, and method for alerting an incident commander (IC) about emergency response personnel at risk during emergency response), the system comprising: a plurality of beacons disposed in a building or large structure, wherein each beacon is placed in a location such that it can communicate with at least its next nearest beacon when activated and/or nearby emergency personnel (Summary, par.12; a method for directing an emergency responder may comprise attaching a plurality of beacons to a structure within a building, wherein each beacon comprises a radio frequency module; activating each beacon; communicating to a computer system a description of a placement of each beacon relative to surrounding structures; transmitting information from each beacon to a telemetry module, wherein the telemetry module is mounted on a self-contained breathing apparatus of an emergency responder), wherein each beacon comprises a low power consumption PCBA, a battery, and a housing (Detailed description, par. 55; The RF beacon 100 may be a low power radio/battery combination that may use one of many wireless protocols), wherein each beacon is installed in the building or large structure prior to a disaster incident or event (Detailed Description, fig. 13, par. 57; The RF beacon 100 may also be placed/attached to vehicles (e.g., a fire truck) to identify a recovery area, nearness to trucks, etc. The RF beacon 100 may indicate that a user is outside of a structure or inside a structure based on signal strength between the RF beacon 100 and portable device 116. When a firefighter activates and attaches the RF beacon 100 to a structure, the firefighter may also contact an incident commander).
Regarding Claim 2, Huseth et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each beacon is activated upon the presence of a nearby emergency responder (Detailed Description, fig. 3, par 53; Since the signal for the RF beacon may not travel significant distances; when a subsequent firefighters pass through the same vicinity, their portable systems may detect the RF beacon and may relay the identification of the RF beacon back to the IC 23).
Regarding Claim 3, Huseth et al discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising one or more temporary use beacons (Detailed description, fig. 13, par 53; simple-to-deploy system for identifying key regions … These simple, disposable, low cost RF beacons may be provided to key members of a firefighting team)
Regarding Claim 6, Huseth et al., discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a low-profile housing (Detailed Description, Fig. 1, par. 30; each of the CUs 20 is integrated into an SCBA 34 that is assigned to and worn by a specific firefighter 14. In some applications, it will be desirable for each of the CUs 20 to be a self-contained unit with its own housing that can be carried in a pocket of the firefighter’s bunker gear, and/or attached to another piece of personal protective equipment that is worn by a firefighter)
Regarding Claim 7, Huseth et al., discloses the system of claim 1, wherein one or more of the plurality of beacons comprise an adhesive backing to secure a beacon at a particular location in the building or large structure (Summary, par. 10; The system of claim 1, wherein one or more of the plurality of beacons comprise an adhesive backing to secure a beacon at a particular location in the building or large structure).
Regarding Claim 9, Huseth et al., discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each beacon is assigned a unique identifier (Detailed Description, figs. 1-2, par. 31; Each CU 20 is configured to, at least periodically, transmit a unique identification 35 from the shortrange radio of the communication unit).
Regarding Claim 10, Huseth et al., discloses a method of installing a communications system for emergency personnel in a building or structure, comprising: providing a plurality of beacons (Summary, fig. 1, par 11; a method for tracking an emergency responder may comprise attaching a plurality of beacons to a structure within a building, wherein each beacon comprises a radio frequency module; activating each beacon; communicating to a computer system a description of a placement of each beacon relative to surrounding structures), wherein each beacon comprises a low power consumption PCBA, a battery, and a housing (Detailed description, par. 55; The RF beacon 100 may be a low power radio/battery combination that may use one of many wireless protocols); and disposing each beacon in the building or large structure, wherein each beacon is placed in a location such that it can communicate with at least its next nearest beacon when activated and/or nearby emergency personnel, wherein each beacon is installed in the building or large structure prior to a disaster incident or emergency event (Detailed Description, fig. 13, par. 57; The RF beacon 100 may also be placed/attached to vehicles (e.g., a fire truck) to identify a recovery area, nearness to trucks, etc. The RF beacon 100 may indicate that a user is outside of a structure or inside a structure based on signal strength between the RF beacon 100 and portable device 116. When a firefighter activates and attaches the RF beacon 100 to a structure, the firefighter may also contact an incident commander).
Regarding Claim 11, Huseth et al., discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising indicating, on a floorplan or map of the building or large structure, the location of each beacon, to produce an annotated map (Summary, par. 11; a method for tracking an emergency responder may comprise attaching a plurality of beacons to a structure within a building … transmitting information from each beacon to a telemetry module … transmitting the information from the telemetry module to the computer system; drawing a floor plan, with the computer system, of the building based on the description; and displaying in the user interface, the floor plan and location of each beacon)
Regarding Claim 12, Huseth et al., discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the annotated map is stored such that it is accessible by an incident commander during the disaster incident or emergency event (Detailed Description, fig. 4, par. 34; the operation of one embodiment of the incident command monitoring system 22 is illustrated, with the central processor 56 receiving each of the data packets 38 from the CUs 20 via the long-range radio 54, and stores them in the database 55, as shown at 60. The central processor 56 then runs an algorithm or other such computer-implemented process or method, using the data in the received data packet database 55, to determine the team affiliations indicated by the received data packets 38. The central processor 56 can then compare the indicated affiliations to the actual team assignments stored in the database 52 of firefighters and team assignments, as shown at blocks 62 and 64. The central processer 56 can use association mapping and graph theory to develop
most likely clusters of firefighters 14).
Regarding Claim 13, Huseth et al teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising dispensing one or more temporary use beacons in the building or large structure during the disaster incident or emergency event(Summary, par. 13; a method for directing an emergency responder may comprise attaching a plurality of beacons to a structure within a building, wherein each beacon comprises a radio frequency module; activating each beacon; communicating to a computer system a description of a placement of each beacon relative to surrounding structures; transmitting information from each beacon to a telemetry module, wherein the telemetry module is mounted on a self-contained breathing apparatus of an emergency responder; transmitting the information from the telemetry module to the computer system), wherein the one or more temporary use beacons bolster the existing beacon network (Detailed Description, fig. 12, par. 58; The incident commander 112 may be manned or unmanned. The RF relay station 114 may be an optional component of breadcrumb telemetry system 110. The RF relay station(s) 114 may be deployed as needed to increase a communication range
between incident commander 112 and the portable device 116).
Regarding Claim 14, Huseth et al discloses, the method of claim 13, wherein the temporary use beacons operate in the same communication frequency or protocol as the plurality of beacons to create a single communication network comprising the plurality of beacons (Summary, figs. 12-13, par. 13; a method for directing an emergency responder may comprise attaching a plurality of beacons to a structure within a building, wherein each beacon comprises a radio frequency module; activating each beacon; communicating to a computer system a description of a placement of each beacon relative to surrounding structures; transmitting information from each beacon to a telemetry module, wherein the telemetry module is mounted on a self-contained breathing apparatus of an emergency responder; transmitting the information from the telemetry module to the computer system) and the temporary use beacons (Detailed Description, figs. 12-13, pars. 53 and 58; These simple, disposable, low cost RF beacons may be provided to key members of a firefighting team, as they enter and move around a structure. At key points inside or outside the structure, the firefighters may take one of the RF beacons, activate the RF beacon (e.g., by turning dial 104, etc.), and mount it to a surrounding structure. Upon activating the RF beacon, the RF beacon may begin transmitting a signal (e.g., wireless) providing its identification and/or location … A wireless protocol, such as, for example, BLE, low power wide area network (“LPWAN”), 802.15.4, or combinations thereof, may be a communication protocol for communication between RF beacon 100 and portable device 116)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huseth et al. (US-10672259-B2 ) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Delaney (US-7907052-B2 ).
Regarding Claim 4, Huseth et al. discloses the system of claim 3 (Detailed Description, fig. 13, par. 53; a simple-to-deploy system for identifying key regions and providing automated information on the time and last known position for accountability and directing search and rescue operations. Firefighter or emergency workers may carry portable systems (e.g., SCBA 34) that can include a low cost, low power radio frequency (“RF”) transceiver. These simple, disposable, low cost RF beacons may be provided to key members of a firefighting team, as they enter and move around a structure. At key points inside or outside the structure, the firefighters may take one of the RF beacons, activate the RF beacon (e.g., by turning dial 104, etc.), and mount it to a surrounding structure. Upon activating the RF beacon, the RF beacon may begin transmitting a signal (e.g., wireless) providing its identification and/or location. The RF beacon may have a simple mounting mechanism (e.g., screws, bolts, straps, adhesive, or combinations thereof) to allow mounting of the RF beacon on many internal or external structures)
Huseth et al. does not teach a temporary a beacon disposed in a wedge-shaped housing configured to be placed as a door stop, wherein the at least one temporary use beacon is activated upon pressure placed on a major surface of the wedge-shaped by a door contacting at least one major surface. However, Delaney discloses a wedge-shaped door chock housing a sensor which when placed into service, provide and relay information wirelessly to locate firefighters (Delaney, Detailed Description, figs. 1-3, par. 10). The device can be activated automatically when placed by a door by applying sufficient force to the upper surface of the chock or manually by using the activation button (Delaney, Detailed Description, figs. 1-3, par. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of Huseth et al. and Delaney to implement a temporary beacon in the shape of a door chock, a common household item to enhance the ability to locate firefighters and aid in their operations and easy deployment.
Regarding Claim 5, Huseth et al. discloses the system of claim 3 (Detailed Description, fig. 13, par. 53; a simple-to-deploy system for identifying key regions and providing automated information on the time and last known position for accountability and directing search and rescue operations. Firefighter or emergency workers may carry portable systems (e.g., SCBA 34) that can include a low cost, low power radio frequency (“RF”) transceiver. These simple, disposable, low cost RF beacons may be provided to key members of a firefighting team, as they enter and move around a structure. At key points inside or outside the structure, the firefighters may take one of the RF beacons, activate the RF beacon (e.g., by turning dial 104, etc.), and mount it to a surrounding structure. Upon activating the RF beacon, the RF beacon may begin transmitting a signal (e.g., wireless) providing its identification and/or location. The RF beacon may have a simple mounting mechanism (e.g., screws, bolts, straps, adhesive, or combinations thereof) to allow mounting of the RF beacon on many internal or external structures). Huseth et al. further teaches the system can include a plurality of wearable wireless devices that can be attached to another piece of firefighter’s personal protective equipment or carried in a pocket of the firefighter’s gear (Huseth et al., Summary, pars. 4-5).
Huseth et al. does not teach temporary use beacons dispensed and activated by an automatic dispenser attached to one or more emergency responders. However, Delaney teaches that enhanced door chock can be modified to fit into the handles of hand tools such as axe, hook, sledge hammer or any other piece of their personal protective equipment (Delaney, Detailed description, par. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Huseth et al. temporary beacons to be dispensed by an automatic dispenser attached to the first responder as taught by Delaney in order to enable faster deployment during an emergency by reducing manual handling.
Regarding Claim 8, Delaney further teaches a beacon comprising piezo device or speaker to emit audible sounds (Detailed Description, par. 6; The Enhanced Door Chock (EDC) turns a singularly functioning tool into a multi-operational device that enhances fire department operations and safety, fire fighter accountability, general knowledge, and situational awareness. The EDC enhances search and rescue operations because it guides fire fighters to the location of placement of the EDC, through visual, audible, and heat indicators. Fire fighters are able to locate the device via the strobe-light, audible indicators, the heat signature from the device, or the wireless transmission of the actual location to fire fighters' heads-up display or other handheld device)
Regarding Claim 15, Huseth et al. teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the temporary use beacons operate in a different communication frequency or protocol (Huseth et al., fig. 12, par 58; A wireless protocol, such as, for example, BLE, low power wide area network (“LPWAN”), 802.15.4, or combinations thereof, may be a communication protocol for communication between RF beacon 100 and portable device 116. A wireless protocol, such as, for example, a long range radio may be a communication protocol for communication among the RF relay station 114, the portable device 116, and the incident commander 112.
Huseth et al. does not teach creating two separate communication networks, with a first communication network comprising the plurality of beacons and a second communication network comprising the temporary use beacons. However, Delaney teaches the use of network compliant electronic to include RFID networks and ad-hoc networks such as those having IEEE designations to stablish a mesh network or a GPS point to point network in the temporary door chock (Delaney, Detailed description pars. 14-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huseth et al. to stablish support for different wireless communication protocols with Delaney’s independent point to point network communication of temporary beacons to stablish two separate networks to enhance data handling between temporary and permanent beacons and enable flexible communication between the systems.
Other Pertinent References
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant disclosure.
Grajales; Liliana (2007). Method and system for facilitating command of a group (US-20070183343-A1); Published: 2007-08-09
Kodrin; David S. (2007). Devices, systems and method of determining the location of mobile personnel (US-20070229356-A1); Published: 2007-10-04
Mohamadi; Farrokh (2016). Real-time, two dimensional (2-D) tracking of first responders with identification inside premises (US-9383426-B2); Published: 2016-07-05
A'RAFAT, SA'ED (2007). SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR TRACKING ASSETS USING AN AD-HOC PEER-TO-PEER WIRELESS NETWORK (KR-20070022852-A) Published: 2016-07-05
Conclusion
/MRCM/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649