DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by UMTS; LTE; Network sharing (3GPP TS 23.251 version 17.0.0 Release 17, NPL Item No. 7 from IDS NPL, ETSI TS 123 251 v17.0.0, April 2022, hereinafter 3GPP_TS_23.251).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 20, 3GPP_TS_23.251 teaches operating a mobile network operator (MNO) core network entity (Fig, 5 RNC) to initiate a user equipment (UE) interworking operation with a multiple system operator (MSO) core network by sending an initiate message communicating an attach request corresponding to a first UE to a first MSO core network entity (Fig. 5, MSC/SGSN A) which has access to first UE subscription data (see page 23, Fig, 5 as shown below, step 2 and step 3 Attach Request); and receiving at the at the MNO core network entity a message including a command from the first MSO core network entity, said command commanding the MNO core network entity to use a second MSO core network entity (Fig. 5, step 5a or step 9 Reroute Command), which is an MSO network interworking entity, as the source for UE policy information to be applied to service provided to the first UE (Fig. 5, step 8-Insert Subsc. Data).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, 3GPP_TS_23.251 teaches wherein the first MSO core entity stores subscription data corresponding to the first UE or has access to stored subscription data corresponding to the first UE (Fig. 5, step 8-MSC/SGSN B updates the HLR and receives subscriber data from HLR).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, 3GPP_TS_23.251 teaches the first MSO core network entity serves as a home subscription data service provider when the first UE is in the MSO network (Fig. 9).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, 3GPP_TS_23.251 teaches receiving, at MNO core network entity, prior to operating the MNO core network entity to initiate the UE interworking operation with the MSO core network, a message relating to first UE connection establishment at a radio access node (RAN) in the MNO network (Fig. 5. Steps 1 and 2).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, 3GPP_TS_23.251 teaches operating the first MSO core network entity to select from a plurality of interworking nodes in the MSO network the second MSO core network entity (Fig. 5 MSC/SGSN C) to serve as the interworking node for communication services provided to the first UE while the first UE is communicating via a RAN in the MNO network (Fig. 5 UE and RNC).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, 3GPP_TS_23.251 teaches operating the first MSO core network entity to communicate the attach request corresponding to the first UE to the second MSO core network entity (Fig. 5, step 3 Attach Request and step 5a Reroute Command).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, 3GPP_TS_23.251 teaches operating the second MSO core network entity to establish an MSO network connection with the first UE (Fig. 5, steps 9 and 10).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, 3GPP_TS_23.251 teaches operating the second MSO core network entity to establish the MSO network connection with the first UE includes: operating the second MSO network entity (Fig. 5, MSC/SGSN C) to send a reroute message (Fig. 5, step 9 Reroute Command) indicating that the reroute of the connection from the MNO network to the second MSO core network entity has been completed and accepted by the second MSO network entity (Fig. 5, step 13 Reroute Complete).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, 3GPP_TS_23.251 teaches: operating the MNO core network entity to communicate a message to the first UE indicating acceptance of the first UE by the second MSO network entity (Fig. 5, step 14 Attach accept).
Regarding claim 10, 3GPP_TS_23.251 teaches wherein operating the second MSO core network entity to establish the MSO network connection with the first UE further includes: operating the second MSO network entity to receive an attach complete message from the first UE (Fig. 5, step 15 Attach complete).
Conclusion
/EUNSOOK CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467