DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 23 December 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites “...as claimed in any of claim 7...” which is misleading as only one claim is listed. The claim limitation should be amended to recite “…as claimed in claim 7…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/963,102 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are anticipated by the copending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Below is a comparison between present claim 1 and copending claim 3:
Present claim 1
Copending claim 3
A waste management apparatus to be mounted on a waste collection vehicle equipped with at least one optical sensor configured to acquire images of waste entering the waste collection vehicle, the waste management apparatus comprising at least one memory and at least one processor configured to process at least part of the acquired images to:
A waste management apparatus to be mounted on a waste collection vehicle equipped with at least one optical sensor configured to acquire images of waste entering the waste collection vehicle, the waste management apparatus comprising at least one memory and at least one processor configured to process at least part of the acquired images to:
- detect one or more objects,
- detect one or more objects,
- for each object detected in a given image, provide at least a class in a classification of objects,
- for each object detected in a given image, provide at least a class in a classification of objects, wherein the classification of objects relates to sorting rules so that a type of waste collection tour can be determined from a class of objects,
- determine, amongst the detected objects, new objects entering the waste collection vehicle, and
- determine, amongst the detected objects, new objects entering the waste - collection vehicle,
-determine an actual type of the given waste collection tour from a distribution - or a weighted distribution of the classes of at least a certain number of the new objects.
- send to a remote server information about the new objects, comprising at least the class of the new object, a time and a location of the waste collection vehicle when the new object entered the waste collection vehicle.
wherein the at least one memory and at least one processor are further configured to send to a remote server, via a wireless interface, information about the new objects, comprising for a given new object at least the class of the given new object, a time and a location of the waste collection vehicle when the given new object entered the waste collection vehicle
As shown above, besides wording, the main difference between the claims is that the present claims are broader than the copending claims. Thus, the present claims are anticipated by the copending claims.
Claims 2-11 are similarly rejected as above over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/963,102 (reference application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romano et al. (US 2020/0034785) in view of Dietrich (US 2022/0180330).
Regarding claim 1, Romano et al. disclose a waste management apparatus to be mounted on a waste collection vehicle (Figure 1A, vehicle 102 and Figures 9A-9B) equipped with at least one optical sensor (Figure 9B) configured to acquire images of waste entering the waste collection vehicle, the waste management apparatus comprising at least one memory (Figure 1A, 116) and at least one processor (Figure 1A, 114) configured to process at least part of the acquired images to:
- detect one or more objects (Figures 18 and 20 and paragraph [0206], objects that are contaminants are detected.),
- for each object detected in a given image, provide at least a class in a classification of objects (Figure 20, “Styrofoam” is detected for the contaminated objects.),
- determine, amongst the detected objects, new objects entering the waste collection vehicle (Since the objects are detected as they are added, they are all “new objects” entering the waste collection vehicle.), and
- send information about the new objects, comprising at least the class of the new object, a time and a location of the waste collection vehicle when the new object entered the waste collection vehicle (Figures 1A and 12B, and paragraphs [0068], [0072] and [0106], information is sent to remote device(s)/cloud, the information includes classification, time and location.).
Romano et al. fail to specifically teach that the information about the new objects is sent to a remote server.
Dietrich discloses a waste management apparatus to be mounted on a waste collection vehicle (Figure 1, waste collection service vehicle 12.) equipped with at least one optical sensor (Figure 1, optical sensors 35.), wherein information about the new objects, comprising at least the class of the new object, a time and a location of the waste collection vehicle when the new object entered the waste collection vehicle are sent to a remote server (Figure 1 and paragraph [0062], “a central computing device 24 defining a remote central server in communication with the onboard device 22 over the wireless network 20.” See also paragraph [0074]: “…the controller may instead analyse the image data associated with the receiving area 28 in each waste image…” and paragraph [0086]: “All of this data is stored on the service vehicle or on the server to permit subsequent recall by an administrator in communication over the network with one or both of the onboard controller or the server controller.”).
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of the actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In combination Romano et al. performs the same function as it does separately of classifying new objects entering a waste collection vehicle, and Dietrich performs the same function as it does separately of sending information about new objects to a remote server.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performed the same function as it does separately. The results of the combination would have been predictable and resulted in sending information about the new objects, comprising at least the class of the new object, a time and a location of the waste collection vehicle when the new object entered the waste collection vehicle.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, Romano et al. and Dietrich disclose a waste management apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and at least one processor are further configured to provide, to for each object detected in a given image, a position in said given image (Dietrich: Paragraph [0074], “…track the position of the objects within the waste receiving area 28…”), and determining new objects entering the waste collection vehicle comprises:
- storing, in a memory, records corresponding to objects detected in previous images, a given record comprising at least the position of the given object in the given previous image and information descriptive of the given object (Dietrich: Paragraph [0087], “…the data may remain stored on the service vehicle…”),
- for each detected object in the current image:
- comparing the position and the descriptive information of the detected object with the records in the memory (Dietrich: Paragraph [0088], “…track the movement of the identified object within the waste receiving area of the vehicle…Any new objects identified within the waste images are further analysed for comparison to known objects…”),
- when no match is found determine that the detected object is a new object (Dietrich: Paragraph [0088], “…Any objects that are identified as being associated with the previous service event are removed from the current audit and remain associated with the previous service event and previously identified client associated with the previous service event. Any new objects…” Clearly, if no match is found it’s a “new object”),
- storing in the memory a new record corresponding to the detected object in the current image (Dietrich: Paragraph [0087, “…the data may remain stored on the service vehicle…” and thus for each new location, a “new record” is stored.]).
Regarding claim 8, Romano et al. and Dietrich disclose a waste management apparatus as claimed in any of claim 7, wherein the comparison of the position and the descriptive information of the detected object with the records in the memory takes into account an estimation of movement of the detected object (Dietrich: Paragraph [0088], “…track the movement...”).
Regarding claim 10, Romano et al. and Dietrich disclose a waste collection vehicle comprising a waste management apparatus as claimed in claim 1 (Romano et al.: Figure 1A and Figures 9A-9B).
Regarding claim 11, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romano et al. (US 2020/0034785) in view of Dietrich (US 2022/0180330) and further in view of Podgorny (US 2020/0175556).
Regarding claim 2, Romano et al. and Dietrich disclose a waste management apparatus as claimed in claim 1.
Romano et al. and Dietrich fail to teach wherein at least one memory and at least one processor are configured to control the at least one optical sensor to acquire images continuously while the waste collection vehicle is in service.
Podgorny discloses wherein at least one memory and at least one processor are configured to control at least one optical sensor to acquire images continuously while the waste collection vehicle is in service (Paragraph [0041], “…waste detector 28 continuously captures image data anytime vehicle 10 is operational…”).
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of the actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In combination, the combination of Romano et al. and Dietrich performs the same function as it does separately of at least one optical sensor to acquire images, and Podgorny performs the same function as it does separately of at least one optical sensor to acquire images continuously.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performed the same function as it does separately. The results of the combination would have been predictable and resulted in the at least one optical sensor acquiring images continuously while the waste collection vehicle is in service.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romano et al. (US 2020/0034785) in view of Dietrich (US 2022/0180330) and further in view of Oliva-Perez et al. (US 2019/0295292).
Regarding claim 3, Romano et al. and Dietrich disclose a waste management apparatus as claimed in claim 1.
Romano et al. and Dietrich disclose wherein the at least one memory and at least one processor are further configured to determine if the waste collection vehicle is in motion and disregard new objects identified from images acquired while the waste collection vehicle is in motion.
Oliva-Perez et al. disclose determining if a vehicle is in motion and disregard new objects identified from images acquired while the waste collection vehicle is in motion (Paragraph [0047], “…the system re-evaluates whether the vehicle is in motion. In the case where it is found that the vehicle is in motion, the image A is deleted…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the image deletion teachings of Oliva-Perez et al. in the waste management apparatus as taught by the combination of Romano et al. and Dietrich. The motivation to combine would have been in order to alert distracted drivers/operators in non-moving vehicles, to reduce their time of response to unnoticed external environment color changes (See the abstract of Oliva-Perez et al.).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romano et al. (US 2020/0034785) in view of Dietrich (US 2022/0180330) and further in view of Price et al. (US 2022/0177220).
Regarding claim 9, Romano et al. and Dietrich disclose a waste management apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the acquired images are processed through a machine learning module (Romano et al.: Paragraph [0007]).
Romano et al. and Dietrich fail to explicitly teach the machine learning module detecting objects in a given image, and providing for each detected object, at least the class of the detected object and an object identifier that uniquely identifies the detected object, an object being determined as a new object when the object identifier is different from the identifiers of the objects detected in previous images.
Price et al. disclose a machine learning module, the machine learning module detecting objects in a given image, and providing for each detected object, at least the class of the detected object and an object identifier that uniquely identifies the detected object, an object being determined as a new object when the object identifier is different from the identifiers of the objects detected in previous images (Paragraph [0046]).
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of the actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In combination, the combination of Romano et al. and Dietrich fail performs the same function as it does separately of using a machine learning module, and Price et al. performs the same function as it does separately of the machine learning module detecting objects in a given image.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performed the same function as it does separately. The results of the combination would have been predictable and resulted in the machine learning module detecting objects in a given image, and providing for each detected object, at least the class of the detected object and an object identifier that uniquely identifies the detected object, an object being determined as a new object when the object identifier is different from the identifiers of the objects detected in previous images.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in claim 4 is the inclusion of the limitation reciting “wherein the object classification relates to sorting rules so that a type of waste collection tour can be determined from the classes of the objects collected during a given waste collection tour” which, in combination with the other recited features, is not taught and/or suggested either singularly or in combination within the prior art.
The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in claim 5 is the inclusion of the limitation reciting “…to be mounted on a waste collection vehicle arranged to collect waste for at least two types of waste collection tours, wherein the at least one memory and at least one processor are further configured to determine, from the acquired images, the type of waste collection tour associated with the new objects, and to include an indication of the type of waste collection tour in the information sent to the remote server” which, in combination with the other recited features, is not taught and/or suggested either singularly or in combination within the prior art.
The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in claim 6 is the inclusion of the limitation reciting “wherein the at least one memory and at least one processor are further configured to determine from the acquired images a type of entrance into the waste collection vehicle amongst at least the following: manual entrance, thrown from a bin lifted by the waste collection vehicle, thrown from a bin lifted manually or dumped from a container of a sorting terminal, and to include said type of entrance in the information sent to the remote server” which, in combination with the other recited features, is not taught and/or suggested either singularly or in combination within the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maruca et al. (US 2009/0169348) disclose systems and methods for identifying and collecting banned waste.
Gates et al. (US 2014/0379588) disclose a system and method for waste management.
Armstrong et al. (US 2021/0158308) disclose a method and system for contamination assessment.
/STEPHEN G SHERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621
12 January 2026