Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, respectively of copending Application No. 19/410,501 (reference application). The difference between the instant application and the copending application being no prediction processing is performed in the instant application. Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, respectively of copending Application No. 19/410,439 (reference application). The difference between the instant application and the copending application being no prediction processing is performed in the instant application. Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, respectively of copending Application No. 18/410,564 (reference application). The difference between the instant application and the copending application being no prediction processing is performed in the instant application. Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 5-8, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,262. The difference between the instant application and the copending application being no prediction processing is performed in the instant application. Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 5-7 recite the limitations “determining whether a plurality of transformation forms are allowed for the current block; obtaining partitioning information indicating a partitioning depth for the current block based on the determination”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose these limitations. Regarding the limitations “determining whether a plurality of transformation forms are allowed for the current block; obtaining partitioning information indicating a partitioning depth for the current block based on the determination”, the applicant cites [0083]-[0088] and [0634]-[0636] of the applicant’s specification as disclosing this limitation (see remarks filed 7/15/2026, pg. 10, para. 1). The examiner respectfully disagrees.
While [0083]-[0088] teach determining allowable transformation types based on a block size and [0634]-[0636] teach determining a partitioning scheme and an allowable partitioning depth based on a block size, neither of the cited sections teach “determining whether a plurality of transformation forms are allowed for the current block; obtaining partitioning information indicating a partitioning depth for the current block based on the determination (i.e. the cited sections do not teach a first step of determining allowable transform types for a block and then determining a partitioning depth based on the determination of allowable transform types).
Claims 2-4 are rejected based on their respective dependencies upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (Zhao) (US 2017/0280162) in view of Zhao et al. (Zhao’290) (US 2016/0219290).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses an image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, the image decoding method comprising:
deriving a size of a subblock based on the partitioning information ([0048], partitioning information is used to produce blocks of desired sizes) and at least one of a size of the current block or a shape of the current block ([0021], the size of the sub block is determined based on the size of a leaf node block);
partitioning the current block into one or more subblocks based on the size of the subblock ([0021], [0023], [0048], [0051], the size of the sub block can not exceed a maximum or a minimal size),
performing inverse-transformation for the subblock ([0047], inverse transformation is performed);
generating a residual signal based on the inverse-transformation ([0048], a residual is generated); and
wherein a binary tree partitioning is allowed for the current block having a width different from a height (FIG. 4a, block 51 is partitioned into blocks 55 and 56 using binary partitioning; block 53 is partitioned to produce blocks 61 and 62 using binary partitioning; [0021] binary tree partitioning is applied).
Zhao is silent about determining whether a plurality of transformation forms are allowed for the current block; obtaining partitioning information indicating a partitioning depth for the current block based on the determination.
Zhao’290 from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses determining whether a plurality of transformation forms are allowed for the current block ([0005], a subset of allowable transform types is determined); obtaining partitioning information indicating a partitioning depth for the current block based on the determination ([0088], a maximum partitioning depth is determined based on an allowed transform type).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhao’290 into the teachings of Zhao for more efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses wherein, in case the current block is square, a quadtree partitioning is performed for the current block (FIG. 4a, square block 50 is partitioned to yield 4 leaf blocks 51-53).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao discloses wherein the partitioning the current block is performed based on a predetermined index for a partitioning ([0053], partitioning flags are signaled), and
wherein, in case the current block is a 4Nx4N block (FIG. 3, block 40), the current block is not partitioned (FIG. 3, square blocks with solid lines are not furthered partitioned), or the current block is partitioned into four 2Nx2N subblocks (FIG. 4, block 51-53).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao discloses an image encoding method performed by an image encoding apparatus, the image encoding method comprising:
deriving a size of a subblock based on the partitioning information ([0048], partitioning information is used to produce blocks of desired sizes) and at least one of a size of the current block or a shape of the current block ([0021], the size of the sub block is determined based on the size of a leaf node block);
partitioning the current block into one or more subblocks based on the size of the subblock ([0021], [0023], [0048], [0051], the size of the sub block can not exceed a maximum or a minimal size),
performing transformation for the subblock ([0049], [0058], transform is applied); and
encoding the residual signal based on the transformation ([0048], a residual is generated),
wherein a binary tree partitioning is allowed for the current block having a width different from a height (FIG. 4a, block 51 is partitioned into blocks 55 and 56 using binary partitioning; block 53 is partitioned to produce blocks 61 and 62 using binary partitioning).
Zhao is silent about determining whether a plurality of transformation forms are allowed for the current block; obtaining partitioning information indicating a partitioning depth for the current block based on the determination.
Zhao’290 from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses determining whether a plurality of transformation forms are allowed for the current block ([0005], a subset of allowable transform types is determined); obtaining partitioning information indicating a partitioning depth for the current block based on the determination ([0088], a maximum partitioning depth is determined based on an allowed transform type).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhao’290 into the teachings of Zhao in for more efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 8, the limitations of claim 6 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6. Zhao further discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream (FIG. 10, the bitstream is received by receiving device 14), generating a bitstream based on the encoding of the residual signal ([0005], [0118], [0157], [0160], samples (residuals) of the transform block are added to a prediction block to reconstruct a block), transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 10, the bitstream is received by receiving device 14).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (Zhao) (US 2017/0280162) in view of Zhao et al. (Zhao’290) (US 2016/0219290), and further in view of Kang et al. (Kang) (US 2014/0286421).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao in view of Zhao’290 discloses the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Zhao in view of Zhao’290 is silent about wherein the partitioning the current block is performed differently according to whether a prediction mode of the current block is an inter mode or an intra mode.
Kang from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the partitioning the current block is performed differently according to whether a prediction mode of the current block is an inter mode or an intra mode ([0085], Table 1, there are different split types for each prediction mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kang into the teachings of Zhao in view of Zhao’290 for more efficient video coding and decoding.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li et al. (Li) (US 2017/0208336) ([0078], the depth of a node in a tree structure may refer to the length of the path (e.g., the number of splits) from the node to the root of the tree structure).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488