U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after August 3, 2026, of which claims 1 and 3-6 were presented for examination, of which claims 1 and 6 were amended, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed August 3, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Normandin et al. “Normandin” (US PG Pub. 2012/0226210) have been fully considered. Applicant’s amendments have been reviewed and necessitate a new ground(s) of rejection, as explained herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Normandin et al. “Normandin” (US PG Pub. 2012/0226210) in view of Tsai (US Patent 9,943,132).
Regarding claim 1, Normandin discloses a configurable foot orthosis for shoes that is intended to be attached inside a shoe (Par. 0031) for body balance adjustment by body type to maintain body balance by correcting pressure on a sole of a foot (Abstract), wherein the foot orthosis for shoes comprises a shoe sole (100) in contact with a user's foot (as shown in Fig. 2); and
an attachment pad (combination of 121-126) attached to a setting area of a surface of the shoe sole (surface of 120) to protrude upward (as shown in Fig. 2) and has a material, thickness, and hardness set according to a condition of the user's foot (Par. 0008, 0039, 0054, examiner notes the pads 121-126 can be a variety of materials, such as EVA or Polyurethane foam, which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize has its own hardness, and thickness depending on where the pad is located in relation to a wearers foot),
wherein the attachment pad (combination of 121-126) consists of one selected from the group of a calcaneus pad (125),
wherein the calcaneus pad (125) is placed in a rear central portion of the midfoot region and a front central portion of the hindfoot region (as shown in annotated Fig. 3 below), and is convexly formed in an oval shape (as shown in Fig. 2), and is made of memory foam materials (Par. 0039, examiner notes Polyurethane foam is a type of memory foam material, to a degree).
Fig. 2-Examiner Annotated
Fig. 3-Examiner Annotated
Normandin does not explicitly disclose a padded shoe, a shoe body, and wherein the shoe body includes a forefoot region, a midfoot region, and a hindfoot region.
However, Normandin states the configurable foot orthosis is intended to be attached inside various kinds of padded shoes (Par. 0031), which means the foot orthosis attaches to a “shoe body”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize when used in its intended manner, the foot orthosis and shoe, as a whole, form a “padded shoe” with a “shoe body”. Furthermore, the forefoot region correlates to the front of the shoe, the midfoot region is the middle of the shoe, and the hindfoot region is the rear of the shoe.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the foot orthosis of Normandin into a padded shoe including a shoe body, as claimed, in order to use the orthosis for its designed purpose. This modification merely places the foot orthosis in its intended use environment and does not change its structure or function.
Normandin does not disclose wherein the calcaneus pad is divided into a plurality of pieces.
However, Tsai teaches yet another invention directed to the field of endeavor of footwear, wherein Tsai teaches wherein the calcaneus pad (combination of 11 and 111, Fig. 1-2 and 4) is divided into a plurality of pieces (shown as elements 11 and 111),
wherein the calcaneus pad comprises a central portion (see annotated Fig. 2 below) and a plurality of side portions (see annotated Fig. 2 below) surrounding the central portion (as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below), each of the plurality of side portions (see annotated Fig. 2 below) having a height (examiner notes as shown in Fig. 4, where annotated side portions correlate to element 11) different from that of the central portion (Col. 5, lines: 12-22, Examiner notes element 11 has a different height than element 111, as shown in Fig. 4), the plurality of side portions (see annotated Fig. 2 below) contacting each other and the central portion (examiner notes as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below), and
wherein an outer boundary (see annotated Fig. 2 below) collectively defined by the plurality of side portions forms a circular or an oval shape when viewed in a top view of the shoe sole (examiner notes a circular shape is as shown in Fig. 2 below).
Fig. 2-Examiner Annotated
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the calcaneus pad as disclosed by Normandin, by the calcaneus pad having a plurality of side portions having a height different from that of the central portion as taught by Tsai, in order to provide comfort and support to a wearers heel (Col. 5, lines: 12-22).
Regarding claim 3, Normandin in view of Tsai disclose wherein a bridge pad (140, Fig. 2 of Normandin) is further provided to connect the calcaneus pad (125) and at least one of the medial longitudinal arch pad (123, Fig. 2 and 3) of the connection pad (combination of 122 and 123) thereby distributing the load received by the calcaneus pad (Par. 0033, “distributing the…pad” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function).
Regarding claim 4, Normandin in view of Tsai disclose the shoe body is divided into six division regions: a medial forefoot region, a lateral forefoot region, a medial midfoot region, a lateral midfoot region, a medial hindfoot region, and a lateral hindfoot region (see annotated Fig. 3 above of Normandin), and any of the division regions where the attachment pad is to be placed is selected according to a user's foot type corresponding to individual division regions, and the attachment pad having hardness and thickness set for each selected division region is placed in the corresponding division region (Par. 0008, 0039, 0054, examiner notes the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function).
Regarding claim 5, Normandin in view of Tsai disclose the attachment pad is made of any one material selected from the group of a material with bounce characteristics (Par. 0039 of Normandin, examiner notes EVA foam is well known in the art as having “bounce characteristics”), and the material is selected according to the user's foot type corresponding to individual division regions (examiner notes the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and substantially the claimed material. Therefore, it is fully capable to perform the claimed function).
Regarding claim 6, Normandin in view of Tsai disclose the shoe (Par. 0031) comprises one or more attachment pads (combination of 121-126), each of the one or more attachment pads (combination of 121-126) having hardness, thickness, a shape, and a material (Par. 0008, 00039, 0054, examiner notes the pads 121-126 can be a variety of materials, such as EVA or Polyurethane foam, which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize has its own hardness. Shape and thickness of each pad are shown in Fig. 2 and 3) selected according to a respective division region (examiner notes one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the hardness, thickness, shape, and material are fully capable of being selected to a respective division region, since the metes and bounds of the limitation do not exempt pads from having at least one property as being the same), wherein the one or more attachment pads (combination of 121-126) are configured to adjust at least one of a heel alignment and an arch height of the user's foot (“configured to…foot” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent (See
PTO-892) to applicant's disclosure.
/DAKOTA MARIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/JAMESON D COLLIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732