DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters “21” and “22” have been used to designate both the first end and the second end in Fig.1, Fig.2 and Fig.4. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an air suction mechanism” in claim 1, “a wind power distribution mechanism” in claim 3, “a fixed member for fixing” in claim 7, and “a fixed member for fixing” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jin (CN 204048530 U).
Regarding claim 1, Jin teaches a manicure dust suction device (Fig.1/2/3), including a housing (1) having a cavity (Fig.3) and a dust suction port (17) provided on the housing (1), wherein the dust suction port has a first end (Fig.3, end of dust suction port adjacent to numeral 14) and a second end (Fig.3, end of dust suction port adjacent to numeral 7), the first end is higher than the second end (Fig.3), the housing is further provided with an air suction mechanism (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a vortex fan to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Jin teaches a vortex fan, Fig.3, 3) for providing a suction force to the dust suction port so that the dust suction port is capable of collecting dust particles generated during nail polishing and nail removal (machine translation ¶11, note “dust collecting effect of the nail cleaner”).
Regarding claim 12, Jin further teaches the air suction mechanism includes a vortex fan (Fig.3, 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin.
Regarding claim 2, Jin further teaches the first end is connected to the second end (Fig.1/3), however, does not explicitly teach a connection between the first end and the second end is arranged in a circular arc, and the first end and the second end complement each other to form an “8” shape.
However, it is noted that applicant has not disclosed that having a connection between the first end and the second end is arranged in a circular arc, and the first end and the second end complement each other to form an “8” shape results in an unpredicted result not seen in the prior art and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a dust suction portion, as taught by Jin (Fig.1/3). Accordingly, absent persuasive evidence that a connection between the first end and the second end is arranged in a circular arc, and the first end and the second end complement each other to form an “8” shape is functionally significant, the limitations above constitute a matter of choice of changes in shape and fail to patentably distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(b).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Hsieh et al – hereafter Hsieh – (US 20230211269 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Jin teaches all the limitations of claim 12, however, does not explicitly teach a circuit board is further provided in the housing, the circuit board is located on the vortex fan, the circuit board is electrically connected to the vortex fan, and a gear adjustment key for adjusting an output power of the vortex fan is provided on the circuit board.
Hsieh teaches a dust collector apparatus (¶1; Fig.1-4), including a housing (11) and a suction fan (131). Hsieh further teaches a circuit board (132) provided in the housing, the circuit board is electrically connected to the fan (¶72), and a gear adjustment key (134) for adjusting an output power of the fan is provided on the circuit board (Fig.2A; ¶72, note that adjusting a wind speed of a fan inherently adjusts an output power of said fan); this configuration allows controlling the connection or the state of use of the fan (¶72).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the manicure dust suction device of Jin by having a circuit board is further provided in the housing, the circuit board is electrically connected to the vortex fan, and a gear adjustment key for adjusting an output power of the vortex fan is provided on the circuit board based on the teachings of Hsieh because this would allow controlling the connection or the state of use of the fan.
Furthermore, with respect to the circuit board being located on the vortex fan, it has been held that if shifting the position of a component in a device would not have modified the operation of said device, said position shift of said component is unpatentable, additionally, a particular placement of a component in a device has been held to be an obvious matter of design choice. In the current instance, there is no evidence that having the circuit board being located on the vortex fan instead of adjacent with respect to one another, would change the operation of the manicure dust suction device, therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the manicure dust suction device of Jin and Hsieh by shifting the position/placement of the circuit board being located on the vortex fan as an obvious matter of design choice (MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
Relevant Prior Art
The following prior art references disclose various configurations of dust suction devices: Tang et al (US 20220338690 A1), Sun (US 20250031829 A1), Won (KR 20220063920 A), Kiso (JP 2006034661 A), KR 20200001835 U, Kwon (KR 101763923 B1), and Henning (EP 1707071 A1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
The following claim limitations were not found in the prior art.
The housing is provided with a wind power distribution mechanism (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a fixed cavity in the housing, an air suction port on a side wall of the fixed cavity, a wind power distribution network on the fixed cavity, a plurality of wind power distribution holes with diameters gradually decreasing from the first end toward the second end to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof) for distributing the suction force provided by the air suction mechanism so that a suction force at the first end is greater than a suction force at the second end (as in the context of claim 3).
The closest prior art reference (Jin) discloses a wind power distribution mechanism for distributing suction force provided by the air suction mechanism (Fig.1/3, inlet holes 6 and vent panel 17), however, does not disclose said wind power distribution mechanism includes the structural features needed to generate a suction force at the first end is greater than a suction force at the second end.
Hsieh also fails to disclose a wind power distribution mechanism includes the structural features needed to generate a suction force at the first end is greater than a suction force at the second end.
No other prior art reference was found that would anticipate or allow establishing a prima facie case of obviousness in view of the cited prior art above.
Conclusion
/JUAN G FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745