Response to Amendment
The amendment filed by the Applicant on 11/23/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Objection
Claim 13 is objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
For claim 13, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the limitation of “
characterized in that there are four mechanical terminals and one electrical terminal A, wherein the four mechanical terminals are provided equally spaced apart around the electrical terminal A as a center, and the guiding block as well as two of the mechanical terminals are provided coaxially; the lighting apparatus further comprises a second magnetic body, wherein the second magnetic body comprises a magnetic main body and snap-fit edges positioned on two sides of the magnetic main body; the snap-fit edge is used for detachably snap-fitting with the sliding groove; and a side of the magnetic main body is correspondingly connected to the first magnetic body, while an opposite side of the magnetic main body is used for magnetic fixation with an external structure” .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP (JP 5547329 B1, cited previously) in view of Suga (JP 2000098384 A, cited previously)
Regarding claim 1, JP teaches a lighting apparatus (at least Fig.4 and 3), characterized by comprising: a housing 1, a light source module 24 (24: Light source board under Reference signs list), provided in the housing; a diffusion shield 21 (21: Permeability cover), connected to the housing and spaced apart from the light source module 24; and an end cover 22 (Fig.3), provided on two ends of the housing and connected to the diffusion shield, wherein the diffusion shield comprises a first diffusion wall (base of 21) and a second diffusion wall (side walls of 21) positioned on two sides of the first diffusion wall (see in JP: The translucent cover 21 is formed by extrusion molding using polycarbonate and having a substantially square cross section. By covering the end of the translucent cover 21 with the end translucent cover 22, the light reflected by the translucent cover 21 is diffused and reflected, and this is repeated until the end translucent cover 22 is reached. The light reaches. Accordingly, the entire surfaces of the translucent cover 21 and the end translucent cover 22 can be illuminated, and light can be uniformly irradiated as a light source).
JP does not teach: the second diffusion wall further comprises a light shading area and a light transmitting area both in a light emitting direction X, the light transmitting area connected to the first diffusion wall, the light shading area positioned on a side of the light transmitting area distal to the first diffusion wall, light of the light source module emitting from the first diffusion wall and the light transmitting area.
However, it is well known in the art to use either diffused transmission in its entirety, or use part of wall as reflective and part as being diffusive on the side walls, based on the design and on the amount of side emission and front emission that is desired.
Suga teaches portion of the wall being a reflecting wall surface 13 that is closer to the light source, and portion of the wall being a light transmitting surface 11 (see in Suga: The reflector 13 having a U-shaped cross section for reflecting the light emitted from the tubular light source 12 and entering the light guide plate 11 substantially passes through the center of the tubular light source 12 and is substantially perpendicular to the light exit surface normal 17 of the light guide plate 11.AND One surface, which is the upper surface in FIG. 1, is a light emitting surface 11b for emitting light. Further wherein the light transmissive section 11 is diffusive in nature. Suga further teaches: the other surface (the lower surface in FIG. 1) on the opposite side is a surface 11c facing the light emitting surface. is there. The light guide plate 11 is provided with various incident light scattering /reflecting means as a mechanism for emitting incident light to the light exit surface side. Typical examples include a mode in which white ink or a rough surface is patterned in a dot shape, a mode in which light scattering fine particles are dispersed, and the like. However, in the present invention, this mechanism, that is, the incident light scattering / reflecting means is not particularly limited).
Therefore, Suga teaches 1. Part reflective wall surface 2. Part transmissive wall surface that can be diffusive.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary the design wherein part of the wall that is closer to the light source is reflective, and the remaining of the wall closer to the light exiting region is transmissive (from the teachings of Suri, that is, on the two-side surfaces 11b and/or 11c) in order to achieve the desired extent of directional light transmission from the sides.
Further, although Suga teaches a light guide 11, from the side surface 11b of which light is transmitted, the same technique can be used for the two sides of the translucent cover (which is not a light guide) of JP, in order to achieve the desired directional illumination on the sides, after being reflected from the reflective wall closer to the light source region.
Regarding claim 2, JP in view of Suga teach the limitations of the light shading area and the light transmitting area are parallel to an extending direction of the light source module; the light shading area is configured to allow reflection of light from the light source module, and along the light emitting direction X, a height h1 of the light shading area 15 (in Suga) is greater than a height h2 of the light transmitting area (11b in Fig.4,5 and 6 of Suga), H indicating a height of the second diffusion wall; and the first diffusion wall and the second diffusion wall are formed integrally (from the teachings of JP), but does not teach wherein the height of the light shading area satisfies that Hx1/2<h1<Hx3/4.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to obtain the relation Hx1/2<h1<Hx3/4 by routine experimentation, based on the design and desired side emission, since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the “optimum range” involves only routine skill in the art in order to achieve the desired side emission.
Claim 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP (JP 5547329 B1,cited previously) in view of Suga (JP 2000098384 A, cited previously) and further in view of Azumi (JP 2016131102 A, cited previously)
Regarding claim 3, JP in view of Suga teaches the lighting apparatus, characterized in that the end cover 22 (in JP) is provided perpendicular to the diffusion shield substantially; along a height direction of the second diffusion shield, the end cover comprises an end-cover light transmitting area; the end-cover light transmitting area comprises a light emitting area out of a plane Y on which the light source module is positioned.
Further, JP in view of Suga teaches: The translucent cover 21 is formed by extrusion molding using polycarbonate and having a substantially square cross section. By covering the end of the translucent cover 21 with the end translucent cover 22, the light reflected by the translucent cover 21 is diffused and reflected, and this is repeated until the end translucent cover 22 is reached. The light reaches. Accordingly, the entire surfaces of the translucent cover 21 and the end translucent cover 22 can be illuminated, and light can be uniformly irradiated as a light source (in JP). Moreover, the thickness of the edge part translucent cover 22 installed in the both ends of a translucent cover makes the part which touches the both ends of a translucent cover thinner than other parts, translucent It is possible to uniformly irradiate light from the light source on the entire surface of the transmissive cover 21 and the end portion translucent cover 22 ((in JP).
But JP in view of Suga does not explicitly teach: the end-cover light transmitting area is used to diffuse the light emitted from the light source module.
Azumi teaches: In addition, the end cover 36 has light diffusibility, similar to the translucent part 32 and each attachment part 34 (see Fig.1 of Azumi) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a diffusive end cover, from the teachings of Azumi, in the device of JP in view of Suga, in order to achieve uniform light in the lateral direction.
Regarding claim 12, JP in view of Suga and Azumi does not teach the end cover further comprises an end-cover light shading area, wherein the end-cover light transmitting area is aligned with the light transmitting area and the end-cover light shading area is aligned with the light shading area of the second diffusion wall.
However, JP in view of Suga and Azumi already teaches part reflective and part side words transmitting light cover, and also teaches diffusive end covers (from teachings of Azumi) therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a diffusive end covers with light shading regions that match the front cover, by routine experimentation in order to achieve uniform light in the lateral direction.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP in view of Suga and Azumi and further in view of Li (CN 216643950 U, cited previously)
Regarding claim 4, JP in view of Suga and Azumi teaches the end cover abuts the diffusion shield to form an enclosed space with the diffusion shield and the housing to accommodate the light source module (from the teachings of JP) but does not teach the lighting apparatus further comprises a splicing holder; the splicing holder is provided on two ends of the housing, provided with stepped height difference, used to connect with a splicing piece; the end cover is connected to the splicing holder.
Li teaches a splicing holder (from the teachings of Li, 4,5 in Li); the splicing holder is provided on two ends of the housing, provided with stepped height difference (area 4,5 that is in a step form in order to accommodate element 8), used to connect with a splicing piece 8 (connecting buckle); the end cover is connected to the splicing holder (from the teachings of Fig.3 of Li); and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the splicing elements, from the teachings of Li, in the device of JP in view of Suga and Azumi in order to form a cascade of two lighting elements attached together.
Regarding claim 5, JP in view of Suga, Azumi and Li teaches a lighting apparatus, characterized in that the splicing holder comprises a connecting surface (lateral surface of the groove in which 4 and 5 are formed in Li and this groove is of the height of the block 8), such that connected to the housing and a splicing surface (4,5 in Li), wherein the splicing surface is connected to the end cover (from the teachings of the lateral surfaces in Fig.3 of Li that are connected to 4/5) and a surface of the splicing surface is aligned with a lateral surface of the end cover; the connecting surface is positioned on a side of the splicing surface distal to the end cover; there is height difference between the connecting surface and the splicing surface; and the connecting surface is used for splicing with the splicing piece (8 in Li).
Regarding claim 6, JP in view of Suga, Azumi and Li teaches a lighting apparatus, characterized in that the lighting apparatus further comprises a circuit board (see in Li: scheme one: the illumination module is provided with an integrated IC, and the integrated IC installed on LED lamp plate 2 is provided with a signal input end and an output end, the connecting buckle 8 is clamped and connected with no direction, and the integrated IC on the electric and signal connection port 5 to distinguish the signal serial direction; Solution 2: the illumination module is provided with an integrated IC, and all the electric and signal connection port 5 of the integrated IC installed on LED lamp plate 2 is connected in parallel, the connecting buckle 8 is clamped and connected to distinguish the signal serial direction, and the electric and signal connecting port 5 on the integrated IC is not divided into directions), wherein the circuit board is positioned in the housing (the circuit board is disclosed in Li as cited above, and further even more, there needs to be a circuitry below elements 4/5 in order to activate the devices) and electrically connected to the light source module; the splicing surface comprises an electrical terminal A (connecting port hole 4) and a mechanical terminal 5, wherein a number of the mechanical terminals is greater than that of the electrical terminals A; and the mechanical terminals are spaced apart around the electrical terminal A, the mechanical terminal used for mechanically connecting to a terminal of the splicing piece (8 in Li), the splicing piece configured to be fixed to the lighting apparatus and electrically connect another adjacent lighting apparatus, an end of the electrical terminal A electrically connected to the circuit board (beneath the elements 4 and 5), an opposite end of the electrical terminal A relatively exposed for connecting with electrical terminal B on the splicing piece (claim 6 of Li. Also see in Li: The purpose of setting the first buckle block 12) and the second buckle block 13): can be vertical to the direction of the mounting wall, convenient for connecting buckle 8 and the illumination module to pull or buckle, especially the middle position illumination module, convenient to take off and change. the first elastic contact connector 10, the second elastic contact connector 11 respectively a rubber core, a terminal assembly 14 integrally formed with the rubber core, the terminal assembly 14 is composed of several elastic sheets or spring needles. the connecting buckle card shell 9 is provided with a PCB circuit board 15, one end of the PCB circuit board 15 is electrically connected with the first elastic contact connector 10, the other end of the PCB circuit board 15 is electrically connected with the second elastic contact connector 11).
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP in view of Suga, Azumi and Li and further in view of Aizawa (JP 2020004690 A, cited previously)
Regarding claim 7, JP in view of Suga, Azumi and Li teaches the invention set forth in claim 6, above but is silent regarding a side of the housing opposite to the diffusion shield is provided with a sliding groove, the sliding groove extending in a first direction; a top surface of the sliding groove is higher than the connecting surface; the sliding groove is used for snap-fitting with an external supporting plate; and a height of a bottom surface of the sliding groove is higher than that of a portion of both a display and buttons exposed relative to the housing.
Aizawa teaches a side of the housing opposite to the diffusion shield is provided with a sliding groove (groove of outer cover 410 into which plate 129 snap fits), the sliding groove extending in a first direction; the sliding groove is used for snap-fitting with an external supporting plate 129; and a height of a bottom surface of the sliding groove is higher than that of a portion of both a display 220 exposed relative to the housing.
(see in Aizawa: and a second cover 400. The lighting fixture 1 is formed in a prismatic shape, and as shown in FIG. 2, is formed in a rectangular shape in a side view when viewed in a longitudinal direction (X-axis direction). In the lighting fixture 1, the first cover 300 is engaged with the lower part of the lighting unit 10 and held by the lighting unit 10, and the second cover 400 is engaged with the upper part of the lighting unit 10 and held by the lighting unit 10. ing. In addition, although the lighting fixture 1 is attached by being suspended from an attached portion such as a ceiling, the lighting fixture 1 may be provided so as to stand up by a support, or may be attached to a wall with one side surface attached to a wall).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the additional cover, from the teachings of Aizawa with a snap-fitting provision at the top portion of the housing, in the device of JP in view of Suga, Azumi and Li, such that a top surface of the sliding groove is higher than the connecting surface; in order to add an optionally additional display at the top portion.
Regarding claim 9, JP in view of Suga, Azumi, Li and Aizawa teaches the light apparatus characterized in that the housing comprises a first lateral plate, a bottom plate, a second lateral plate and a top plate sequentially enclosed (100 in Fig.3 and the sides of the square formed by main body 100 of Aizawa); the first lateral plate and the second lateral plate are parallel, and each of the first lateral plate and the second lateral plate is provided with a mounting groove; (shown by arrows below in Aizawa):
the connecting surface and the splicing surface are connected to the first lateral plate and the second lateral plate; a height difference of the first lateral plate and the second lateral plate corresponding to positions of the connecting surface and the splicing surface is identical to that between the connecting surface and the splicing surface (from the combined teachings of JP in view of Suga, Azumi, Li and Aizawa); the bottom plate is parallel to the top plate; end surfaces of the first lateral plate, the second lateral plate, the diffusion shield and the connecting surface abut the end cover; the light source module 200B is provided on a side of the bottom plate opposite to the top plate; the circuit board 130 (Fig.5 of Aizawa) is provided between the bottom plate and the top plate; any one of the first lateral plate and the second lateral plate is provided with an electrical socket; the electrical socket is electrically connected to the circuit board (from the teachings of Aizawa, a socket is an optional well known element used for electrical connection and is therefore inherently taught in Aizawa: The lighting control unit 130 has a power supply terminal block 131 and the like arranged on one surface side of the bottom surface 111, but the wiring to the light source unit 200B arranged on the other surface side of the bottom surface 111 is formed by a notch for wiring. It can be wired via 111a).; a side of the top plate opposite to the bottom plate is provided with cooling fins 120 (see in Aizawa: The side plate portion 120 is formed of a material having good heat dissipation such as an aluminum material) extending along an arrangement direction of the light source module.
Although JP in view of Suga, Li and Aizawa do not teach the cooling fins are lower than a top surface of the sliding groove. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use heat dissipation materials in a lower location such as in between the lenses 200, or within the enclosure between the lens covers 200, which is a well-known technique in the art, in order to be closer to the circuit control elements, and efficiently dissipation heat.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP in view of Suga, Azumi and Li and further in view of Chen (CN 105371148 A, cited previously) and Ganzer (DE 102012202148 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 8, JP in view of Suga, Azumi, Li and Aizawa teaches the invention set forth in claim 7 above, but is silent regarding two first magnetic bodies; each first magnetic body is fixed on top of the connecting surface adjacent to the splicing surface; the first magnetic body is parallel to the light source module; a surface of the first magnetic body is used to fix with an external structure; a side of the connecting surface facing the splicing surface is further provided with a guiding block; the guiding block extends along a direction of the height difference between the connecting surface and the splicing surface; and the guiding block is used for snap-fitting with a groove of the splicing piece.
Chen teaches magnets 10 (fIg.7 in the vicinity or edge of the elongated light guide) (see in Chen: the lamp tube by the magnet 10 is installed. the lamp of this embodiment is generally installed on the steel structure factory building and so on capable of absorbing magnet position) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the magnet on the top surface of the housing, from the teachings of Chen, in the device of JP in view of Suga, Azumi, Li and Aizawa in order to install the housing to a magnetic position that receives or holds the lighting device.
JP in view of Suga, Azumi, Li, Aizawa and Chen does not teach:
a side of the connecting surface facing the splicing surface is further provided with a guiding block; the guiding block extends along a direction of the height difference between the connecting surface and the splicing surface; and the guiding block is used for snap-fitting with a groove of the splicing piece.
The claimed features are well known techniques of robustly attaching two elements, such as the end cover to the lighting apparatus housing.
Ganzer teaches an end surface of a lighting device (Fig.15) wherein a side of the connecting surface facing the splicing surface is further provided with a guiding block 18; the guiding block extends along a direction of the height difference between the connecting surface and the splicing surface; and the guiding block is used for snap-fitting with a groove of the splicing piece (see in Ganzer: By means of insert elements, which can be used in the slotted guide, for example, the front ends of two light band element or mounting rails can be interconnected). Therefore, the same technique can be used to interconnect the end cover with the housing end surface, in the device of JP in view of Suga, Li, Aizawa and Chen in order to interconnect the end cover with the housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the magnet on the top surface of the housing, from the teachings of Ganzer, in the device of JP in view of Suga, Li, Aizawa and Chen in order to install the housing to a magnetic position to receive or hold the lighting device.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP in view of Suga and further in view of Shimizu (US 20110297971 A1,cited previously)
Regarding claim 10, JP in view of Suga teaches the light shading area is provided with a reflective layer (from teachings of Suga); the combined structure of JP in view of Suga further teaches a side of the light shading area distal to the light transmitting area is provided with a mounting track (top portion of 21 in JP that is modified to have the light shading area from the teachings of Suga) but does not teach:
a bottom of the housing is provided with a mounting groove; and the mounting track is snap-fitted with the mounting groove correspondingly, wherein the mounting groove comprises a top snap-fit edge, a bottom snap-fit edge, a first side snap-fit edge and a second side snap-fit edge, and the top snap-fit edge, the bottom snap-fit edge, the first side snap-fit edge and the second side snap-fit edge abut an upper side, a lower side, a left side and a right side of the mounting track respectively.
Shimizu teaches a lighting device a bottom of the housing is provided with a mounting groove; and the mounting track is snap-fitted with the mounting groove 47 ([0067]) correspondingly, wherein the mounting groove comprises a top snap-fit edge, a bottom snap-fit edge, a first side snap-fit edge and a second side snap-fit edge, and the top snap-fit edge, the bottom snap-fit edge, the first side snap-fit edge and the second side snap-fit edge abut an upper side, a lower side, a left side and a right side of the mounting track respectively (the shape of the groove 47 fulfills the details as claimed, with all the sides as claimed for groove 47).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the groove as disclosed in Shimizu, in the device of JP in view of Suga in order to achieve easy attachment of the cover ([0067] of Shimizu).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP in view of Suga, Azumi and Li and further in view of Engle (US 5702176 A, cited previously)
Regarding claim 11, JP in view of Suga, Azumi and Li teaches the end-cover light transmitting area is provided on the end cover body corresponding to an area enclosed by the first diffusion wall and the second diffusion wall, the end cover being made up of light-transmitting material (from the combined teachings JP in view of Suga, Azumi and Li) but does not teach:
the end cover comprises an end cover body and a snap-fit rib, wherein the snap-fit rib is protruded from a side of the end cover body facing the diffusion shield and positioned at an edge of the end cover body; a bending direction of the snap-fit rib is provided in correspondence with an outer contour of a cross-section formed by the first diffusion wall and the second diffusion wall, so as to attach to the diffusion shield; a side of the end cover body opposite to the splicing holder is further provided with a mechanical insertion hole and a fixing hole, wherein the mechanical insertion hole is positioned between two adjacent fixing holes and used for connecting with a fixing bracket externally; and the fixing hole is connected to the housing to fix the end cover.
Engle teaches the end cover comprises an end cover body 26 (Fig.3) and a snap-fit rib (72 and 70), wherein the snap-fit rib is protruded from a side of the end cover body and positioned at an edge of the end cover body; a bending direction of the snap-fit rib is provided in correspondence with an outer contour of a cross-section formed by the cover 10, so as to attach to the cover 10; a side of the end cover body opposite to the splicing holder is further provided with a mechanical insertion hole and a fixing hole (44 and 48), wherein the mechanical insertion hole 44 is positioned between two adjacent fixing holes 48 and used for connecting with a fixing bracket externally; and the fixing hole is connected to the housing to fix the end cover (Fig.2) (see in Engle: and a resilient tab 70 at its opposite end having fingers 72 which are received in recesses 74 formed in the internal edge of the cap 20, again as shown in FIG. 2. By depressing resilient finger 70, the cover can be removed from the cap).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the resilient fixing fingers/tabs to the end cover, so that it is fixedly attached to the diffusion shield, in the device of JP in view of Suga, Azumi and Li, in order to robustly encapsulate the lighting device from all sides.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP (JP 5547329 B1,cited previously) in view of Suga (JP 2000098384 A, cited previously) and further in view of Li (CN 216643950 U, cited previously)
JP teaches a lighting apparatus (at least Fig.4 and 3), characterized by comprising: a housing 1, a light source module 24 (24: Light source board under Reference signs list), provided in the housing; a diffusion shield 21 (21: Permeability cover), connected to the housing and spaced apart from the light source module 24; and an end cover 22 (Fig.3), provided on two ends of the housing and connected to the diffusion shield, wherein the diffusion shield comprises a first diffusion wall (base of 21) and a second diffusion wall (side walls of 21) positioned on two sides of the first diffusion wall (see in JP: The translucent cover 21 is formed by extrusion molding using polycarbonate and having a substantially square cross section. By covering the end of the translucent cover 21 with the end translucent cover 22, the light reflected by the translucent cover 21 is diffused and reflected, and this is repeated until the end translucent cover 22 is reached. The light reaches. Accordingly, the entire surfaces of the translucent cover 21 and the end translucent cover 22 can be illuminated, and light can be uniformly irradiated as a light source).
JP does not teach: the second diffusion wall further comprises a light shading area and a light transmitting area both in a light emitting direction X, the light transmitting area connected to the first diffusion wall, the light shading area positioned on a side of the light transmitting area distal to the first diffusion wall, light of the light source module emitting from the first diffusion wall and the light transmitting area.
However, it is well known in the art to use either diffused transmission in its entirety, or use part of wall as reflective and part as being diffusive on the side walls, based on the design and on the amount of side emission and front emission that is desired.
Suga teaches portion of the wall being a reflecting wall surface 13 that is closer to the light source, and portion of the wall being a light transmitting surface 11 (see in Suga: The reflector 13 having a U-shaped cross section for reflecting the light emitted from the tubular light source 12 and entering the light guide plate 11 substantially passes through the center of the tubular light source 12 and is substantially perpendicular to the light exit surface normal 17 of the light guide plate 11.AND One surface, which is the upper surface in FIG. 1, is a light emitting surface 11b for emitting light. Further wherein the light transmissive section 11 is diffusive in nature. Suga further teaches: the other surface (the lower surface in FIG. 1) on the opposite side is a surface 11c facing the light emitting surface. is there. The light guide plate 11 is provided with various incident light scattering /reflecting means as a mechanism for emitting incident light to the light exit surface side. Typical examples include a mode in which white ink or a rough surface is patterned in a dot shape, a mode in which light scattering fine particles are dispersed, and the like. However, in the present invention, this mechanism, that is, the incident light scattering / reflecting means is not particularly limited).
Therefore, Suga teaches 1. Part reflective wall surface 2. Part transmissive wall surface that can be diffusive.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary the design wherein part of the wall that is closer to the light source is reflective, and the remaining of the wall closer to the light exiting region is transmissive (from the teachings of Suri, that is, on the two-side surfaces 11b and/or 11c) in order to achieve the desired extent of directional light transmission from the sides.
Further, although Suga teaches a light guide 11, from the side surface 11b of which light is transmitted, the same technique can be used for the two sides of the translucent cover (which is not a light guide) of JP, in order to achieve the desired directional illumination on the sides, after being reflected from the reflective wall closer to the light source region.
JP in view of Suga does not teach: the device characterized by comprising a splicing piece and at least two lighting apparatuses, wherein diffusion shields and end covers of two adjacent lighting apparatuses are aligned with each other.
Li teaches a splicing piece 8 (Fig.3-4) and at least two lighting apparatuses (Fig.3), that are aligned with one another.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to align two light emitting devices, from the teachings of Li, such that the diffusion shields and end covers of two adjacent lighting apparatuses are aligned with each other; in the device of JP in view of Suga; in order to provide a cascade of lighting devices.
Regarding claim 15, JP in view of Suga and Li teach the limitations of the light shading area and the light transmitting area are parallel to an extending direction of the light source module; the light shading area is configured to allow reflection of light from the light source module, and along the light emitting direction X, a height h1 of the light shading area 15 (in Suga) is greater than a height h2 of the light transmitting area (11b in Fig.4,5 and 6 of Suga), H indicating a height of the second diffusion wall; and the first diffusion wall and the second diffusion wall are formed integrally (from the teachings of JP), but does not teach wherein the height of the light shading area satisfies that Hx1/2<h1<Hx3/4.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to obtain the relation Hx1/2<h1<Hx3/4 by routine experimentation, based on the design and desired side emission, since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the “optimum range” involves only routine skill in the art in order to achieve the desired side emission.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP in view of Suga and Li and further in view of Azumi (JP 2016131102 A, cited previously)
Regarding claim 16, JP in view of Suga and Li teaches the lighting apparatus, characterized in that the end cover 22 (in JP) is provided perpendicular to the diffusion shield substantially; along a height direction of the second diffusion shield, the end cover comprises an end-cover light transmitting area; the end-cover light transmitting area comprises a light emitting area out of a plane Y on which the light source module is positioned.
Further, JP in view of Suga and Li teaches: The translucent cover 21 is formed by extrusion molding using polycarbonate and having a substantially square cross section. By covering the end of the translucent cover 21 with the end translucent cover 22, the light reflected by the translucent cover 21 is diffused and reflected, and this is repeated until the end translucent cover 22 is reached. The light reaches. Accordingly, the entire surfaces of the translucent cover 21 and the end translucent cover 22 can be illuminated, and light can be uniformly irradiated as a light source (in JP). Moreover, the thickness of the edge part translucent cover 22 installed in the both ends of a translucent cover makes the part which touches the both ends of a translucent cover thinner than other parts, translucent It is possible to uniformly irradiate light from the light source on the entire surface of the transmissive cover 21 and the end portion translucent cover 22 ((in JP).
But JP in view of Suga and Li does not explicitly teach: the end-cover light transmitting area is used to diffuse the light emitted from the light source module.
Azumi teaches: In addition, the end cover 36 has light diffusibility, similar to the translucent part 32 and each attachment part 34 (see Fig.1 of Azumi) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a diffusive end cover, from the teachings of Azumi, in the device of JP in view of Suga and Li , in order to achieve uniform light in the lateral direction.
Regarding claim 17, JP in view of Suga , Li and Azumi teaches a lighting system, characterized in that the lighting apparatus further comprises a splicing holder (from the teachings of Li, 4,5 in Li); the splicing holder is provided on two ends of the housing, provided with stepped height difference (area 4,5 that is in a step form in order to accommodate element 8), used to connect with a splicing piece 8 (connecting buckle); the end cover is connected to the splicing holder (from the teachings of Fig.3 of Li); and the end cover abuts the diffusion shield to form an enclosed space with the diffusion shield and the housing to accommodate the light source module (from the teachings of JP).
Regarding claim 18, JP in view of Suga, Li and Azumi teaches a lighting apparatus, characterized in that the splicing holder comprises a connecting surface (lateral surface of the groove in which 4 and 5 are formed in Li and this groove is of the height of the block 8), such that connected to the housing and a splicing surface (4,5 in Li), wherein the splicing surface is connected to the end cover (from the teachings of the lateral surfaces in Fig.3 of Li that are connected to 4/5) and a surface of the splicing surface is aligned with a lateral surface of the end cover; the connecting surface is positioned on a side of the splicing surface distal to the end cover; there is height difference between the connecting surface and the splicing surface; and the connecting surface is used for splicing with the splicing piece (8 in Li).
Regarding claim 19, JP in view of Suga, and Azumi teaches a lighting apparatus, characterized in that the lighting apparatus further comprises a circuit board (see in Li: scheme one: the illumination module is provided with an integrated IC, and the integrated IC installed on LED lamp plate 2 is provided with a signal input end and an output end, the connecting buckle 8 is clamped and connected with no direction, and the integrated IC on the electric and signal connection port 5 to distinguish the signal serial direction; Solution 2: the illumination module is provided with an integrated IC, and all the electric and signal connection port 5 of the integrated IC installed on LED lamp plate 2 is connected in parallel, the connecting buckle 8 is clamped and connected to distinguish the signal serial direction, and the electric and signal connecting port 5 on the integrated IC is not divided into directions), wherein the circuit board is positioned in the housing (the circuit board is disclosed in Li as cited above, and further even more, there needs to be a circuitry below elements 4/5 in order to activate the devices) and electrically connected to the light source module; the splicing surface comprises an electrical terminal A (connecting port hole 4) and a mechanical terminal 5, wherein a number of the mechanical terminals is greater than that of the electrical terminals A; and the mechanical terminals are spaced apart around the electrical terminal A, the mechanical terminal used for mechanically connecting to a terminal of the splicing piece (8 in Li), the splicing piece configured to be fixed to the lighting apparatus and electrically connect another adjacent lighting apparatus, an end of the electrical terminal A electrically connected to the circuit board (beneath the elements 4 and 5), an opposite end of the electrical terminal A relatively exposed for connecting with electrical terminal B on the splicing piece (claim 6 of Li. Also see in Li: The purpose of setting the first buckle block 12) and the second buckle block 13): can be vertical to the direction of the mounting wall, convenient for connecting buckle 8 and the illumination module to pull or buckle, especially the middle position illumination module, convenient to take off and change. the first elastic contact connector 10, the second elastic contact connector 11 respectively a rubber core, a terminal assembly 14 integrally formed with the rubber core, the terminal assembly 14 is composed of several elastic sheets or spring needles. the connecting buckle card shell 9 is provided with a PCB circuit board 15, one end of the PCB circuit board 15 is electrically connected with the first elastic contact connector 10, the other end of the PCB circuit board 15 is electrically connected with the second elastic contact connector 11).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP in view of Suga, Li and Azumi further in view of Aizawa (JP 2020004690 A, cited previously)
Regarding claim 20, JP in view of Suga, Li and Azumi teaches the invention set forth in claim 6, above but is silent regarding a side of the housing opposite to the diffusion shield is provided with a sliding groove, the sliding groove extending in a first direction; a top surface of the sliding groove is higher than the connecting surface; the sliding groove is used for snap-fitting with an external supporting plate; and a height of a bottom surface of the sliding groove is higher than that of a portion of both a display and buttons exposed relative to the housing.
Aizawa teaches a side of the housing opposite to the diffusion shield is provided with a sliding groove (groove of outer cover 410 into which plate 129 snap fits), the sliding groove extending in a first direction; the sliding groove is used for snap-fitting with an external supporting plate 129; and a height of a bottom surface of the sliding groove is higher than that of a portion of both a display 220 exposed relative to the housing.
(see in Aizawa: and a second cover 400. The lighting fixture 1 is formed in a prismatic shape, and as shown in FIG. 2, is formed in a rectangular shape in a side view when viewed in a longitudinal direction (X-axis direction). In the lighting fixture 1, the first cover 300 is engaged with the lower part of the lighting unit 10 and held by the lighting unit 10, and the second cover 400 is engaged with the upper part of the lighting unit 10 and held by the lighting unit 10. ing. In addition, although the lighting fixture 1 is attached by being suspended from an attached portion such as a ceiling, the lighting fixture 1 may be provided so as to stand up by a support, or may be attached to a wall with one side surface attached to a wall).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the additional cover, from the teachings of Aizawa with a snap-fitting provision at the top portion of the housing, in the device of JP in view of Suga, Li and Azumi, such that a top surface of the sliding groove is higher than the connecting surface; in order to add an optionally additional display at the top portion.
Other art
Cited Previously
CN 104421712 A discloses: the inner space is filled with air or silicone gel; scattering from the air or silicone fills the gap to a transmittance of a material constituting the translucent housing of change with the light by reflection and transmission combination makes the light intensity of the diffusion pattern along the flexible LED linear lamp assembly and the axial length of the translucent housing is substantially uniform.
CN 110864239 A: teaches the limitations of claims 7 and 20 as shown from drawing below:
CN 108443774 A teaches the limitations of claims 7 and 20 as shown from drawing below:
US 10215349 B1 discloses a snap fit end cover as shown below:
CN 209725922 U
JP 2013239712 A
CN 210035239 U
CN 208504293 U
JP 2022131182 A31
JP 3959917 B2
JP 2009258455 A, JP 2006286348 A, CN 101435538 A, WO 2006112093 A1
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed by the Applicant on 11/23/25 is acknowledged. However, they are not found to be persuasive.
Through out the Remarks, Applicant has argued that JP in view of Suga does not teach: the light transmitting area and the light shading area in the diffusion shield 5 from Applicant’s Drawings below:
Wherein in the Applicant’s invention/drawings as shown below, elements 521 and 522 are the light transmitting and light shading areas formed in the diffusion shield 5/ diffusion wall below:
Examiner respectfully notes that, from the teachings of Suga, and from the well -known technique in the art to form a side surface of a lighting fixture as being partly transmissive and partly diffusive. A person of ordinary skill would use the same technique of Suga for another side or section of a light fixture, based on desired diffusive light, and based on particular application or design.
Further Applicant’s arguments that the claimed arrangement results in uniform light, this is also a very well-known outcome (that is, uniform output light) that is desired, and accordingly light fixture covers are made diffusive using various design techniques and configurations.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments of: “Applicant contends that the cited prior art fails to address the core technical problem solved by the present application-specifically, the issue of dark seams and non-uniform illumination when lighting apparatuses are spliced along their width direction to form a wider lighting system”
The above arguments are not found to be persuasive because:
1. the bolded feature of “the issue of dark seams and non-uniform illumination when lighting apparatuses are spliced along their width direction to form a wider lighting system” are not part of the recitations of claim 1.
2. And in any case, the arguments are not found to be persuasive because according to MPEP 2112:
Therefore, the already disclosed feature of partly transmissive and partly shaded/diffusive side/sides of a lighting fixture, being useful for a new use/property of “the issue of dark seams and non-uniform illumination when lighting apparatuses are spliced along their width direction to form a wider lighting system”, does not make the feature as patentable.
Use of partially transmissive, and partially shaded/diffusive sides of a lighting fixture are well known techniques, as already disclosed in Suga.
Examiner would like to provide another example, of this commonly used technique in elongated lighting fixtures, that is shown below:
DE 202013100267 U1, wherein, 20 and 22 are the transmissive and shaded elongated sides of the light fixture, which are analogous to Applicant’s claimed features (elements 521 and 522 in Applicant’s drawing 2 that is shown above).
Therefore, if the light fixture of DE 202013100267 U1 were to be spliced (see rejection of claim 4, wherein prior art that teaches splicing techniques, that is provided in the office action), and therefore, it would result in the same outcome (uniform light and reducing dark seams) as noted by the Applicant in the Remarks. Since the same features would result in the same function as noted by the Applicant (regarding the dark seams) in the Remarks, therefore, for all the above reasons, Examiner respectfully notes that the rejection still holds.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Fatima Farokhrooz whose telephone number is (571)-272-6043. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday- Friday, 9 am - 5 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, James Greece can be reached on (571) 270-3711. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http;//pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875