DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first action on the merits, in response to application filed November 30, 2023. Claims 1-20, are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 11/30/2023, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 12-14, 16-17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jarvis et al (hereinafter Jarvis) (US 2013/0344886).
Regarding claims 1, 14, Jarvis discloses a method comprising:
identifying, by a network apparatus, a network access point accessible to a mobile apparatus (mobile device 104 travelling along path 106 it reaches point A and receives a signal from access point 102a having signal characteristics) (para. 0023);
receiving, by the network apparatus, network access point information associated with the network access point, wherein the network access point information comprises at least identification data and a first signal strength value (a signal from access point 102b having a strength (arrival time or RTT) indicated by the arrow 114a. In this example, device 104 provides the processing system 105 with an absolute position measurement for point A and data values representing the respective identifiers and signal strengths of the access points 102a and 102b) (para. 0023);
receiving, by the network apparatus, a single-sided round-trip time (RTT) measurement associated with the network access point, wherein the single-sided RTT measurement comprises at least a second signal strength value (device 104 generates information related to the access points 102a-n, for example, access point identifier (e.g. media access control identifier (MAC ID)), received signal strength indication (RSSI), of received signals and/or round-trip delay time (RTT), and transmits the information to the processing system 105, device 104 may periodically obtain measurement information with respect to the access points and its immediate environment) (paras. 0015, 0017);
scaling (that is, selectively pruning, discard or discount the measurement sets of a plurality of measurement sets), by the network apparatus (network processing system (apparatus)105, fig. 1), the second signal strength value based on the first signal strength value, wherein each of the first signal strength value and the second signal strength value comprises at least a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement (access points in the processing network system 105 may be independent points and may be coupled to the plurality of devices 104 by a wireless or wired network. Each device 104 generates information related to the access points 102a-n, for example, access point identifier, received signal strength indication (RSSI), time or phase offsets of received signals and/or round-trip delay time (RTT), and transmits the information to the processing system 105. Device 104 travels along a path 106 …… device 104 detects access points 102a and 102b ….. device 104 may, for example, measure signals of different strengths, as indicated by the circles 108a, 108b, 110a 110b and 110c. Device 104 may periodically obtain measurement information with respect to the access points and its immediate environment …. may include information on the access point 102 (e.g., signal characteristics such as signal strength, signal quality, signal arrival time, RTT, etc.) ….. the collected data pruned by eliminating redundant data and ………. pruning which results in better estimate of the access point’s absolute location) (paras. 0016, 0017, 0040, 0042, 0060); and
updating, by the network apparatus, a database of network access point location based on the scaled second signal strength value (the access point mapping provided by the network processing 105 may be continually updated using more collector devices in the system results in better estimates of the access point locations) (para.0030). Jarvis further discloses at least one processor (element 204, 252) and at least one memory (element 206, 254) storing computer program code and/or instructions, the at least one memory and the computer program code is configured to, with the processor, cause the apparatus to perform the control functions (paras. 0025, 0026).
Regarding claim 2, Jarvis discloses
receiving, by the network apparatus, the network access point information at a beginning of a first time interval (a plurality of measurement sets are selectively pruned, …..the process may be to determine initial estimated location of the access points 102) (paras. 0015, 0040, 0041);
receiving, by the network apparatus, the single-sided (individual) round-trip time (RTT) measurement associated with the network access point during the first time interval (Each collector device 104 generates information related to the access points 102a-n, for example, access point identifier, received signal strength indication (RSSI), time or phase offsets of received signals and/or round-trip delay time (RTT), and transmits the information to the processing system 105) (paras. 0015, 0016, 0017); and
determining, by the network apparatus, location information for the mobile apparatus during the first time interval based on the network access point information and the single-sided RTT measurement (process described determines initial estimated locations of the access points 102 based on the method used by the processing system 105 to generate information about the access points 102a-n that may be used to locate the devices 104) (paras. 0039, 0041).
Regarding claims 4, 16, Jarvis discloses generating a radio model for the network access point based on the scaled second signal strength value and the first signal strength value of the network access point (a method that uses a model of the propagation pattern of each access point 102 to determine the likely location of a device 104, ….. the access point were used as its positioning data, the model may be initialized with estimated position points in the area and their corresponding signal characteristic measurements. The cost function described in equation (1) may be modified to minimize differences between the observations and the model) (para. 0054); and transmitting, by the network apparatus, the radio model to the mobile apparatus for position estimation (the access point characteristics gets transmitted to the processing system 105) (para. 0041).
Regarding claim 5, Jarvis discloses the mobile apparatus to estimate location information based on at least one of: the radio model, or the updated database of network access point location (processing system 105 may capture data from many devices 104 at many different times and from many different locations along the path 106 or more generally in the area covered by the access points 102 and use this information, as described, to enhance the quality of the position information) (para. 0042).
Regarding claim 6, Jarvis discloses network apparatus using a first scanning module of the mobile apparatus, a first scan across a plurality of frequency channels to identify the network access point accessible to the mobile apparatus (the mobile device may also obtain image data and, and signal quality information, ….. these measurements may be made passively, for example by monitoring Wi-Fi beacon transmissions, e.g. a Wi-Fi scan. The access points 102 in the regions having signal characteristics with high confidence levels. The second term ensures that the estimated true locations where the scans were made do not violate the constraints imposed by the absolute and relative harvesting. It is a sum over all the constraints present) (paras. 0017, 0048).
Regarding claim 12, Jarvis discloses identifying, by the network apparatus, a plurality of available network access points accessible to the mobile apparatus, wherein the plurality of available network access points comprise the network access point (the process of determining the relative or absolute positions of access points 102, the system 105 may selectively discard or discount data sets which violate predefined constraints. In addition, it may selectively discard data sets determined to be outliers or data sets which are of lesser importance, see also fig. 1) (para. 0042);
receiving, by the network apparatus, network access point information associated with each of the plurality of available network access points (para. 0042), wherein the network access point information comprises at least: identification data and first signal strength value data (para. 0048);
selecting, by the network apparatus, the network access point for the mobile apparatus based on a set of predefined selection criteria; and after selection, receiving, by the network apparatus, the single-sided RTT measurement associated with the network access point (para. 0042, 0049).
Regarding claim 13, Jarvis discloses wherein the database of network access point location is a radio map associated with the network access point, and wherein the radio map comprises one or more access point models associated with the network access point (paras. 0041, 0042, 0054).
Regarding claim 17, limitation recited are similar/same as those recited in claims 6 and 12, noted above. Claim 17, therefore treated and rejected likewise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarvis et al (hereinafter Jarvis) (US 2013/0344886).
Regarding claims 3, 15, Jarvis discloses a system and a method which identifies locations associated with radio-frequency (RF) signal sources in an area, includes receiving multiple measurement sets from a plurality of devices 104, the devices 104 obtain contemporaneous information on characteristics of the signal sources and information on an absolute location and/or relative displacement of the devices 104. These measurement sets are processed to discover positioning data for the RF signal sources that may be used to determine locations of devices in the area (para. 0003) and each device 104 for example, measure signals (first signal, second signals etc.,) of different strengths, indicated by circles 108a, 108b, 110a, 110b, 110c each inclusive of received signal strength indication (RSSI) value (paras. 0016, 0017, 0037), except for, determining, a ratio of the first signal strength value and the second signal strength value; and determining, by the network apparatus, a product of the determined ratio and the second signal strength value. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to determine a ratio (that is, average) of two known signal measurement value and a product of the determined ratio since the examiner takes Official Notice of the equivalence determine or calculate the ratio of the first signal strength vale to the second signal strength value in a network using the formula, ratio = first signal strength vale / second signal strength value, as known in the mathematical field of endeavor, to arrive at the result of average signal strength value of the two signals and their product via multiplication of the two thereof, would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to provide optimum location information based on signal strength value measurements in a communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11, 18-20, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI/
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2632.