DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Claims 1 and 3-7 are currently pending of which claims 6 and 7 are withdrawn. Claims 1 and 4 have been amended and claim 2 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa et al. (US 2005/0277270) and further in view of Abe et al. (US 4,610,079).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshikawa discloses an optical device wafer (0001) comprising a wafer (20) and a laminate (21) of a plurality of protective layers (insulating film and functional film) (0045). The laminate provided on a main surface of the wafer, arrayed separately, and a part on the main surface of the wafer is exposed (Fig. 10). While Yoshikawa teaches the side surface of the laminate having a tapered shape with a distance between adjacent protective layers of the plurality of increasing away from the main surface of the wafer (Fig. 10), Yoshikawa does not teach an entirety of the side surface of the protective layer tapering.
Ape, in the analogous field semiconductor wafers (column 1, lines 54-56), discloses forming a physical discontinuity on the surface of the wafer including where a coating layer is provided with an side surface which is entirely tapered (Fig. 8 ).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the protective layers of Yoshikawa to have an entirely tapered side surface, as taught by Ape, forming a surface where cracks and/or chips are restrained (column 3, lines 15-35).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshikawa teaches a recessed portion (25) which is recessed compared to a region overlapping the protective layers formed in a region not overlapping the protective layers in the wafer (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshikawa teaches the wafer comprising silicon and the insulating film of the laminate comprising silicon oxide (0045).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshikawa teaches using a cutting blade (521) to form the groove (25) (Fig. 14, 0070) given a disclosed thickness of the cutting blade of 20 µm, the distance between adjacent protective layers is longer than 10 µm e.g., equal to the thickness of the cutting blade. Prior art which teaches an example within the claimed range anticipates the range. See MPEP 2131.03.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the instant claims have been considered but are moot due to the new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of the new combination of prior art.
Correspondence
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781